Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
388 reviews
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My... See full review

  • DeeNyce
  • Oct 15, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (388)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
388 out of 388
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elliotvjones
Business
NY,NY
Mar 24, 2014

Nice place, a little out of the way

I have to start by saying we got a very good price for our room at the very start of spring. In that context, we had a very good stay in the recently refurbished "oceanfront" room. The resort does have private beach but it is on a bay, not the ocean so don't expect to have waves lulling you to sleep. It is also a little too close to a main road with traffic into the night. Service, Amenities and Food were excellent but costly. So we had a great time but if I paid full price I would have been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Muse restaurant in Hamilton, doesn't look like much from the street but upstairs dinning room was very tastefully decorated and the food / service was excellent. Good wine list at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DIANE KAROS
Business
BERMUDA
Mar 23, 2014

SPECIAL VACATION 47 YEARS MARRIED

HOTEL WAS GOOD WEATHER NOT GOOD WRONG TIME OF YEAR TO GO TO BERMUDA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

PRICES VERY HIGH SMALLER PLACES IN TOWN MORE REASONABLE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Am That One Guy
Business
Toronto
Mar 19, 2014

Lovely Accommodations

Grotto Bay Resort isn't spectacular, but for the price, you couldn't possibly ask for a better place to stay. The rooms are nothing special, but rather comfortable, and all of them have views of the ocean, some admittedly better than others. Having the caves on site is a beautiful addition and the option of swimming in Cathedral Cave (have to find the warm spots in the off season - they really are there!) is glorious! The staff are exceedingly friendly (though I think that's true of anywhere on the island), and for nature types, the location is excellent with the Fantasy and Crystal caves nearby, the beach on site, and Tom Moore's Jungle adjacent. My only qualm was that the food was mediocre, but if you're looking for a cheap breakfast, Cafe Ole is just around the corner and an excellent option. Yes, their Sunday Bermudan breakfast is worth it (and so is the French toast and the omelette). Probably packed during the season, but very comfortable in the off season months. Decadent? No. But quite good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucky8181
Business
Waterbury, CT
Mar 16, 2014

Don't go during off season

Do not go during Bermuda non-summer months to this hotel. Nothing on this side of the island is open for business during off months & there was absolutely nothing to do in the hotel itself. There is no one around the premises to help with questions. The spa was closed the pool side restaurant/bar was being remodeled which we were not informed of prior to booking. Most of the little staff they had was not helpful at all. If I were to return to Bermuda I definitely would not pick this hotel & I would go during their summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy fish
Business
Canada
Mar 11, 2014

Great location, friendly staff

We had a great family trip in Bermuda stayed 5 nights at Grotto Bay resort. The lady from guest services was very helpful to make suggestions of daily trips. But we think the hotel room should have more blankets, it is not warm enough. The pool was warm, but sometimes our room door couldn't open or couldn't close. After staff cleaned our room they probably forgot to lock our door. It was overall okay,we will recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bernard the Man
Business
Boston
Mar 4, 2014

Great stay, Great location.

We stayed here & despite the weather it was a blast. The location of the property puts it in between the new town( Hamilton) & the old town ( St. George) all while having public transport right in front of the property. We also enjoyed the caves & nature walk within minutes of the property. The staff was quite friendly, in general a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Kristen
Business
Southington CT
Mar 3, 2014

Perfect Getaway

After having been to Bermuda a few times and staying in downtown Hamilton, I decided to try a resorts "a little off the beaten path" and couldn't be more pleased with my choice. My first night I had a business event in Hamilton at the Princess and took a taxi into town for 30 dollars each way. I would suggest a bus pass since it is much more reasonable (9 dollars round trip) but since it was raining and on my business account I chose the cab. My husband came on the trip with me and we used the bus for the rest of our weekend exploring. The service at this hotel is the most notable. Everyone is excellent. We had a standard room for the majority of our stay which was fine, but on our last night due to a flight cancellation we rechecked into a superior room which was significantly nicer. The views from everywhere are breathtaking and in the "on season" (which March is not) there are tons of outdoor activities to enjoy including scuba diving, boating, tennis, etc. Although it was mostly rainy for our visit we enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub frequently and I even took a dip in the ocean and caverns. This is a truly oceanfront property, but the beach is tiny so on a busy week it might be crowded. Food and drinks were excellent, but very expensive. There is an all inclusive option that might be good for some folks. Dinner usually fell in the 40 dollars per person range with a cocktail or two. Bar service, restaurant service, and front desk service was all excellent. Visit St. George's (ten minute bus ride) for a day and eat at Art Mel's Spicy Dicy. In Hamilton the Hog Penny was a great spot for lunch. We had a perfect time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus! It is clean and far cheer than the taxis!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tar077
Business
Toronto
Feb 25, 2014

Perfect Getaway Place

A beautiful hotel/resort for a quick getaway from the cold. Location from the airport is very close (5 mins) and a $10 cab ride. The staff is very friendly and the service is excellent. The hotel and beach are nice and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the gas station or the conveniece store to the right and left of the hotel to stock up on water and other snacks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julian L
Business
New York, NY
Feb 25, 2014

Pleasant

On the plus side, it's near the airport, it's got a private beach, and even a cave where you can swim in, and it has a heated pool and hot tub, as well as a modest exercise room. Quite enjoyable, clean, and the staff were fairly friendly. The restaurants were good, not great. Prices are pricey--as with everything in Bermuda. They also charge you 17% service on these prices, even when they screwed up my order twice--still automatic 17% was tacked onto the already considerable price of every meal. The Buffet Breakfast is a lot to eat and fills you up for the whole day, so it is a bargain. On the minus side, the room was very close to the main road and you could hear the sound of car motors the whole time. The staff refused to change the room, and also forgot a wake-up call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the Crystal Caves! Quite a sight!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tar077
Business
Toronto
Feb 24, 2014

Great Staff

The location was as close to the airport as could be. Did not hear any planes. The staff from the bell men, Front Desk, Cleaning staff and the wait staff were great (they were all very friendly, helpful and made it very comfortable). The food was good & comparable to most of Bermuda. I would definitely go back plus the price was great. It was about a 20 min bus ride to Hamilton & the bus travel was extremely easy to navigate. Took a 40min bus ride to Horseshoe Bay which I would recommend for a look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The gas station to the right or the Convenience store to the left is not a bad place to load up on water & a few chips. If you are in Hamilton, there is a food market on Church street that serves hot food (definitely a yummy choice for a reasonable price - Bermudian standard)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top