$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

Orange Hill Beach Inn

2 stars
View map of Orange Hill, West Bay street, Nassau, N-8583

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orange Hill Beach Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utica
Oct 21, 2008

just like home

We have stayed at Orange Hill many times; it is one of our favorite places in the Nassau. The owners and staff are very accommodating. They go out of their way to share local knowledge, provide a diverse menu of truly home cooked meals on the menu, and make you feel welcome. An honor bar is kept pretty well stocked. This makes it unnecessary for you to have money while on the grounds. Just stop by the quaint little lounge, make a selection, and write it off to your room. Be sure to try the Rum Punch. Poolside rooms have huge vaulted ceilings and great ocean views. We often recommend staying at Orange Hill because of its quiet pace and welcoming atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach Across the street. Traveler's Rest Restaurant (local favorite) 20 minute walk. Cable Beach ten minute bus ride (1$) Nassau 20 minutes by bus ($1)

Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Valley, AZ
Aug 5, 2008

Mom & Pop type Hotel

This hotel was built in the '50's and altho kept up, it has not been renovated to modern standards. Great location, across the road from the beach. Pool was kinda green. Best lobster dinner I've had & at $28. a plate, it is a bargain. Beautifully maintained grounds with banana, avacado and citrus trees. The main bar is on the honor system. If you take a beer or whatever, just mark an X on the tally sheet for your room number. This hotel seems to cater to and attract travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Busses run every 15 min to town for shopping.

Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 13, 2008

The staff was great, the ...

The staff was great, the view was awesome, but the room was old, dingy and dusty. This is a great place to stay if you are just looking for a room with a view but if you want to relax and kick your shoes off and enjoy your room this is not the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2008

Great self-serve bar!

Compared to some other options for the budget traveller on the island, this hotel is not the cheapest. However, it has three things to recommend it. The rooms are pretty big, the self-service honor bar is a nice touch that fosters conversation with other guests, and best of all... there is a beautiful beach just a few minutes walk downhill. This hotel is especially good for a hassle-free welcome to the Bahamas (so near the airport) or for being able to laze at the beach as long as possible before getting your flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape May Court Hs, NJ
Jun 5, 2008

Very Relaxing

When we arrived, we noticed that the grounds needed a little cleaning up and the furniture around the pool needed replacing. But, when we entered our room we were very pleased. The room was spotless!! We had an ocean view with a nice sized balcony and an efficiency kitchen. We took a run to the supermarket and liquor store. One night we used the grill for dinner, it was nice to have the option to cook. Breakfasts were outstanding (can't believe they have grits!!). Our one dinner was good, but the main course for both of us was slightly overcooked. The bar was lots of fun, we met tourists and locals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping center about two blocks away. The Chinese restaurant was excellent. There is also an Italian, and a lunch spot that we didn't try.

Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
May 1, 2008

A great place to stay for divers...

We stayed here and enjoyed it. Away from the city, nice and quiet. It is very close to Stuart Cove dive shop. Recommend them too. Everyone very nice at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
May 1, 2008

A great place to stay for divers...

We stayed here and enjoyed it. Away from the city, nice and quiet. It is very close to Stuart Cove dive shop. Recommend them too. Everyone very nice at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 17, 2008

Quiet Away From Hustle And Bustle

The Orange Hill Beach Inn was okay for a one night stop over to catch next day flight one of the Islands. Our room was long and narrow with two queen beds though we only needed one. I found that the cleaning of the rooms were done with a basic cleaning rather than very thorough cleaning. There was a small fridge which was great but the toaster had to be moved to a plug behind the bed as there was no outlet where it was. The bathroom was pretty basic and again didn't seem overly clean. The walls are not sound proof and you can here your neighbors. We had cockroaches in our room. The outside property was quite nice with coconut and banana trees. The ocean was across the street and it's was empty other than a few passers by. The sand is quite coarse. There is a few small grocery store walking distance away but it is very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Sep 10, 2007

Good for the tourist who doesn't want to be a tourist

The Hotel is located several miles from the tourist district, and is therefore much more quiet and feels more relaxed. It is easy to travel to town and back in the day, but can be more difficult on weekends or at night. The Hotel grounds are beautiful, with coconuts, bananas, and avacado trees for example. The local cook is great. The beach is just across the street, literally. We bought snorkel masks and found beautiful tropical fish just a few hundred feet from the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Sep 10, 2007

Good for the tourist who doesn't want to be a tourist

The Hotel is located several miles from the tourist district, and is therefore much more quiet and feels more relaxed. It is easy to travel to town and back in the day, but can be more difficult on weekends or at night. The Hotel grounds are beautiful, with coconuts, bananas, and avacado trees for example. The local cook is great. The beach is just across the street, literally. We bought snorkel masks and found beautiful tropical fish just a few hundred feet from the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top