$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
38 reviews
great family trip

my stay was very good .the wi-fi need improvement ,otherwise everything was great. I would stay... See full review

  • lilian h.
  • Jul 21, 2015
Repeat visit

I have been visiting Barbados for 25 years. I have stayed at Divi south winds on numerous... See full review

  • jimmy j j
  • Apr 6, 2015

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, located on the south coast of Barbados, sits on Dover Beach and along the St Lawrence Gap, known for lively nightlife, dining, and open-air shopping. Guests enjoy beautiful wide, sandy beaches -- made extra inviting by gentle currents. A cobbled stone street running through the resort leads to fine island dining and nightlife.

Rooms

Options at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort include beach villas to one- and two-bedroom suites. All 130 guest rooms are spacious and offer king or twin beds plus queen sleeper sofa in separate living area. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchen, television with VCR, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. All rooms feature a private patio or balcony with full ocean, garden, or pool views.

Property features

Family-friendly amenities include three freshwater swimming pools, poolside lounge, miniature golf course, children's playground, and tennis courts. Children under 12 stay free with adults and staff is available to help with child care.

 

Other features include a beauty salon, full-service activities center, fitness center, and Internet access. Guest laundry facilities and mini-mart with groceries add conveniences of home to suite living. Grocery service can also prestock room with groceries selected online by guests.

 

Dining options include Joslyn's Café, a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunches daily, and Bajan Breeze Restaurant with breakfast and dinner poolside. Menus offer international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan favorites. Popular theme parties Thursday nights feature live music and Barbados foods like flying fish. Guests enjoy exciting night life and great restaurants nearby in the world-famous St. Lawrence Gap, within walking distance of Divi Southwinds.

Highlights
  • Children under 12 stay free with adults
  • Three freshwater swimming pools
  • On-site fitness room with equipment
  • Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (just outside)
  • Oistins fishing village (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (4 mi/6.4 km)
Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Divi Southwinds Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed in the bedroom, with a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, clock radio, and in-room safe. One bedroom suites are a short walk from the beach just behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer spacious private balconies or patios with pool or garden views.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed, two twin beds, and a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Two bedroom suites offer one full bath and one half bath. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. Two bedroom suites are located a short walk from the beach behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer private patios or balconies with pool or garden views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sheraton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Oistins: 2.2 mi
  • Maxwell Beach: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bajan Breeze Restaurant
The Bajan Breeze Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner poolside, featuring international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan treats. The breakfast buffet is a guest favorite, with both tropical fruits and made-to-order hot dishes. Thursday night at the Bajan Breeze is a popular theme night offering guests live local music and Barbados recipes. The flying fish is not to be missed!
Jocelyns Cafe
Jocelyns Cafe is a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunch daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naphiyl
Business
St Lucia
Jan 19, 2012

Something missing in the Gap

It is difficult to say kind things when I was uncomfortable and did not sleep well. I gave management and staff several opportunities to fix matters but this was beyond them. I slept on the worst mattress. The AC was either frozen or off. The property could be nice if staff cared and it was properly managed. Sadly, this hotel had neither.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DBX2
Business
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Fab location/shows signs of resssion

The location is magnificant - aqua colored, warm water with palms on the sandy beach and plenty of lounge chairs. The resort itself shows signs of neglect: no handle on refrig, bathroom not too clean, grounds needed watering and trimming and fresh plants - the garden wasn't really a garden. The staff when we checked in did not welcome us, and when we checked out they did not thank us for staying with them or express that they wished we wlould come back again. With a few exceptions, the staff lacked common courtesy. A couple of the chefs were very helpful and Juliette, the activities director was friendly and worked hard to help customers have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

3 hours boat trip with snorkeling with turtles and over ship wrecks as well as sailing along the coast for awhile was the highlight of the trip - well worth the cost! And Ted"s all day bus/van tour of the island was terrific.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Jun 11, 2007

My review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

The hotel accomodations were clean but run down. Space was adequate for 3 persons. The kitchen was OK (a bread toaster would help)but the shower was very uncomfortable - bad shower head and poor heat control - temperature fluctuated drastically.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gram Jan
Business
Craik,Sask,Canada
Feb 21, 2012

couples vacation

Divi Southwinds was about what we expected after reading some of the other reviews.It is an older hotel but clean and comfortable. We were in the main building on the second floor so no need to use the elevator.A short walk to the beach was fine,lots of chairs and the only hotel on this stretch of beach with nice trees for shade.We only ate at the restaurant once,but it was very good and good value for a 4 course meal. Be careful when booking taxis for tours, that you have the price established ahead of time(they charge by the hr)Fri nt at the Oistins is an experience but very crowded. We went on another nt which was better. Uncle Georges for shrimp.There is lots to do on the island altho we found it a little pricier than some other places we have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tfast
Business
Glastonbury, CT
Apr 19, 2012

No Frills

The SouthWinds Divi is in a great location the pool and the rooms could use some updates but they were clean. The Beach was very nice, good sand and surf decent for swimming and kids can jump around in the water. The beach bar was open during the day but closed at night and the restaurant bar wasn't open. The location in the St. Lawrence Gap was great you could walk to shopping to the left and all the restaurants were to the right. Over all a very laid back stay but don't expect to be wowed by the place, it is in a good safe location and has a clean bed for you to sleep in but don't expect too much activity,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For Cheap you can get fish take away on the grill. Go to the local Market get a few beers and go back to the beach with some ice for a cheap day. Also the rooms have stoves and fridge you can get some snacks and breakfast food and save yourself a few dollars.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PWMV
Business
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts, USA
Apr 28, 2012

You get what you pay for...

Not a fancy hotel but we didn't pay for a fancy hotel. AS others have said--its in a bit sad shape. But if you're not picky about appearances, it will do. The location is perfect with the beach near by and it was fun to walk into St. Lawrence Gap every night. It helped tremendously to have a kitchen as all of the restaurants seemed quite expensive. I would recommend this place for people who are not picky and just want a basic place to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nursekisses
Business
Dallas, texas
Aug 11, 2012

Crop over 2012

The staff was very friendly and super sweet. I wish I was told every time I picked up the phone it would be a 50 cent charge for local calls. The hotel was very safe! Yes I would stay there again. Had some issues with wifi but overall safety and staff can make or break an experience for me. The rooms could use a little work. I loved that I could walk to st Lawrence gap with all the action. Only thing I did not like the extra taxes once you get to hotel, then I had to pay for wifi then I had to pay for phone calls. I would say I spent a couple hundred dollars on taxes, phone calls and wifi! But we never had to pay for a taxi and we could walk to the gap for food and drinks. Maybe it balanced out who knows.........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to st Lawrence gap and have food and fun!!!

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A B'dos girl
Business
WHITE PLAINS, MD
Feb 10, 2013

Good but could be better

This was my first visit to Barbados and to Divi Southwinds. The hotel was clean, although it was a bit noisy with some repairs going on in and around the hotel. The fountains on each end of my hallway were VERY loud. The bed and furniture were comfortable. My room did not have any information about the amenities or how to get what I needed. I only know what was missing because my family (who own a timeshare) were in another room that had alot of information. The kitchen did not have silverware the first day. By the second day, silverware was provided. The hairdryer in my room did not work.The living room remote control did not work properly (it was held together with tape). These things could be fixed. I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make the effort to go to an actual bank and change your money to Barbados dollars and spend that during your trip.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woodslinger
Business
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Apr 22, 2009

Great for the money

I spent three nights here in March 2009, and was very happy with the hotel. My room was on the beach, with kitchen and balcony. The outside of the building looked a little run down as I approached, but once inside, it was very clean, well furnished and quiet and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The resort couldn't be in a better location for nightclubbing. Situated at the lower end of St Lawrence Gap, nothing is over a 5 minute walk. The Oistin Fish Fry is mandatory on Friday nights and only a short cab ride away.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 14, 2010

good for the price

I was looking for a good deal in the off-season and I got it, almost half the regular price. I stay at a friend's home normally but wanted to try a hotel for part of my trip. Price was very important and I knew I wouldn't be getting luxury. The rooms were clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate. The floor lamp in the living room was broken, wash cloths were not in the bathroom when I arrived, and the water had to be turned off for four hours one day for water main repairs, but other than that there were no problems. The pool was great and I used it rather than going to the beach, where there were lingering rough tides from a prior storm. The beach was across the street and just far enough away that I just visited once to get my complimentary rum punch at the bar! I am glad I didn't get the all-inclusive plan as the only meal I had at the hotel, breakfast, was OK but not great. I would not pay full price for this hotel but it was fine for the money. As others have mentioned, my room safe did not work as directed (they said the door key card would open/close the safe but it clearly required a code to be punched in instead) though I didn't pursue it since I was only there for two days. The reception desk and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Lawrence Gap has quite a few nice and expensive restaurants. I found a bargain nearby called Pun de Grill, where the flying fish 'snack' was more than I normally have for dinner and about half the price of comparable meals in other restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top