$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

The Crane Resort and Residences

4 stars
St Philip, Christchurch, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
116 reviews
The Crane

Awesome beach, great views of ocean from cliff-top. Room was amazing....way more space than... See full review

  • jquest21
  • May 19, 2014
A great break

A wonderful place with universally friendly staff. We had an exceptional room and enjoyed some... See full review

  • Geraint
  • Jan 27, 2014
Historic Barbados resort offers up-to-date conveniences

This residential resort is renowned for its unique cliff-top setting on one of the most beautiful pieces of beachfront in the world. Contemporary additions have transformed the Crane Resort and Residences from a small property into a first-class experience. The Crane is conveniently located a six-minute drive from Grantley Adams International Airport, on the southeastern coast of Barbados. Strategic location provides a comfortable sense of seclusion with convenient access to major sightseeing destinations.

Highlights
  • Named "One of the 10 Best Beaches in the World" by Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous.
  • 2009 Zagat Guide to the Best of Barbados rated Zen restaurant "Barbados' No. 1 for Food" 
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Room service
Rooms

Rooms and suites are all unique in design and location, with authentic antique furnishings, original coral stone walls, spectacular views, and elegant canopy or four-poster beds. All come with cable television and VCR and include a desk plus spacious closet with large dressing area. Bathrooms include Jacuzzi bath, separate toilet area, spa shower with multiple shower heads, and double vanity.

Features

The original 1887 historic hotel offers rooms and private residences. The newer private residences still offer 21st century conveniences and amenities, though the Crane remains steeped in Barbados history. Ground floor suites feature infinity edge private pools. Two-bedroom residences on upper floors offer individual plunge pools. Azure Restaurant serves fresh seafood with amazing ocean views. Another restaurant, Zen, specializes in classic Thai and Japanese cuisine.

 

Crane Beach is one of the best swimming spots on all of Barbados, protected by a natural coral reef. Crane pool overlooks the scenic Crane Beach. The resort has also recently opened a new 1.5-acre multi-cascading pool complex.


Guests who want to shop while on vacation can visit the duty-free emporium in the Village Town Hall. Nightlife and other sightseeing destinations are all a short drive away.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport  (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Oistins fishing village (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • St. Lawrence Gap (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Bridgetown (13.5 mi/21 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms accommodating up to 250

The Crane Resort and Residences Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean View with Private Plunge Pool
Features a four-poster king sized mahogany bed, hardwood floors, hand-crafted Barbadian mahogany furniture, a 36" Cable TV with DVD player and a computer desk with direct dial phone and Internet access. Floor-to-ceiling cedar doors with adjustable louvered shutters offer guests the opportunity to walk directly out onto the private patio or simply enjoy the sight of the Atlantic Ocean while relaxing in bed.
Junior Garden View Suite
The room offers 1 King Bed with premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, balcony, patio, separate sitting area, ceiling fan, climate control, blackout drapes, voice mail, kitchenette, coffee/tea maker, kitchen, wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), massage - available in room, separate bathtub and shower, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, jetted tub, child care (in room, surcharge), electronic/magnetic keys, clock radio, iron/ironing board and in-room safe. Cribs (infant beds) available.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Feature a master bedroom with Cable TV & VCR and a writing desk; a private bathroom with spacious wardrobe, a large dressing area, jacuzzi bath, separate toilet room, spa shower with multiple shower heads and double vanity; large living room with sofa and sofa bed, Cable TV & DVD, and large dining table; fully equipped kitchen with fridge freezer, ice dispenser, oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher and washer dryer; guest bathroom with vanity, toilet and shower; a large balcony with sun loungers, chairs, table and ocean view.
One Bedroom Deluxe Park
Features a master bedroom with flat screen Cable TV & DVD and a writing desk; a private bathroom with wardrobe, a large dressing area, Jacuzzi bath, separate toilet room, shower and double vanity; large living room with sofa and sofa bed, Cable TV & DVD, and dining table. Fully equipped kitchen with fridge freezer, ice dispenser, oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher and washer dryer. Guest bathroom with toilet and shower. A large balcony with chairs, table and tropical garden view.
1 Bedroom Garden Pool Park - Ground Floor
This ground floor unit with lush gardens, features a master bedroom with flat screen Cable TV & DVD and a writing desk. A bathroom with wardrobe, a large dressing area, shower and vanity. A separate living room with sofa and sofa bed, Cable TV & DVD, and dining area. Fully equipped kitchen with fridge freezer, ice dispenser, oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher and washer dryer. A spacious balcony with sun loungers, chairs, table, back garden with pool.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite with Plunge Pool
This unit feature a bay window seating area with two soft chairs; Cable TV & VCR; a mini-kitchen with small fridge; a private marble bathroom with shower and jacuzzi bath, separate toilet room, single vanity, hair dryer and razor point; and a balcony or terrace with two chairs, a table and garden view. Some Junior Garden View Suites also feature a large sofa bed. This unit adjoins to our One Bedroom Ocean View with private plunge pool which feature a master bedroom with Cable TV & VCR and a writing desk; a private bathroom with spacious wardrobe, a large dressing area, jacuzzi bath, separate toilet room, spa shower with multiple shower heads and double vanity; large living room with sofa and sofa bed, Cable TV & DVD, and large dining table; fully equipped kitchen with fridge freezer, ice dispenser, oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher and washer dryer; guest bathroom with vanity, toilet and shower; a large balcony with sun loungers, chairs, table and ocean view.
Three Bedroom Ocean View Penthouse with Plunge Pool
Features vaulted ceilings, expansive private balcony with ocean view, sun loungers, chairs and table and private plunge pool; spacious fully-equipped kitchen, living room with sofa, chairs and sofabed and dining room with seating for eight. Master bedroom as 1 Bedroom Ocean View Private Residence. Second bedroom offers two twin beds and ensuite bathroom with shower. Third bedroom as Junior Garden View Suite. Prices are based on 6 adults; a further 2 children or 2 adults can be accommodated on the sofa bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Crane Resort and Residences also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

13.1059 -59.4481
Area served
St. Phillip, Barbados
Nearby airports
Grantley Adams International Airport (BGI).
Area description
The Crane is conveniently located approximately six minutes drive east of the Grantley Adams International Airport, on the South Eastern coast of Barbados. This strategic location permits the best of all worlds: a comfortable sense of seclusion, yet a few minutes drive from the main sight seeing destinations. The Crane, also enjoys easy access to the rest of the island with its wide array of golf courses, restaurants, night- clubs, shopping and more.

Nearby points of interest

  • Maxwell Beach: 5.9 mi
  • Oistins: 6.8 mi
  • Sheraton Centre: 8.2 mi

Dining

Carriage House Restaurant & Bar
The Carriage House was once the official stable of the historic "Crane Beach Hotel" over 100 years ago. In keeping with the continued expansion and development it has been transformed into a modern day poolside bar and grill, serving up a variety of light grilled items and tropical cocktails in or out of the shade.
In-house Entertainment
Every Sunday the patrons of the restaurant are treated to The Crane's renowned 'Gospel Brunch' featuring some of the most talented gospel singers in Barbados. Reservations are a must as this is a very popular event. Sunday afternoons feature live steel pan entertainment to accompany the traditional bajan buffet lunch. Every Monday, relax in grand style at the Manager's Cocktail Party. Our Manager hosts a chance for guests to socialize with one another and meet the management of the resort.
Zen Restaurant
Zen features classic Thai and Japanese cuisine in a stunning setting overlooking Crane Beach. Zen features traditional Tatami rooms, an exquisite sushi bar and the option for guests to enjoy private dinining. Zen, rated as "No. 1 for Food in Barbados" in 2009 & 2010.
LAzure Restaurant
Famous for its fresh seafood and panoramic sea views for over a century, LAzure restaurant at The Crane serves up a tempting range of classic and Caribbean delicacies. The Crane's restaurant has achieved several distinctions including two silver awards at the Barbados Hotel and Dining Festival and La Carte Magazine's prestigious Gold Award for Light Cuisine. From seafood to mouth-watering desserts, The Crane maintains its long-held reputation for elegant dining. The atmosphere speaks of elegance and beauty as patrons sit inside or on the balcony where they can view spectacular Crane Beach in all its splendor while they dine. There is a wonderful Sunday breakfast with live Caribbean gospel music in the morning and a traditional Barbadian Sunday buffet lunch.
DOnofrios Pizzeria
Nestled at the heart of charming Crane Village, DOnofrios serves up the finest authentic southern Italian fare. Classic dishes are inspired by the simple flavors and Old World traditions of Italy but done to modern standards of taste and excellence. With a wide choice of pizzas and pastas and its casual atmosphere, D'Onofrio's is perfect for families with younger children.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for The Crane Resort and Residences

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LadyAustin
Austin, TX, USA
Jun 15, 2013

Beatiful View

Best thing about the Crane is it's quiet location and gorgeous views. Even though the beach is rough it's one of the prettiest around. And the views of the cliffs have the bluest water ever. Our only problem was with our room. We had requested to be in building 3, 2, 8, or 9 and were put in bulding 5 which we had already been told was under some renovating. Not a pleasant start to the trip. The 2nd day the phone was out in our room. The 3rd day we had a leak and a patch was put on that. the 4th day the patch was still leaking so an actual tearing out of the celing and repair had to be done. The next day no problems with the room but the electricity was cut off for the day. We had been told it would be back on by 5pm and it was not on until 7pm. The phones did not work the remainder of the day and our t.v did not work the remainder of the day or the next day. Also the next day we found another water leak in another room but were luckily done with our stay. We did let the front desk know upon our check out. You would think they would have credited us something back for the poor condition of our room all week but they didn't offer at all. Not at all up to par with how a resort like this should be. I would still recommend just due to pure heavenly location but only after all renovations are completed. 4 stars is based on location only as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Littlemrshall
Ernul, North Carolina
May 12, 2013

First International Vacation

The resort has everything you need for a wonderful family or couple get away. My husband and I rarely left the resort to venture out; we were conent just lounging by the pools and on the beach. The staff is extremely accomodating and friendly; everyone you pass while wondering around says hello and asks how your day is going. The spa has excellent services with top notch professionals and the grounds are beautiful with foilage at every turn. My husband and I had originally planned on exploring the island and while we did visit Harrison's Cave, take a fishing trip, and a catamaran cruise at sunset we spent the rest of week relaxing. I felt 100 % safe at this resort by myself while my husband was on a fishing trip. I would recommend this resort to everyone looking for a relaxing caribbean vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

For first time visitors coming from the United States I would NOT recommend a rental car. In Barbados you drive on the right hand side of the car and the left hand side of the road (the exact opposite of the US). The roads are not clearly labeled so it's very difficult to follow the maps. The locals stated that nearly all car accidents on the island are a result of tourist from the USA. At the Crane there are several trips that offer free shuttle to the destination via bus (ex. Jammin' Cruise and Bridgetown).

Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Bike Mike
Buffalo NY
Apr 22, 2013

Great Place

The hotel was very nice, somewhat dated/worn. Negatives -Stains on couch, housekeeping inconsistant, waitress at Zen (Tanisha) tried to overcharge us on Wine, Bartender did not accept Happy Hour as advertised. Local (John) tried to sell us dope everyday on the beach. Positives - Spectacular Natural Beauty/view, overall wonderful staff, food quality and presentation. Carriage House staff was great -explained Criquet in less than 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cab drivers - Andy and Harold were outstanding. Harold provided local directions in Bridgetown and gave an outstanding overview of the Island and it's people on the way back to the Crane.

Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary 534
New Jersey
Apr 7, 2013

Perfect Family Vacation

Hotel rooms are very large and come with a full kitchen. Views of the ocean from building 8 are great. Building 5 views are the best but you are a little far from everything. Ocean beach and waves are stellar. The waves are rough for a young child but are great for older children. Beach is very private. Zen restaurant was our favorite. All the restaurants are a little pricey. If you bring food with you from home you will save alot of money on lunch and breakfast. Exercise room was adequate. Crowd at crane was on the older side so pools were very relaxing. Ask for Larry taxi service, (he drives a silver Cadillac), very professional and very prompt for all your taxi services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tapas restaurant was excellent. Bring food from home to save money. Ask for Larry 's taxi service for excellent service.

Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LXBX
New York
Jan 3, 2013

Beautiful resort, yet poor service and very remote

Although the resort is beautiful, the service ruined our experience. Dinner reservations and food options were extremely limited at best and food and service was far below average. We do not recommend and would not go back. Stay on the west side where there is activity and more options for food and better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents in Hiding
Long Island, NY
Jan 1, 2013

Beautiful Setting - Small Changes Would Help Make it Perfect!

The setting, view and grounds are beautiful. We've been to Barbados before but the Crane was a very different experience from what we've experienced previously. Some of the amenities are just lovely - full kitchens, plunge pools, many pools and extraordinary views make this a special place. Unfortunately, little things somewhat ruined the experience. The biggest by far is the limited availability of food - only one place is open for breakfast and it is an expensive and disappointing buffet. Everything pre-prepared was cold (even scrambled eggs)- however, my husband did get a lovely omelette at the omelette station. I can't understand why they wouldn't open up the Carriage House for breakfast. Same for lunch - the Carriage House and the Main restaurant are open - that's it. The entire time we were there, I saw guests searching for another option. Only drinks are available on the beach and you have to travel all the way back up to the resort to eat lunch. Why not offer snacks, sandwiches or a bbq on the beach??? Also - why not offer waitress service around the pools? We've been to inexpensive all-inclusive resorts where they manage to provide all of these things. Towels are treated like gold - seems strange to be limited to one towel per person in a place where you are paying a small fortune a night for a room! The air-conditioner in our unit barely worked - but we enjoyed the lovely warm breeze instead. Mattress needed replacing. We arrived on 12/27 and the spa was completely booked until 1/4. We were disappointed but should have booked prior to our arrival. Overall- I think that the resort is more geared towards the time-share owners rather than hotel guests. That may explain some of the issues mentioned above. Overall it is a lovely place but with some changes - it could be amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Book restaurants before you arrive on vacation. Barbardos has fabulous food but we were stuck with either very early or very late dinner reservations at the best places. Pisces had a very romantic setting with great food!

Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nobby
London
Nov 8, 2012

Fabulous room

Just got back from the crane after a weeks relaxation with my wife and daughter. We stayed in room 511a, and it could not have been better. Room sizes were enormous and the private pool rarely left during the daytime. Only issue encountered was the temperature of private pool sometimes a little too warm to swim in, but the other pools were available if this was the case. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
may2012
New York
May 27, 2012

May 2012 trip

Yes: the best beach in Barbados, Zen restaurant, yoga classes. No: our room was not cleaned for 2 days even we requested this service multiple times. Finaly, on the third day the guy stopped at the door and handeled me huge plastic bag filled of towels of the same size. On the 6th day, when we had to leave the cleaning lady knocked on our door 4 times starting at 9 o'clock in the morning every 40 min or so. Some prices are in US dollars, but when they give you the bill they multiply it 2 to make Barbados dollars and when they charge you (even if you wish to pay US) they divide it 1.95. When I point to this at the front desk she agreed with me but did nothing. I cought flu in a middle of my trip because the stupidity of the stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ytnhre
New York, NY, USA
Apr 13, 2012

amazing except for remote location

amazing except a very remote location from the rest of activities on the island, but the nature and the beach are amazing and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Harrison Cave has 3 different tours. Walking 4 hrs long Eco tour. I suggest that!

Review of The Crane Resort and Residences

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midlantic beach comber
Philadelphia
Mar 13, 2012

Extraordinary beach and boogie boarding

The Crane rightly deserves a big spot on local maps, and plently of signposts on the twisty very local roads. Once you get there you have little if any reason to leave. There are a variety of restaurants on site, the local grocery store will come pick you up to go shopping and return you to the Crane with your groceries in hand. The driving around that we did earned us one great meal away (TAPAS), but otherwise we would have been just as happy staying on site. Tennis at night and boogy boarding by day with the inbetweens in their excellent exercise room or spilling pools. I save the best for last as if you have read this far, you deserve to be rewarded -- this beach is beautiful, surrounded by huge cliffs that the resort looks out over. Bring your own boogie boards or rent from a local guy on the beach, you will have a blast. If you want Hawaii surf, go there, or maybe elsewhere on Barbados, but if you waves in all shapes and sizes that will have you scream everything from Ahhh to OMG as you ride or duck them this is a place for you and your family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tapas restaurant 30 minutes drive. Reasonably priced and different from the rest of the sometimes repetitve carribean fare

Back to menu Return to top