$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
390 reviews
Family Vacation

We go to Grotto Bay every year at this time. Resort is immaculate with private kid friendly beach.... See full review

  • Dick and Sue
  • Dec 1, 2014
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
ALL-INCLUSIVE PLANS AVAILABLE (breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks) - click SHOW MORE ROOMS to find these upgraded options, below the initial room-only categories shown in the initial search results. Explore the 21 acres of our naturally Bermuda landscaped gardens and Crystal Cave Lakes. Feel the warm breeze of the Atlantic as you take in our panoramic views. Newly renovated and redecorated, our rooms feature balconies or patios and are a calm and comfortable retreat, lulling you to sleep after a day of balmy pleasures. Indulge in and savour our Bermuda island cuisine, market fresh - and always served to your liking in our tropical Palm Court or elegant Hibiscus restaurants. Or dine at Al Fresco, above the beach and enjoy your favorite lunchtime snacks at the Bayside Bar & Grill. At Grotto Bay Beach Resort your pleasure is our guarantee. Refresh in our blue Bermuda ocean waters, swim on our private pink sand beach, bathe in our fresh water pool, or languish in our outdoor Jacuzzi surrounded by gardens above the beach; sail, snorkel, wind surf, dive ancient wrecks or explore our delicate and beautiful coral reefs. Take a boat cruise, on a sunny afternoon or during a glorious sunset. Play tennis night or day, or work out in our exercise room. We're also conveniently located within five minutes of two of Bermuda's finest golf courses, Tucker's Point Golf Club and the Mid Ocean Golf Club; should you wish to hit the greens. In addition we offer an extensive Activities program for children and adults, offering a daily schedule of fun-filled things to do. Children can be entertained in our Children's Program (Summer School Break only), while parents take some well-deserved time out, or families can have fun together and join in 'the games'. (Some activities are seasonal and weather permitting. Please check with our Concierge to confirm availability). ****Please note that bedding request is based on availability. Call hotel for specific bedding request: 1-800-582-3190 from the US.****

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joekaew
Business
king of prussia, PA
Dec 2, 2014

Worth the Money

I stayed at this hotel for Thanksgiving. It has a private beach, a pool, and a tennis courts. I was surprised to learn that the facilities were available without extra charges. The internet in our room was a bit spotty, but overall it was a great experience. Oh, and it's also very very close to the airport so it's convenient, just across the bridge. A lot of busses run through the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dick and Sue
Business
New Hampshire
Dec 1, 2014

Family Vacation

We go to Grotto Bay every year at this time. Resort is immaculate with private kid friendly beach. Close to Swizzle Inn is a big plus! This is our 7th? year there. Proximity to the airport is nice. Good Swizzle party on Mondays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn is a 1/4 mile UP the street. It's all downhill on the way back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roetchen
Business
new jersey
Nov 19, 2014

Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars all around is because the Lunch served by the Pool was not as good as it could have been. Too windy, not enough variety, but still good food and the Wind, well who can beat Mother Nature. And after a very heavy rain we had ants in the room, however we told the Front desk personell and they were taken care of. We can't say enough about the staff, everyone was courteous, helpful, friendly , just like the last time. If I go back to Bermuda it will be to Grotto Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pass on the Swizzle Inn, the Swizzle was more like a fizzle. The food was overpriced , poorly presented and the place should have been cleaner on a Sunday afternoon (before the crowds). The well advertised Rum Swizzle missed ingredients and was served in a plastic pitcher rather then a tall glass. Definetively a no go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BOS to Next Location
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 17, 2014

Central Location, Pretty peaceful

If you're looking to stumble out of a bar and be close to your hotel- this isn't the place. But it's a great location if you want to explore the different parts of Bermuda. Our hotel room was clean, and the surroundings were quite. It's location for the Bus route was very easy and it's so close to the airport that it isn't an inexpensive cab ride (which was the only thing that was inexpensive about Bermuda). The location to the crystal caves was great and the Swizzle bar next door was convenient and a nice place to watch a Soccer match or get some food. I got an amazing deal on this place in April and although the weather isn't "tropical" in April it was a relaxing and really nice trip, especially with it only being a 90 minute flight from Boston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the Bus pass for however many days you will be in Bermuda you will use it and you can use it on the ferries as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeNyce
Business
Bronx, New York
Oct 15, 2014

Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My husband even commented how he did not even hear an airplane go by our entire time there. Loved how we had a room with a balcony. Everyone was very friendly and made sure you were comfortable, regardless if it was with your food choice or describing how to get around the island on the famous Bermuda busses. Word to the wise: if you get motion sickness be prepared for some of the drivers and take the motion sickness pills before boarding. The food is expensive so I do recommend the all inclusive. I took a running total of the amount we spent each meal to see if it was worth the money. The fact that the all inclusive includes the gratuities made it that much better. We saved around $500 dollars for going with the all inclusive deal. We did not get to do any of the non-motorized sports but next time we will. Bring OFF or some kind of bug spray with you. Actually as soon as you get off the plane buy one. I was getting attacked by bugs most of the time. Also there are ants EVERYWHERE. You can not get away from that, you are on an island. Expect it. However staying on the second floor was the best. I did not see one ant in my room. The hotel is BIG. Be prepared to walk. Our room was in the 800's and even though we found a short cut from the pool/beach to our room, it was a huge flight of stairs. Just know that all the food you eat you will burn it off. I don't know if I can stay anywhere else now knowing how much fun this hotel was. Possibly next time I will take an adventure into the cave pool. The entrance looked to scary for me, but hopefully next time I can concur my fear and swim in the cave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit the Aquarium, Zoo, and Museum which is a short ride from the hotel. We had so much fun actually walking through the zoo in the cages with the animals walking by. It just so happened my husband was filming while a bird flew over my head and pooped on my head.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plubes
Business
Newtown, CT
Oct 14, 2014

Grotto Bay - October, 2014

Nice place but nothing special. You need to be on the hotel schedule for meals and activities. Room was just OK. Beach area needs work. We ended up going out and not using much of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you stay here the bus stops right out front. Bus network is great and the bus drivers will help you. Also can take the bus to Airport, very easy, but you will only be able to take carry on luggage on the bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey27
Business
Nj
Oct 2, 2014

Grotto bay

Best views on the planet, Your eyes will come alive. Just a beautiful place to stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would head into St.. George and go to the wahoo restraunt but first I'd say go jet skiing with my friend behind the white horse bar. It is super fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidJjj
Business
New Hampshire
Sep 29, 2014

Great all around place

A very nice place at a reasonable price. Beach, pool, bar, spa, etc. Very close to bus stop. Second time there and we would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn is a 5 minute walk and a must visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C8ec8s
Business
Upstate New York
Sep 29, 2014

Good home base for a Bermuda vacation.

I decided to book a resort stay for our trip as a couple to Bermuda, and wasn't super familiar with the island. Grotto Bay had a cave which was honestly my deciding factor in booking (as well as price). Everything in Bermuda is more expensive than in the states, so that should be factored in when setting expectations. I overall was very happy with our stay. The location is pretty centrally located, with a short taxi ride to the airport, a convenient bus stop (decent rides into St. George and Hamilton, from where you can catch a ferry to the Dockyard). The private beach is lovely for catching a swim or relaxing at night. We spent most of our days exploring and used the hotel as a home base. The grounds were extremely well-maintained, and the room was clean and comfortable. The food was some of the best that we experienced, and having to do it over again, we would have gone with the all-inclusive package, even if just for 2 meals a day. My one small complaint was that some of the staff were not super friendly. As we have never visited before, we had questions for the front desk, and a couple of times were greeted with complete disinterest (ex. the girl was looking at her nails as my boyfriend was asking her a question). Contrastingly we had some wonderful service (really enjoyed the bartender at the outdoor bar).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to check out the Swizzle Inn!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach girl 2014
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2014

OK hotel

All the hotels are very expensive in Bermuda. I felt this hotel was not the exception. I got a discount deal and was able to save money, but will not stay at this hotel at their regular prices. The structure of the hotel is just like a unit of motel. The private beach was small and the water did not look clean to compared to the other public beaches. Most of the staff were friendly and professional. If you just stay to be relaxed, or go out to towns by taxis or buses it is okay to stay here, but if you would like enjoying private beach or plan to go out popular beaches, this location will not be your choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top