$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
50 reviews
Repeat visit

I have been visiting Barbados for 25 years. I have stayed at Divi south winds on numerous... See full review

  • jimmy j j
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great value for money, friendly and helpf staff, brilliant location

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Although a little tired round the edges, the rooms are very... See full review

  • Bobbie
  • Mar 3, 2015
All-suite resort on white sand beaches

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, located on the south coast of Barbados, sits on Dover Beach and along the St Lawrence Gap, known for lively nightlife, dining, and open-air shopping. Guests enjoy beautiful wide, sandy beaches -- made extra inviting by gentle currents. A cobbled stone street running through the resort leads to fine island dining and nightlife.

Highlights
  • Children under 12 stay free with adults
  • Three freshwater swimming pools
  • On-site fitness room with equipment
  • Internet access
Rooms

Options at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort include beach villas to one- and two-bedroom suites. All 130 guest rooms are spacious and offer king or twin beds plus queen sleeper sofa in separate living area. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchen, television with VCR, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. All rooms feature a private patio or balcony with full ocean, garden, or pool views.

Features

Family-friendly amenities include three freshwater swimming pools, poolside lounge, miniature golf course, children's playground, and tennis courts. Children under 12 stay free with adults and staff is available to help with child care.

 

Other features include a beauty salon, full-service activities center, fitness center, and Internet access. Guest laundry facilities and mini-mart with groceries add conveniences of home to suite living. Grocery service can also prestock room with groceries selected online by guests.

 

Dining options include Joslyn's Café, a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunches daily, and Bajan Breeze Restaurant with breakfast and dinner poolside. Menus offer international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan favorites. Popular theme parties Thursday nights feature live music and Barbados foods like flying fish. Guests enjoy exciting night life and great restaurants nearby in the world-famous St. Lawrence Gap, within walking distance of Divi Southwinds.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (just outside)
  • Oistins fishing village (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (4 mi/6.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Divi Southwinds Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed in the bedroom, with a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, clock radio, and in-room safe. One bedroom suites are a short walk from the beach just behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer spacious private balconies or patios with pool or garden views.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed, two twin beds, and a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Two bedroom suites offer one full bath and one half bath. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. Two bedroom suites are located a short walk from the beach behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer private patios or balconies with pool or garden views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sheraton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Oistins: 2.2 mi
  • Maxwell Beach: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bajan Breeze Restaurant
The Bajan Breeze Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner poolside, featuring international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan treats. The breakfast buffet is a guest favorite, with both tropical fruits and made-to-order hot dishes. Thursday night at the Bajan Breeze is a popular theme night offering guests live local music and Barbados recipes. The flying fish is not to be missed!
Jocelyns Cafe
Jocelyns Cafe is a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunch daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 50
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimmy j j
Business
Lockport
Apr 6, 2015

Repeat visit

I have been visiting Barbados for 25 years. I have stayed at Divi south winds on numerous occasions. Accomodations have always been clean, staff is always very pleasant, The hotel has constantly been doing reneuvations. Beautiful new bar and restaraunt on the beach. I will be returning 2015.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbie
Business
Cowbridge
Mar 3, 2015

Great value for money, friendly and helpf staff, brilliant location

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Although a little tired round the edges, the rooms are very comfortable and pretty large. Extremely professional and helpful staff. Good facilities - really nice, large pool and lovely gardens. Our room wasn't spotless, but to be fair we dragged in a lot of sand most days from the beach. Rooms seem to be given a basic daily clean and beds made but not exactly a deep clean - by no means dirty though, so don't be put off by this. Good location right in the middle of St Lawrence Gap. All round really excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Mar 20, 2010

Perfect Location, Comfortable Room

The rooms were clean and comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. The beach was right across the street with soft sand, lounge chairs, and shady trees. There were waves and no lifegaurds so it may not be the best beach for small children, but I thought it was perfect. I cannot comment on the pool, drinks, or food. The bars did not seem very lively. It's right next to the gap so we went out there every night. So convenient to not have to get a taxi! The kitchens were stocked with cooking supplies so we even made a few meals in the room (no oven though). Housekeeping came daily and changed the towels, took out garbage...even did the dishes left in the sink! I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, PA
Aug 25, 2009

August 14-24, 2009

The front desk personnel were very nice and tried to help us. We had booked a pool view room, but did not get it. The bed was very comfortable, which is uncommon in St. Lawrence hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Lots of recipes that tend to the English. I do not like that cuisine, so we went to out of the way places that served flying fish, chicken and lamb dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
like a rockstar
Business
Kansas City
Jun 4, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

the hotel ws great we had a great time, and would do it again. the location wasnt all that bad, lots of things with in walking distance. just wish the rooms had internet,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

nightlife within walking distance, others a short drive...fine you a taxi driver and make him your friend for life...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
like a rockstar
Business
Kansas City
Jun 4, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

the hotel ws great we had a great time, and would do it again. the location wasnt all that bad, lots of things with in walking distance. just wish the rooms had internet,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

nightlife within walking distance, others a short drive...fine you a taxi driver and make him your friend for life...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 1, 2009

Barbados Bargain

This was my second time staying here. The staff are very friendly and the location is perfect to go without a rental car to save money. The rooms are comfortable with lots of space, but during this last stay, we had trouble with consistent hot water in the shower despite changing rooms. Additionaly, the room above us starting leaking water through our ceiling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to a nice beach and lots of restaurants and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top