$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
50 reviews
Repeat visit

I have been visiting Barbados for 25 years. I have stayed at Divi south winds on numerous... See full review

  • jimmy j j
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great value for money, friendly and helpf staff, brilliant location

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Although a little tired round the edges, the rooms are very... See full review

  • Bobbie
  • Mar 3, 2015
All-suite resort on white sand beaches

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, located on the south coast of Barbados, sits on Dover Beach and along the St Lawrence Gap, known for lively nightlife, dining, and open-air shopping. Guests enjoy beautiful wide, sandy beaches -- made extra inviting by gentle currents. A cobbled stone street running through the resort leads to fine island dining and nightlife.

Highlights
  • Children under 12 stay free with adults
  • Three freshwater swimming pools
  • On-site fitness room with equipment
  • Internet access
Rooms

Options at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort include beach villas to one- and two-bedroom suites. All 130 guest rooms are spacious and offer king or twin beds plus queen sleeper sofa in separate living area. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchen, television with VCR, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. All rooms feature a private patio or balcony with full ocean, garden, or pool views.

Features

Family-friendly amenities include three freshwater swimming pools, poolside lounge, miniature golf course, children's playground, and tennis courts. Children under 12 stay free with adults and staff is available to help with child care.

 

Other features include a beauty salon, full-service activities center, fitness center, and Internet access. Guest laundry facilities and mini-mart with groceries add conveniences of home to suite living. Grocery service can also prestock room with groceries selected online by guests.

 

Dining options include Joslyn's Café, a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunches daily, and Bajan Breeze Restaurant with breakfast and dinner poolside. Menus offer international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan favorites. Popular theme parties Thursday nights feature live music and Barbados foods like flying fish. Guests enjoy exciting night life and great restaurants nearby in the world-famous St. Lawrence Gap, within walking distance of Divi Southwinds.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (just outside)
  • Oistins fishing village (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (4 mi/6.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Divi Southwinds Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed in the bedroom, with a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, clock radio, and in-room safe. One bedroom suites are a short walk from the beach just behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer spacious private balconies or patios with pool or garden views.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed, two twin beds, and a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Two bedroom suites offer one full bath and one half bath. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. Two bedroom suites are located a short walk from the beach behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer private patios or balconies with pool or garden views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sheraton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Oistins: 2.2 mi
  • Maxwell Beach: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bajan Breeze Restaurant
The Bajan Breeze Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner poolside, featuring international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan treats. The breakfast buffet is a guest favorite, with both tropical fruits and made-to-order hot dishes. Thursday night at the Bajan Breeze is a popular theme night offering guests live local music and Barbados recipes. The flying fish is not to be missed!
Jocelyns Cafe
Jocelyns Cafe is a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunch daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naphiyl
Business
St Lucia
Jan 19, 2012

Something missing in the Gap

It is difficult to say kind things when I was uncomfortable and did not sleep well. I gave management and staff several opportunities to fix matters but this was beyond them. I slept on the worst mattress. The AC was either frozen or off. The property could be nice if staff cared and it was properly managed. Sadly, this hotel had neither.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
St. Vincent & the Grenadines
May 25, 2010

Mixed Review

I would probably stay somewhere else next time for the money I spent here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Main building is NOT on the beach as you are lead to believe by the name.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DBX2
Business
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Fab location/shows signs of resssion

The location is magnificant - aqua colored, warm water with palms on the sandy beach and plenty of lounge chairs. The resort itself shows signs of neglect: no handle on refrig, bathroom not too clean, grounds needed watering and trimming and fresh plants - the garden wasn't really a garden. The staff when we checked in did not welcome us, and when we checked out they did not thank us for staying with them or express that they wished we wlould come back again. With a few exceptions, the staff lacked common courtesy. A couple of the chefs were very helpful and Juliette, the activities director was friendly and worked hard to help customers have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

3 hours boat trip with snorkeling with turtles and over ship wrecks as well as sailing along the coast for awhile was the highlight of the trip - well worth the cost! And Ted"s all day bus/van tour of the island was terrific.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Jun 11, 2007

My review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

The hotel accomodations were clean but run down. Space was adequate for 3 persons. The kitchen was OK (a bread toaster would help)but the shower was very uncomfortable - bad shower head and poor heat control - temperature fluctuated drastically.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
St. Vincent & the Grenadines
May 25, 2010

Mixed Review

I would probably stay somewhere else next time for the money I spent here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Main building is NOT on the beach as you are lead to believe by the name.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
like a rockstar
Business
Kansas City
Jun 4, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

the hotel ws great we had a great time, and would do it again. the location wasnt all that bad, lots of things with in walking distance. just wish the rooms had internet,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

nightlife within walking distance, others a short drive...fine you a taxi driver and make him your friend for life...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ayr21
Business
Upstate New York
Sep 26, 2011

Great vacation

My husband and I just returned from a week in the Christ Church area of Barbados. We stayed at Divi Southwinds and both enjoyed or stay. Divi isn't anything fancy, but the staff was all very nice, our room was clean and they have a nice sized pool and are close to the ocean. The location of the reosrt is great!! They are in the middle of St. Lawrence Gap and just a short walk to many restaurants and small shops. We had a garden view room on the 4th floor (looked out over the lobby and street), which was fine for us. The room was a little small when compared to other places we've stayed at. The bathroom itself was very small, but with just my husband and myself it was fine. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and after waking up the first morning quite sore I simply put a few pillows under my back for the rest of the week and was fine. We were wide awake at about 6:30am every morning because of the street traffic and because the bedroom curtains didn't quite close all the way, so the sun came streaming in. But, again we didn't mind because it gave us a jump start on the day! The only thing that I think we would have really liked to have seen was better food and drinks on the resort. One of the first mornings we were there we had breakfast at the Bajan Breeze Restaurant. The waitress pointed to a buffet table and said that it was a continental breakfast of fruit, cereal, taost, and juice, and that we could also get eggs, sausage, bacon, etc from the kitchen. We each ordered eggs and meat from the kitchen and had toast, a couple pieces of fruit and coffee and juice....which ended up being over $40.00 US. We were a bit surprised but later in the week we did see posters advertising their breakfast for $21.00 per person (however most of what was on their buffet wasn't in stock when we ate there. There were also a couple nights when the restaurant and bar were closed right down at 6pm!! We were traveling in the off season (Sept 16-25th), so that might have had somethign to do with it. Later that day went to Dover Beach (just a couple minutes walk from the hotel) and found cheap beers and other drinks and food, so we decided that we would no longer eat at the resort. We had breakfast the rest of the week at the Sanddollar cafe, Happy Days Cafe and Fishbones. We enjoyed them all and while Fishbones was the most expensive (about $20.00 US per person) it was our favorite. You looked out over the ocean and they had the best french toast I've ever had. Overall, we would stay at Divi again. It is a great location, the staff are friendly, it's very close to the beach, and has a good sized pool. Their activiites center will also hook you up with any trips or tours you want to take and also offer tips for where to go. Juliette does a great job at making you feel welcome and helping with dinner reseravtions and signing you up for activities. The resort also has mini gold and tennis, although we didn't take advantage of either. There is a cost for the mini golf and we just didn't have time for tennis! The grounds were average and could use a littel work, but that didn't bother us. If you are looking for luxury, this isn't it, but if you want a nice place to stay in the middle of it all, then you will like Divi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to head on over to Oistins for dinner at least once. There is a bus stop just outside the resort and it's maybe a five minute ride. We ate at both Uncle George's and Pat's Place and would reccommend both. You get a ton of food at Pat's and will have enough ofr lunch the next day. However, I wouldn't get the shrimp. I had WONDERFUL shrimp at Uncle George's one nught and ordere it at Pat's. It was a stir fry and the shrimp were teeny (We're from NY and get bigger shrimp from a bag at wal-mart!), but their cuts of fish were good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gram Jan
Business
Craik,Sask,Canada
Feb 21, 2012

couples vacation

Divi Southwinds was about what we expected after reading some of the other reviews.It is an older hotel but clean and comfortable. We were in the main building on the second floor so no need to use the elevator.A short walk to the beach was fine,lots of chairs and the only hotel on this stretch of beach with nice trees for shade.We only ate at the restaurant once,but it was very good and good value for a 4 course meal. Be careful when booking taxis for tours, that you have the price established ahead of time(they charge by the hr)Fri nt at the Oistins is an experience but very crowded. We went on another nt which was better. Uncle Georges for shrimp.There is lots to do on the island altho we found it a little pricier than some other places we have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tfast
Business
Glastonbury, CT
Apr 19, 2012

No Frills

The SouthWinds Divi is in a great location the pool and the rooms could use some updates but they were clean. The Beach was very nice, good sand and surf decent for swimming and kids can jump around in the water. The beach bar was open during the day but closed at night and the restaurant bar wasn't open. The location in the St. Lawrence Gap was great you could walk to shopping to the left and all the restaurants were to the right. Over all a very laid back stay but don't expect to be wowed by the place, it is in a good safe location and has a clean bed for you to sleep in but don't expect too much activity,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For Cheap you can get fish take away on the grill. Go to the local Market get a few beers and go back to the beach with some ice for a cheap day. Also the rooms have stoves and fridge you can get some snacks and breakfast food and save yourself a few dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PWMV
Business
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts, USA
Apr 28, 2012

You get what you pay for...

Not a fancy hotel but we didn't pay for a fancy hotel. AS others have said--its in a bit sad shape. But if you're not picky about appearances, it will do. The location is perfect with the beach near by and it was fun to walk into St. Lawrence Gap every night. It helped tremendously to have a kitchen as all of the restaurants seemed quite expensive. I would recommend this place for people who are not picky and just want a basic place to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top