$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

3 stars
View map of 6 Rue des Croisades, 1210 BRUSSELS, Brussels, 1210

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ditto2
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Solo Backpacking

For a backpacking location to stay, this place is pretty decent and has a reasonable price. Location is very good as its 10 mins away from the Grand Place or city center and right next to the shopping area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restuarants are around the Katherine Cathedral which is about a 10 min walk form the hotel.

Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frisco
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Frisco

We found the location to be good; buffet breakfast was good. The room we had was adequate but the whole hotel could do with an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John Elsewhere
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great location and you get what you pay for

I got off the train at the Brussels North station and walked two blocks toward the center of town and there was the Hotel. Excellent access to transportation and the Gross Markt and the old downtowm. The room was OK, shower and bathroom tiny, but you don't live in the bathroom. The breakfast was reasonable, but not elegant. But, for its cost I think this was a good value. I will consider staying here when I am next on business travel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boston Grill one block away was a great value. Good food, well prepared,ample portions! Friendly service.

Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
elizabeth,nj
Aug 9, 2011

brussels hotel review

.its room was clean ,well ventilated,confortable. .it has good ventilation,telephone and tv with a good reception. .at the lobby you can use free internet services. .the breackfast was excellent and free. .the cuality and manners of emploies was excellent.they were very cooperative and helpful. .the location was close to the attraction places and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Jan 10, 2011

Charming, comfortable and convenient

The hotel was charming and very comfortable. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. We were there for our son's wedding. The location was very convenient to the subway and train and shopping. The only thing I missed was having a hair dryer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
westport, ct
Nov 22, 2010

Nice older hotel

Intriguing, older hotel, renovated in historical fashion. Close to everything in Brussels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helsinki
Mar 4, 2010

Business trip

I was on a business trip for 3 days with and was going to visit several locations around the city on a tight timetable. The hotel is located on a side street right next to the Rogier central tram and metro station. From there it was easy to get anwhere. Gare du Nord is only one stop away so you can walk unless you have very heavy luggage. Staff was really helpful and friendly. The room was small and worn, but clean. The bathroom and shower was small but very functional. Beds were narrow but comfortable. From the hotel it is only a km or so nice walking to the Grand Place, and right on the opposite of the Rogier square is a rather large mall with a good food garden in the basement. Very good for the budget busines traveller!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helsinki
Mar 4, 2010

Business trip

I was on a business trip for 3 days with and was going to visit several locations around the city on a tight timetable. The hotel is located on a side street right next to the Rogier central tram and metro station. From there it was easy to get anwhere. Gare du Nord is only one stop away so you can walk unless you have very heavy luggage. Staff was really helpful and friendly. The room was small and worn, but clean. The bathroom and shower was small but very functional. Beds were narrow but comfortable. From the hotel it is only a km or so nice walking to the Grand Place, and right on the opposite of the Rogier square is a rather large mall with a good food garden in the basement. Very good for the budget busines traveller!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J + L
Business
San Francisco CA
Oct 11, 2009

Great value hotel

We thought this hotel was a very good deal. Room was large by Euro standards, enough room to put luggage in it and still walk around. Very good buffet breakfast, better than we've had at most other hotels in Europe. Comfy bed. Good location, 5 min walk from Gare du Nord, about 12-15 min to Grand Place. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Attractive lobby area. We have often paid more for much less in Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Des Colonies Hotel Brussels

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josie, frequent traveler
Business
Palmdale, CA
Sep 7, 2009

Quiet, restful location and good value.

We liked the location. We were able to access it from Schipol airport by train and a short cab ride from the train station to the hotel. It was a 10 min walk to the tram which took us into the hub bub of Amsterdam. Some may not like using the tram to get back to their hotel after a day of sightseeing but we appreciated the quiet after a busy day. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Great way to get acquainted and oriented with the sights of Amsterdam is to take the "hop-on hop-off" canal cruise. Fun and relaxing.

Back to menu Return to top