$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Hans Memling Hotel Bruges

3 stars
View map of Kuipersstraat, 18, Bruges, BE- 8000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
4 reviews
Small and Quiet

Hotel was centrally located but this city is difficult to navigate. When I arrived front desk clerk... See full review

  • Shadiddy
  • Jan 7, 2012
Good Hotel, But Not Luxury

First of all, let me say that Bruges is expensive! The hotels, the food, everything! That being... See full review

  • World Roamer
  • Apr 30, 2010
Welcome to the Hans Memling Hotel, Bruges! The Hans Memling Hotel is a three star Bruges hotel, located in the very centre of the city. Bruges is often referred to as 'the Venice of the North' and with good reason! Situated near the Belgian coast, the city of Bruges can be easily reached by both road and rail. There are 35 guest bedrooms and there is a bar open daily until 11 pm, where we offer a selection of Belgian beers. The hotel also has a cosy terrace which is an ideal place for a drink or simply to relax after a pleasant day of sightseeing.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hans Memling Hotel Bruges also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hans Memling Hotel Bruges Rooms

Standard Room
There are 35 guest bedrooms at the Hans Memling Hotel and each bedroom will contain everything you need to ensure a comfortable stay at this Bruges Hotel. All bedrooms have an ensuite bathroom with bath / shower. You will also be able to avail of a radio, direct dial telephone, mini-bar, Flat screen television and trouser press in your room. The bedrooms are also furnished with a desk and a cupboard for storing your luggage. If you are travelling with small children, the Hans Memling Hotel can provide you with a baby cot.Breakfast buffet is included!

Amenities

General
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • The Chocolate Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Friet Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Historium Brugge: 0.1 mi
  • The Markt: 0.1 mi
  • Belfry and Market Halls: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of the Holy Blood: 0.2 mi
  • Burg: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Historic Center of Brugge: 0.3 mi
  • Groeninge Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Gruuthuse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Savior Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Folklore Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Beguinage: 0.6 mi
  • The Chocolate Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Friet Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Historium Brugge: 0.1 mi
  • The Markt: 0.1 mi
  • Belfry and Market Halls: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of the Holy Blood: 0.2 mi
  • Burg: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Historic Center of Brugge: 0.3 mi
  • Groeninge Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Gruuthuse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Savior Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Folklore Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Beguinage: 0.6 mi
  • Minnewater Lake: 0.8 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Salvador Dali Exhibition: 3.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast
The Hans Memling Hotel served a delicious breakfast each morning in the style of an American buffet from 7.30 untill 9:30 AM, wich is included

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hans Memling Hotel Bruges

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3
Sort by:
Review of Hans Memling Hotel Bruges

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shadiddy
Business
Asheville, NC, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Small and Quiet

Hotel was centrally located but this city is difficult to navigate. When I arrived front desk clerk gave me directions to a parking deck that was about a mile away. There is one right before it but because the streets are 1 way and flow a certain way, you have to drive all the way around the Centrum to get back to it. (Better than walking from other parking lot) Parking will cost you 8,70 euros for up to 24 hours. To use the Internet the hotel cost is 10 euros per 1 hour. At check-in they said that "Orb" had not charged me or paid them and wanted me to pay again. I refused and in the morning they said it was paid. Breakfast was good for Europe. Eggs and Ham + continental. 1 elevator is broken of the 2 and staircase is outside. Shower head is too low and you have to squat to get under. Door of bathroom is very thin and not very private.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A pub named Bar Des Amis. Great atmosphere, Good drinks, good prices, friendly bartenders. On the way to the Grote Market area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hans Memling Hotel Bruges

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
World Roamer
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 30, 2010

Good Hotel, But Not Luxury

First of all, let me say that Bruges is expensive! The hotels, the food, everything! That being said, it was completely worth it! We were only there one night, but had a fabulous time. I don't think it had much to do with the hotel, but I also didn't have much time there. It is cute and located very close to the center square. There are some marks on the walls and some black marks on the bottom of the sheets. I think they were stains, not used sheets. However, I didn't think it was as bad as everyone made it seem. The room was small and pretty basic, but if you are in a fab place like Bruges, why are you spending so much time in your room or the hotel at all?! There was a TV with English channels. The bed was pretty comfortable. It was warm and the shower was clean and the water was hot. The staff was friendly. I think it was a fair deal, as long as you can get a bit of a discount on the price. I would recommend it to anyone who has a short stay in Bruges and is more interested in seeing the city and just having a comfortable, clean place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hans Memling Hotel Bruges

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
Jul 6, 2009

Brugges

It was very gratifying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hans Memling Hotel Bruges

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Covina, CA
Jun 21, 2009

Good location

Great location. Very close to Market Square and tons of restaurants/bars/cafes. Noise can be a little much at night, however, because there are a few bars just down the street. If you choose to stay in this hotel, I would ask for a room in the back. Our double bed was saggy on one edge, but it was large enough that it didn't pose any problem during sleep. There is nothing about the hotel that would prevent me from staying there again, but at the same time there is nothing special that would bring me back. Our stay was fine, but with so many hotels around I would probably try someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bruges has many historic buildings and scenic canals. However, for a unique experience, I would highly recommend renting a bike and taking a short ride to the nearby town of Damme. You will get away from the big, crowded streets of tourists' Bruges, and experience the scenic farmlands that most tourists never will. Any bike rental shop should be able to direct you to Dampoort where the path starts, but here was my path: From Market Square, travel East through Burg Square. Keep straight and follow the road until you get to a larger canal, then make a left onto the bike path. You will pass by four windmills through this park, then make a right onto another path which follows the left side of the Damme Canal. This scenic road will take you about 4 miles straight to Damme. The round-trip bike ride took about 2 hours, but it was one of the best experiences we had in the city. Also of mention is the great chocolate shop located near the corner of Steenstraat and Mariastraat, The Chocolate Line. Their prices are near the higher end, but they have an unparalleled selection of unique flavors including wasabi, wine vinegar, and fried onion to name a few.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top