$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

3 stars
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Can't do better for the £££s-location location location!

Even if its in need of a lick of paint, the location is perfect for The Gap. Lovely clean pool and... See full review

  • Chrissygotobarbados
  • Apr 8, 2014
Amazing Activities & Hospitality

I had an amazing time at this Resort. The grounds are well kept, staff friendly, and there are... See full review

  • NYCTravellerPrincess
  • May 28, 2011
All-suite resort on white sand beaches

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, located on the south coast of Barbados, sits on Dover Beach and along the St Lawrence Gap, known for lively nightlife, dining, and open-air shopping. Guests enjoy beautiful wide, sandy beaches -- made extra inviting by gentle currents. A cobbled stone street running through the resort leads to fine island dining and nightlife.

Highlights
  • Children under 12 stay free with adults
  • Three freshwater swimming pools
  • On-site fitness room with equipment
  • Internet access
Rooms

Options at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort include beach villas to one- and two-bedroom suites. All 130 guest rooms are spacious and offer king or twin beds plus queen sleeper sofa in separate living area. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchen, television with VCR, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. All rooms feature a private patio or balcony with full ocean, garden, or pool views.

Features

Family-friendly amenities include three freshwater swimming pools, poolside lounge, miniature golf course, children's playground, and tennis courts. Children under 12 stay free with adults and staff is available to help with child care.

 

Other features include a beauty salon, full-service activities center, fitness center, and Internet access. Guest laundry facilities and mini-mart with groceries add conveniences of home to suite living. Grocery service can also prestock room with groceries selected online by guests.

 

Dining options include Joslyn's Café, a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunches daily, and Bajan Breeze Restaurant with breakfast and dinner poolside. Menus offer international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan favorites. Popular theme parties Thursday nights feature live music and Barbados foods like flying fish. Guests enjoy exciting night life and great restaurants nearby in the world-famous St. Lawrence Gap, within walking distance of Divi Southwinds.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (just outside)
  • Oistins fishing village (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (4 mi/6.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Divi Southwinds Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed in the bedroom, with a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, clock radio, and in-room safe. One bedroom suites are a short walk from the beach just behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer spacious private balconies or patios with pool or garden views.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed, two twin beds, and a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Two bedroom suites offer one full bath and one half bath. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. Two bedroom suites are located a short walk from the beach behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer private patios or balconies with pool or garden views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sheraton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Oistins: 2.2 mi
  • Maxwell Beach: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bajan Breeze Restaurant
The Bajan Breeze Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner poolside, featuring international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan treats. The breakfast buffet is a guest favorite, with both tropical fruits and made-to-order hot dishes. Thursday night at the Bajan Breeze is a popular theme night offering guests live local music and Barbados recipes. The flying fish is not to be missed!
Jocelyns Cafe
Jocelyns Cafe is a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunch daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long beach ny
Dec 29, 2010

needs upgrade

Hotel is in need of some infrastructure updates. The air conditioner was loud and didnt cool the room.the chest of drawers was broken and old none of the drawers opened.The maid service dint clean the room for 3 straight days and then dint change towels or leave soap and shampoo.The front desk staff were friendly but the entire operation seems to be cutting too many corners to save money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dominica
Dec 9, 2010

Nice Hotel (from Dominica)

The room was spacious. Lots of amenities in the room...plus free internet which is good for business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to St Lawrence gap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
H'town, TX
Oct 29, 2010

Nice resort

The staff was great and friendly allways. very helpful and informative with good recommendations for daily and nightly activities in the area.. It does help to have so much to do in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out onto St. Lawerence street and take a right. So much to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 14, 2010

good for the price

I was looking for a good deal in the off-season and I got it, almost half the regular price. I stay at a friend's home normally but wanted to try a hotel for part of my trip. Price was very important and I knew I wouldn't be getting luxury. The rooms were clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate. The floor lamp in the living room was broken, wash cloths were not in the bathroom when I arrived, and the water had to be turned off for four hours one day for water main repairs, but other than that there were no problems. The pool was great and I used it rather than going to the beach, where there were lingering rough tides from a prior storm. The beach was across the street and just far enough away that I just visited once to get my complimentary rum punch at the bar! I am glad I didn't get the all-inclusive plan as the only meal I had at the hotel, breakfast, was OK but not great. I would not pay full price for this hotel but it was fine for the money. As others have mentioned, my room safe did not work as directed (they said the door key card would open/close the safe but it clearly required a code to be punched in instead) though I didn't pursue it since I was only there for two days. The reception desk and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Lawrence Gap has quite a few nice and expensive restaurants. I found a bargain nearby called Pun de Grill, where the flying fish 'snack' was more than I normally have for dinner and about half the price of comparable meals in other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Jul 4, 2010

EXPECTED MORE

HOTEL CHARGED US $15 EVERYDAY FOR INTERNET,EVEN THOUGH IT WAS NOT WORKING, DID NOT EVEN BOTHER TO RETURN CHARGES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Jun 8, 2010

good deal for your money

This was my third time staying at the Divi Southwinds. The location can not be beat, right in the heart of the St Lawrence Gap with many great restaurants and fun nite life. Great beach, friendly staff and always great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
St. Vincent & the Grenadines
May 25, 2010

Mixed Review

I would probably stay somewhere else next time for the money I spent here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Main building is NOT on the beach as you are lead to believe by the name.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Mar 20, 2010

Perfect Location, Comfortable Room

The rooms were clean and comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. The beach was right across the street with soft sand, lounge chairs, and shady trees. There were waves and no lifegaurds so it may not be the best beach for small children, but I thought it was perfect. I cannot comment on the pool, drinks, or food. The bars did not seem very lively. It's right next to the gap so we went out there every night. So convenient to not have to get a taxi! The kitchens were stocked with cooking supplies so we even made a few meals in the room (no oven though). Housekeeping came daily and changed the towels, took out garbage...even did the dishes left in the sink! I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester,Ct.
Nov 29, 2009

Divi Southwinds

We booked a Beachfront unit, and there were no doors on the safes. I was able to get "seven" different keys to check other units and all were the same.So we ended up in a pool room unit. I was very dissapointed but made the best of it. The staff was great, but management should know the beachfront units don't have safe doors, before assigning a guest to these units. So check your unit before you unpack.After this experience I don't believe I would book the Divi again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peapodesque
Business
nyack new york
Oct 28, 2009

very pleasant stay

I was forced to spend a night in barbados because of airline change of schedule,,,i was pleasantly surprised by the courteous staff ,many choices of things to do,proximity to the ocean,,and reasonable rates!the only thing i would improve is get some better pillows,,,!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top