$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
378 reviews
Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally... See full review

  • Alex IT Guru
  • Sep 11, 2014
Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Busy Bee 1198
  • Jul 25, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JustMarriedinBermuda
Albany, New York
Sep 12, 2013

Great Place to stay and relax

This was our second visit Grotto and it won't be our last. The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. The grounds are kept spotless and the food was very good. We happened to catch the comedian on Sunday night - "Bootsie" and he was one of the many highlights of the trip. We would highly reccomend Grotto Bay. Easy access to the bus stop and we could walk to the Swizzle Inn. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We hopped on the bus which stops in front of the Grotto Bay and rode it to St. Georges where it was just a short 10 minute walk to Tobacco Bay for the most increadable snorkeling!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CDMJr.
Pennsylvania
Sep 3, 2013

Birthday getaway

Beautiful grounds, food average, prices consistent with the rest of the island. Superior ocean front suite is a bit misleading as it was a room with two double beds and a small refrigerator--not what I was expecting. All in all, would go back though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crisanna
Framingham, MA
Aug 26, 2013

Nice Hotel, Convenient Location

We spent 5 nts in the Warwick Lodge. Our 1st flr rm was a good sz and bed was comfortable. We could hear neighbors in adjoining rm when they were loud and occasionally it sounded like kids were running around above us, but overall the sound wasn't too bad. Hilly property, lots of steps between lobby and pool/beach. Food and service were very good. Staff was friendly but some seemed tired of answering the same questions over and over by guests. Wifi service is terrible, thankfully they waived the fee. Only 2 TV stations came in well. Beach is small but nice, water is calm, lots of fish in Honeymoon Beach area. Had fun feeding them stale bread. Beach Richard is great! They charge guests to use the Aquaslide in the water which I don't think is appropriate. Food is pricey but good. Location is 3 mins from airport, convenient but some may not appreciate the sight of the planes landing and taking off. It didn't bother us. It wasn't loud and you only see them when near the beach. I'd stay here again and recommend the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel has bus stops right in front, I suggest using the bus transportation whenever possible. It's cheaper than taxis and the people are all very nice (except for the occasional bus driver who gets upset if you don't say "Good Afternoon".)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dottie B.
NYC
Aug 25, 2013

Just great!

Just great!everything you could ask for in comfort and amenities thst typifies Bwermuda was available at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geraldow
Business
Boston
Aug 16, 2013

Airport hotel

This was an above average airport hotel. Having the caverns, blue HolePark, and good bus service is a bonus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use he city bus service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Docgasman
Staten Island, ny
Jul 30, 2013

Great getaway

Great location and friendly staff. Will return in near future. You don't need all inclusive unless you are a raging alcoholic...just kidding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Do not take bus into Hamilton after 6pm because the buses do not run reliably at night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beccajeana
Pennslyvania
Jul 23, 2013

Awesome, Relaxing Getaway

This hotel was awesome! The views were great. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The beach area was spotless and not crowded at all. The all-inclusive package is the way to go for not only does it include all your meals and drinks, but snorkeling and other watersports. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. See the concierge upon arrival for maps and ideas of things to do when staying. Since everything was all included, my husband and I were content to stay on the beach all day and snorkel. I would recommend this hotel and its all-inclusive package to anyone. In fact, we liked it so much, we're going back with our children next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat an early breakfast, then a later lunch and a later dinner. That way, if you want, you can sightsee or snorkel in between the meals and you won't miss a meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deion
bermuda
Jul 22, 2013

Rude Staff

the staff did not go the extra mile to help. for example I went to get a diet coke at 11:50 and was told that the bar did not open up until 12 noon. I said "even for a soft drink"? the man sternly repeated "as I said, the bar doesnt open up until 12 noon". that was the general behavior of the staff. they were no the friendliest and did not go out of their way. also, there was mold on the bed skirt and the staff got another one and that one has mold on it to. My wife and I went to breakfast at 10:20 and we were stopped by a staff member and told that breakfast was over. I had to go an get the desk manager to overule and allow us to eat breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diana Cibo
New Jersey
Jul 9, 2013

Nice beach close to airport

This hotel is just average. It is close to airport and has its own beach which is convenient. The views of the ocean are pretty and you get to see tons of fish. The hotel itself could use some updating. The room we stayed in was small for a family of four. There were two double beds, I prefer queen beds. The pool is small also. We didn't have a meal plan and I realize food is expensive but 15.00 for a grilled cheese for a child is A bit too much. Also, I was given a paper that said I was entitled to a resort credit but when I checked out, I was told that my package didn't included this credit and someone must have given it to me by mistake. Would say the only thing I liked about this hotel was the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the Swizzle Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GECKO70Q
Queens, NY
Jul 3, 2013

Grotto Bay Fun

Hotel is good for family and they have a good breakfast every morning $19 p/ adult and $10 p/ child. If the hotel is fully booked then the hotel doesn't have enough pool chairs or umbrellas to accommodate the volume. The staff is friendly but it is apparent when comparing my invoices that I was over charged when it came to drinks ($5 for an extra shot on my Pina Colada one day and then $7.50 the next day). This was my 6th time at the Grotto but I think I will spend some more and try another establishment next time. Don't get me wrong, the place has wonderful views, nice beach, good surf shop, and wonderful concierges. I hated that they charged for WIFI and then they explained that it is guaranteed only in the lobby and not guaranteed in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search