$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 19, 2015 Check-out: Feb 22, 2015

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

3 stars
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Can't do better for the £££s-location location location!

Even if its in need of a lick of paint, the location is perfect for The Gap. Lovely clean pool and... See full review

  • Chrissygotobarbados
  • Apr 8, 2014
Amazing Activities & Hospitality

I had an amazing time at this Resort. The grounds are well kept, staff friendly, and there are... See full review

  • NYCTravellerPrincess
  • May 28, 2011
All-suite resort on white sand beaches

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, located on the south coast of Barbados, sits on Dover Beach and along the St Lawrence Gap, known for lively nightlife, dining, and open-air shopping. Guests enjoy beautiful wide, sandy beaches -- made extra inviting by gentle currents. A cobbled stone street running through the resort leads to fine island dining and nightlife.

Highlights
  • Children under 12 stay free with adults
  • Three freshwater swimming pools
  • On-site fitness room with equipment
  • Internet access
Rooms

Options at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort include beach villas to one- and two-bedroom suites. All 130 guest rooms are spacious and offer king or twin beds plus queen sleeper sofa in separate living area. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchen, television with VCR, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. All rooms feature a private patio or balcony with full ocean, garden, or pool views.

Features

Family-friendly amenities include three freshwater swimming pools, poolside lounge, miniature golf course, children's playground, and tennis courts. Children under 12 stay free with adults and staff is available to help with child care.

 

Other features include a beauty salon, full-service activities center, fitness center, and Internet access. Guest laundry facilities and mini-mart with groceries add conveniences of home to suite living. Grocery service can also prestock room with groceries selected online by guests.

 

Dining options include Joslyn's Café, a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunches daily, and Bajan Breeze Restaurant with breakfast and dinner poolside. Menus offer international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan favorites. Popular theme parties Thursday nights feature live music and Barbados foods like flying fish. Guests enjoy exciting night life and great restaurants nearby in the world-famous St. Lawrence Gap, within walking distance of Divi Southwinds.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (just outside)
  • Oistins fishing village (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (4 mi/6.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Divi Southwinds Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed in the bedroom, with a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, clock radio, and in-room safe. One bedroom suites are a short walk from the beach just behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer spacious private balconies or patios with pool or garden views.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed, two twin beds, and a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Two bedroom suites offer one full bath and one half bath. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. Two bedroom suites are located a short walk from the beach behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer private patios or balconies with pool or garden views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sheraton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Oistins: 2.2 mi
  • Maxwell Beach: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bajan Breeze Restaurant
The Bajan Breeze Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner poolside, featuring international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan treats. The breakfast buffet is a guest favorite, with both tropical fruits and made-to-order hot dishes. Thursday night at the Bajan Breeze is a popular theme night offering guests live local music and Barbados recipes. The flying fish is not to be missed!
Jocelyns Cafe
Jocelyns Cafe is a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunch daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Freager
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 8, 2007

Nice Property

The Divi Southwinds was a nice property. Quite, in spite of the construction and a very competent staff. Wireless internet reception in the room was excellent! My only issue was that the pool was out of service for the entire visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gap was a very short walk and relitively active. Great food from vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 26, 2007

The Divi South Wind was a ...

The Divi South Wind was a very comfortable hotel to stay. The staff was friendly and very generous. I had a wonderful time. Only drawback is that the laundry room only had one machine working. The staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYCTravellerPrincess
Business
Brooklyn
May 28, 2011

Amazing Activities & Hospitality

I had an amazing time at this Resort. The grounds are well kept, staff friendly, and there are tons of fun things to do to keep you busy. The Activities Coordinator Juliette E. was particularly helpful in creating a personalized itinerary to help me explore the may sites and activities that Divi Southwinds, and Barbados have to offer. She was friendly, hospitable, and very knowledgable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to on the Jammin' Catamaran boat day trip, and swim with the sea turtles!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Mar 20, 2010

Perfect Location, Comfortable Room

The rooms were clean and comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. The beach was right across the street with soft sand, lounge chairs, and shady trees. There were waves and no lifegaurds so it may not be the best beach for small children, but I thought it was perfect. I cannot comment on the pool, drinks, or food. The bars did not seem very lively. It's right next to the gap so we went out there every night. So convenient to not have to get a taxi! The kitchens were stocked with cooking supplies so we even made a few meals in the room (no oven though). Housekeeping came daily and changed the towels, took out garbage...even did the dishes left in the sink! I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Bum in Training
Business
Chicago IL
Jul 4, 2009

Hospitality from the Front Desk to Beach

Divi South Winds has a unique layout, its like its own little village away from the busy and vibrant night life of St lawrence Gap, but within a 3 minute stroll to all the late night action. The staff is very at ease as it provides sincere help and guidance in making sure you are comfortable. There's a great ambassador of the beach named [...], he's friendly as well as informative. Tell him Sheila said helloDivi beach is breathtaking the north end is cal and the south end is great for wave jumping local enjoy the sea here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Scotty for really good local eats and $1.99 Banks Beer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yvey
Business
Greenville, SC
Aug 12, 2009

Great location & buffet breakfast

I was very pleased with the hotel. The room was clean and the kitchenette had everything you could ask for. The location to other activities was well suited. The hotel was not on the beach, we had to cross the street to gain access to the beach. For us this was not a big deal. The buffet breakfast was very good every morning. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peapodesque
Business
nyack new york
Oct 28, 2009

very pleasant stay

I was forced to spend a night in barbados because of airline change of schedule,,,i was pleasantly surprised by the courteous staff ,many choices of things to do,proximity to the ocean,,and reasonable rates!the only thing i would improve is get some better pillows,,,!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMOKINGSWORDFISH
Business
Missouri
Mar 8, 2012

Great Vacation for Older Adults

The Divi Southwind is rated as a three star but to me it deserves a better rating. Much to our surprise the resort was clean, semi-well maintained, close to the beach and food that was at least fvie star quality. My wife commented that this was the first resort that she would feel secure in visiting unacompanied. The units have a kitchen not a kitchenet with all the utencils to cook any meal. Convenience stores are located on and near the resort as well as first class restaurants. We were prepared to spend a lot on meals but with a little planning we found that we could eat as cheaply as at home. If you are a coffee drinker be sure to bring your own coffee or be prepared to drink instant coffee because we could not find ground coffee any where on the island. Even the restaurants serve instant coffee. We will definitely return to Barbados and our priority would be Divi Southwind. If you have children find a resort on Sandy Beach, the water is shallow for a long distance from shore and many ocean creatures to entertain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Resort restaurants are expensive, if you want coffee in the morning be prepared to pay $2.50. On the first day go to the supermarket, buy enough food to cover your breakfasts and lunch meals; with this savings you can afford to eat out in the evening. You can board the bus right outside of your resort for $1.00 US and take it to the supermarket, don't worry about having to carry large amounts of groceries because the supermarket has a free shuttle service to your resort. Pack an insulated cup and drink mixed drinks and beer purchased in bulk at the convenience stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AD Palmer
Business
NY
Nov 4, 2012

vacation

The staff was warm and friendly. The hotel is in a great location. The beach was awesome. And if you don't want to be bothered with cleaning off sand the pool is great too. The 2 hotel restaurants were reasonable and the food was good. There is a mini mart on site. Local phone calls are not free. Wi-fi is available for an additional charge. Laundry facilities are available on site. The hotel is close to the airport. The hotel grounds and landscaping are beautiful. There is 24 hr around the clock security so you feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Oistins fish is the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bree D.
Business
New York
Nov 14, 2012

I'd recommend it to a friend

This hotel was decent for the money paid it was a memorable, pleasant experience and I'd not only stay here again I'd recommend friends and family to stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top