$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 6, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
388 reviews
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My... See full review

  • DeeNyce
  • Oct 15, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (388)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
388 out of 388
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 15, 2007

Such a shame

The Grotto Bay Beach hotel is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting. The beach on the bay was so relaxing. It was just a shame that the staff was, almost to a person, unfriendly and discourteous. We were told that many of the hotel workers were burnt out at this time of year(second week in Sept.) We only had dinner at the hotel one evening and my meal was excellent but my wife's was marginal and she didn't want to complain because the waiter was obviusly hurried and over his head with the job. Our room was average except for the musty smell but that could have been unavoidable as it was very muggy that week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a multi-day bus pass. It's the best value, the taxi cabs are expensive and forget the scooters, the natives make Boston drivers look like angels!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 20, 2007

Grotto Bay... A Good Place to Stay

This was the second time we stayed at Grotto Bay and was again very pleased. The restaurants serve very good food, the service is fantastic and the employees are friendly and helpful. The beach is very clean, well groomed and has a nice view all around. Though its proximity is very close to the airport, I never heard any planes taking off or landing because they don't fly over the island. The Crystal Caves and the Swizzle Inn are within walking distance of the hotel, and you can rent scooters right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel has boats for rent and 2 small caves. The pool is heated and doesn't seem to be very busy. On the far end of the beach, there is plenty od fish to swim with and feed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 19, 2007

Beautiful Beach Area

This hotel has an ideal location and setting. The grounds are beautiful as well as the main hall. The beach is very intimate and beautiful. The location of the rooms are a distance and could be upadated to a better quality. Overall it is a beautiful location and public transportation is a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 15, 2007

Wonderful staff

Grotto Bay staff were always friendly and accomodating to all requests. The rooms were clean, the views were great, and the beach was wonderful. Staff was very helpful with local tips-travel-sights, etc.. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 11, 2007

Beautiful beach

Grotto Bay had a beautiful beach with warm,calm, clear aqua water. It was our favorite among 7 we visited. Lounges, beach umbrellas, Dive shop with beach toys,nonmotorized and motorized rentals. Sail, snorkel, dive or fishing trips available right from their dock. Well manicured lawns with flowers. Two grotto's on premises. We were told that water was only 55 degrees. Great snorkeling from beach. Great food at bayside/pool bar & restaurant, but restaurant closed at 3:30 and bar at 7 pm. Air conditioned lobby area was well decorated and large with several seating areas, conceirge service, games, internet accees. No internet access in rooms and it was from $6 a half hour to $50 a week for access in the lobby. 7 day bus/ferry pass was $45 at the front desk. Scooter rental available, but gas was $7. We were advised by most that scooters were dangerous because of many accidents. Phone cards available for reasonable fee, but the resort charged additional $2.50 per call. Small gift shop. The resort charges $9 per day per person resort fee on each room. An automatic 15% gratuity is charged to any services. Although the resort was not spread out as some others it did have alot of steps and walking up hills. So if you're not in shape, keep checking as they do not offer any type of shuttle (only for luggage). Some rooms need remodeling. I would advise paying the extra for deluxe as the superior rooms are on the ground floor. They smell very musty as they are built into a hill like a basement. Some of the oceanfront superior rooms do not have a view of the ocean because of the nautural vegitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Swizzle Inn, just up the street. Casual, great food and drinks. Entertainment some nites. One man band with a great voice and very versitile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 29, 2007

Something for everyone

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Grotto Bay Beach Resort. The room was spacious and very clean, and there was lots of storage space in drawers and in the closet (and lots of hangers, too!) We loved having our own patio with a table and two chairs where we could sit and enjoy the ocean view. We liked having a choice of three different restaurants on the property, and enjoyed great meals and service at each one. The hotel was located within walking distance of the Crystal Caves and also The Swizzle Inn, a very charming restaurant and bar, and there was a bus stop right near the hotel, which made it very convenient to get around the island. With so many activities available at this hotel - pool, jacuzzi, the beach, feeding the tropical fish, renting kayaks, scuba or snorkling gear, playing tennis, exploring the caves on the property - there was plenty to do at this resort. We would definitely return to Grotto Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
Jul 25, 2007

on a BAY

The biggest disappointment to me was that this property is NOT on the ocean, it is on a bay (note: in Bermuda, Horseshoe BAY is actually a beautiful beach on the ocean). Also, their beach is very small. Everything was very expensive (routinely lunch with no drink $15 pp, dinner with no drink $30) with relatively small portions but that is pretty typical in Bermuda in general. Overall though I liked the one cave that was on property (the other one was closed indefinitely) and the staff was very nice. There is a bus station right out front which made getting around very easy and there was a small convenient store which was walkable (also the Swizzle Inn restaurant was right around the corner). The rooms were not new but confortable enough nonetheless. If asked if I would stay there again, I would say maybe to probably.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the airport is close which was actually good on arrival and departure day. Also, St. George was close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martrese
Business
New York, NY
Jul 24, 2007

My Whole Family Had a Great Stay at Grotto Bay

My husband & I stayed at Grotto Bay with my 60-year-old parents and 36-year-old brother and we all loved the place. We didn't opt for the meals-included plan and ate all dinners at the Swizzle Inn, a two minute walk away. The $19/person breakfast was a bit steep, but we ate our fill and weren't hungry for a while. Taking the scooters to St. George for breakfast with the locals at Angie's Coffee Shop for a fraction of the cost was much more fun! The ice cream parlor across from the Swizzle Inn was a nightly treat. Tony's Grocery Store is a little farther up the street. We were lucky to stay in the building directly next to the main lodge (room 511), so there was minimal hill-climbing to get to the lodge. There were some stairs involved to get to the pool and beach, but not a major inconvenience. There's scooter parking in front of every building, so if you're staying beachfront, you can scoot up the hill to leave the property (rather than hike to the parking lot up top). A big bonus (to us anyway) was the underground pools in the caves. We were really enchanted by them and swam in them every day. The staff was quite helpful, the rooms perfectly fine (nothing fancy) and the grounds were immaculately kept. Though the beach on the property is small, it's nice. We hardly spent time on the property's beach anyway - too many others on the island to explore! We did snorkel out to the sunken ship just offshore - that was interesting. And feeding the tropical fish in the fish-feeding cove was fun. We saw on the grounds quite a few chickens, some gargantuan green slugs and some cockroaches, but wildlife is to be expected. None of them were in our rooms, so all was well. We really appreciated the proximity to the airport - a short $10 cab ride. A cab ride from the airport to the western end of the island could easily run upwards of $60. We watched the planes land from the beach, but could hardly hear them. The distance is walkable but can't be done as there is no sidewalk or shoulder on the bridge. If you opt to rent scooters (HIGHLY recommended), there's a Wheels Cycles at the Shell station next door and you can charge them to your room. Getting to our destinations was half the fun. Street signs aren't always marked, so study your map before heading out and know what town you're heading for and follow signs for that town, rather than looking for a sign for Middle Road, etc. The only drawbacks I found were the absence of a treadmill (a basic piece of gym equipment) in the workout room. Running on the island isn't an easy feat, and any length of long run is impossible. Also, the shampoo/conditioner product is atrocious. My hair felt like straw my entire visit. If you have long hair, pack your own conditioner!!! The water pressure in the shower was a bit weak, too. NOTE: The resort automatically bills you $18/day for maid & bellman tips (and most restaurants & bars include the tip in the bill). Overall, we were really impressed with our stay and would certainly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2007

Very Relaxing

The Grotto Bay Resort is on a beautiful stretch of beach on the harbor shore, so no waves, but a gradually decending ocean floor into a glass like, clear ocean. Perfect for small children. The pool is not large, but very nice, and abuts the outdoor cafe for lunch and drinks. Each unit has a view of the ocean, and the property has its own cave, which was cool to see. Most of the staff was were very nice. The concierge was extremely personable and helpful. There was one bartender that acted like it was a great imposition to wait on us. Our flight to Bermuda was cancelled and we had to take a flight the next day. Since we had to pay for the hotel that night and not use it, we thought perhaps we might get a late checkout time the day we were leaving, but we were refused. (We recommend trip insurance, particularly if leaving from a New York City airport.) Our unit was adequate. It was dated and the drawers in the bureaus would fall out when you pulled them out to put clothes in them. There was a wardrobe with TV, two 3-drawer bureaus, two bedside tables and a small table with a chair. The cleaning staff did a great job of keeping the unit clean. The bathroom was small with a tub/shower combo, toilet and sink with mirror above. No counter space. Grotto Bay is about 5 minutes from the airport, and 20 minutes away from the main town of Hamilton, where most of the restaurants and night life is. It has a bus stop and the bus system is a very convenient form of transportation, and most of them are air conditioned. 1, 3 and 5 day bus passes are available. We did not have the all-inclusive plan, and I am glad because we did enjoy eating at different restaurants away from the property, and there are not that many dining options on property. One of the best things about Grotto Bay is that it is smaller, with less people, and a very relaxing place to be after the hustle and bustle of shopping, sightseeing, etc. It has a beautiful outdoor courtyard with cusioned chairs to sit and view the ocean, sunset, etc. at the end of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 22, 2007

Long weekend wasn't long enough!!

Because the flights to Bermuda arrive well before you can check in, we arrived a little too early for a room. The staff was wonderful! She suggested that we store our bags with the bellman and go up to the Swizzle Inn for lunch and perhaps check out the caves, which we did. When we got back our room was ready. Nicely furnished room, spacious and nice sized bathroom. FABULOUS VIEWS!!! Their private beach was great with beachside and poolside service. Very relaxing....Each morning there is a full breakfast buffet or continental buffet. A little pricey, but having a huge breakfast gave us energy all day and there was no need for lunch, so all in all, a great savings! Afternoon tea was free and also very nice. The consierge, was super helpful and quite knowledgeable. Really didn't want to leave when Sunday came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you?re not renting scooters, get a bus pass for all the days (except your day of departure). It's inexpensive & takes you all over the island. The bus pass is accepted on the ferries (no additional cost) and is another great way to travel. The buses and ferries are extremely clean and timely. The drivers are very friendly and accomodating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top