$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

3 stars
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Can't do better for the £££s-location location location!

Even if its in need of a lick of paint, the location is perfect for The Gap. Lovely clean pool and... See full review

  • Chrissygotobarbados
  • Apr 8, 2014
Amazing Activities & Hospitality

I had an amazing time at this Resort. The grounds are well kept, staff friendly, and there are... See full review

  • NYCTravellerPrincess
  • May 28, 2011
All-suite resort on white sand beaches

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, located on the south coast of Barbados, sits on Dover Beach and along the St Lawrence Gap, known for lively nightlife, dining, and open-air shopping. Guests enjoy beautiful wide, sandy beaches -- made extra inviting by gentle currents. A cobbled stone street running through the resort leads to fine island dining and nightlife.

Highlights
  • Children under 12 stay free with adults
  • Three freshwater swimming pools
  • On-site fitness room with equipment
  • Internet access
Rooms

Options at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort include beach villas to one- and two-bedroom suites. All 130 guest rooms are spacious and offer king or twin beds plus queen sleeper sofa in separate living area. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchen, television with VCR, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. All rooms feature a private patio or balcony with full ocean, garden, or pool views.

Features

Family-friendly amenities include three freshwater swimming pools, poolside lounge, miniature golf course, children's playground, and tennis courts. Children under 12 stay free with adults and staff is available to help with child care.

 

Other features include a beauty salon, full-service activities center, fitness center, and Internet access. Guest laundry facilities and mini-mart with groceries add conveniences of home to suite living. Grocery service can also prestock room with groceries selected online by guests.

 

Dining options include Joslyn's Café, a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunches daily, and Bajan Breeze Restaurant with breakfast and dinner poolside. Menus offer international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan favorites. Popular theme parties Thursday nights feature live music and Barbados foods like flying fish. Guests enjoy exciting night life and great restaurants nearby in the world-famous St. Lawrence Gap, within walking distance of Divi Southwinds.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (just outside)
  • Oistins fishing village (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (4 mi/6.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Divi Southwinds Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed in the bedroom, with a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, clock radio, and in-room safe. One bedroom suites are a short walk from the beach just behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer spacious private balconies or patios with pool or garden views.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed, two twin beds, and a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Two bedroom suites offer one full bath and one half bath. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. Two bedroom suites are located a short walk from the beach behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer private patios or balconies with pool or garden views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sheraton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Oistins: 2.2 mi
  • Maxwell Beach: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bajan Breeze Restaurant
The Bajan Breeze Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner poolside, featuring international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan treats. The breakfast buffet is a guest favorite, with both tropical fruits and made-to-order hot dishes. Thursday night at the Bajan Breeze is a popular theme night offering guests live local music and Barbados recipes. The flying fish is not to be missed!
Jocelyns Cafe
Jocelyns Cafe is a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunch daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 41
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrissygotobarbados
Business
London
Apr 8, 2014

Can't do better for the £££s-location location location!

Even if its in need of a lick of paint, the location is perfect for The Gap. Lovely clean pool and plenty if cover. Nice large grounds. Pool bar and restaurant refurbished only recently to a very high standard and now open at night-very good. The rooms are extremely spacious getting a suite rather than just a room. A separate bedroom plus a lounge with nice sofa bed and good kitchen area. I've stayed here three times now and security this year was better in the past years maybe because of their newly refurbished facilities on the beach. I doubt you will do much better than this unless you want all inclusive but that's really not necessary on The Gap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harlequins restaurant very good but lots of other fine eateries to suit all budgets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley
Business
London
Feb 22, 2013

Superb hotel

Perfect location, a few minutes from the beach and bars/restaurants but its extremely quiet and picturesque. Staff can't do enough to help and our room was spacious, clean and well equipped. We had room only and that worked for us as I don't think it's the best value for money if you eat on site. I'd definitely return to this hotel as we couldn't fault it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat out as the local food is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ayr21
Business
Upstate New York
Dec 13, 2012

Just returning...

My husband and I just returned from our 9 day stay at Divi Southwinds (December 2 -11). We had previously stayed in September of 2011 and loved the location, so we returned. This is a decent hotel, nothing fancy. It has a kitchenette, which is a plus and one reason why we chose it. It's right in the middle of the gap and within walking distance of many restaurants, bars, small shopping booths, and of course is on the beach! I will say that the beds have improved since last year, not nealry as hard and on our last day there is looked like they were updating a lot more of the furniture in the rooms. There isn't any luxurious about the hotle, just a nice, clean place, in a great location. The staff were friendly and helpful. We did learn during our last stay not to eat at the hotel, it's overpriced for just okay food and drinks. We will often walk down to Dover Beach (5 minute walk) to get cheap drinks and a quick meal. The one thing that we did get slightly annoyed with was the activities director trying to push excursions on us. We weren't planning to do a lot of the touristy stuff, as we had done that on our last trip. Most of what we wanted to do was small and not really something that they "promote", but she was willing to call and find out more info and is really a very friendly person once she realizes that you aren't interested in dropping hundreds on large tourist type excursions. Overall, this is a nice hotel, we would consider staying again, but if we return to Barbados we will probably try another hotel just to try something new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dover Beach is a short walk (take a left once you get to the gap) for cheap drinks and a quick burger or sandwich. We loved Daddy's for burgers and drinks and the sauce for their shrinp is sooooo good. Lots of locals congregate their and are more than willing to start a chat with you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nursekisses
Business
Dallas, texas
Aug 11, 2012

Crop over 2012

The staff was very friendly and super sweet. I wish I was told every time I picked up the phone it would be a 50 cent charge for local calls. The hotel was very safe! Yes I would stay there again. Had some issues with wifi but overall safety and staff can make or break an experience for me. The rooms could use a little work. I loved that I could walk to st Lawrence gap with all the action. Only thing I did not like the extra taxes once you get to hotel, then I had to pay for wifi then I had to pay for phone calls. I would say I spent a couple hundred dollars on taxes, phone calls and wifi! But we never had to pay for a taxi and we could walk to the gap for food and drinks. Maybe it balanced out who knows.........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to st Lawrence gap and have food and fun!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DBX2
Business
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Fab location/shows signs of resssion

The location is magnificant - aqua colored, warm water with palms on the sandy beach and plenty of lounge chairs. The resort itself shows signs of neglect: no handle on refrig, bathroom not too clean, grounds needed watering and trimming and fresh plants - the garden wasn't really a garden. The staff when we checked in did not welcome us, and when we checked out they did not thank us for staying with them or express that they wished we wlould come back again. With a few exceptions, the staff lacked common courtesy. A couple of the chefs were very helpful and Juliette, the activities director was friendly and worked hard to help customers have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

3 hours boat trip with snorkeling with turtles and over ship wrecks as well as sailing along the coast for awhile was the highlight of the trip - well worth the cost! And Ted"s all day bus/van tour of the island was terrific.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMOKINGSWORDFISH
Business
Missouri
Mar 8, 2012

Great Vacation for Older Adults

The Divi Southwind is rated as a three star but to me it deserves a better rating. Much to our surprise the resort was clean, semi-well maintained, close to the beach and food that was at least fvie star quality. My wife commented that this was the first resort that she would feel secure in visiting unacompanied. The units have a kitchen not a kitchenet with all the utencils to cook any meal. Convenience stores are located on and near the resort as well as first class restaurants. We were prepared to spend a lot on meals but with a little planning we found that we could eat as cheaply as at home. If you are a coffee drinker be sure to bring your own coffee or be prepared to drink instant coffee because we could not find ground coffee any where on the island. Even the restaurants serve instant coffee. We will definitely return to Barbados and our priority would be Divi Southwind. If you have children find a resort on Sandy Beach, the water is shallow for a long distance from shore and many ocean creatures to entertain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Resort restaurants are expensive, if you want coffee in the morning be prepared to pay $2.50. On the first day go to the supermarket, buy enough food to cover your breakfasts and lunch meals; with this savings you can afford to eat out in the evening. You can board the bus right outside of your resort for $1.00 US and take it to the supermarket, don't worry about having to carry large amounts of groceries because the supermarket has a free shuttle service to your resort. Pack an insulated cup and drink mixed drinks and beer purchased in bulk at the convenience stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gram Jan
Business
Craik,Sask,Canada
Feb 21, 2012

couples vacation

Divi Southwinds was about what we expected after reading some of the other reviews.It is an older hotel but clean and comfortable. We were in the main building on the second floor so no need to use the elevator.A short walk to the beach was fine,lots of chairs and the only hotel on this stretch of beach with nice trees for shade.We only ate at the restaurant once,but it was very good and good value for a 4 course meal. Be careful when booking taxis for tours, that you have the price established ahead of time(they charge by the hr)Fri nt at the Oistins is an experience but very crowded. We went on another nt which was better. Uncle Georges for shrimp.There is lots to do on the island altho we found it a little pricier than some other places we have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ayr21
Business
Upstate New York
Sep 26, 2011

Great vacation

My husband and I just returned from a week in the Christ Church area of Barbados. We stayed at Divi Southwinds and both enjoyed or stay. Divi isn't anything fancy, but the staff was all very nice, our room was clean and they have a nice sized pool and are close to the ocean. The location of the reosrt is great!! They are in the middle of St. Lawrence Gap and just a short walk to many restaurants and small shops. We had a garden view room on the 4th floor (looked out over the lobby and street), which was fine for us. The room was a little small when compared to other places we've stayed at. The bathroom itself was very small, but with just my husband and myself it was fine. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and after waking up the first morning quite sore I simply put a few pillows under my back for the rest of the week and was fine. We were wide awake at about 6:30am every morning because of the street traffic and because the bedroom curtains didn't quite close all the way, so the sun came streaming in. But, again we didn't mind because it gave us a jump start on the day! The only thing that I think we would have really liked to have seen was better food and drinks on the resort. One of the first mornings we were there we had breakfast at the Bajan Breeze Restaurant. The waitress pointed to a buffet table and said that it was a continental breakfast of fruit, cereal, taost, and juice, and that we could also get eggs, sausage, bacon, etc from the kitchen. We each ordered eggs and meat from the kitchen and had toast, a couple pieces of fruit and coffee and juice....which ended up being over $40.00 US. We were a bit surprised but later in the week we did see posters advertising their breakfast for $21.00 per person (however most of what was on their buffet wasn't in stock when we ate there. There were also a couple nights when the restaurant and bar were closed right down at 6pm!! We were traveling in the off season (Sept 16-25th), so that might have had somethign to do with it. Later that day went to Dover Beach (just a couple minutes walk from the hotel) and found cheap beers and other drinks and food, so we decided that we would no longer eat at the resort. We had breakfast the rest of the week at the Sanddollar cafe, Happy Days Cafe and Fishbones. We enjoyed them all and while Fishbones was the most expensive (about $20.00 US per person) it was our favorite. You looked out over the ocean and they had the best french toast I've ever had. Overall, we would stay at Divi again. It is a great location, the staff are friendly, it's very close to the beach, and has a good sized pool. Their activiites center will also hook you up with any trips or tours you want to take and also offer tips for where to go. Juliette does a great job at making you feel welcome and helping with dinner reseravtions and signing you up for activities. The resort also has mini gold and tennis, although we didn't take advantage of either. There is a cost for the mini golf and we just didn't have time for tennis! The grounds were average and could use a littel work, but that didn't bother us. If you are looking for luxury, this isn't it, but if you want a nice place to stay in the middle of it all, then you will like Divi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to head on over to Oistins for dinner at least once. There is a bus stop just outside the resort and it's maybe a five minute ride. We ate at both Uncle George's and Pat's Place and would reccommend both. You get a ton of food at Pat's and will have enough ofr lunch the next day. However, I wouldn't get the shrimp. I had WONDERFUL shrimp at Uncle George's one nught and ordere it at Pat's. It was a stir fry and the shrimp were teeny (We're from NY and get bigger shrimp from a bag at wal-mart!), but their cuts of fish were good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firefly
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Barbados getaway

Hotel was in a good location surrounded by local bars. The beach area was also gorgeous. Did not dine at any of the food establishments within the hotel. The activity center was very helpful with information about acitvities and sight seeing in Barbados.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gpg
Business
Martinique
Jun 20, 2011

Nice resting place

Eventhough it rained, the staff was wonderful and the service too, just one drawback no free Internet service, $11 a day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great barbeque

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top