$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Dover Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of St.Lawrence, Christchurch, Bridgetown,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
52 reviews
Fantastic family getaway

More than excellent, perfect! All the staff great!! See full review

  • From the hill
  • Mar 1, 2014
I really needed this trip!

I visited Barbados for the first time and i was a bit worried cause I was travelling alone but the... See full review

  • fabulousdiva
  • Jun 25, 2012

In a desirable location on the south coast of Barbados, this 59-room hotel is actually spread over three blocks just off the lively St. Lawrence Gap, an area internationally known for its wide variety of shops, restaurants, bars, nightclubs, banks, and salons. The hotel is suitable for everyone from families to honeymooners. Tucked off the beaten path, it beckons with sun-kissed tranquility by day and bustling activity along the St. Lawrence Gap when the sun goes down.

Rooms

Studios offer ocean, pool, or garden views -- or a combination of all three. In addition, rooms have terraces or balconies, twin or double beds, coffee maker, a small fridge, electric kettle and microwave, cable television, radio, air conditioner, and telephone. Fully equipped bathrooms include hairdryers.

Property features

Dover Beach Hotel is located along three blocks: Calais, Goldwater, and Flowers. Calais is located directly on the beach. Flowers is set amid lush tropical gardens. Goldwater features an island oasis of its own.

 

The hotel offers a beautiful pool and sundeck, pool bar, and rooms with panoramic views of the ocean or tropical gardens, each with a balcony or terrace. Breakfast is the only meal served. The nearby Gap is famous for its lively nightlife, duty-free shopping, a variety of bars and restaurants, and wide range of activities.

Highlights
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Internet café
  • Business center
  • Pool and complimentary beach towels
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap nearby
  • Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Bridgetown (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Oistins fishing village (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
Business
  • Photocopying and fax services at front desk
Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (8.7 mi/13.9 km)
  • Airport shuttle

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dover Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Dover Beach Hotel Rooms

Studio Garden View.
The rooms are located in the Flowers Block of the hotel in a lush garden filled with flowers and shady tress. They also have the same features as the other studios.
Studio Family.
These spacious rooms are situated in the Calais Block of the hotel and view the north-side of the island. The balconies overlook the gardens of the Flowers and Goldwater blocks as well as a view of the avenue which leads on to St. Lawrence Gap. These units have the same amenities as the Ocean View rooms but are more spacious and are able to accommodate an additional single bed and person.
Studio Island View.
The rooms are located in the Goldwater Block, elegantly furnished with twin or double beds, coffee stations with small fridge, electric kettle and microwave cable TV, radios, hairdryers, telephones, full bathrooms, balcony or terrace.
Studio Pool View.
These rooms are located on the ground floor of the Calais Block. They carry the same features of the Ocean View but have a terrace where you can walk from your room straight to the pool.
Studio Ocean View.
These rooms are located in the Calais block, have a beautiful and uninterrupted view on the turquoise blue Caribbean sea and white sandy beaches of the southern coastline from the covered balconies. These units are air-conditioned with a double or twin beds, a telephone, color television with cable, a safe, full-size bathroom and kitchenette.
One Bedroom Garden View.
These apartments are the popular choice among families wishing to stay together in one room. They have all of the studio features, but feature a separate bedroom. The living room can accommodate another bed that allows guest to transform the room into a bedroom at the night and is fan cooled while the main bedroom is air-conditioned.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • 3Ws Oval: 6.8 mi

Dining

Pool Bar Restaurant
Enjoy the open, casual atmosphere. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Dover Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony W.
Business
N/A
Jun 14, 2015

Quet location close to the gap

Quet, secure location with easy beach access, friendly staff especially the chamber maids and Mary the events co-ordinator who is really very helpfull and a really lovely lady, the rooms are comfortable, but slightly misled as we were told we'd have a kitchenette, a microwave, cups and saucers and a mini fridge, not exactly cooking facilities but still it was clean and comfortable, don't expect a sea view unless you request it though, the dining facilities are very basic not great, rum is a little watered down, head out along the gap for breakfast, the gap bar offers a great English staff are superb ( late night entertainment, local artists are superb ) head down to sand dollar bar a bit further down Rob and Anne such wonderfull local bajans,a must is the local flying fish with Anns amazing salad, rum sours are sublime here too, overall I'd say the hotel is great for couples and families and a great base to explore beautiful Barbados

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kenni
Business
Hyde Park
Mar 26, 2015

First visit to Barbados!

My overall experience in Barbados was great. The hotel is located at the bottom of St. Lawrence Gap. The room was BASIC at best and hotel is in need of renovations. It is listed as a 3 star, but is truly a 2 star by American standard. I do not have any complaints about the hotel experience, although I will probably stay at the neighboring Turtle Bay or Sandals next time. The food at the on-site restaurant was a little pricey for the portions. There are plenty of places to eat on the hotel strip including a Rude Boyz Jamaican Restaurant who served good food. There are also NO beach chairs on the beach for this hotel, so if you don't make friends with the men who work the Captain Sam Watersports, you will be out of luck with sitting on the beach. The chairs are for Turtle Bay and Sandals guests. The hotel served its purpose for I stayed in the room only to sleep. There is a pretty good night life in St. Lawrence Gap where the hotel is located. If you are looking for fancy, this is not your place. This place is simply affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maryann s.
Business
saint paul
Feb 28, 2015

Good for a short term stay

Location on the beach was nice although you can't swim directly in front of the hotel due to rock wall, there is a nice terrace for watching the ocean, sunset and have a drink. That is if the waves aren't crashing over the terrace which they were doing both evenings we spent there. The little café was adequate but the bar was very poorly stocked and we asked for three different drinks before we found something for which they had ingredients. The pool is small but good water temperature and a few chaise lounges. Check-in was welcoming. Our room was in a building behind the main one so no view except street and hotel behind ours and a street with street noise. Room was quite run down, ie. wobbly, noisy ceiling fan, chipped bathroom tub and tiles, etc. and only container soap and shampoo for the very low water pressure shower. Lady at activity desk was very helpful in finding out museum hours for us and giving directions, etc.' The area itself was very good with many, many bars and restaurants within short walking distance and lots of beach on either side of the hotel. I might stay here again if I had a more renovated room and wanted to pay extra for the front building facing the ocean, but there were also many other hotels in the area which might have been in better shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big man 12
Business
St Lawrence gap barbados
Apr 29, 2014

Average family getaway

We felt the hotel was dated by today's standards and also st Lawrence gap was not what we expected, we thought the whole experience of Barbados fell short of what we expected, too many people hassling us to buy this & that especially young guys offering something to smoke etc. Also the way they stare at women makes women feel uncomfortable but the biggest surprise was cost of food & drink on the island we also felt the whole island was not as nice & clean as we thought it would be, but the hotel staff were very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
From the hill
Business
Dover Beach Hotel Barbados
Mar 1, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

More than excellent, perfect! All the staff great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJMB
Business
New Jersey
Feb 12, 2014

Right in the heart of the nightlife

Dover beach hotel is a great place to stay. You are in walking distance to all the shops, bars and restaurants. The beach area is a bit small but never overcrowded. There's a nice sun balcony with chairs right next to the beach. Great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Hals carport bar on the St Lawrence gap!! Great music and drinks! Also visit the Gap Bar on a Monday night. There's an amazing guitar player named Garvie!!

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latoya999
Business
Tampa, Florida
May 29, 2013

Memorial Day getaway with friends

My friends and I visited the hotel during the Memorial Day weekend. We booked two separate rooms because there were 4 of us. Once we arrived, we asked the staff if we could have rooms next to each other and they immediately found us rooms right next to each other. The hotel has a beautiful beach that is right out back of the hotel. Everyday our rooms were cleaned very well and anything we needed, the staff was able to assist. The women at the front desk gave us a lot of ideas on how to plan out our days. We spent a lot of time away from the hotel and I must say nothing came up missing or nothing crazy occurred. They have security onsite to guard the premises 24/7. They could use a little upgrades with their televisions though. They have small square tvs with the big back part sticking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely check out Oistins on Friday night. The food is amazing. There are a lot of vendors out selling delicious food. Also, there is lots of entertainment and drinks!!

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting couple2013
Business
USA
Apr 17, 2013

Couples getaway

Beach was beautiful, location for this was great . Otherwise not much to do. Bit away off the beaten track. Would not walk around here late at night. Would also not recommend to women travelling alone. Guys outside the hotel constantly offering aloe Vera ie drugs. Have been to other beach destinations for cheaper with a safer atmosphere and more activities. Fighting and noise late at night. Would not leave my belongings unlocked while out of room Also St Lawerence Gap has very little on it- few restaurants but nothing special - not enough to book hotel close to it. Did not feel safe even though hotel had security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe sol the Mexican restaurant on st Lawerence Gap is 25 minute walk. Well worth a visit.

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cape Cod Sr. Couple
Business
South Chatham, MA
Feb 25, 2013

Two Weeks at Dover Beach Hotel

Greatest strength of Dover Beach Hotel is the close, personal atmosphere of a small hotel with a staff that knows all its guests. Location on one of the nicest southern Bajan beaches and proximity to numerous restaurants and night clubs of St. Lawrence Gap Rd. is ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public buses only 5 min. walk from hotel enable visitors to quickly, economically reach any part of the island including major town, i.e. Bridgetown (15 min.) by bus for $1.00 (US).

Review of Dover Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K. Kelly
Business
Arlington, Texas
Jan 18, 2013

Back Again

This was my fifth trip to Barbados, but my first stay at this hotel. The room was fairly large and clean, bathroom a nice size. It had a microwave and small refrigerator in the first room I stayed in. Had to stay an extra night and had to move to another room. This room had 2 twins pushed together (would have preferred one bed) and no microwave but it did have a gas range so we were able to reheat our food in a pan. The hotel is right on the beach which was great. The front desk allowed me to have a late check out and a small discount on my last minute needed extra night. So overall, I had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to St. Lawrence Gap for entertainment. Has restaurants, clubs, and bars. It was about a 15-20 minute walk so you may want to take a taxi.

Back to menu Return to top