$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
439 out of 439
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roetchen
Business
new jersey
Nov 19, 2014

Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars all around is because the Lunch served by the Pool was not as good as it could have been. Too windy, not enough variety, but still good food and the Wind, well who can beat Mother Nature. And after a very heavy rain we had ants in the room, however we told the Front desk personell and they were taken care of. We can't say enough about the staff, everyone was courteous, helpful, friendly , just like the last time. If I go back to Bermuda it will be to Grotto Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pass on the Swizzle Inn, the Swizzle was more like a fizzle. The food was overpriced , poorly presented and the place should have been cleaner on a Sunday afternoon (before the crowds). The well advertised Rum Swizzle missed ingredients and was served in a plastic pitcher rather then a tall glass. Definetively a no go.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BOS to Next Location
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 17, 2014

Central Location, Pretty peaceful

If you're looking to stumble out of a bar and be close to your hotel- this isn't the place. But it's a great location if you want to explore the different parts of Bermuda. Our hotel room was clean, and the surroundings were quite. It's location for the Bus route was very easy and it's so close to the airport that it isn't an inexpensive cab ride (which was the only thing that was inexpensive about Bermuda). The location to the crystal caves was great and the Swizzle bar next door was convenient and a nice place to watch a Soccer match or get some food. I got an amazing deal on this place in April and although the weather isn't "tropical" in April it was a relaxing and really nice trip, especially with it only being a 90 minute flight from Boston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the Bus pass for however many days you will be in Bermuda you will use it and you can use it on the ferries as well.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott and Paula Jordan
Business
Phila. PA
Nov 17, 2014

My Home away from Home

We've been to this hotel 5 times in the last 5 years. we love the staff from J,P. and June-Anne right on down to Derik in the pool area. The wait-staff and bartenders keep us coming back. We love Asha, Richard, Keonne, Shakira, and Duane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Use the bus system to get around Bermuda.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeNyce
Business
Bronx, New York
Oct 15, 2014

Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My husband even commented how he did not even hear an airplane go by our entire time there. Loved how we had a room with a balcony. Everyone was very friendly and made sure you were comfortable, regardless if it was with your food choice or describing how to get around the island on the famous Bermuda busses. Word to the wise: if you get motion sickness be prepared for some of the drivers and take the motion sickness pills before boarding. The food is expensive so I do recommend the all inclusive. I took a running total of the amount we spent each meal to see if it was worth the money. The fact that the all inclusive includes the gratuities made it that much better. We saved around $500 dollars for going with the all inclusive deal. We did not get to do any of the non-motorized sports but next time we will. Bring OFF or some kind of bug spray with you. Actually as soon as you get off the plane buy one. I was getting attacked by bugs most of the time. Also there are ants EVERYWHERE. You can not get away from that, you are on an island. Expect it. However staying on the second floor was the best. I did not see one ant in my room. The hotel is BIG. Be prepared to walk. Our room was in the 800's and even though we found a short cut from the pool/beach to our room, it was a huge flight of stairs. Just know that all the food you eat you will burn it off. I don't know if I can stay anywhere else now knowing how much fun this hotel was. Possibly next time I will take an adventure into the cave pool. The entrance looked to scary for me, but hopefully next time I can concur my fear and swim in the cave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit the Aquarium, Zoo, and Museum which is a short ride from the hotel. We had so much fun actually walking through the zoo in the cages with the animals walking by. It just so happened my husband was filming while a bird flew over my head and pooped on my head.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plubes
Business
Newtown, CT
Oct 14, 2014

Grotto Bay - October, 2014

Nice place but nothing special. You need to be on the hotel schedule for meals and activities. Room was just OK. Beach area needs work. We ended up going out and not using much of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you stay here the bus stops right out front. Bus network is great and the bus drivers will help you. Also can take the bus to Airport, very easy, but you will only be able to take carry on luggage on the bus.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey27
Business
Nj
Oct 2, 2014

Grotto bay

Best views on the planet, Your eyes will come alive. Just a beautiful place to stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would head into St.. George and go to the wahoo restraunt but first I'd say go jet skiing with my friend behind the white horse bar. It is super fun

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidJjj
Business
New Hampshire
Sep 29, 2014

Great all around place

A very nice place at a reasonable price. Beach, pool, bar, spa, etc. Very close to bus stop. Second time there and we would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn is a 5 minute walk and a must visit.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C8ec8s
Business
Upstate New York
Sep 29, 2014

Good home base for a Bermuda vacation.

I decided to book a resort stay for our trip as a couple to Bermuda, and wasn't super familiar with the island. Grotto Bay had a cave which was honestly my deciding factor in booking (as well as price). Everything in Bermuda is more expensive than in the states, so that should be factored in when setting expectations. I overall was very happy with our stay. The location is pretty centrally located, with a short taxi ride to the airport, a convenient bus stop (decent rides into St. George and Hamilton, from where you can catch a ferry to the Dockyard). The private beach is lovely for catching a swim or relaxing at night. We spent most of our days exploring and used the hotel as a home base. The grounds were extremely well-maintained, and the room was clean and comfortable. The food was some of the best that we experienced, and having to do it over again, we would have gone with the all-inclusive package, even if just for 2 meals a day. My one small complaint was that some of the staff were not super friendly. As we have never visited before, we had questions for the front desk, and a couple of times were greeted with complete disinterest (ex. the girl was looking at her nails as my boyfriend was asking her a question). Contrastingly we had some wonderful service (really enjoyed the bartender at the outdoor bar).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to check out the Swizzle Inn!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach girl 2014
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2014

OK hotel

All the hotels are very expensive in Bermuda. I felt this hotel was not the exception. I got a discount deal and was able to save money, but will not stay at this hotel at their regular prices. The structure of the hotel is just like a unit of motel. The private beach was small and the water did not look clean to compared to the other public beaches. Most of the staff were friendly and professional. If you just stay to be relaxed, or go out to towns by taxis or buses it is okay to stay here, but if you would like enjoying private beach or plan to go out popular beaches, this location will not be your choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Let's go Nets
Business
NJ
Sep 24, 2014

I'd stay there again

close to the airport, and the bus stop is right outside the resort. nicely maintained resort with very friendly staff. the only dissatisfaction is that the bathroom is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top