$266 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton, 0

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
391 reviews
wonderful stay!

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cave pool was really neat. Very convenient walking... See full review

  • Michele R.
  • Jul 16, 2015
Awesome family trip

We had a great time and the hotel, grounds, staff and food were excellent. I would recommend this... See full review

  • Karen H.
  • Jul 6, 2015
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Property features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Policies
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MKS66
Connecticut
May 5, 2013

Perfect stay.

Great hotel. Bus stop at the end of the driveway takes you anywhere you want to go. Short walk to the Swizzle Inn. The pool and beach area are nice. Great place to stay. I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michele R.
Business
N/A
Jul 16, 2015

wonderful stay!

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cave pool was really neat. Very convenient walking distance to the famous Swizzle Restaurant, an ice cream store and some breathtaking walking trails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAMES G.
Business
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Great Island, Good Resort & Location, Meh Room

Our vacation to Bermuda was awesome overall and our stay at Grotto Bay was a positive experience. Here's some pros and cons of Grotto Bay to consider: Pros -One of the cheaper nice hotels on the island -Really friendly and helpful staff -Has its own beach that's a 1 minute walk from your room -Dive Shop right next to beach where you can rent all types of watersports gear -There’s a catamaran that does sunset cruises and snorkeling trips right from the resort dock, which is really convenient -Has an amazing cave that you can swim in -Really cool spa in a cave -Swizzle Inn, Bailey's Ice Cream, and more caves are within a 5-10 minute walk -Bus stop right outside the resort entrance -Very nice main building with good A/C and a couple of restaurants -For golfers, it’s close to Tucker’s Point and Mid Ocean Club ($15-$20 cab ride) -Close to airport ($10-$15 cab ride) -We were here over the 4th of July weekend and they had a nice BBQ celebration with some great food -Food at the resort was better than expected overall—no complaints Cons -Room was a little dated and could’ve been cleaner -Thin walls in the rooms, but also could’ve just been loud kids -Shower had no curtain and instead one of those half wall designs -Tough to get water after dinner—no water provided by the hotel as we have seen elsewhere so had to buy water at the vending machines -Beach can get crowded -I’ve been on softer/smoother beaches -Beach is in a bay, so pretty much no waves hitting the shores, if you like the sound of that when you go to a beach -A lot of families and young kids/babies -Long cab/bus ride to Southampton or Hamilton (30+ minutes, $35-$45 cab ride) -Wifi was sometimes strong, sometimes weak in the room, and weak in the lobby of the main building

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen H.
Business
Manhasset
Jul 6, 2015

Awesome family trip

We had a great time and the hotel, grounds, staff and food were excellent. I would recommend this hotel as has several advantages versus other hotels: close to airport(5minutes), nice pool and safe calm beach with waterpark(my kids loved), kayaking, paddle boating and floats, has all inclusive option which includes all meals and drinks, unlimited bus and ferry passes( 2 bus stops right in front of hotel) and tennis. The rooms have great views and are clean and updated. It is built on a hill so be prepared for a lot of walking up and down stairs. The grotto cave with swimming area was very cool. Has free wifi but slow and spotty. I would rec that a true all inclusive include airport transfers and this is doable for this hotel. I would definitely come back to this hotel on my next visit to Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marilyn S.
Business
CALABASH
Jun 29, 2015

50th Anniversary & 5th trip back to Bermuda

The food was delicious! The all inclusive is a great value and worth purchasing! The beach is rather small and crowded and does not provide enough umbrellas at both beach and pool. Too many steps to go up and down to main house, dining rooms , etc. the rooms need to be updated - sink area in bathroom very small - nowhere to put things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael S.
Business
hagerstown
Jun 25, 2015

Great trip

I stay at grotto bay every year and just love it. The staff is friendly and the resort is beautiful. I can not wait to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paula C.
Business
Raynham
Jun 7, 2015

Awesome Getaway!!

We went to Grotto Bay for 3 days to celebrate my husband's 50th bday. The resort is beautiful & the staff were very nice. We are from Boston & really enjoyed how quickly we were in paradise with just a two hr flight. The hotel is roughly 6-10 min from the airport so we were on the beach fairly quickly after we arrived. We did not do the meal plan because we wanted to try different places but I think next time we would do the meal plan for breakfast & dinner. The lunch we had poolside @ the hotel was excellent! The only real annoyances we had was the noise from the room above us. They woke us up a couple of times during our stay. We didn't call to complain. Some people have complained about the noise from the planes being close to the hotel. This was not a factor for us. We saw them but couldn't hear them. There was some construction on the property that caused noise on one day that we were by the pool but it didn't stop us from napping. Bermuda is expensive but so worth it for these Bostionans who enjoyed the 2 hr flight & being in paradise within a half hr of arriving. We would love to stay @ the Grotto Bay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

Awesome couples quick getaway!

Nice laid back feel, cozy, relaxed atmosphere, rustic and charming at the same time! We had a wonderful view of the ocean, comfortable and clean room with impeccable room service by friendly and helpful staff! The food was top notch in all dining areas and the ability and proximity to the Swizzle Inn was so fun. I will definitely return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CARA k.
Business
N/A
May 18, 2015

Love the Grotto

The resort is very close to the airport which is very nice!! It is a little oasis with its own beach! The restaurant was amazing! And the ambience and staff is very accommodating. Also, I did one of the spa treatments which was amazing!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AdonisN
Business
N/A
May 16, 2015

Awsome trip

Great hotel, staff, location, Definitely best bang for your buck!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AdonisN
Business
N/A
May 16, 2015

Awsome trip

Great hotel, staff, location, Definitely best bang for your buck!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top