$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
386 reviews
Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My... See full review

  • DeeNyce
  • Oct 15, 2014
Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally... See full review

  • Alex IT Guru
  • Sep 11, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (386)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
386 out of 386
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pianoman50
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2013

A Bit of Paradise

Grotto Bay has a perfect location, wonderful staff, great facilities, and bargain rates if you go during the off season. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The gas station just down the street carries milk, juices, bottled water, snacks and even soup and sandwiches, which can help with food expense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeNyce
Business
Bronx, New York
Oct 15, 2014

Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My husband even commented how he did not even hear an airplane go by our entire time there. Loved how we had a room with a balcony. Everyone was very friendly and made sure you were comfortable, regardless if it was with your food choice or describing how to get around the island on the famous Bermuda busses. Word to the wise: if you get motion sickness be prepared for some of the drivers and take the motion sickness pills before boarding. The food is expensive so I do recommend the all inclusive. I took a running total of the amount we spent each meal to see if it was worth the money. The fact that the all inclusive includes the gratuities made it that much better. We saved around $500 dollars for going with the all inclusive deal. We did not get to do any of the non-motorized sports but next time we will. Bring OFF or some kind of bug spray with you. Actually as soon as you get off the plane buy one. I was getting attacked by bugs most of the time. Also there are ants EVERYWHERE. You can not get away from that, you are on an island. Expect it. However staying on the second floor was the best. I did not see one ant in my room. The hotel is BIG. Be prepared to walk. Our room was in the 800's and even though we found a short cut from the pool/beach to our room, it was a huge flight of stairs. Just know that all the food you eat you will burn it off. I don't know if I can stay anywhere else now knowing how much fun this hotel was. Possibly next time I will take an adventure into the cave pool. The entrance looked to scary for me, but hopefully next time I can concur my fear and swim in the cave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit the Aquarium, Zoo, and Museum which is a short ride from the hotel. We had so much fun actually walking through the zoo in the cages with the animals walking by. It just so happened my husband was filming while a bird flew over my head and pooped on my head.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plubes
Business
Newtown, CT
Oct 14, 2014

Grotto Bay - October, 2014

Nice place but nothing special. You need to be on the hotel schedule for meals and activities. Room was just OK. Beach area needs work. We ended up going out and not using much of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you stay here the bus stops right out front. Bus network is great and the bus drivers will help you. Also can take the bus to Airport, very easy, but you will only be able to take carry on luggage on the bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey27
Business
Nj
Oct 2, 2014

Grotto bay

Best views on the planet, Your eyes will come alive. Just a beautiful place to stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would head into St.. George and go to the wahoo restraunt but first I'd say go jet skiing with my friend behind the white horse bar. It is super fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidJjj
Business
New Hampshire
Sep 29, 2014

Great all around place

A very nice place at a reasonable price. Beach, pool, bar, spa, etc. Very close to bus stop. Second time there and we would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn is a 5 minute walk and a must visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C8ec8s
Business
Upstate New York
Sep 29, 2014

Good home base for a Bermuda vacation.

I decided to book a resort stay for our trip as a couple to Bermuda, and wasn't super familiar with the island. Grotto Bay had a cave which was honestly my deciding factor in booking (as well as price). Everything in Bermuda is more expensive than in the states, so that should be factored in when setting expectations. I overall was very happy with our stay. The location is pretty centrally located, with a short taxi ride to the airport, a convenient bus stop (decent rides into St. George and Hamilton, from where you can catch a ferry to the Dockyard). The private beach is lovely for catching a swim or relaxing at night. We spent most of our days exploring and used the hotel as a home base. The grounds were extremely well-maintained, and the room was clean and comfortable. The food was some of the best that we experienced, and having to do it over again, we would have gone with the all-inclusive package, even if just for 2 meals a day. My one small complaint was that some of the staff were not super friendly. As we have never visited before, we had questions for the front desk, and a couple of times were greeted with complete disinterest (ex. the girl was looking at her nails as my boyfriend was asking her a question). Contrastingly we had some wonderful service (really enjoyed the bartender at the outdoor bar).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to check out the Swizzle Inn!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach girl 2014
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2014

OK hotel

All the hotels are very expensive in Bermuda. I felt this hotel was not the exception. I got a discount deal and was able to save money, but will not stay at this hotel at their regular prices. The structure of the hotel is just like a unit of motel. The private beach was small and the water did not look clean to compared to the other public beaches. Most of the staff were friendly and professional. If you just stay to be relaxed, or go out to towns by taxis or buses it is okay to stay here, but if you would like enjoying private beach or plan to go out popular beaches, this location will not be your choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Let's go Nets
Business
NJ
Sep 24, 2014

I'd stay there again

close to the airport, and the bus stop is right outside the resort. nicely maintained resort with very friendly staff. the only dissatisfaction is that the bathroom is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Mogayzel
Business
Cumberland, RI
Sep 19, 2014

Anniversary

This was my third visit to this hotel and our Anniversary. We requested the same room category as the past two visits and were very disappointed with the room we were given. The room was the furthest away, a soda and ice machine was located outside our door and our rug was frayed. We requested a room change, twice. We put in an request to have the rug repaired so we would not trip, twice. Our requests were not granted. After such a lovely visit the first time I decided to go back. The second visit was just as pleasant. We do plan to visit Bermuda for our next Anniversary but we are not sure we will stay at the Grotto for a fourth visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Coopers Nature Preserve is a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex IT Guru
Business
New York, New York
Sep 11, 2014

Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally clean and the view from our balcony was heavenly! Can I upload a picture? Definitely going again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter so you can zip around and enjoy the island. Beaches are free but the best ones are alittle far so rent a scooter and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malene
Business
New Jersey
Sep 1, 2014

great for young families and grandparents!

The check in process only took only ten minutes, then after confirmation the bell captain whisk our bags away to our room; when we opened the door to our room my husband and I were both taken back by the view, our private balcony, and welcome package of one bottle of cold water and pretty cellophane wrapped giant chocolate chip cookies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the surf and turf night was nice but not worth $80! We ate as much lobster we could, delicious. it rained hard for about 10 minutes where the manager and staffed rushed to get towels for the floor while musicians kept playing. The music stopped at exactly 9:29 pm just while people were starting to dance; guests started to trickle out after music stopped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top