$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Coco Beach Resort

4 stars
View map of 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town Ambergris Caye, -, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Coco Beach Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iowahoneymooners
Business
Iowa
May 29, 2013

Luxurious honeymoon

We chose Coco Beach because we wanted a honeymoon that was luxurious with opportunity for adventurous excursions. We were not disappointed! Coco Beach was absolutely wonderful - the facilities were beautiful, impeccably clean, and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Each day there were flowers on our bed, and they even surprised us with champagne when they found out we were honeymooning. They have a pool that is 8 ft deep with a water slide, and there was plenty of seating by the pool (chairs in the water, couches on the beach, bar in the pool). It is a trek to get to the hotel as you need to take a speedboat from the San Pedro water taxi or airport location, but the staff are ready to greet you with a warm washcloth and tropical drinks. The resort restaurant only serves lunch and dinner and is extremely pricy - most guests we talked to only ate their once because it is so expensive, but the food was delicious. We recommend pre-ordering groceries to the hotel room prior to your stay because getting to/from town can be difficult with limited water taxi times/expensive golf cart rental. We used the kayaks (free) and snorkeled near the hotel. The resort also set up all of our excursions. You can charge everything to your room which is nice so you don't have to carry money/credit cards with you. We would highly recommend this hotel if you want somewhere clean, beautiful, luxurious, wonderful staff, and overall a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pre-order groceries to your room (either through the hotel or another website) because the trip to San Pedro where the reasonably priced grocery stores are located is a trek - the water taxi (~10-15 minute ride) only picks up certain times of the day, or you can take a bike but it is a long ride (~30 minutes) that's bumpy and hot, or you can rent a golf cart ($60 for 2 hours) which was expensive and may not even get you all the way to San Pedro because the bridge is under construction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annie25
Business
San Jose, cA
Apr 17, 2013

Excellent resort!

the pool is amazing, 5 star resort for sure! but the location is a tad inconvenient - you need to take a water taxi into town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kristik
Business
carmel, IN
Apr 14, 2013

Great with few exceptions

We rented the penthouse C5 for the two of us and our two teenagers. The space was wonderful except that it included two king beds vs. two twins in the second room. There was a pull out sofa, however, it was very low quality and not really usable for more than a night. The staff was great for the most part. Larry is awesome. The catamaran trip is great! My husband and son went on a reef fishing trip through Tuff e Nuff and were disappointed. Biking down the beach either way is great. Yes, there is some trash on the beach in the undeveloped areas, but it is a look at reality in this country. You can go miles and see very few people. Food is good on site.; also recommend Capricorn and Captain Morgan's - close enough to walk and serve all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

palapa bar - great spot - either long walk, bike or golf cart

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RS27
Business
NY
Apr 2, 2013

Great week away

Fabulous. Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Location works great for going into town. Water taxi or golf cart. Pool is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Royabeth
Business
Pasadena, California
Mar 30, 2013

A little piece of Paradise

Cocobeach was a great hotel for relaxing and gettting that island feel. The staff was very helpful, especially "Larry the pool guy". I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim A L
Business
San Pedro, Belize
Mar 18, 2013

Good place

We had a great time a Coco Beach. They arranged everything that you need from A to Z. Whatever you want to do just ask, they will try to find out for you. Our family of four love this place and we would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed From Delaware
Business
Delaware
Mar 4, 2013

Bring me another "caipirinha", please!

Let me start with Nick, the manager. We have never met a resort manager so dedicated and so in tune with guest's wishes. The entire staff was absolutely incredible. The pool setting is great. Pool bar is awesome (you've got to try the "caipirinhas" with Brazilian cachaça#. Room was very comfortable #if I had one little remark, that would be the shower - we couldn't get half-decent water pressure out of it#. Close to some of the best restaurants in the area #mostly by water taxi#.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GI PNP
Business
Baltimore
Jan 16, 2013

Coco Beach

The hotel is located about 4 miles from downtown San Pedro. You will either need to bike or take the water taxi (6-8 dollars each way or pay for unlimited water taxi 30-40 dollars x 5 days) to get to downtown. We ordered food at the pool that was terrible. I ordered a shrimp ceasar salad that had about 5 pieces of lettuce and 4 pieces of baby (about 1 inch size) for 15 dollars, which was disappointing. The staff at the hotel were very attentive and I tried to accomodate all of your needs. The rooms were very clean and housekeepers were nice. Front desk staff were very kind. The beach water was somewhat disappointing because I thought it would be clear blue beautful beach but it was somewhat dark brown. It was a bit windy so maybe it just stirred up the sand to give that appearance. The beach was clean and had nice chairs to relax. The pool was huge and if you have children they will love the big rock that you can jump from. Larry the pool guy was always checking to make sure everything was OK. The bar staff was also attentive. Overall had a great time. A little isolated from all of the action in downtown but if you would like a more peaceful quiet vacation than this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The restaurants in downtown San Pedro that we really enjoyed was Licks, Victoria House., El Fongo and Hidden Treasure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty W
Business
Connecticut, US
Jan 1, 2013

Wonderful Christmas stay

We were greeted at the resort pier with cold towels and the surprise of the hotel manager who brought us to the front desk for complimentary fruit punch, a tour of the grounds, our 2-bdrm poolview suite and patiently answered a bunch of questions. The white sand beach was well groomed and staff greeted us with smiles wherever we encountered any. My husband swam in the shallow waters and saw plenty of fish and a moray eel. I walked every morning north and south toward San Pedro. This was our second visit to Belize and while it has become more commercial (two artisanal chocolate shops, more resorts and resorts and higher prices) we still love the laid-back vibe and friendly people. You will need to reserve a golf cart in advance during high season although we were fine jumping into a water taxi one day to visit San Pedro (a few hours to wander around and grab a meal is fine) and renting bikes for $5 pp/day for two bike rides into town for a bigger variety of groceries and to eat lunch. We had a full kitchen that was well supplied (crab crackers would have been a great addition for the stone crabs fished locally). If you find some Belizean teens with a boat in from fishing in San Pedro, they will happily sell you fish and lobster that you can cook in your kitchen. Huge lobster tales cleaned for you at $6 - dirt cheap! Since it was our second visit, 5 nights was plenty. We booked a half day snorkel trip with the on-site Tuff Enuff tours. Bring bug spray. You will be bitten.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capricorn restaurant was recommended by a staffer and it was our favorite place, more than the pricier O also within walking distance. The best stone crabs and pasta carbonara.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ecross
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 6, 2012

the best!

All I can say is wow! From the second we stepped foot on the dock to when we had to leave, everything was top notch at this resort! We were greeted with cool washclothes and cold drinks, and left giving hugs to the staff! Larry who works around the pool is amazing as are all of the staff from Tuff E' Nuff who work the docks. Ask for Linden and he will make sure you get on the best trips and excursions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a store at Captain Morgan's just a short walk away...if you have a room with a kitchen, it pays to hop over to "the store" and pick up some bread, butter, milk, eggs...fresh fruit or veggies...and then cook in the room!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top