$727 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

View map of Cable Beach, Nassau, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
babygyrl2nv
Couples
milwaukee wi
Jul 23, 2012

Nothing to do after 8pm

When we got to the resort we sat at the concierge area for about 1/2 hour (our travel agent told us check in was going to be fast with the concierge service.. NOPE it wasn't... The room was very nice and cozy the people were Very nice and the food was great.. The issues we had were there was nothing to do after 9pm (we are in our early 30s) and wanted some nightlife and you needed to be dressed up for half of the restaurants.. we were turned away at one restaurant for not being dressed casual (which we were) and no one told us anything around the area.. we had to find out half way through our vacation where to go and what to do.... We would go to another all inclusive resort but NEVER to another sandals resort... If you love to lounge all day and read by the pool or if you have been married for years this is the place for you .. not for younger honeymooners...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vanessa Newlywed
Couples
Providence RI
May 9, 2009

Didn't meet expectations...

This was our honeymoon. I have stayed at 5 star resorts, like Secrets Resorts, which were amazing... and I expected the same. However, Sandals was a step down. It wasn't horrible, just nothing impressed me... and I wanted more for our honeymoon. The room was not that clean, it was small and the service was very disappointing, which suprised me. We didn't get the turn down service we were told we would; the room service was very slow, the minibar was never stocked as we were told it would be, the food was ok but service was slow at the restaurants. The pool was the best part, but my husband was not happy that the pool bar opened late in the day (11am) and closed early (5:30pm) - wheen it's all inclusice, he felt that it should be open longer hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You should definitely take a short trip to Paradise Island. The short car ride is only $1.25 and then the 10 min ferry ride is only $3. You get to see the straw markets where you can shop and also get to see Atlantis, which is impressive.

Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 1, 2009

Overrated!

Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort was totally overrated to say the least. The staff seemed very friendly to older guests but often brushed us off as if we weren't as important and were actually rude! There was inadequate number of staff working at any one time. For example, at times in the Piano Bar, only one bartender worked while there were as many as 50 people waiting around to get their first drink. The Cricketer's Pub was also the same way and it was irritating to be ignored most of the time we were sitting up at the bar. Service was extremely slow at all the restaurants except for Kimono and The Royal Cafe. We felt that since there is no tipping allowed at this resort so the staff does not have any incentive to hussle. Poor service! The nightlife died down at around midnight and their so-called "clubs" were a joke. What we did like about the resort though, was the nice, clean beach. The offshore island was a great getaway. We enjoyed a nice hour long massage at the Spa and we recommend it very much. Our service was great and the staff at the Spa were wonderful. Overall, we felt that we could have been treated a little better and this resort was definitely overpriced for what we received. We will probably not go back to a Sandals Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mamou, Louisiana
Jun 22, 2011

Sandals Royal Bahamian

After staying at other All-Inclusive vacation spots, I have to say that I was a bit disappointed in the Sandals Royal Bahamian. Not all, but some of the Staff had really bad attitudes and acted like we were a bother. I may try another Sandals, but will NOT return to the one in the Bahamas. When we stayed at Beaches in Jamaica, we were treated much better and the Staff went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Bayonne, NJ
Dec 28, 2010

Average experience

I hate to be the one who complains but hopefully some of these suggestions will be addressed. [...] I would recommend the following improvements to make the guest's stay more pleasant:1.) Heat the pool. The pool was so cold that no one would dare enter even though it was sunny outside (low to mid 70s weather and very windy). It's a shame because it made it harder to utilize the pool bar and most people had to cram inside 2 jacuzzi's. There was one other jacuzzi near the ocean but it was so windy and away from the sun that most people did not use it. Heating the pool would bring the resort to life. 2.) The resort needs entertainment at night. They have a big theatre which was not being utilized. When I stayed at the Rui in Punta Cana, they had great musicals/shows at night for entertainment but all I saw at the theatre was a magic show. The piano bar was really the only place for entertainment via guest karaoke. 3.) The piano bar is part of the lobby but the bar there does not open until 5:30PM. The only place to find a beer/alcoholic beverage was at the pool bar or inside one of the restaurants. It would be nice to have the piano bar open during the day given that people staying in that building have to pass through the piano bar on the way to the pool area. During the day (before 5:30PM) the service is really slow in the lobby/piano bar lounge and it's really just for tea/coffee. I asked for water and was told to ask my butler because the bar was closed. I thought that was quite ridiculous. 4.) There was a gas leak smell near the pool bar and jacuzzi. It made it very unpleasant while trying to relax in the jacuzzi. On the positive side, the food was very good at the Italian, French, Japaneese and Crystal Lounge. The breakfast restaurant (Spice) was pretty good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baby on the way
Couples
Springfield, il
Jun 29, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

Overall we did enjoy this trip. The rooms weren't as clean as we expected them to be. For the price we paid per night, we expected a lot more. The resort is very old and needs many improvements or the price lowered to stay there. The staff however was very friendly and the food was very good. My husband and I however would not stay in this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There was not a whole lot to choose from at night. They had a piano bar which was fun and 1 other night attraction.

Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
OK
Aug 3, 2010

Sandals Nassau

It was almost impossible to find a lounge chair at the pool if you don't wake up at the crack of dawn and put towels on chairs. I'm on vacation...I don't want to wake up at 5am to reserve a chair!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Reserve your water activities/fine dining when you check-in or they will say it is booked up until you leave. Be persistent though. We spoke to numerous couples that wouldn't take no and therefore were able to get the dinner reservations and activities they wanted. It is sad that you have to play this game to get the superior 5 star service that is promoted by Sandals. You are paying a premium for luxury all-inclusive but you really have to work for it if you opt not to get the butler. It seems that if you are butler-less, you are invisible.

Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Jan 3, 2010

"pretty nice resort, but worst service"

The restaurants of the resort was pretty good(and the service of the general manager himself as well), but the service of staff overall was terrible. My wife asked for bath rope(which was missing at the room on the first day of the trip) and asked for 5 times on phone, but she didn't receive it until our checkout. We needed to call at least 3 times and to different staffs to get service we needed(really terrible service!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant "Baccarat" and pizza restaurant is one of the best. I surely recommend.

Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Walter & Darcie
Couples
San Diego, Ca
Jan 17, 2011

Vacation to Bahamas

This was a leisure vacation for us. Have never stayed at a Sandals resort and was excited about the experience. We Had specifically requested a room with an ocean view and upon arrival when we did not receive one, when we questioned the hotel they told us they were fully booked and could not accomodate our request. The weather was not that great so a room with a view would have been nice since we spent the rainy and windy days inside. Food was great, staff was great. Had a few issues with getting our room cleaned and housekeeping not showing up at all or either first thing in the morning or late at night.....Compared to our trips we have taken this was nice but think it was more pricey than should be considering no view etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The new wifey
Couples
Pennsylvania
May 24, 2009

Wouldn't call it luxury or all inclusive

This was our honeymoon and we heard so much about Sandals and the honeymoon experience. We paid extra for a beach room and were very disappointed from day one. We had to wait 45 minutes to an hour (along with a bunch of other people) to check-in after the designated time. The room was small, a round the corner to the beach, the line staff wasn't very service oriented, they constantly ran out of everything - beer, drink ingredients, you name it! The food was mediocre. The bars didn't serve until an hour after they were opened... we heard quite a few other travelers say that the place had gone down hill from before and that other Sandals resorts are better... wish we knew that before we spent so much money...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Fish Fry on Bay street - we heard a lot about it!

Back to menu Return to top