$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 18, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Bougainvillea Beach Resort

4 stars
Maxwell Coast Rd., Bridgetown,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
36 reviews
I'd go back in a heartbeat!

This hotel was quite fabulous in many different ways! First of all the location is terrific - close... See full review

  • Mom and Daughter C and T
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great holiday

Had a fantastic time in Barbados and this hotel was the perfect place to enjoy the holiday See full review

  • Ardi and Libby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Mediterranean-style resort on Maxwell Beach offers dolce vita vibe

Combining fine Mediterranean architecture with an unspoiled beachfront setting, the Bougainvillea Beach Resort is centrally located on the south coast of the island on Maxwell Beach. The resort is just 15 minutes from both the airport and Bridgetown, the capital, yet it offers a dolce vita type serenity that makes it feel like it is miles from anywhere.

Highlights
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Concierge
  • Fitness center, three pools, Kids Club, game room
  • Beauty salon and spa
  • Limited room service
Rooms

The hotel features 138 deluxe, ocean-facing suites with pool and garden views. All have kitchens. Rooms have king- or queen-sized beds, pullout sofabeds, air conditioning, complimentary wireless Internet access, and cable television.

Features

Overlooking the emerald-blue Caribbean Sea, this 2.5-acre resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and edged by the beautiful white sands of Maxwell Beach. Three swimming pools, one with a swim-up bar, highlight a wide selection of leisure facilities and amenities, which include a beach shop, beauty salon and spa, and Kids Club.

 

Tennis, a well-equipped fitness center, and motorized and non-motorized water sports satisfy the sports buff. The Challenger game room offers air hockey, pool, table tennis, foosball, and a 57-inch flat-screen television. Video games and a current DVD library are also available.

 

Situated on the beach, Lanterns by the Sea Restaurant offers fabulous views as well as a delicious selection of local and international cuisine. The inviting beachfront Italian restaurant and bar Buoni Amici is open for dinner only.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Oistins fishing village (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Bridgetown (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • Photocopying and fax services available
Policies and fees
From Saturday, August 30th to Saturday, October 11th, the property will be upgrading and close all 100 rooms on the west side of the resort. All existing bookings in these room categories on the west side of the property will be relocated: Deluxe Studios, Junior Suites, Deluxe One Bedroom Suite, One Bedroom Penthouse, Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite and Deluxe One Bedroom Beachfront Luxury Suite.During this time two of the three pools will be out of commission to facilitate the installation of the pool deck. Please note that Lanterns by the Sea will be closed throughout this time and the Water's Edge will be the full service restaurant serving Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner daily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

13.0658 -59.5605
Area served
Christ Church, Barbados
Nearby airports
Grantley Adams International Airport (BGI): 6 miles.
Area description
Combining fine Mediterranean architecture with an unspoiled beachfront setting, Bougainvillea Beach Resort is centrally located on the beautiful south coast of the island. Sitting directly on the Maxwell Beach, the resort is just 15 minutes from the airport, and 15 minutes from the capital, Bridgetown. Oistins fishing village, known for its popular Friday Night Fish Fry is just 5 minutes away. St. Lawrence Gap - famous for its great restaurants, lively bars and vibrant nightlife, is also just 5 drive minutes from the resort. Bougainvillea is a wonderful and relaxing escape in its tranquil setting but near enough to all of the activity that the vibrant South Coast of Barbados offers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bougainvillea Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Bougainvillea Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Spacious suite with private bedroom with king size bed or two double beds and a separate living room with queen-size pull out sofa. Includes private balcony or terrace, full air-conditioning, full kitchen, color cable, free wireless internet access and private bathroom with combination shower/bath
Studio
Large room with queen size bed and L-shaped couch includes private balcony or terrace, full air- conditioning, full kitchen, Free wireless internet access, Color Cable TV and private bathroom with shower.
Junior Suite
Spacious with King bed only or queen size bed and pull out sofa. Includes private balcony or terrace, full air- conditioning, kitchenette, Free wireless internet access, Color Cable TV and private bathroom with combination shower/bath.
One Bedroom Suite
Very spacious suite with private bedroom with king size bed and a separate living room with queen-size pull out sofa. Includes private balcony or terrace, full air-conditioning, full kitchen, color cable, free wireless internet access and private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • 3Ws Oval: 6.8 mi

Dining

Lanterns by the Sea
Lanterns by the Sea is beautifully situated right on the seaside, and serves a delicious selection of local and international cuisine. Serving an extensive breakfast buffet, this includes an array of fruits, pastries & hearty hot dishes. Exciting and sumptuous menu offers great choices for lunch & dinner. Casual dress code required for the day and casual elegant for the evening.
Water's Edge Restaurant
Sample a fusion of Caribbean and internationally flavours, from our menu designed around the concept of "Small Bites, Big Flavours".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Oct 25, 2010

Wonderful stay at the Bougainvillea

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bougainvillea Beach Resort. We booked a studio and were upgraded to a one bedroom upon check in. The suite was lovely and spacious. Our room's balcony overlooked the beach and swim up bar, but there was no noise or disturbance whatsoever from the bar during our stay. We enjoyed eating meals out on the balcony, which is deep enough to be in shade most of the day and has comfortable furniture. The resort has a friendly and casual feel to it, and although we expected to spend most of our time seeing the island we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere at the Bougainvillea so much that we spent much of our stay hanging out and enjoying the beach and our suite. The kitchen is well equipped and we cooked a few meals, also got lunches from the food cart across the street and had a couple of good meals at the resort's restaurant on the beach. Our favorite thing was the beach, best swimming ever in the beautiful warm water and active surf. Families with young children might want to choose a beach further north where the water is calmer as there is no lifeguard and the surf can be a bit rough. The resort is right on Maxwell Beach, the beach compares favorably to other we saw on the island. The location is quiet and away from nightlife. Cabs were available, the resort runs a shuttle into Bridgetown and tour companies will pick up right at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Hour Man
Whitinsville, MA
Jun 3, 2012

GREAT TRIP

The 6 day trip was everything one could expect and MORE!!! Great staff / nice room and an even better location...Wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom and Daughter C and T
Issaquah, WA
Jul 6, 2014

I'd go back in a heartbeat!

This hotel was quite fabulous in many different ways! First of all the location is terrific - close to terrific bars and restaurants in St. Lawrence Gap as well as close to Oistin's for the Fish Fry. It has a magnificent beach and very, very friendly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxi's can be pretty costly if you're out and about on a regular basis. The buses are only $1.00 and run about every 3 minutes or so. They are easy to use and the local folks are quite ready to help when needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ardi and Libby
Edinburgh
Jun 2, 2014

Great holiday

Had a fantastic time in Barbados and this hotel was the perfect place to enjoy the holiday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the 2 dollar buses!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serje
Portland . Oregon
Apr 6, 2013

Very lovely exsotic vocation.

This resort has incredible landscaping with Bougainvillea flowers abd multiple pools for adults and kids.Beautful large room with high cealing. Restaurant expencive, but we had greate kitchen with everything you need to cook. Fish market 10 min away with huge choice of different kind of fish and fresh vegetables, very cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PLZ
Chevy Chase, MD
Mar 14, 2011

Beatiful friendly place on good beach

The hotel staff went all out to make our stay comfortable. For instance, to make a 15 or so minutes wait for check-in seem shorter (we arrived at the peak time of Saturday afternoon), we were served free rum (or plain fruit) punch in a delightful airy lobby that overlooked a tangle of swimming pools surrounded by bugainvilleas. The staff helped us book restauranta, rent a car, etc. Of the three resorts I stayed in a Carribean island, I rate this one the best. Do take a trip to see the Barbados museum near Bridgetown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take the 3 hour trip to watch ship wrecks and turtles underwater, swim or bob in the water, listen to music being played under your shaded porch, or to the chirping of birds (Unfortunately, there were no banana quits)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ask Jeeves
Bedford, NH
Nov 16, 2013

Beautiful views and low stress

Great place to go for vacation. My wife and I had a bad experience in a resort in another country, and this was much better all around. Food was average but only about a 20 minute walk to the gap if you wanted something fancier. Beautiful views and staff very friendly to accommodate any needs you may have on the beach, without being pushy. All in all a great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juliejyn
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2014

Amazing vacation

The Bougainvillea was perfect! The staff were friendly, professional and aimed to please. The location was directly on a pristine beach with warm turquoise water. The waves were huge, the sand was white and there were plenty of chaises. The moment you sit down, a staff person runs over with an umbrella. The food at Lanterns was delicious. Water's Edge was disappointing. There are things to do at night IF you wish, but no pressure. Movie night on Tuesday was a blast! Popcorn and a movie on a lounge chair on the beach! We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We dined at Champers Restaurant one night! Definitely worth the cost. Romantic and lovely - right on the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bmart
london
May 17, 2013

Best hotel ever

This hotel made my trip to barbados magical. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The suite was fantastic, It was very close to the beach and we actually had WIFI on the beach. Everything you need is at the hotel so you wont need to venture out. They sort out your water sport activities for you, they arranged our tour, they even give you a taxi price list for where ever you want to go. We went out to eat a few times and discovered that the food outside was the same as the food in the hotel. They also give u all the water equipment you need to enjoy the sea. The hotel beach is practically a private beach and its near the fish fry location. I cant praise this hotel enough. They made our long weekend break feel like a honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you go to the fish fry. I dont eat fish but the fish there was different

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JazzyJo
MD
Sep 11, 2013

Fantastic Trip!!

Overall this is an excellent place to stay. The staff went above and beyond to ensure the guests ‎were comfortable. My husband and I stayed for 5 days and would definitely stay again. We ate at the hotel ‎several times and the food was pretty good. Overall it was a very good experience. The outside ‎was absolutely beautiful! Our room was right off the beach – yes ocean view. It was clean and ‎comfortable. Bottom line, an elegant, quiet, beautiful property with service to match.‎ Im ready to go back!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Although there are always taxis parked outside we decided to walked up the road and catch the local bus to Ostins which is a fish market. This was great way to enjoy the people, the crafts and food. They actually cook your meat anyway you want it, be it grilled or fried. Fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search