$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Dover Beach Hotel

3 stars
St.Lawrence, Christchurch, Bridgetown,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
62 reviews
Great Place!

I had all the amenities that I needed at the hotel. Everyone was helpful and I had a great stay! See full review

  • metzy205
  • Apr 20, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

More than excellent, perfect! All the staff great!! See full review

  • From the hill
  • Mar 1, 2014
Tranquil resort within walking distance of lively St. Lawrence Gap

In a desirable location on the south coast of Barbados, this 59-room hotel is actually spread over three blocks just off the lively St. Lawrence Gap, an area internationally known for its wide variety of shops, restaurants, bars, nightclubs, banks, and salons. The hotel is suitable for everyone from families to honeymooners. Tucked off the beaten path, it beckons with sun-kissed tranquility by day and bustling activity along the St. Lawrence Gap when the sun goes down.

Highlights
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Internet café
  • Business center
  • Pool and complimentary beach towels
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby
Rooms

Studios offer ocean, pool, or garden views -- or a combination of all three. In addition, rooms have terraces or balconies, twin or double beds, coffee maker, a small fridge, electric kettle and microwave, cable television, radio, air conditioner, and telephone. Fully equipped bathrooms include hairdryers.

Features

Dover Beach Hotel is located along three blocks: Calais, Goldwater, and Flowers. Calais is located directly on the beach. Flowers is set amid lush tropical gardens. Goldwater features an island oasis of its own.

 

The hotel offers a beautiful pool and sundeck, pool bar, and rooms with panoramic views of the ocean or tropical gardens, each with a balcony or terrace. Breakfast is the only meal served. The nearby Gap is famous for its lively nightlife, duty-free shopping, a variety of bars and restaurants, and wide range of activities.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (8.7 mi/13.9 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap nearby
  • Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Oistins fishing village (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
Business
  • Photocopying and fax services at front desk

Hotel Map

13.0732 -59.5533
Area served
Bridgetown
Nearby airports
Grantley Adams International Airport
Area description
Dover Beach Hotel is located on the south coast of Barbados in the St. Lawrence area, close to the vibrant dining and nightlife of the island.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dover Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Dover Beach Hotel Rooms

Studio Garden View.
The rooms are located in the Flowers Block of the hotel in a lush garden filled with flowers and shady tress. They also have the same features as the other studios.
Studio Family.
These spacious rooms are situated in the Calais Block of the hotel and view the north-side of the island. The balconies overlook the gardens of the Flowers and Goldwater blocks as well as a view of the avenue which leads on to St. Lawrence Gap. These units have the same amenities as the Ocean View rooms but are more spacious and are able to accommodate an additional single bed and person.
Studio Island View.
The rooms are located in the Goldwater Block, elegantly furnished with twin or double beds, coffee stations with small fridge, electric kettle and microwave cable TV, radios, hairdryers, telephones, full bathrooms, balcony or terrace.
Studio Pool View.
These rooms are located on the ground floor of the Calais Block. They carry the same features of the Ocean View but have a terrace where you can walk from your room straight to the pool.
Studio Ocean View.
These rooms are located in the Calais block, have a beautiful and uninterrupted view on the turquoise blue Caribbean sea and white sandy beaches of the southern coastline from the covered balconies. These units are air-conditioned with a double or twin beds, a telephone, color television with cable, a safe, full-size bathroom and kitchenette.
One Bedroom Garden View.
These apartments are the popular choice among families wishing to stay together in one room. They have all of the studio features, but feature a separate bedroom. The living room can accommodate another bed that allows guest to transform the room into a bedroom at the night and is fan cooled while the main bedroom is air-conditioned.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • 3Ws Oval: 6.8 mi

Dining

Pool Bar Restaurant
Enjoy the open, casual atmosphere. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Dover Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big man 12
St Lawrence gap barbados
Apr 29, 2014

Average family getaway

We felt the hotel was dated by today's standards and also st Lawrence gap was not what we expected, we thought the whole experience of Barbados fell short of what we expected, too many people hassling us to buy this & that especially young guys offering something to smoke etc. Also the way they stare at women makes women feel uncomfortable but the biggest surprise was cost of food & drink on the island we also felt the whole island was not as nice & clean as we thought it would be, but the hotel staff were very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
metzy205
Springfield, IL
Apr 20, 2014

Great Place!

I had all the amenities that I needed at the hotel. Everyone was helpful and I had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
From the hill
Dover Beach Hotel Barbados
Mar 1, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

More than excellent, perfect! All the staff great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJMB
New Jersey
Feb 12, 2014

Right in the heart of the nightlife

Dover beach hotel is a great place to stay. You are in walking distance to all the shops, bars and restaurants. The beach area is a bit small but never overcrowded. There's a nice sun balcony with chairs right next to the beach. Great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Hals carport bar on the St Lawrence gap!! Great music and drinks! Also visit the Gap Bar on a Monday night. There's an amazing guitar player named Garvie!!

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latoya999
Tampa, Florida
May 29, 2013

Memorial Day getaway with friends

My friends and I visited the hotel during the Memorial Day weekend. We booked two separate rooms because there were 4 of us. Once we arrived, we asked the staff if we could have rooms next to each other and they immediately found us rooms right next to each other. The hotel has a beautiful beach that is right out back of the hotel. Everyday our rooms were cleaned very well and anything we needed, the staff was able to assist. The women at the front desk gave us a lot of ideas on how to plan out our days. We spent a lot of time away from the hotel and I must say nothing came up missing or nothing crazy occurred. They have security onsite to guard the premises 24/7. They could use a little upgrades with their televisions though. They have small square tvs with the big back part sticking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely check out Oistins on Friday night. The food is amazing. There are a lot of vendors out selling delicious food. Also, there is lots of entertainment and drinks!!

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting couple2013
USA
Apr 17, 2013

Couples getaway

Beach was beautiful, location for this was great . Otherwise not much to do. Bit away off the beaten track. Would not walk around here late at night. Would also not recommend to women travelling alone. Guys outside the hotel constantly offering aloe Vera ie drugs. Have been to other beach destinations for cheaper with a safer atmosphere and more activities. Fighting and noise late at night. Would not leave my belongings unlocked while out of room Also St Lawerence Gap has very little on it- few restaurants but nothing special - not enough to book hotel close to it. Did not feel safe even though hotel had security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe sol the Mexican restaurant on st Lawerence Gap is 25 minute walk. Well worth a visit.

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cape Cod Sr. Couple
South Chatham, MA
Feb 25, 2013

Two Weeks at Dover Beach Hotel

Greatest strength of Dover Beach Hotel is the close, personal atmosphere of a small hotel with a staff that knows all its guests. Location on one of the nicest southern Bajan beaches and proximity to numerous restaurants and night clubs of St. Lawrence Gap Rd. is ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public buses only 5 min. walk from hotel enable visitors to quickly, economically reach any part of the island including major town, i.e. Bridgetown (15 min.) by bus for $1.00 (US).

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K. Kelly
Arlington, Texas
Jan 18, 2013

Back Again

This was my fifth trip to Barbados, but my first stay at this hotel. The room was fairly large and clean, bathroom a nice size. It had a microwave and small refrigerator in the first room I stayed in. Had to stay an extra night and had to move to another room. This room had 2 twins pushed together (would have preferred one bed) and no microwave but it did have a gas range so we were able to reheat our food in a pan. The hotel is right on the beach which was great. The front desk allowed me to have a late check out and a small discount on my last minute needed extra night. So overall, I had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to St. Lawrence Gap for entertainment. Has restaurants, clubs, and bars. It was about a 15-20 minute walk so you may want to take a taxi.

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fabulousdiva
Trinidad
Jun 25, 2012

I really needed this trip!

I visited Barbados for the first time and i was a bit worried cause I was travelling alone but the hotel accommodated my early check in and late check out. They even switch my rooms as a single female and placed me closer to reception. The proximity to the beach, restaurants and bars was great. Overall it was worth everything. I am planning to visit again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jma143
Chicago, IL
Jun 21, 2012

diving

clean, friendly, helpful, right on beach, within walking for restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places to walk to for dinner

Back to menu Return to top

Change search