$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
38 reviews
great family trip

my stay was very good .the wi-fi need improvement ,otherwise everything was great. I would stay... See full review

  • lilian h.
  • Jul 21, 2015
Repeat visit

I have been visiting Barbados for 25 years. I have stayed at Divi south winds on numerous... See full review

  • jimmy j j
  • Apr 6, 2015

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, located on the south coast of Barbados, sits on Dover Beach and along the St Lawrence Gap, known for lively nightlife, dining, and open-air shopping. Guests enjoy beautiful wide, sandy beaches -- made extra inviting by gentle currents. A cobbled stone street running through the resort leads to fine island dining and nightlife.

Rooms

Options at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort include beach villas to one- and two-bedroom suites. All 130 guest rooms are spacious and offer king or twin beds plus queen sleeper sofa in separate living area. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchen, television with VCR, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. All rooms feature a private patio or balcony with full ocean, garden, or pool views.

Property features

Family-friendly amenities include three freshwater swimming pools, poolside lounge, miniature golf course, children's playground, and tennis courts. Children under 12 stay free with adults and staff is available to help with child care.

 

Other features include a beauty salon, full-service activities center, fitness center, and Internet access. Guest laundry facilities and mini-mart with groceries add conveniences of home to suite living. Grocery service can also prestock room with groceries selected online by guests.

 

Dining options include Joslyn's Café, a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunches daily, and Bajan Breeze Restaurant with breakfast and dinner poolside. Menus offer international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan favorites. Popular theme parties Thursday nights feature live music and Barbados foods like flying fish. Guests enjoy exciting night life and great restaurants nearby in the world-famous St. Lawrence Gap, within walking distance of Divi Southwinds.

Highlights
  • Children under 12 stay free with adults
  • Three freshwater swimming pools
  • On-site fitness room with equipment
  • Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (just outside)
  • Oistins fishing village (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (4 mi/6.4 km)
Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Divi Southwinds Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$99
4.3 / 5 12 reviews
★★
$89
2.8 / 5 13 reviews
★★★
$83
2.8 / 5 18 reviews
★★★★
$165
4.3 / 5 27 reviews
★★★★
$168
4.4 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★
$219
4.2 / 5 37 reviews
★★★
$112
3.9 / 5 9 reviews
★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 15 reviews

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed in the bedroom, with a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, clock radio, and in-room safe. One bedroom suites are a short walk from the beach just behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer spacious private balconies or patios with pool or garden views.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suites feature one king-sized bed, two twin beds, and a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area. Two bedroom suites offer one full bath and one half bath. Suite amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, television, air-conditioning, and in-room safe. Two bedroom suites are located a short walk from the beach behind the St. Lawrence Gap, and offer private patios or balconies with pool or garden views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sheraton Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Oistins: 2.2 mi
  • Maxwell Beach: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bajan Breeze Restaurant
The Bajan Breeze Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner poolside, featuring international cuisine with fresh produce and Bajan treats. The breakfast buffet is a guest favorite, with both tropical fruits and made-to-order hot dishes. Thursday night at the Bajan Breeze is a popular theme night offering guests live local music and Barbados recipes. The flying fish is not to be missed!
Jocelyns Cafe
Jocelyns Cafe is a casual beachside bar and eatery serving light lunch daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYCTravellerPrincess
Single
Brooklyn
May 28, 2011

Amazing Activities & Hospitality

I had an amazing time at this Resort. The grounds are well kept, staff friendly, and there are tons of fun things to do to keep you busy. The Activities Coordinator Juliette E. was particularly helpful in creating a personalized itinerary to help me explore the may sites and activities that Divi Southwinds, and Barbados have to offer. She was friendly, hospitable, and very knowledgable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to on the Jammin' Catamaran boat day trip, and swim with the sea turtles!

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lilian h.
Family
N/A
Jul 21, 2015

great family trip

my stay was very good .the wi-fi need improvement ,otherwise everything was great. I would stay here on my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CJT
Couples
N/A
Apr 15, 2015

Great Hotel and Location

Our stay at this hotel was short. Its locations is great and we enjoyed our short stay. However there was no hot water in our room. Other than that it was enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimmy j j
Friends
Lockport
Apr 6, 2015

Repeat visit

I have been visiting Barbados for 25 years. I have stayed at Divi south winds on numerous occasions. Accomodations have always been clean, staff is always very pleasant, The hotel has constantly been doing reneuvations. Beautiful new bar and restaraunt on the beach. I will be returning 2015.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbie
Friends
Cowbridge
Mar 3, 2015

Great value for money, friendly and helpf staff, brilliant location

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Although a little tired round the edges, the rooms are very comfortable and pretty large. Extremely professional and helpful staff. Good facilities - really nice, large pool and lovely gardens. Our room wasn't spotless, but to be fair we dragged in a lot of sand most days from the beach. Rooms seem to be given a basic daily clean and beds made but not exactly a deep clean - by no means dirty though, so don't be put off by this. Good location right in the middle of St Lawrence Gap. All round really excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrissygotobarbados
Couples
London
Apr 8, 2014

Can't do better for the £££s-location location location!

Even if its in need of a lick of paint, the location is perfect for The Gap. Lovely clean pool and plenty if cover. Nice large grounds. Pool bar and restaurant refurbished only recently to a very high standard and now open at night-very good. The rooms are extremely spacious getting a suite rather than just a room. A separate bedroom plus a lounge with nice sofa bed and good kitchen area. I've stayed here three times now and security this year was better in the past years maybe because of their newly refurbished facilities on the beach. I doubt you will do much better than this unless you want all inclusive but that's really not necessary on The Gap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harlequins restaurant very good but lots of other fine eateries to suit all budgets.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley
Couples
London
Feb 22, 2013

Superb hotel

Perfect location, a few minutes from the beach and bars/restaurants but its extremely quiet and picturesque. Staff can't do enough to help and our room was spacious, clean and well equipped. We had room only and that worked for us as I don't think it's the best value for money if you eat on site. I'd definitely return to this hotel as we couldn't fault it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat out as the local food is great.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A B'dos girl
Single
WHITE PLAINS, MD
Feb 10, 2013

Good but could be better

This was my first visit to Barbados and to Divi Southwinds. The hotel was clean, although it was a bit noisy with some repairs going on in and around the hotel. The fountains on each end of my hallway were VERY loud. The bed and furniture were comfortable. My room did not have any information about the amenities or how to get what I needed. I only know what was missing because my family (who own a timeshare) were in another room that had alot of information. The kitchen did not have silverware the first day. By the second day, silverware was provided. The hairdryer in my room did not work.The living room remote control did not work properly (it was held together with tape). These things could be fixed. I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make the effort to go to an actual bank and change your money to Barbados dollars and spend that during your trip.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spyder Snyder
Single
Claysburg,PA
Jan 27, 2013

I would return!

The boys and I just returned from Divi Southwinds and we had an excellent vacation. We spent seven nights at Divi. The location and the staff was great. It was at the beach and we could walk down St. Lawrence Gap at any time. We felt very safe at this resort. Thank you Divi Southwinds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the public transportation. Not only is it cheap, it is also very interesting.

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bree D.
Family
New York
Nov 14, 2012

I'd recommend it to a friend

This hotel was decent for the money paid it was a memorable, pleasant experience and I'd not only stay here again I'd recommend friends and family to stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AD Palmer
Family
NY
Nov 4, 2012

vacation

The staff was warm and friendly. The hotel is in a great location. The beach was awesome. And if you don't want to be bothered with cleaning off sand the pool is great too. The 2 hotel restaurants were reasonable and the food was good. There is a mini mart on site. Local phone calls are not free. Wi-fi is available for an additional charge. Laundry facilities are available on site. The hotel is close to the airport. The hotel grounds and landscaping are beautiful. There is 24 hr around the clock security so you feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Oistins fish is the best

Back to menu Return to top