$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
391 reviews
Family Vacation

We go to Grotto Bay every year at this time. Resort is immaculate with private kid friendly beach.... See full review

  • Dick and Sue
  • Dec 1, 2014
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (391)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booskinewyears
VA
Jan 21, 2013

Perfect! It doesn't get any better!

Wonderful place to visit each time! I was there over twenty years ago and took my husband back this time and it was just as beautiful if not more so! The staff is so friendly and they are there still! Some of them have left and come back over the years which is really nice as well. The entire island is full of friendly people. The food be it at the hotel or the local hideaways is all delicious and such a treat! I was ready to live on the island and never return home! Don't go any shorter than 7 days two weeks is even better. Definitely eat at the hotel but also eat at the local places as well! Get on that Moped and travel around the entire of Bermuda while you are there! Experience all it has to offer from one end to the next - don't miss a trick! You won't regret the time you have spent here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat some meals at the hotel - but don't get on the dining plans at any of them. It is too expensive if you are looking to save a little. You can save a little money by eating out and sharing a meal as well and grabbing a few snacks for your room if you are that hungry! Splurge instead on all the activities and the room and enjoy yourself with a few really extravagant meals during your stay and mix it up! Enjoy the food flair! At Grotto Bay - we ate a meal at each of the restaurants while we were there and they were all wonderful! We also ate at lots of local places all over Bermuda and loved all our choices nothing was bad. The food was so fresh and tasteful we had to wonder what are they bringing into the US that our food taste so horrible comparatively? The portions are huge! So we noticed some families had their kids on the meal plan three times a day and their kids may have maybe eaten a yogurt for breakfast and maybe lunch and at $75.00 a meal I don't think I would be too happy that is all they were eating! I would assume they ate a bowl of cereal in the room from the grocery store across the street and then we saved that money and ate something really nice a few nights or went boating or snorkeling at that rate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRChris
Business
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2014

Had A Great Time

Loved everything about it including the staff, the location, the food, the rooms. I did however have trouble reading at night with the lamps provided in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth2
Business
MA
Dec 29, 2013

Grotto Bay

Great place close to the airport. Afternoon tea is great. Very nice place to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pianoman50
Business
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2013

A Bit of Paradise

Grotto Bay has a perfect location, wonderful staff, great facilities, and bargain rates if you go during the off season. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The gas station just down the street carries milk, juices, bottled water, snacks and even soup and sandwiches, which can help with food expense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizzy Ann
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 16, 2013

Peaceful and Relaxing

We stayed at Grotto Bay for a week after Thanksgiving last year, and we stayed for 9 nights again this year after Thanksgiving. We are looking forward to going back again. It is conveniently located. It is a very wonderful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cooper's Island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Professorra
Business
NY
Dec 2, 2013

Excellent resort

The staff was really awesome--very friendly and accommodating. Did the MAP for 3 days--food was exceptional. I would return again and I highly recommend The Grotto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGMJOHNG
Business
Quincy (Squantum), MA
Dec 1, 2013

Biggest Banf for the Buck!

This was our second year in a row that we stayed at Grotto Bay over the Thanksgiving Day Holiday. Next year will be our third > yes, our third. Grotto Bay is now our "go to" destination each Thanksgiving. Bermuda is the most wonderful place to spend the holiday and the staff at Grotto Bay really make the experience so wonderful. The food is excellent and the rooms all face the water. Cleanliness, friendliness, kindness and professionalism is their hallmark . Conceriege was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef monkey
Business
NYC
Dec 1, 2013

Quaint villa style waterfront accommodations easy access to airport

Great! It was such a delight to be able to leave the airport and reach the hotel in minutes! The property would be great for anyone from families traveling with grandparents and children to younger couples who don't mind taking the bus or a taxi into town or to the most popular attractions. The property offered activities throughout the day and evening from Eco walking tours to dj's on Saturdays. Several of the buildings have rooms with waterfront views and either offer patios or balconies. If I were to find myself in Bermuda again, I would definitely stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hamilton, st George's, and dockyard all require bus or ferry travel. The hotel does have an on site restaurant and is within short walking distance of the swizzle inn

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zelsbells
Business
marin.ca
Nov 24, 2013

romatic getway

Very good everybody very nice, Food real outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott and Paula Jordan
Business
Phila. PA
Nov 17, 2013

4th time to Bermuda

June Ann is the best!!!! We love it there. Thank You Kionne, Richard, Cyonne,J.P., Allen, Eugene, Chef and Danny. We hope to see you all next year. Love, Scott and Paula Jordan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shannb43
Business
Salem, ma
Nov 11, 2013

beautiful and calming

This was a great place to stay. Minutes from the airport, but far enough away that it was instant paradise walking in the doors. The staff was wonderful, so polite and helpful with anything that you needed. Stevon the bellhop gave us a few nice tips on places to go and Courtney in the Hibiscus room was a please from the moment she walked up to our table. The beach was clean, quiet and beautiful. The food was delicous a little pricey but then again everything on the island is. The only thing that I was unaware of was the amount of stairs throughout the resort. I was fine but my sister who has issues walking and doing stairs had a little bit of a hard time. I didnt remember seeing anything about all of the stairs in the resort website. I would no question book here again, but if you are travelling with anyone who has issues with stairs i would call to see what kind of handicapped accomodations they offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Chrystal Caves are right in the resort. You walk by the entrance about a dozen times thorughout your stay. You can even swim in the cave. The water is cold, but it is beautiful and absolutely something to see. I even got a massage in one of the caves. Simply amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top