$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Pirate's Inn

2 stars
View map of Browne's Gap, Hastings,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
5 reviews
"Unbeatable location for the price"

easy walk to beach, restaurants. Easy to figure out bus to different places See full review

  • gran of 9
  • Apr 22, 2009
OK Place

Room was quite large, clean, and comfortable except that there was only one plastic chair to sit on... See full review

  • TN Tony
  • Dec 12, 2011
Fun-loving Barbados hotel keeps guests coming back

With a name like Pirate's Inn, expect this hotel to be a bit rebellious. This is not the place for posh candlelit dinners -- guests come to the Pirate's Inn to cut loose and have fun. The hotel motto is "comfortable, affordable and repeatable," which pretty well sums it up. Casual parties get everyone involved, with themes Cap'n Grog Party and the Friday buffet with karaoke. It is the stuff of great memories and fierce loyalty -- and plenty of repeat visitors are feeling the love for Pirate's Inn.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the property
  • Cell phones available (fees apply)
  • Five-minute walk from Rockley Beach
Rooms

This intimate and inviting hotel on the South Coast of Barbados offers 21 rooms around a central swimming pool. All rooms at Pirate's Inn include one king or two twin beds, bathrooms and kitchenettes. Cable television and a balcony, a patio or a picture window are also included.


Kitchenettes include a refrigerator, an oven and cooktop burners. Microwaves are available upon request. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, telephones with free local calls, hair-dryers, in-room safes and housekeeping service are provided.

Features

A central courtyard serves as the hub of activity at the Pirate's Inn, with a freeform pool, a sun deck, chaise lounges, palm trees and casual poolside dining. Laundry facilities and free parking are available.

Dining

Pirate's Inn Bar and Bistro offers a range of soups, salads, fish, steak, chicken, pasta and more. Curried chicken with grilled plantain and white rice is a local favorite. A menu for kids is available. For do-it-yourself in-room dining, supermarkets are within walking distance. Pick up chicken or fresh fish and take advantage of the on-site barbecue grills.


For guests craving a taste of something more upscale, the beachfront Black Pearl Seafood and Steakhouse Wine Bar is within walking distance of the Pirate's Inn. An interesting combination of quality steaks and festive Greek dishes appeals to a variety of tastes.


The nearby Tapas is another good beachfront choice, with all sorts of small-plated goodies like ceviche, empanadas, prosciutto and pineapple, chicken satay and Thai fish cakes.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Airport transfers available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Garrison Savannah (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Needham's Point (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Bridgetown (2 mi/3.3 km)
Business
  • Catering services available
Policies and fees
Internet fee is $5 USD for use in the property's Internet cafe. Split air-conditioning units are available in all rooms. Rooms are sold fan-cooled, and there is a charge $10 USD per day for air conditioning.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pirate's Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Pirate's Inn Rooms

Studio Apartment
Room with two twin or one king bed includes kichenette with a full stove and oven; refrigerator, cable TV, and en suite bathrooms are standard . The room is designed with comfort in mind. Rooms are fan-cooled and there is a charge of $10.00 per night for air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Dining
The Pirate's Inn Poolside Bar and grill provides a casual environment for informal dining. The Menu features a variety of snacks and grilled specials. Affordable prices and fresh tasty food keep patrons coming back. Breakfast starts at 7:30 a.m. and the full menu is available all day until 9 p.m. The bar closes at 11 p.m. The daily happy hour from 6-7 p.m. has been popular with guests for many years. Please note the rates for the below meals - Breakfast US$15 Lunch US$20 Dinner US$25 All are per person and per day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Pirate's Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pirate's Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TN Tony
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Dec 12, 2011

OK Place

Room was quite large, clean, and comfortable except that there was only one plastic chair to sit on (plus two outside on the miniature balcony) and A/C cost $10 extra.Also there were no toiletries (shampoo,etc) provided. The restaurant consists of a few tables by the pool. The service was agonizingly slow but the food was good,though expensive ( note that the website quotes Barbados Dollars on the menu , worth about 1/2 USD). The staff were all pleasant and helpful especially the young man who acted as our guide and driver on an island tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the street to a seafront boardwalk and lovely beach , also several restaurants which we did not have time to check out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pirate's Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MadisonGirl
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Dec 19, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

When I arrived at the Pirate's Inn, the receptionist told me that a guest decided to stay an additional night and that she was sending me to their best property, Dover Beach Guest Hotel. She paid the taxi cab driver to take me there and called the hotel to let them know that I was on the way. It was an excellent hotel on the beach. My room was really quite nice with a small kitchen. It had a large swimming pool and beautiful gardens. It was located in a wonderful area as well. I would return to this property again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pirate's Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 14, 2010

Pirates after all

When I arrived at the Hotel, the room was quite hot and I asked about the A/C. The person who assisted me was not very familiar,but called someone and found out that it was turned on with the use of a remote which he returned with fifteen minutes later.He demonstrated how to use it and requested that I sign for accepting the remote,he also said he did not know why it was not in the room.No one ever came back to discuss anything about the use of the A/C. To my surprise, when I checked out,i was hit with an A/C bill for $120.00. When I complained that I was never informed about an additional cost for the use of the A/C, I was told that it was not part of the package,though it was not written anyplace at Pirate's Inn or in my reservations.SO, I feel as if I was ripped off by the Pirates at the Inn!!! I will never go back there,and neither will I send anyone there. They accepted no part of the responsibility for informing me that there was an extra cost for using an A/C in a hot climate at a Hotel. First time,last time! If you are going there,bring your own A/C!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

St.Lawrence Gap. A variety of entertainment.Actually the hotel is not far from good food,the beach and transportation, but the staff is not very informative and the grill work and pad lock on the front door at night made me feel a little uncomfortable.No real activities at hotel.King sized bed are two twin beds pushed together,which don't stay together.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pirate's Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
You break it, you buy it
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 2, 2010

A/C is NOT free.

Overall the hotel was okay. After we were there for two days the manager informed us we were going to be charged for using the air conditioner and for breaking it. We were never told that air conditioning was not figured into the cost of the hotel. Nor were we told that you needed a remote to turn on the A/C. We just took the cover off and pushed the auto button and left the cover on the floor and the maid took pictures of it and told the manager we broke it. Then we had to argue with the manager and show her we didn't break it. She kept asking us why we didn't just ask for the remote but we had never seen an A/C that required a remote and no one told us about it. This made us uneasy about the bill we would have when we left the hotel. My only other complaint, besides paying extra for A/C and being accused of breaking it was the fact that we weren't provided with dish soap and housekeeping never did our dishes. We stayed there for seven days and had to use hand soap to clean the plates and silverware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went on a catamaran ride that included lunch, swimming, and two snorkeling stops. We swam with sea turtles and snorkeled over a ship wreck and coral reef. The crew onboard was very friendly and helpful. Small Cats cruises takes only 12 people at a time so it was very intimate and we had lots of space on the boat. It was worth every penny we paid for it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pirate's Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
You break it, you buy it
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 2, 2010

A/C is NOT free.

Overall the hotel was okay. After we were there for two days the manager informed us we were going to be charged for using the air conditioner and for breaking it. We were never told that air conditioning was not figured into the cost of the hotel. Nor were we told that you needed a remote to turn on the A/C. We just took the cover off and pushed the auto button and left the cover on the floor and the maid took pictures of it and told the manager we broke it. Then we had to argue with the manager and show her we didn't break it. She kept asking us why we didn't just ask for the remote but we had never seen an A/C that required a remote and no one told us about it. This made us uneasy about the bill we would have when we left the hotel. My only other complaint, besides paying extra for A/C and being accused of breaking it was the fact that we weren't provided with dish soap and housekeeping never did our dishes. We stayed there for seven days and had to use hand soap to clean the plates and silverware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went on a catamaran ride that included lunch, swimming, and two snorkeling stops. We swam with sea turtles and snorkeled over a ship wreck and coral reef. The crew onboard was very friendly and helpful. Small Cats cruises takes only 12 people at a time so it was very intimate and we had lots of space on the boat. It was worth every penny we paid for it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pirate's Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gran of 9
Business
ontario canada
Apr 22, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

easy walk to beach, restaurants. Easy to figure out bus to different places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

we took the bus to St.Lawrence gap. Fantastic restaurants there. Also took the bus to Oistins for the fish fry. Friday night is the busiest night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top