$222 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Bougainvillea Beach Resort

4 stars
Maxwell Coast Rd., Bridgetown,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
36 reviews
I'd go back in a heartbeat!

This hotel was quite fabulous in many different ways! First of all the location is terrific - close... See full review

  • Mom and Daughter C and T
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great holiday

Had a fantastic time in Barbados and this hotel was the perfect place to enjoy the holiday See full review

  • Ardi and Libby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Mediterranean-style resort on Maxwell Beach offers dolce vita vibe

Combining fine Mediterranean architecture with an unspoiled beachfront setting, the Bougainvillea Beach Resort is centrally located on the south coast of the island on Maxwell Beach. The resort is just 15 minutes from both the airport and Bridgetown, the capital, yet it offers a dolce vita type serenity that makes it feel like it is miles from anywhere.

Highlights
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Concierge
  • Fitness center, three pools, Kids Club, game room
  • Beauty salon and spa
  • Limited room service
Rooms

The hotel features 138 deluxe, ocean-facing suites with pool and garden views. All have kitchens. Rooms have king- or queen-sized beds, pullout sofabeds, air conditioning, complimentary wireless Internet access, and cable television.

Features

Overlooking the emerald-blue Caribbean Sea, this 2.5-acre resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and edged by the beautiful white sands of Maxwell Beach. Three swimming pools, one with a swim-up bar, highlight a wide selection of leisure facilities and amenities, which include a beach shop, beauty salon and spa, and Kids Club.

 

Tennis, a well-equipped fitness center, and motorized and non-motorized water sports satisfy the sports buff. The Challenger game room offers air hockey, pool, table tennis, foosball, and a 57-inch flat-screen television. Video games and a current DVD library are also available.

 

Situated on the beach, Lanterns by the Sea Restaurant offers fabulous views as well as a delicious selection of local and international cuisine. The inviting beachfront Italian restaurant and bar Buoni Amici is open for dinner only.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Oistins fishing village (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Bridgetown (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • Photocopying and fax services available

Hotel Map

13.0658 -59.5605
Area served
Christ Church, Barbados
Nearby airports
Grantley Adams International Airport (BGI): 6 miles.
Area description
Combining fine Mediterranean architecture with an unspoiled beachfront setting, Bougainvillea Beach Resort is centrally located on the beautiful south coast of the island. Sitting directly on the Maxwell Beach, the resort is just 15 minutes from the airport, and 15 minutes from the capital, Bridgetown. Oistins fishing village, known for its popular Friday Night Fish Fry is just 5 minutes away. St. Lawrence Gap - famous for its great restaurants, lively bars and vibrant nightlife, is also just 5 drive minutes from the resort. Bougainvillea is a wonderful and relaxing escape in its tranquil setting but near enough to all of the activity that the vibrant South Coast of Barbados offers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bougainvillea Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Bougainvillea Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Spacious suite with private bedroom with king size bed or two double beds and a separate living room with queen-size pull out sofa. Includes private balcony or terrace, full air-conditioning, full kitchen, color cable, free wireless internet access and private bathroom with combination shower/bath
Studio
Large room with queen size bed and L-shaped couch includes private balcony or terrace, full air- conditioning, full kitchen, Free wireless internet access, Color Cable TV and private bathroom with shower.
Junior Suite
Spacious with King bed only or queen size bed and pull out sofa. Includes private balcony or terrace, full air- conditioning, kitchenette, Free wireless internet access, Color Cable TV and private bathroom with combination shower/bath.
One Bedroom Suite
Very spacious suite with private bedroom with king size bed and a separate living room with queen-size pull out sofa. Includes private balcony or terrace, full air-conditioning, full kitchen, color cable, free wireless internet access and private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • 3Ws Oval: 6.8 mi

Dining

Lanterns by the Sea
Lanterns by the Sea is beautifully situated right on the seaside, and serves a delicious selection of local and international cuisine. Serving an extensive breakfast buffet, this includes an array of fruits, pastries & hearty hot dishes. Exciting and sumptuous menu offers great choices for lunch & dinner. Casual dress code required for the day and casual elegant for the evening.
Water's Edge Restaurant
Sample a fusion of Caribbean and internationally flavours, from our menu designed around the concept of "Small Bites, Big Flavours".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 36
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 24, 2014

Nice resort, friendly staff

We were only here for 2 nights but had a great time. There are always taxis in front of the resort for your convenience and you can go to St Lawrence Gap round trip for $20 USD (great value compared to the taxi prices at the island we stayed at previously). We felt the prices for the alcoholic drinks were great & the bartenders were very friendly. We only ate breakfast at the resort so can't comment too much on food, although breakfast was good & served quickly. The rooms might be a bit "dated" but it felt very Caribbean, we enjoyed ours. We picked this resort for the beach & proximity to St Lawrence Gap & the airport. There were plenty of options for dining around, but of course we went to Oistins on Friday & had a great time. Unfortunately the water was too rough to really swim/snorkel in during our short stay but it did look gorgeous- white sand & clear waters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Guy NYC
Business
Nyc
Jun 3, 2014

Beautiful resort with a less than friendly staff

Excellent gym facilities which was a huge plus for us coupled with beautiful scenery and ambiance made our stay comforting and enjoyable. Jose at the pool bar is just a lovely fellow who will treat you like your the most important person in the world, can't say enough good things about him. The room was clean and had a gorgeous view of the beach and the pool area- really lovely to hear the crashing of the waves every morning as we woke up to start our day. The management was rude, disrespectful and hurtful toward myself and my wife- they stated "you're not out type of guest" I've never been so insulted in my life. Thankfully Jose and the rest of the staff did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They saved the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tapas restaurant offered some of the most decadent meals we've had in quite some time. Amazing time there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ardi and Libby
Business
Edinburgh
Jun 2, 2014

Great holiday

Had a fantastic time in Barbados and this hotel was the perfect place to enjoy the holiday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the 2 dollar buses!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juliejyn
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2014

Amazing vacation

The Bougainvillea was perfect! The staff were friendly, professional and aimed to please. The location was directly on a pristine beach with warm turquoise water. The waves were huge, the sand was white and there were plenty of chaises. The moment you sit down, a staff person runs over with an umbrella. The food at Lanterns was delicious. Water's Edge was disappointing. There are things to do at night IF you wish, but no pressure. Movie night on Tuesday was a blast! Popcorn and a movie on a lounge chair on the beach! We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We dined at Champers Restaurant one night! Definitely worth the cost. Romantic and lovely - right on the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt1234
Business
London
Mar 7, 2014

Perfect break!!

Nice hotel and great location as a base to see Barbados. Highly recommend staying here.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gizmosmum
Business
Cumbria
Dec 22, 2013

Heaven On Earth

Everything at this hotel was a described, lots of space in our Junior suite, well maintained, friendly staff, great amenities - we even watched a movie under the stars. Everything was super clean and it's, probably the best holiday we've ever had, the reason for a 4* rather than a 5* is the hotel's ability to deal with dietary requirements. Food was expensive (although I think this is common in Barbados and not unique to this hotel as they fly most food in) and they really didn't understand my gluten free requirements. It wouldn't stop me returning I'd just bring my own food with me and cook myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taxis are quite expensive and not nearly as much fun as the buses, blue, yellow and white that pass the road end every few minutes. Approx 70p each to Bridgetown compared with £6 each in a taxi. Drivers on the buses are really friendly as are the locals and they'll make sure you get where you want to be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ask Jeeves
Business
Bedford, NH
Nov 16, 2013

Beautiful views and low stress

Great place to go for vacation. My wife and I had a bad experience in a resort in another country, and this was much better all around. Food was average but only about a 20 minute walk to the gap if you wanted something fancier. Beautiful views and staff very friendly to accommodate any needs you may have on the beach, without being pushy. All in all a great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HACC
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 9, 2013

Just what we needed!

The staff was great, front desk welcome cocktail, check in, waitstaff and bar service ( especially Jose!) all top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnandHeather
Business
sandhurst, England, UK
Oct 26, 2013

Second home

Our sixth visit to this hotel and most of the other guests are mutiple stay visitors. What else does one need to say. Best beach on the coast and right on your doorstep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

All rooms have a kitchen and by making most of your own meals you can save a small fortune.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JazzyJo
Business
MD
Sep 11, 2013

Fantastic Trip!!

Overall this is an excellent place to stay. The staff went above and beyond to ensure the guests ‎were comfortable. My husband and I stayed for 5 days and would definitely stay again. We ate at the hotel ‎several times and the food was pretty good. Overall it was a very good experience. The outside ‎was absolutely beautiful! Our room was right off the beach – yes ocean view. It was clean and ‎comfortable. Bottom line, an elegant, quiet, beautiful property with service to match.‎ Im ready to go back!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Although there are always taxis parked outside we decided to walked up the road and catch the local bus to Ostins which is a fish market. This was great way to enjoy the people, the crafts and food. They actually cook your meat anyway you want it, be it grilled or fried. Fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top