$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
378 reviews
Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Busy Bee 1198
  • Jul 25, 2014
Honeymoon

The staff was very attentive and the amenities were perfect. The pool area was very clean and the... See full review

  • Enchanted Honeymooners
  • Jul 24, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booskinewyears
VA
Jan 21, 2013

Perfect! It doesn't get any better!

Wonderful place to visit each time! I was there over twenty years ago and took my husband back this time and it was just as beautiful if not more so! The staff is so friendly and they are there still! Some of them have left and come back over the years which is really nice as well. The entire island is full of friendly people. The food be it at the hotel or the local hideaways is all delicious and such a treat! I was ready to live on the island and never return home! Don't go any shorter than 7 days two weeks is even better. Definitely eat at the hotel but also eat at the local places as well! Get on that Moped and travel around the entire of Bermuda while you are there! Experience all it has to offer from one end to the next - don't miss a trick! You won't regret the time you have spent here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat some meals at the hotel - but don't get on the dining plans at any of them. It is too expensive if you are looking to save a little. You can save a little money by eating out and sharing a meal as well and grabbing a few snacks for your room if you are that hungry! Splurge instead on all the activities and the room and enjoy yourself with a few really extravagant meals during your stay and mix it up! Enjoy the food flair! At Grotto Bay - we ate a meal at each of the restaurants while we were there and they were all wonderful! We also ate at lots of local places all over Bermuda and loved all our choices nothing was bad. The food was so fresh and tasteful we had to wonder what are they bringing into the US that our food taste so horrible comparatively? The portions are huge! So we noticed some families had their kids on the meal plan three times a day and their kids may have maybe eaten a yogurt for breakfast and maybe lunch and at $75.00 a meal I don't think I would be too happy that is all they were eating! I would assume they ate a bowl of cereal in the room from the grocery store across the street and then we saved that money and ate something really nice a few nights or went boating or snorkeling at that rate!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dottie B.
NYC
Aug 25, 2013

Just great!

Just great!everything you could ask for in comfort and amenities thst typifies Bwermuda was available at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geraldow
Business
Boston
Aug 16, 2013

Airport hotel

This was an above average airport hotel. Having the caverns, blue HolePark, and good bus service is a bonus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use he city bus service

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Docgasman
Staten Island, ny
Jul 30, 2013

Great getaway

Great location and friendly staff. Will return in near future. You don't need all inclusive unless you are a raging alcoholic...just kidding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Do not take bus into Hamilton after 6pm because the buses do not run reliably at night

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beccajeana
Pennslyvania
Jul 23, 2013

Awesome, Relaxing Getaway

This hotel was awesome! The views were great. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The beach area was spotless and not crowded at all. The all-inclusive package is the way to go for not only does it include all your meals and drinks, but snorkeling and other watersports. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. See the concierge upon arrival for maps and ideas of things to do when staying. Since everything was all included, my husband and I were content to stay on the beach all day and snorkel. I would recommend this hotel and its all-inclusive package to anyone. In fact, we liked it so much, we're going back with our children next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat an early breakfast, then a later lunch and a later dinner. That way, if you want, you can sightsee or snorkel in between the meals and you won't miss a meal.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deion
bermuda
Jul 22, 2013

Rude Staff

the staff did not go the extra mile to help. for example I went to get a diet coke at 11:50 and was told that the bar did not open up until 12 noon. I said "even for a soft drink"? the man sternly repeated "as I said, the bar doesnt open up until 12 noon". that was the general behavior of the staff. they were no the friendliest and did not go out of their way. also, there was mold on the bed skirt and the staff got another one and that one has mold on it to. My wife and I went to breakfast at 10:20 and we were stopped by a staff member and told that breakfast was over. I had to go an get the desk manager to overule and allow us to eat breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diana Cibo
New Jersey
Jul 9, 2013

Nice beach close to airport

This hotel is just average. It is close to airport and has its own beach which is convenient. The views of the ocean are pretty and you get to see tons of fish. The hotel itself could use some updating. The room we stayed in was small for a family of four. There were two double beds, I prefer queen beds. The pool is small also. We didn't have a meal plan and I realize food is expensive but 15.00 for a grilled cheese for a child is A bit too much. Also, I was given a paper that said I was entitled to a resort credit but when I checked out, I was told that my package didn't included this credit and someone must have given it to me by mistake. Would say the only thing I liked about this hotel was the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the Swizzle Inn.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harley dad
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 3, 2013

Great family trip

We took our son for his 18th birthday. Only 10 mins from airport and never any noise heard from hotel whatsoever. Room was very nice and clean. We didn't get all inclusive at first but hotel allowed us to add on for last 4 days well worth it except top shelf liquor not included. Used included bus pass several times as well.Visited zoo and aquarium. Not bad for an island. Reef and shipwreck 2 tank scuba dive w/ equipment rental $180. 6 out of 10 rating only cause we didn't see many fish but nice dive thru's and 385 foot ship. Beach and pool were great. Only few times had difficulty getting chairs.3 wedding groups while we were there. They all were happy with how things went. No waitstaff at pool though and bar doesn't extend to pool. This moderates your drinking which is good or bad depending on how you look at it. See the Crystal Caves, Swizzle Inn, St. George, eat at Pickled Onion in Hamilton. Great staff, superb meals. Not a cheap vacation but well worth it. Definitely would go back to Grotto !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GECKO70Q
Queens, NY
Jul 3, 2013

Grotto Bay Fun

Hotel is good for family and they have a good breakfast every morning $19 p/ adult and $10 p/ child. If the hotel is fully booked then the hotel doesn't have enough pool chairs or umbrellas to accommodate the volume. The staff is friendly but it is apparent when comparing my invoices that I was over charged when it came to drinks ($5 for an extra shot on my Pina Colada one day and then $7.50 the next day). This was my 6th time at the Grotto but I think I will spend some more and try another establishment next time. Don't get me wrong, the place has wonderful views, nice beach, good surf shop, and wonderful concierges. I hated that they charged for WIFI and then they explained that it is guaranteed only in the lobby and not guaranteed in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agat
Ontario Canada
Jul 3, 2013

AN ISLAND DREAM COME TRUE

Our short 4 day , 3 night trip to Bermuda and our stay at the Grotto Bay Beach Resort was infamous. The fact that the Hotel was close to the airport , hence no long taxi ride, that the Hotel was similar to a huge condominium complex of pastel shades and pretty structural form, that the room was extremely comfortable including a small fridge and balcony on the ocean, that the main facility lodged a handsome dining room with 3 choices of breakfast, lunch and dinner menus for the sophisticated as well as the casual palate,that the grounds offered an island beach with turquoise waters, a large barside pool, an outdoor jacuzzi , a grotto cool swimming area with dim lights and natural stone decor was only the beginning. Three pm tea included a choice of teas and scrumptious deserts , on the house ! Staff members were jovial, funny and extremely helpful . WELCOME TO THE ISLAND and the GROTTO BAY BEACH RESORT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very casual dining with local rum drinks and a ran:ge of casual dinner offerings as well as, on some nights, live entertainment ; Swizel restaurant

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little RN
Penn.
Jul 2, 2013

15th Anniversary Celebration

Bermuda has been our favorite island and vacationed there a number of times. We are happy to say The Hotel was lovely, staff very helpful, friendly, professional and attentive. The choice of meals was enough to please everyone's palate. Two comments to be made, one can be fixed and the s second is in need of creative architects. 1. we booked one of the superior oceanfront room - must say did not have a sense of privacy due to patrons walking passed the door and looking in room. Unable to enjoy the view due to prying eyes. We had to close the curtains. A dark screen where the guests can look out but others cannot see in would be helpful. (would not recommend 1st level rooms) 2. While the property is beautiful, it is not functional to the elderly population. We observed many elderly guests taking a rest from the stairs as they work their way towards the main house. Perhaps pick up service can be provided for those who do not have the endurance to walk as far and/or climb stairs. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search