$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
400 reviews
Bermuda Anytime!

I love Grotto Bay Hotel! The rooms were beautiful! I stayed in one that overlooked the Ocean and... See full review

  • Booskinewyears
  • Jan 17, 2015
Great get-away!

Great location, very close to the airport. It is easy to go around by bus. Staffs are friendly. See full review

  • Gary.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ski TaHOE a Fer
Business
New Jersey
Oct 3, 2012

Jet setters

A lovely hotel, convienent for a quick get away close to airport. Location is great for catching the buses to Hamilton or St. George. Hotel has bus tokens and tickets and motor scooter rentals near. Walls are very thin, bed not the greatest Food and drink are pricier in Bermuda and all depends on where you dine. Breakfast at Grotto will run you 20$ PP for full breakfast. Overall, enjoyable place to stay and a nice quiet relaxing resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swizzle Inn is a short walk down the road. Hamilton is 25 min bus ride and St. George is 10 min ride over the bridge. There is no Night life here in downtown bermuda and places/stores close early. Reservations recommended for dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee029
Business
Rhode Island
Oct 2, 2012

Grotto Bay Birthday Getaway

I have visited Bermuda numerous times and I have stayed at various places. This was my first visit to the Grotto and it was at the suggestion of a co-worker. I will definitely be back on my next visit to the island. The hotel was great and the location very convenient. A +

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
King's but not a queen
Business
Littleton, NH
Sep 29, 2012

A good place to go back to

We were delighted with the appearance of the entire resort, from the view to the grounds to the buildings -- outside and in. Our room was just the right size, and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the balcony a real treat. The beach is right on the property and inviting if not thrilling. We were disappointed that the advertised wi-fi is available only in the main building and costs $5 per half hour. Menu choices are varied and well prepared, but as a vegan I had to make lots of compromises in my diet. The location close to the airport and right at a bus stop makes getting around the island extrememely easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a bus pass right away, for as many days as you will be on the island. You'll have unlimited bus and ferry travel at a very reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidJjj
Business
New Hampshire
Sep 24, 2012

More than expected

Everything was great. The rooms were vere nice, the beach and pool were very good with plenty of chairs, towels, umbrellas, etc and a nice bar and grill right there. The staff were all very helpful. I would go back anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chrissyd34
Business
nh
Sep 18, 2012

anniversary getaway

The Grotto Bay was a very nice hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a friendly clean place. I HIGHLY recommend doing the all-inclusive option as we did not and food/drinks in Bermuda are costly. I also suggest requesting an ocean view room as it is Paradise to wake up to in the morning. The 1 complaint I have if any at all is there are tons of stairs from the rooms to the main lobby where the restaurants/bars are located and to te beach/pool... I did read this beforehand and knew there were alot of stairs so I somewhat expected it.. Besides that this location and hotel were second to none, I would absolutely go again and stay at this same place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bermuda has absolutely nothing open on Sunday's, don't bother taking a bus to any part in order to shop/dine....you will only find food at your hotel. Also the business hours are 10-6 so don't waste your time heading anywhere early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wacky Jackie
Business
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Sep 17, 2012

Awesome Destination Wedding

Overall my stay at Grotto Bay was excellent. I stayed at Grotto Bay to attend a wedding at Tuckers Point. No complaints. Upon returning to Bermuda, I would gladly book Grotto Bay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining is very accomodating to your needs and the food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jack the contractor
Business
ma
Sep 7, 2012

very good deal

wife & I had a really good time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elbmeb
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 6, 2012

Amazing Anniversary vacation at Grotto Bay!

My husband and I went to Grotto Bay for our one year Anniversary and enjoyed ourselves from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. It was our first time in Bermuda and this resort was perfect for us! The staff was all very friendly! It was so close to the airport (and there was absolutely no noise from airplanes whatsoever). We will return again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malene
Business
New Jersey
Sep 3, 2012

Relax relax relax

The Grotto Bay has everything to offer, we did not have to leave the resort. The food simply scrumptious and fellow vacationers were friendly during meal times, in fact all the time. The host and hostess always pull out the chairs for the women right before our meal. My husband had knee surgery two months and I requested a handicap room; once we arrived we were happy to see that our room was right next door to the main building on ground level. Nice. The negative was the shower; there is a HALF panel glass sticking out from the faucet wall ,and after you take a shower there is water all over the floor. The hotel needs to invest in shower curtains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dress up time for the guests during dinner; even though there were men arriving wearing sandals and shorts, it was just great seeing some men coming in wearing jackets and an open shirt. How handsome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane island traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 26, 2012

Great Trip

The hotel is very nice, clean, and updated. The grounds are manicured and the staff is super helpful. Ask for E. Michael if you need any help, he is a manager and will go above and beyond to make your vaca special. The beach they have is great for swimming and is shallow enough in places for kids. It is a family resort mostly but my husband and I stayed there and we didn't mind the kids. They have staff there just to give you tips on how and where to go on the island. The restaurants are fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast buffet is amazing and cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top