$762 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

View map of Cable Beach, Nassau, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 14, 2011

Won't Be Returning to Sandals!

The customer service at the Sandals Royal Bahamian was seriously lacking in our opinion. When a maid inadvertantly(?) removed my wife's brand new bathing suit from the shower rod and subsequently from our room, the concierge, the hotel Manager and the security people that all eventually became involved in the issue seemed to attribute no importance to the significance of the missing swimsuit to my wife. They eventually credited our bill for the $100 the swimsuit cost, but never apologized or seemed overly-concerned about the issue. One small event on our long-planned 10-year anniversary trip that unfortunately over-shadowed the few highlights of the trip. The food was good, but not anything special and none of the nicer restaurants ever seemed to be available when people went to make reservations to eat there. You can't make reservations before arriving, and we were there for 6 days, so it seemed odd that we were unable to avail ourselves of the nicer dining options. The Manor Oceanfront room we were given did not come close to the picture on the website that we booked. The room on Sandals website features a ceiling to floor patio door with a small balcony railing while our room had a standard window overlooking the beach and ocean. There were a lot of activities to participate in each day and entertainment in the evening was very nice as well. The roving photographers that would take your pictures and build a file assigned to your room was nice, but at $10 apiece for just the digital file of each shot without any prints seemed a little excessive [the prices of the prints went up from $10]. When we checked out at the concierge desk, we were asked how everything went. I replied that aside from a few hiccups, we had a fairly nice time, but the concierge didn't bother to explore any of our issues. We managed to have a nice 10-year anniversary, but would not return to Sandals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Straw market on Bay Street was a nice experience. You can find the same items they sell on the beach at 60-70% off beach prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 5, 2011

Almost Perfect

The food and the place was wonderful. Very difficult to get dinnner reservations for the few restaurants that did take them. You cannot make them before arriving. Water sailing, snorkeling, private island, trips, wine tasting, other various pool activities, all included. Very fun! My only caveat was the kind of laissez faire attitude of the staff to somethings. Most services were exceptional; room cleaning, restocking the frig, bartending services, etc. But some services were lacking, we had a problem with our door lock, and inroom sensor. Spoke with several people whom assured us repeatedly they would address it and, .... well the rm sensor didn't really affect us (it automatically turns off the a/c when you leave)but, the lock kept us standing in the hall for a good while a couple of times. Annoying. The staff tended to be lax about scheduled events: start times could be anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour later, event times varied depending on where you looked or whom you spoke with. But, this may be just a function of the culture. We were on a beautiful vacation so who cares if the wine tasting is at 12:30pm rather than 11:30am. Finally, the service in the reserved restaurants, almost every sit down meal(non buffet) had a significant wait after your ordered. So unnecessary because every place had something delicious, so you can just go to the buffets. But other then those few things, terrific!, Really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations as soon as you arrive for every restaurant. You can always cancel later.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Resort Traveller
Business
Sarasota Florida
Apr 9, 2011

Royal Bahamian

The transport "truck" at the airport needs to be seen to be believed and they ask for tips in large posters (despite Sandals saying all tips are included). There was no greeting upon arriving at the hotel and the "manager' gave us a spurious form to sign which bore no relationship to me, had some fictional address and age and they were most unhelpful. The room was far from a "honeymoon" experience, basic at best. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The cleaning staff were efficient. The waiting staff were so slow and unattentive that you were better off serving yourself. The food, apart from "Baccarat" was awful. When I tried to book one of the restaurants on Saturday at 9am (we stayed 4 ngts) I was told the earliest we could be accomodated was Monday evening! I asked what I was supposed to eat in the meantime, there was no response. This is a "tired" hotel and any other guests we spoke to agreed,everybody we spoke to had problems e.g showers not working: service was lousy etc. Don't go there, it's that simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
seasister
Business
NY
Feb 22, 2011

Relaxing and romantic

This is a wonderful place for a relaxing and romantic vacation! The resort is beautiful, well maintained, and nicely organized. You can choose to do nothing but lay in the sun or you can participate in all of the activities they offer. We spent most of our time just relaxing on the beautiful beach or their private island, and enjoying the tasty food and drinks. The staff is kind and hard working. Renee even accommodated us early after our travel plans had changed; she made us feel welcome right away then helped us settle in to the Sandals experience. This was our first trip to a Sandals resort and we hope to vacation with them again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the offshore island as well as the daily snorkeling trips! Both are a short trip by boat and a great experience. This resort has a lot to offer! It is very easy to relax and unwind there; I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Feb 13, 2011

Outstanding

I've been around the world and have never been this suprised by a resort. They have thought of everything and do everything to please you. Great employees from [...]that greeted us to [...], the playmaker who is multi-talented and [...], the operations Manager, who truly cares about his guests. Don' miss the piano bar or Cricketers Pub.All the food was very good to outstanding. I read about 50 reviews and don't know where the negative comments came from, and heard that from other guests. We had a great fun vacation. Thank You Sandals employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Walter & Darcie
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jan 17, 2011

Vacation to Bahamas

This was a leisure vacation for us. Have never stayed at a Sandals resort and was excited about the experience. We Had specifically requested a room with an ocean view and upon arrival when we did not receive one, when we questioned the hotel they told us they were fully booked and could not accomodate our request. The weather was not that great so a room with a view would have been nice since we spent the rainy and windy days inside. Food was great, staff was great. Had a few issues with getting our room cleaned and housekeeping not showing up at all or either first thing in the morning or late at night.....Compared to our trips we have taken this was nice but think it was more pricey than should be considering no view etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warren, MI
Jan 11, 2011

"Awesome Resort"

Let me start off by saying that the staff at this resort were very kind and friendly. The resort was very clean with plenty of things to do. I am a very picky eater but there are so many different places you can eat at and the food was actually good. Overall this was an excellent trip and we look forward going to other sandal resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morien
Business
Chicago
Jan 8, 2011

Great Price for All You Get

Overall, this was a great location. The hotel was nice, the offshore island was amazing, and the restaurants were delicious. The pools were well-kept, and there were tons of activities to do while we were there. The only tiny complaint we would have is that, because there is no tipping allowed anywhere, some members of the service staff weren't putting in a lot of effort. For example, the waiters at the restaurants didn't always make it a priority to take your order or bring you drink refills, and the dive masters didn't care to help you very much. We liked that it was a "cashless resort" but some of the service reflected the lack of tip potential. But as a positive note on service, you couldn't walk past a hotel employee without hearing a cheerful "Good morning!" We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to make reservations at the nicer restaurants as soon as you arrive, so that you get a better choice of availability.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newyork
Jan 5, 2011

excellent

evrything was perfect. The food,sea, staff, island. we enjoyed very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The lobster at menu of Baccarat was delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bayonne, NJ
Dec 28, 2010

Average experience

I hate to be the one who complains but hopefully some of these suggestions will be addressed. [...] I would recommend the following improvements to make the guest's stay more pleasant:1.) Heat the pool. The pool was so cold that no one would dare enter even though it was sunny outside (low to mid 70s weather and very windy). It's a shame because it made it harder to utilize the pool bar and most people had to cram inside 2 jacuzzi's. There was one other jacuzzi near the ocean but it was so windy and away from the sun that most people did not use it. Heating the pool would bring the resort to life. 2.) The resort needs entertainment at night. They have a big theatre which was not being utilized. When I stayed at the Rui in Punta Cana, they had great musicals/shows at night for entertainment but all I saw at the theatre was a magic show. The piano bar was really the only place for entertainment via guest karaoke. 3.) The piano bar is part of the lobby but the bar there does not open until 5:30PM. The only place to find a beer/alcoholic beverage was at the pool bar or inside one of the restaurants. It would be nice to have the piano bar open during the day given that people staying in that building have to pass through the piano bar on the way to the pool area. During the day (before 5:30PM) the service is really slow in the lobby/piano bar lounge and it's really just for tea/coffee. I asked for water and was told to ask my butler because the bar was closed. I thought that was quite ridiculous. 4.) There was a gas leak smell near the pool bar and jacuzzi. It made it very unpleasant while trying to relax in the jacuzzi. On the positive side, the food was very good at the Italian, French, Japaneese and Crystal Lounge. The breakfast restaurant (Spice) was pretty good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top