$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cldmonet
Business
The Grotto Bay
Apr 19, 2014

resort

although I didn’t get the all inclusive, it provided me with the opportunity to experience the local flavor. I don’t drink much so it would not have been a good bargain to have got the all inclusive. It is very expensive in Bermuda, so if you don’t plan on leaving the resort an all inclusive may be the way to go. The staff and local people are very friendly and proper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Find "The Market" in Hamilton and buy your food there. There may be one closer in St Georges or St David, The bus is the way to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Portside guy
Business
New England seacoast
Apr 14, 2014

Great Location

Grotto Bay is a great place to stay! Beautifully landscaped grounds, scenic views, a friendly staff, delicious dining and a nearby bus line that can take you anywhere you want to go. The airport is conveniently located nearby. I was very happy with my choice of places to stay while vacationing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The seafood selections were all deliciously prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VeritaVixen82
Business
Cape Cod/Florida
Apr 9, 2014

30th Birthday Perfection!

Unique, fun, beautiful, serene! For someone who had been dreaming about Bermuda her whole life, this hotel was the perfect place to rest and relax between adventures out on the island. Close to the airport, but not so much it is noisy, on a tranquil bay that even during rough weather seemed safe, easy walk to the pink bus, amazing amenities, including a 500,000 year old cave, this hotel has a lot to offer. I could have used a bit more available fruit (in general on the island), and there is only one restaurant (and an ice cream shop) within easy walking distance, so single travelers may want to take note. And staff can be flirty (but not aggressive). I did not want to take the bus at night in the dark, traveling alone, though I am certain I would have been fine. I was thus dependent on the hotel selection for nighttime meals - touristy. The food was good enough, especially the lunchtime pool restaurant, but not the reason I love this hotel. Go for the beauty, the individual character, the location, ESPECIALLY if you love nature (caves, lagoons, tree frogs, an especially remarkable autumn blue moon). Cannot more highly recommend this hotel and island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Crystal and Fantasy caves. Easy walk from the hotel. WORTH IT! I have claustrophobia but could not get enough of the island's caves. Start with the one at the hotel to ease yourself into the idea, if you are nervous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zamboni59
Business
Ballston Lake, NY
Mar 29, 2014

Perfect

This is a great place to stay. We loved everything about it. The buildings and grounds were superb. The staff was superb. The concierge June Ann planned our days for us. The restaurants were great. Close to everything. You can't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Ann scuba diver
Business
NYC
Mar 26, 2014

too close to the airport

We booked an oceanfront room but didn't actually get one...not sure what I paid extra money for. We asked for one of the first floor ocean front rooms but were told there were none available, even though there were many empty ones we walked by. It's too close to the airport and hard to reach the beaches of Bermuda. Resort itself is pretty though, other than seeing airplanes overhead all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elliotvjones
Business
NY,NY
Mar 24, 2014

Nice place, a little out of the way

I have to start by saying we got a very good price for our room at the very start of spring. In that context, we had a very good stay in the recently refurbished "oceanfront" room. The resort does have private beach but it is on a bay, not the ocean so don't expect to have waves lulling you to sleep. It is also a little too close to a main road with traffic into the night. Service, Amenities and Food were excellent but costly. So we had a great time but if I paid full price I would have been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Muse restaurant in Hamilton, doesn't look like much from the street but upstairs dinning room was very tastefully decorated and the food / service was excellent. Good wine list at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DIANE KAROS
Business
BERMUDA
Mar 23, 2014

SPECIAL VACATION 47 YEARS MARRIED

HOTEL WAS GOOD WEATHER NOT GOOD WRONG TIME OF YEAR TO GO TO BERMUDA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

PRICES VERY HIGH SMALLER PLACES IN TOWN MORE REASONABLE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Am That One Guy
Business
Toronto
Mar 19, 2014

Lovely Accommodations

Grotto Bay Resort isn't spectacular, but for the price, you couldn't possibly ask for a better place to stay. The rooms are nothing special, but rather comfortable, and all of them have views of the ocean, some admittedly better than others. Having the caves on site is a beautiful addition and the option of swimming in Cathedral Cave (have to find the warm spots in the off season - they really are there!) is glorious! The staff are exceedingly friendly (though I think that's true of anywhere on the island), and for nature types, the location is excellent with the Fantasy and Crystal caves nearby, the beach on site, and Tom Moore's Jungle adjacent. My only qualm was that the food was mediocre, but if you're looking for a cheap breakfast, Cafe Ole is just around the corner and an excellent option. Yes, their Sunday Bermudan breakfast is worth it (and so is the French toast and the omelette). Probably packed during the season, but very comfortable in the off season months. Decadent? No. But quite good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucky8181
Business
Waterbury, CT
Mar 16, 2014

Don't go during off season

Do not go during Bermuda non-summer months to this hotel. Nothing on this side of the island is open for business during off months & there was absolutely nothing to do in the hotel itself. There is no one around the premises to help with questions. The spa was closed the pool side restaurant/bar was being remodeled which we were not informed of prior to booking. Most of the little staff they had was not helpful at all. If I were to return to Bermuda I definitely would not pick this hotel & I would go during their summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy fish
Business
Canada
Mar 11, 2014

Great location, friendly staff

We had a great family trip in Bermuda stayed 5 nights at Grotto Bay resort. The lady from guest services was very helpful to make suggestions of daily trips. But we think the hotel room should have more blankets, it is not warm enough. The pool was warm, but sometimes our room door couldn't open or couldn't close. After staff cleaned our room they probably forgot to lock our door. It was overall okay,we will recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top