$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
439 out of 439
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanie the Cougar
Business
MA
Jul 16, 2014

Long Weekend Getaway

Room was very clean, staff helpful and friendly, restaurant food excellent...what more could I ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bus was easy and convenient to St. George.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
World Traveler from NYC
Business
New Yawk!
Jul 12, 2014

Great location, depending on what you are looking for.

Great location if you want to be near the east end of Bermuda including St. George's and the Swizzle Inn. Only 25 mins by bus to town for a night out. Also, near airport, Swizzle Inn, Bailey's ice cream, and short bus ride to grocery shopping since there was a fridge in the room (all food is insanely expensive on island). Stood here twice so far. Would have been better if I didn't have a ground floor suite (with the sliding glass facing the lawn and the water). Gorgeous views, but occasionally people would walk across the private lawn, ruining privacy from the ground floor terrace or inside your room (there is no thin privacy veil across that can cover the sliding glass windows from the inside- only the thick blackout curtains.) Room needs some minor upgrades like new carpet, new bathroom door handles, basic handyman stuff. I didn't travel here to stay in the hotel room, but after 8 hours on the beaches and scootering around I wanted some peace and quiet with privacy, and didn't exactly get it here because of the lack of the privacy veil and the paper thin walls. I would definitely stay here again as long as I got a top floor suite that didn't face the pool area. I didn't come to Bermuda to hear furniture moving across the sleight floors (rug only underneath bed area). I mean, put some rubber soles on the bottom of the chairs already. Beds and pillows were probably most comfortable I've been on in any hotel anywhere. A/C was more than adequate in July. Minor improvements could have made this trip amazing. Probably best for families with pool and beach. You will definitely need unlimited bus passes as many buses are right adjacent to property and run frequently (a big bonus!) unless you are getting a scooter (plenty of free parking). Forget about taxis, you'll be broke. Not close to south shore famous beaches, but I went for the secluded beaches that few people visit and snorkeling. Staff needs retraining too. Not much, but definitely some serious discussions. Minor bad attitudes and staff bad mouthing each other, some slow service (which is the norm in Bermuda- after all you are on vacation). Bell staff and Housekeeping staff were amazing. Front desk was pretty good too. Dining area staff and poolside staff needed help. What bothers me about this place more than anything is that its just ok (bordering on good).... when it could be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get an unlimited bus pass (concierge will sell to you) if you are staying more than a day or 2. Bus stop is right outside the hotel and will take you within a short walk of most major things you'll want to do. Unlimited pass also includes all ferries. 4 bus lines stop at Grotto bay and most bus drivers are extremely friendly. Bus service here is not like NY or America. Its clean and polite, so you better say good morning. Also tell the bus driver where you are getting off so they can call it out for you. Its a long ride to Dockyard any way you try to get there so get the ferry schedule too. Take a taxi to and from the airports though. Its less than $10 each way for 2 people. And best of all... US customs/immigration is at the airport in Bermuda :) on the way out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bermuda Biker Chick
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 10, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

My husband and I have stayed at Grotto Bay several times now and we love it. The staff is wonderful and attentive and the food is excellent. Going all inclusive is well worth it and includes bus passes and rentals from the dive shop next store. Because the hotel is in the bay the water is calm and excellent for swimming, kayaking, and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the Crystal Caves from Grotto Bay. There's a walking path and it only takes about 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chinck
Business
Cold Spring, NY 10516, USA
Jun 18, 2014

Quick stay..airport friendly

Great for it's really close location to airport, so you can start your vacation faster. But for those that have never been to Bermuda, it is a trek to experience how fabulous this island is....this is a very basic hotel. Inside bar not open during the day. So if you wish a beverage, you must walk allllll the way down to the beach bar. And as a side note, there is no wait service for drinks or good by the pool or beach. I have never stayed at a resort in Bermuda that did not have wait service in their pool areas. Food was ok. Rooms were adequate. Aside from the 2 roaches we killed in bath room. Do not even think of asking for an early check in. Won't happen... It's 3 pm and that's it. Afraid I will not stay here again. As a side note, the entire staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve D 913
Business
New York, NY
Jun 16, 2014

nice property! good value!

My stay at Grotto exceeded expectations. The property is fairly expansive and is a bit of a hike up & down the hill from the main building to the beach & pool areas. But everything is clean and well maintained. The pool is heated and decent size. The beach area & water is very clean, although you are on the bay, not the ocean. There is 1 hot tub, but is was a bit busted, there was a hole in the sitting area, in which all the pressure of the jacuzzi was going through. The caves on the property, and also the Crystal & Fantasy caves are a nice attraction. Also just a 5 minute walk to the Swizzle Inn. The room was clean and had a nice terrace over-looking the bay. The walls seemed a bit thin, as we was able to hear conversations from the next room. Luckily they seemed to go to bed about the same time as we did. Most of the staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. Food was pretty good, but expensive, as is most of Bermuda. Located only 5 minutes from the airport, but you are 20 minutes away from St. George, and 30 minutes from Hamilton (by bus). But there are several bus lines that stop right in from of the property entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tried all the other names
Business
North Carolina
Jun 13, 2014

Beautiful island, nice facility

This is a nice resort and I would recommend it to others. The food is very expensive, as was all of Bermuda, but not of the greatest quality. For us, we will likely stay in another part of the island that isn't quite as isolated. But, if you just want to go to a nice resort and stay there...this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Recently Widowed
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This hotel is very accommodating and comfortable. It is a little too far from Hamilton but close to St. George. The only complaint I have is their lack of a breakfast choice. Either you buy the all inclusive which is $22.00 per day for breakfast or you can eat from a small breakfast bar of selected cereals, bagels, muffins, toast and coffee which are each individually priced. Sometimes you feel like having a little more than a muffin but not an entire buffet. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy the bus passes at the Bus Terminal in Hamilton and you will save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ww29
Business
Boston, MA
May 29, 2014

Consistent with Expectations

This was our fourth trip to Grotto Bay; as usual, it was consistent with expectations. Somewhat removed on the East side of the island, it offered plenty to do and see with easy access to Hamilton via scooter, taxi or dependable public transport. The proximity to the airport has never been a factor but allows for a quick taxi ride coming and going. Food at the resort, though somewhat expensive, as in all of the island, was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YuriyN
Business
NJ, USA
May 10, 2014

Perfect location

We had 3 days staying here in the beginning of March 2014 with the main purpose to explore islands. This resort was the best option to do that because it has very good location: 5 mins from airport, 15 mins from St George's and 30 mins from Hamilton (bus stop just near the gate). The staff was very helpful in assist in our planning. Resort territory is not very large but cosy with nice views on the ocean. The caves on-site are very cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heatha03109
Business
Manchester NH
May 8, 2014

Grotto Great!

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. We live in the city so we want to stay in peace. This is peaceful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must visit Swizzle Inn just up the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top