$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

3 stars
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Can't do better for the £££s-location location location!

Even if its in need of a lick of paint, the location is perfect for The Gap. Lovely clean pool and... See full review

  • Chrissygotobarbados
  • Apr 8, 2014
Amazing Activities & Hospitality

I had an amazing time at this Resort. The grounds are well kept, staff friendly, and there are... See full review

  • NYCTravellerPrincess
  • May 28, 2011
All-suite resort on white sand beaches

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, located on the south coast of Barbados, sits on Dover Beach and along the St Lawrence Gap, known for lively nightlife, dining, and open-air shopping. Guests enjoy beautiful wide, sandy beaches -- made extra inviting by gentle currents. A cobbled stone street running through the resort leads to fine island dining and nightlife.

Highlights
  • Children under 12 stay free with adults
  • Three freshwater swimming pools
  • On-site fitness room with equipment
  • Internet access
Rooms

Options at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort include beach villas to one- and two-bedroom suites. All 130 guest rooms are spacious and offer king or twin beds plus queen sleeper sofa in separate living area. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchen, television with VCR, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. All rooms feature a private patio or balcony with full ocean, garden, or pool views.

Features

Family-friendly amenities include three freshwater swimming pools, poolside lounge, miniature golf course, children's playground, and tennis courts. Children under 12 stay free with adults and staff is available to help with child care.

 

Other features include a beauty salon, full-service activities center, fitness center, and Internet access. Guest laundry facilities and mini-mart with groceries add conveniences of home to suite living. Grocery service can also prestock room with groceries selected online by guests.

 

Dining options include Joslyn's Café, a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunches daily, and Bajan Breeze Restaurant with breakfast and dinner poolside. Menus offer international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan favorites. Popular theme parties Thursday nights feature live music and Barbados foods like flying fish. Guests enjoy exciting night life and great restaurants nearby in the world-famous St. Lawrence Gap, within walking distance of Divi Southwinds.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (just outside)
  • Oistins fishing village (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (4 mi/6.4 km)

Hotel Map

13.0685 -59.5712
Area served
Barbados
Nearby airports
Primary Airport Name: Grandley Adams International Airport Direction from Property: East Distance from Property: Approximately 6 miles
Area description
The Divi Southwinds Beach Resort is situated on a half-mile stretch of sugar sand beach amid 20 acres of tropically landscaped gardens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Divi Southwinds Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed in the bedroom, with a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, clock radio, and in-room safe. One bedroom suites are a short walk from the beach just behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer spacious private balconies or patios with pool or garden views.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed, two twin beds, and a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Two bedroom suites offer one full bath and one half bath. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. Two bedroom suites are located a short walk from the beach behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer private patios or balconies with pool or garden views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sheraton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Oistins: 2.2 mi
  • Maxwell Beach: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bajan Breeze Restaurant
The Bajan Breeze Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner poolside, featuring international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan treats. The breakfast buffet is a guest favorite, with both tropical fruits and made-to-order hot dishes. Thursday night at the Bajan Breeze is a popular theme night offering guests live local music and Barbados recipes. The flying fish is not to be missed!
Jocelyns Cafe
Jocelyns Cafe is a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunch daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 41
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A B'dos girl
WHITE PLAINS, MD
Feb 10, 2013

Good but could be better

This was my first visit to Barbados and to Divi Southwinds. The hotel was clean, although it was a bit noisy with some repairs going on in and around the hotel. The fountains on each end of my hallway were VERY loud. The bed and furniture were comfortable. My room did not have any information about the amenities or how to get what I needed. I only know what was missing because my family (who own a timeshare) were in another room that had alot of information. The kitchen did not have silverware the first day. By the second day, silverware was provided. The hairdryer in my room did not work.The living room remote control did not work properly (it was held together with tape). These things could be fixed. I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make the effort to go to an actual bank and change your money to Barbados dollars and spend that during your trip.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spyder Snyder
Claysburg,PA
Jan 27, 2013

I would return!

The boys and I just returned from Divi Southwinds and we had an excellent vacation. We spent seven nights at Divi. The location and the staff was great. It was at the beach and we could walk down St. Lawrence Gap at any time. We felt very safe at this resort. Thank you Divi Southwinds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the public transportation. Not only is it cheap, it is also very interesting.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYCTravellerPrincess
Brooklyn
May 28, 2011

Amazing Activities & Hospitality

I had an amazing time at this Resort. The grounds are well kept, staff friendly, and there are tons of fun things to do to keep you busy. The Activities Coordinator Juliette E. was particularly helpful in creating a personalized itinerary to help me explore the may sites and activities that Divi Southwinds, and Barbados have to offer. She was friendly, hospitable, and very knowledgable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to on the Jammin' Catamaran boat day trip, and swim with the sea turtles!

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dominica
Dec 9, 2010

Nice Hotel (from Dominica)

The room was spacious. Lots of amenities in the room...plus free internet which is good for business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to St Lawrence gap.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
H'town, TX
Oct 29, 2010

Nice resort

The staff was great and friendly allways. very helpful and informative with good recommendations for daily and nightly activities in the area.. It does help to have so much to do in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out onto St. Lawerence street and take a right. So much to do.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Oct 14, 2010

good for the price

I was looking for a good deal in the off-season and I got it, almost half the regular price. I stay at a friend's home normally but wanted to try a hotel for part of my trip. Price was very important and I knew I wouldn't be getting luxury. The rooms were clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate. The floor lamp in the living room was broken, wash cloths were not in the bathroom when I arrived, and the water had to be turned off for four hours one day for water main repairs, but other than that there were no problems. The pool was great and I used it rather than going to the beach, where there were lingering rough tides from a prior storm. The beach was across the street and just far enough away that I just visited once to get my complimentary rum punch at the bar! I am glad I didn't get the all-inclusive plan as the only meal I had at the hotel, breakfast, was OK but not great. I would not pay full price for this hotel but it was fine for the money. As others have mentioned, my room safe did not work as directed (they said the door key card would open/close the safe but it clearly required a code to be punched in instead) though I didn't pursue it since I was only there for two days. The reception desk and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Lawrence Gap has quite a few nice and expensive restaurants. I found a bargain nearby called Pun de Grill, where the flying fish 'snack' was more than I normally have for dinner and about half the price of comparable meals in other restaurants.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peapodesque
nyack new york
Oct 28, 2009

very pleasant stay

I was forced to spend a night in barbados because of airline change of schedule,,,i was pleasantly surprised by the courteous staff ,many choices of things to do,proximity to the ocean,,and reasonable rates!the only thing i would improve is get some better pillows,,,!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search