$222 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Bougainvillea Beach Resort

4 stars
Maxwell Coast Rd., Bridgetown,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
36 reviews
I'd go back in a heartbeat!

This hotel was quite fabulous in many different ways! First of all the location is terrific - close... See full review

  • Mom and Daughter C and T
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great holiday

Had a fantastic time in Barbados and this hotel was the perfect place to enjoy the holiday See full review

  • Ardi and Libby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Mediterranean-style resort on Maxwell Beach offers dolce vita vibe

Combining fine Mediterranean architecture with an unspoiled beachfront setting, the Bougainvillea Beach Resort is centrally located on the south coast of the island on Maxwell Beach. The resort is just 15 minutes from both the airport and Bridgetown, the capital, yet it offers a dolce vita type serenity that makes it feel like it is miles from anywhere.

Highlights
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Concierge
  • Fitness center, three pools, Kids Club, game room
  • Beauty salon and spa
  • Limited room service
Rooms

The hotel features 138 deluxe, ocean-facing suites with pool and garden views. All have kitchens. Rooms have king- or queen-sized beds, pullout sofabeds, air conditioning, complimentary wireless Internet access, and cable television.

Features

Overlooking the emerald-blue Caribbean Sea, this 2.5-acre resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and edged by the beautiful white sands of Maxwell Beach. Three swimming pools, one with a swim-up bar, highlight a wide selection of leisure facilities and amenities, which include a beach shop, beauty salon and spa, and Kids Club.

 

Tennis, a well-equipped fitness center, and motorized and non-motorized water sports satisfy the sports buff. The Challenger game room offers air hockey, pool, table tennis, foosball, and a 57-inch flat-screen television. Video games and a current DVD library are also available.

 

Situated on the beach, Lanterns by the Sea Restaurant offers fabulous views as well as a delicious selection of local and international cuisine. The inviting beachfront Italian restaurant and bar Buoni Amici is open for dinner only.

Transportation
  • Grantley Adams International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • St. Lawrence Gap (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Oistins fishing village (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Bridgetown (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • Photocopying and fax services available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bougainvillea Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Bougainvillea Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Spacious suite with private bedroom with king size bed or two double beds and a separate living room with queen-size pull out sofa. Includes private balcony or terrace, full air-conditioning, full kitchen, color cable, free wireless internet access and private bathroom with combination shower/bath
Studio
Large room with queen size bed and L-shaped couch includes private balcony or terrace, full air- conditioning, full kitchen, Free wireless internet access, Color Cable TV and private bathroom with shower.
Junior Suite
Spacious with King bed only or queen size bed and pull out sofa. Includes private balcony or terrace, full air- conditioning, kitchenette, Free wireless internet access, Color Cable TV and private bathroom with combination shower/bath.
One Bedroom Suite
Very spacious suite with private bedroom with king size bed and a separate living room with queen-size pull out sofa. Includes private balcony or terrace, full air-conditioning, full kitchen, color cable, free wireless internet access and private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • 3Ws Oval: 6.8 mi

Dining

Lanterns by the Sea
Lanterns by the Sea is beautifully situated right on the seaside, and serves a delicious selection of local and international cuisine. Serving an extensive breakfast buffet, this includes an array of fruits, pastries & hearty hot dishes. Exciting and sumptuous menu offers great choices for lunch & dinner. Casual dress code required for the day and casual elegant for the evening.
Water's Edge Restaurant
Sample a fusion of Caribbean and internationally flavours, from our menu designed around the concept of "Small Bites, Big Flavours".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gizmosmum
Business
Cumbria
Dec 22, 2013

Heaven On Earth

Everything at this hotel was a described, lots of space in our Junior suite, well maintained, friendly staff, great amenities - we even watched a movie under the stars. Everything was super clean and it's, probably the best holiday we've ever had, the reason for a 4* rather than a 5* is the hotel's ability to deal with dietary requirements. Food was expensive (although I think this is common in Barbados and not unique to this hotel as they fly most food in) and they really didn't understand my gluten free requirements. It wouldn't stop me returning I'd just bring my own food with me and cook myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taxis are quite expensive and not nearly as much fun as the buses, blue, yellow and white that pass the road end every few minutes. Approx 70p each to Bridgetown compared with £6 each in a taxi. Drivers on the buses are really friendly as are the locals and they'll make sure you get where you want to be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ask Jeeves
Business
Bedford, NH
Nov 16, 2013

Beautiful views and low stress

Great place to go for vacation. My wife and I had a bad experience in a resort in another country, and this was much better all around. Food was average but only about a 20 minute walk to the gap if you wanted something fancier. Beautiful views and staff very friendly to accommodate any needs you may have on the beach, without being pushy. All in all a great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HACC
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 9, 2013

Just what we needed!

The staff was great, front desk welcome cocktail, check in, waitstaff and bar service ( especially Jose!) all top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnandHeather
Business
sandhurst, England, UK
Oct 26, 2013

Second home

Our sixth visit to this hotel and most of the other guests are mutiple stay visitors. What else does one need to say. Best beach on the coast and right on your doorstep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

All rooms have a kitchen and by making most of your own meals you can save a small fortune.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grumps.
Business
England
Sep 26, 2013

fun in the sun,

we have been here many times before, know the lay out well, bedroom always good beds, the sofa bed not so good, had bad neck and shoulder after 10 nights sleeping on it, beach always clean, all staff helpful, and very friendly.,Food at the Lantans not as good as before, and the waters edge was closed as they are doing work on that side of the hotel,lots of changes, looking forward to going back soon to see all the changes, our family would return,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bridge town is a must but you might get better value in some of the shopping malls, all way make a lower offer on what you are buying, as they will always come down on most things, rings, watches, bracelets,you can get some great discounts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JazzyJo
Business
MD
Sep 11, 2013

Fantastic Trip!!

Overall this is an excellent place to stay. The staff went above and beyond to ensure the guests ‎were comfortable. My husband and I stayed for 5 days and would definitely stay again. We ate at the hotel ‎several times and the food was pretty good. Overall it was a very good experience. The outside ‎was absolutely beautiful! Our room was right off the beach – yes ocean view. It was clean and ‎comfortable. Bottom line, an elegant, quiet, beautiful property with service to match.‎ Im ready to go back!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Although there are always taxis parked outside we decided to walked up the road and catch the local bus to Ostins which is a fish market. This was great way to enjoy the people, the crafts and food. They actually cook your meat anyway you want it, be it grilled or fried. Fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tegandoo
Business
Lancashire
Sep 6, 2013

Great family holiday.

The hotel/apartments were very clean and well equipped. We has a ground floor room with direct access to pool and the beach. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Location great. Used both public and hire car all with ease. Overall cost excellent. Would highly recommend the Bougainvellea resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bmart
Business
london
May 17, 2013

Best hotel ever

This hotel made my trip to barbados magical. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The suite was fantastic, It was very close to the beach and we actually had WIFI on the beach. Everything you need is at the hotel so you wont need to venture out. They sort out your water sport activities for you, they arranged our tour, they even give you a taxi price list for where ever you want to go. We went out to eat a few times and discovered that the food outside was the same as the food in the hotel. They also give u all the water equipment you need to enjoy the sea. The hotel beach is practically a private beach and its near the fish fry location. I cant praise this hotel enough. They made our long weekend break feel like a honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you go to the fish fry. I dont eat fish but the fish there was different

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serje
Business
Portland . Oregon
Apr 6, 2013

Very lovely exsotic vocation.

This resort has incredible landscaping with Bougainvillea flowers abd multiple pools for adults and kids.Beautful large room with high cealing. Restaurant expencive, but we had greate kitchen with everything you need to cook. Fish market 10 min away with huge choice of different kind of fish and fresh vegetables, very cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach babe
Business
London
Mar 13, 2013

Near perfection

Fantastic resort, with the best location I have ever seen, apart from the Maldives. The beautifully landscaped banks of bright Bougainvilla contrast with the blue water of the swimming pools & pastel coloured buildings. Then you see the stunning white sand beach with powder soft sand....heaven. We stayed in a junior suite..well worth it as you can cook fresh fish from Oistins fish market & relax with some ice cold Banks beer from the supermarket 5 mins away, next to Oistins. Go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Globe drive-in is a national treasure....a wonderful family run drive-in serving great food,.....thoroughly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top