$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey27
Business
Nj
Oct 2, 2014

Grotto bay

Best views on the planet, Your eyes will come alive. Just a beautiful place to stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would head into St.. George and go to the wahoo restraunt but first I'd say go jet skiing with my friend behind the white horse bar. It is super fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidJjj
Business
New Hampshire
Sep 29, 2014

Great all around place

A very nice place at a reasonable price. Beach, pool, bar, spa, etc. Very close to bus stop. Second time there and we would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn is a 5 minute walk and a must visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C8ec8s
Business
Upstate New York
Sep 29, 2014

Good home base for a Bermuda vacation.

I decided to book a resort stay for our trip as a couple to Bermuda, and wasn't super familiar with the island. Grotto Bay had a cave which was honestly my deciding factor in booking (as well as price). Everything in Bermuda is more expensive than in the states, so that should be factored in when setting expectations. I overall was very happy with our stay. The location is pretty centrally located, with a short taxi ride to the airport, a convenient bus stop (decent rides into St. George and Hamilton, from where you can catch a ferry to the Dockyard). The private beach is lovely for catching a swim or relaxing at night. We spent most of our days exploring and used the hotel as a home base. The grounds were extremely well-maintained, and the room was clean and comfortable. The food was some of the best that we experienced, and having to do it over again, we would have gone with the all-inclusive package, even if just for 2 meals a day. My one small complaint was that some of the staff were not super friendly. As we have never visited before, we had questions for the front desk, and a couple of times were greeted with complete disinterest (ex. the girl was looking at her nails as my boyfriend was asking her a question). Contrastingly we had some wonderful service (really enjoyed the bartender at the outdoor bar).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to check out the Swizzle Inn!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach girl 2014
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2014

OK hotel

All the hotels are very expensive in Bermuda. I felt this hotel was not the exception. I got a discount deal and was able to save money, but will not stay at this hotel at their regular prices. The structure of the hotel is just like a unit of motel. The private beach was small and the water did not look clean to compared to the other public beaches. Most of the staff were friendly and professional. If you just stay to be relaxed, or go out to towns by taxis or buses it is okay to stay here, but if you would like enjoying private beach or plan to go out popular beaches, this location will not be your choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Let's go Nets
Business
NJ
Sep 24, 2014

I'd stay there again

close to the airport, and the bus stop is right outside the resort. nicely maintained resort with very friendly staff. the only dissatisfaction is that the bathroom is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Mogayzel
Business
Cumberland, RI
Sep 19, 2014

Anniversary

This was my third visit to this hotel and our Anniversary. We requested the same room category as the past two visits and were very disappointed with the room we were given. The room was the furthest away, a soda and ice machine was located outside our door and our rug was frayed. We requested a room change, twice. We put in an request to have the rug repaired so we would not trip, twice. Our requests were not granted. After such a lovely visit the first time I decided to go back. The second visit was just as pleasant. We do plan to visit Bermuda for our next Anniversary but we are not sure we will stay at the Grotto for a fourth visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Coopers Nature Preserve is a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex IT Guru
Business
New York, New York
Sep 11, 2014

Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally clean and the view from our balcony was heavenly! Can I upload a picture? Definitely going again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter so you can zip around and enjoy the island. Beaches are free but the best ones are alittle far so rent a scooter and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malene
Business
New Jersey
Sep 1, 2014

great for young families and grandparents!

The check in process only took only ten minutes, then after confirmation the bell captain whisk our bags away to our room; when we opened the door to our room my husband and I were both taken back by the view, our private balcony, and welcome package of one bottle of cold water and pretty cellophane wrapped giant chocolate chip cookies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the surf and turf night was nice but not worth $80! We ate as much lobster we could, delicious. it rained hard for about 10 minutes where the manager and staffed rushed to get towels for the floor while musicians kept playing. The music stopped at exactly 9:29 pm just while people were starting to dance; guests started to trickle out after music stopped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hart county
Business
georgia
Aug 16, 2014

just all around great experience

really enjoyed the comfortable lobby for evenings with a book or wifi and a beverage of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy the bus/ferry pass for multiple day use

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gibberly
Business
Edmond, OK
Aug 12, 2014

Great beach getaway

The resort is located on a wonderful beach. The sand is clean and the water is calm since it is on a bay. There are no waves here. A couple of small shipwrecks (maybe pontoon boats?) are located just off the beach. Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. Food at the hotel restaurants is outstanding, with the fish and steaks being some of the best we've had on the island. Rooms are relatively spartan, but clean. They have nice, well kept tennis courts staffed by the very friendly resident pro who also plays on the Davis Cup team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Hole park is located about a 1/4 mile away. It is a forest/jungle that boasts many trails to explore, secluded inland lagoons with cliffs for swimming and jumping, and caves that you can explore and swim in. We've been here in June and August. August can be rainy since it is the beginning of wet season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top