$246 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
408 out of 408
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex IT Guru
Business
New York, New York
Sep 11, 2014

Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally clean and the view from our balcony was heavenly! Can I upload a picture? Definitely going again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter so you can zip around and enjoy the island. Beaches are free but the best ones are alittle far so rent a scooter and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malene
Business
New Jersey
Sep 1, 2014

great for young families and grandparents!

The check in process only took only ten minutes, then after confirmation the bell captain whisk our bags away to our room; when we opened the door to our room my husband and I were both taken back by the view, our private balcony, and welcome package of one bottle of cold water and pretty cellophane wrapped giant chocolate chip cookies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the surf and turf night was nice but not worth $80! We ate as much lobster we could, delicious. it rained hard for about 10 minutes where the manager and staffed rushed to get towels for the floor while musicians kept playing. The music stopped at exactly 9:29 pm just while people were starting to dance; guests started to trickle out after music stopped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hart county
Business
georgia
Aug 16, 2014

just all around great experience

really enjoyed the comfortable lobby for evenings with a book or wifi and a beverage of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy the bus/ferry pass for multiple day use

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gibberly
Business
Edmond, OK
Aug 12, 2014

Great beach getaway

The resort is located on a wonderful beach. The sand is clean and the water is calm since it is on a bay. There are no waves here. A couple of small shipwrecks (maybe pontoon boats?) are located just off the beach. Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. Food at the hotel restaurants is outstanding, with the fish and steaks being some of the best we've had on the island. Rooms are relatively spartan, but clean. They have nice, well kept tennis courts staffed by the very friendly resident pro who also plays on the Davis Cup team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Hole park is located about a 1/4 mile away. It is a forest/jungle that boasts many trails to explore, secluded inland lagoons with cliffs for swimming and jumping, and caves that you can explore and swim in. We've been here in June and August. August can be rainy since it is the beginning of wet season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy Bee 1198
Business
New Jersey
Jul 25, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This is a great place for children because the bay/ocean was extremely calm. We didn't have to worry about a wave washing them away. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Most rooms have an ocean view. This hotel is also great for couples. There were many couples staying as well as families. We did the all inclusive plan which is a good value. I would definitely recommend the Grotto Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate1031
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 24, 2014

Relaxing Getaway

Had a very relaxing stay at Grotto Bay. Great environment and pleasant staff. Would definitely stay here on my next visit to Bermuda!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Swizzle Inn!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Enchanted Honeymooners
Business
New York
Jul 24, 2014

Honeymoon

The staff was very attentive and the amenities were perfect. The pool area was very clean and the beach was picture perfect. The water was a beautiful, clear turquoise and we heartedly recommend the couples massage in the resort's grotto. The location can't be beat. The resort is minutes away from the airport. Don't forget to take a walk down the road to the Swizzle Inn and enjoy one of their signature drinks. We can't wait to return to celebrate our one year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a 3 day bus pass and go to St. George. The perfumes are a good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S. Chris M.
Business
Wilmington, Delaware
Jul 21, 2014

Very good service, many activities, but a bit loud

I have stayed there twice. All of the rooms have a nice view of the aquamarine bay, are clean, and convenient to all of the activities on the hotel. The hotel's restaurant/dining is quite good, if a bit pricey (that's not a complaint - dining anywhere on Bermuda is costlier than in the US). There are a lot of amenities -- you can swim in the hotel's own cave pool, swimming pools, or the bay; you can receive massage other spa treatment in another cave (underground caves are common in Bermuda); there is a ship wreck just off of the beach where you can snorkel; the hotel can provide glass-bottom boat tours. There are not many restaurant options nearby, but the Bermuda bus system is excellent and there is a stop just outside the hotel. The biggest negative is that many of the rooms have doors to adjacent rooms. You therefore are at the mercy of your neighbors -- when they are a quiet elderly couple, you do not notice. When they are a group of college kids staying up to 2 AM drinking in their room (my latest experience), it can be quite annoying because you can hear everything and have difficulty sleeping. The doors to the outside also are rather un-insulated, so you are disturbed by most people walking by talking. Overall there is good value here, but I would make it a point in the future to get a room without the shared doors and/or as far from the central building as possible to reduce the extraneous noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are only a couple of dining options within the hotel, and only 1 restaurant within walking distance. All of the meals at the hotel are nice quality, but very expensive, even if you buy an all-inclusive package. Unless you plan the spend most of your stay at the hotel and avoid most of the rest of the island, you will be eating elsewhere for many of your meals anyway. If you want to save money, go into Hamilton to the local super market (on Front Street) and buy groceries for breakfast and/or lunch. Each room has a coffee maker and refrigerator. We bought a half-pound of ground coffee, a half-gallon of milk, cereal, orange juice, bagels and cream cheese for ~ $30. That's slightly more than the price for a single person to eat a single breakfast at the buffet in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat Frequent guest
Business
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

Would go back in a heartbeat!

Had a blast at Grotto Bay. It is casual and comfortable with all of the charms that Bermuda has to offer. The location is ideal and only a short walk to the Swizzle Inn, moped rentals, and underground caves. I cannot wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn is close by and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanie the Cougar
Business
MA
Jul 16, 2014

Long Weekend Getaway

Room was very clean, staff helpful and friendly, restaurant food excellent...what more could I ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bus was easy and convenient to St. George.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top