$192 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Sandyport Beaches Resort

3 stars
View map of Sandyport, West Bay St., Nassau,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandyport Beaches Resort

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pendragonaire
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 28, 2012

Great Stay

Great stay....really enjoyed the hotel. It's not really close to anything else, but the resort is fine for a brief visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wrather1
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 21, 2014

Sandyport Beaches Hotel Stay

Our first visit to the Bahamas in 15 years was rewarded with a truly pleasant experience at Sandyport. We stayed in the hotel section (C-block) and it was very nice. The air conditioning unit was the best one we had ever experienced in any hotel, extremely quiet and many options with a remote. The bathroom plumbing worked well with plenty of hot water for showers. The entire grounds were very clean and tidy, and the office building had a very nice indoor area for using laptops and tablets with free wi-fi, which worked very well. The entire staff was super-friendly and most helpful with local directions and tips for getting around. The beachfront cafe was a unique experience with Chef Cleveland preparing breakfasts and imaginative dinners; he is also a superb bartender. The pool area was one of the best we'd seen, with a kiddie pool and water-slide. We had a great time and can't wait to be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out the Fish Fry, a city-block-size area along the coast specializing in seafood restaurants and bars with live music. The local buses get you there in 10 minutes for $1.25/person each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RolandM from MN
Business
Minneapolis
May 20, 2014

Additional Charges

Please note, there was an additional charge of $12 per person per day for electricity and $5 per person per day for maid service. That is about $34 extra per day for 2 people. This is not noted in the price you pay on this site and you will be asked to pay when you check in. Just consider that when looking at daily hotel rates (trip dates 15-19 May 2014) This hotel is located about 20 minutes away from Downtown and another 5-10 from Paradise Island. I personally liked that I was far away from the multitude of tourists. Bus No. 10 costs only $1.25 per person to get you to Downtown vs. taxi of $15-20 and is far more entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe across from Spritz has great breakfast and it opens at 7:30 am (local beach guy at the resort opens at 8 am)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeDee511
Business
Miami, florida
May 6, 2014

Nice hotel

We enjoyed our stay here. They didn't give us the exact 2 bedroom suite we were looking for but they were over booked. The best part of the resort was the twisted lime resturant. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the resturant. This is the first hotel we've stayed in where we had to wait for them to give us room keys, because they recycle them.... I also wished they offer a do not disturb sign on for the doors. I would stay here again, ONLY when they offer FREE wifi in the room. It's ridiculous you have to pay $12 a day for wifi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the twisted lime restaurant. They also have a free shuttle that takes you there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xoflo
Business
Providencias, Turks & Caicos Islands
May 4, 2014

few hick ups in the beginning but it all worked out

Arrived at the resort at 7pm and the room we booked which was the hotel bedroom with two queen beds wasnt ready so Marlon the front desk agent upgraded us to the one bedroom deluxe suite. We were pretty excited about that but when we got to the room the bed was unmade, towels on the bathroom floor, opened coca cola bottle on the night stand and dishes in the kitchen sink. We informed Marlon (friendly & attentive) who quickly assigned us to another room with a jacuzzi (big plus) and everything was smooth sailing from there. We didnt spend much time at the resort because we went exploring but when we were there, we received impeccable service and it is truly a gorgeous, quiet and relaxing location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
salmassialex
Business
houston
Apr 1, 2014

Very quiet and private

I have stay a Atlantis Royal Tower my last trip and had the feeling I was in Disney with a lot of kids..And also paid$500 per night...This hotel is quiet, clean and for the price you can not go wrong..The staff is a 5 stars hotel...Love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Letabett
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Mar 18, 2014

Clean, secure, family friendly

Good quiet complex. Good class of guests mainly young families and couples. Good transportation to and from town by local bus. Walking distance to stores and restaurants. Good sized pools. Staff extremely helpful. Internet in lobby area easily available and worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel did not have a restaurant however a chef was available in the evening to prepare a meal on the beach. A great vacation experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farm Coach
Business
New Hampshire
Mar 13, 2014

Quiet and freindly place!

The resort staff was friendly, accommodating and is situated on the quiet end of the island. Local restaurants had good food and welcoming owners and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cozy Corner Café & the News Café, both good food at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
85rpm
Business
Lexington, KY
Feb 23, 2014

Bahamas West-side story.

Came here after several days at Paradise Island timeshare for a less expensive/more relaxed end to our trip. This property is past Cable Beach and close to the airport - away from the always on Paradise Island and downtown/cruise ship parts of the Island. Not as much excitement, but my 14yo son still had fun looking for shells on the beach and watching the manta rays in the inlet which were a 5 min. walk away, and my beloved enjoyed sitting in the sun on the lagoon side of the property. Booked onlinez, and was told I was getting an upgrade upon arrival, but was also charged a daily cleaning/energy fee per person (total $68 for 2 nights). Probably disclosed when I booked, but made it less of a bargain. Our room was spacious and had a nice balcony where we could eat breakfast and watch the lagoon. Kitchen utensils were basic, but did the job. There were a few cleanliness issues like the insect traps on the floor of the pantry and the pantry doorknob being pretty dirty, but everything else was fine. There are restaurants/shops in easy walking distance, but the closest grocery was a 15 minute walk. Staff was very friendly, and the mix of guests was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the 15 minute walk to Super Value grocery store and fix most meals in your room. About half the price of restaurants, and there's a liquor store in the same shopping plaza if that's on your agenda.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankRR
Business
New York
Feb 23, 2014

Nice, quite location for relaxing family vacation

Very good impression, clean. Friendly staff, GM, reception. Tried to solve any problems. Enjoyed the small bar at the beach with Chef Cleveland. Ad hoc working, but cozy, friendly. In addition to cooking includes some sport activity (basketball :-) Excellent option for those who do not seek masses at other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fish Fry. For one day mobility try scooters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgia five
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 21, 2014

Very good for young family

This place is great for those with younger children and tweeners. The housing is set up for easy and quick pedestrian access to the pool (which has 2 water slides) and Sandyport beach which kept our kids very well occupied. The beach and view of the water is stunning with the nice touch of a long pier with gazebo. Also appreciated the small distance walks to Twisted Lime and Spritz restaurants. Staff was very courteous and helpful, answered all of our questions. We enjoyed the Tuesday night BBQ on the beach hosted by the resort. Would not advise coming if looking for high end amenities like Atlantis....perfect if you are looking for quiet, relaxing place with more of the local Bahamian feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We found that most places did not accept traveler's cheques. We were able to cash them at the First Carribean Bank which is in the Sandyport plaza. They will give you up to $300.00 in US and then the rest in Bahamian in one transaction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top