$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
View map of One Bay Street, Nassau,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
95 reviews
Friendly staff and beautiful hotel!

Friendly staff and beautiful hotel! Had a great time at the Bahamas. See full review

  • Maria F.
  • Apr 9, 2015
Awesome Time

The hotel staff was ready and willing to help with everything needed. The room was clean and well... See full review

  • Eddie V
  • Mar 15, 2015
Situated on the online private beach in downtown Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton hotel offers a taste of the island's rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. From Hilton Deluxe Rooms to Suites with separate seating areas, all 288 rooms at the British Colonial Hilton hotel offer harbor or city view, a Hilton Serenity Bed, high speed wireless internet access, cable TV with premium channels, a work desk with ergonomic chair, electronic safe and two-line phones. Savor fresh seafood and international favorites at the Aqua Restaurant or try a tropical cocktail from the Patio Bar and Grille poolside. Treat yourself to an invigorating work-out in the Fitness Center by Precor, keep fit with beachfront watersports or spend the day snorkeling off the coral barrier red in the Nassau Harbor.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King/Queen/Double/Twin - Harbor View
With breathtaking Harbor Views, our Deluxe Guest Rooms provide some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. Our deluxe rooms have the Hilton Serenity Bed, high speed wireless internet access, cable TV with premium channels, a work desk with ergonomic chair, electronic safe and two-line phones.
Deluxe King/Queen/Double/Twin - City View
With an historic city view that is second to none, our Deluxe Guest Rooms provide some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. Our Deluxe Guest Rooms have the Hilton Serenity Bed, high speed wireless internet access, cable TV with premium channels, a work desk with ergonomic chair, electronic safe and two-line phones.
Suite - 1 King Harbor View or City View
Our Suites offer the convenience and comfort of additional space for families or groups. With views of the sparkling harbor or city, our one-bedroom suites with a King Bed have a connecting parlor with a sofa bed. Additional amenities include flat-screen TVs and mini refrigerator as well as use of the Executive Lounge.
Executive King/Queen/Doubles - Harbor View
Located on floors 6 and 7, our Executive Rooms offer remarkable view of the Nassau Harbor in a tasteful setting. Amenities include Hilton Serenity Bed, high speed wireless internet access, cable TV with premium channels, a work desk with ergonomic chair, electronic safe and two-line phones. Access to private Executive Lounge on 7th floor.
Executive King/Queen/Doubles - City View
Located on floors 6 and 7, our Executive Rooms offer spectacular city views in a tasteful setting. Amenities include Hilton Serenity Bed, high speed wireless internet access, cable TV with premium channels, a work desk with ergonomic chair, electronic safe and two-line phones. Access to private Executive Lounge on 7th floor.
Prime Minister Suite
Considered one of the premier suites in our hotel, the Prime Minister Suite provides separate living and bedroom area, Jacuzzi style tubs, plantation shutters, panoramic harbor views, marble and wooden floors.
Flagler Suite
This one of a kind suite features our signature Hilton Serenity Bed as the focal point of the room. The King Bed is grounded in the center of the room with panoramic harbor views, wooden and marble floors, separate tub and shower and other modern amenities.
Governor Suite
Tastefully furnished, with premium views of the city, the Governor Suite offers separate living and bedroom areas, parlour and a whirlpool bath, colonial dcor and modern amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Crystal Cay Marine Park: 1.2 mi
  • Atlantis Paradise: 1.9 mi
  • Cable Beach: 3.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From small break-out sessions to week-long seminars, events benefit from our flexible meeting space for up to 400 persons as well as receptions in the vicinity of our outdoor pool. -12,500ft of flexible meeting space -10 meeting and function rooms -Business Center open 24/7 -Groups from 8-400 comfortably accommodated

Dining

Aqua Restaurant
International favorites enhanced with Bahamian flair are served in a casual, yet chic setting for breakfast, lunch, dinner or in-room dining. Aqua features buffet or a la carte, healthy options and weekend buffets with special menus such as Friday Caribbean Night or Saturday Seafood Night.
Patio Bar and Grille
Watch ships ply the waters off our private beach while enjoying Bahamian and American favorites and tropical drinks serves on our patio.
Bullion Bar
Enjoy a refreshing cocktail, beer, glass of wine or one of our specialty drinks in our classic timber-paneled bar with elegant colonial touches.
Executive Lounge
Our exclusive lounge offers continental breakfast, private check-in and check-out, magazines and newspapers for our Executive Floor Guests. Tea of coffee are offered through the day and hors d'oeuvres are served in the evenings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 95
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lin S
Business
Falls Church VA
Mar 3, 2014

Great place right in the middle of everything you would want to do

Everyone was very nice and when we had a problem with our room (the room above was leaking in to our bathroom) they moved us immediately in to a suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants at teh Harbor about 20 minutes away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathleen J.
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 5, 2013

Relaxing weekend getaway

The British Colonial is a beautiful hotel in the grand tradition. It is conveniently located downtown which is great for daytime shopping. Most water and land tours and the water ferry to Paradise Island leave from the cruise dock just a few short blocks away. The Fish Fry area (great for lunch!!) is about a 10-15 minute walk. The beach and pool area are nicely outfitted with great lounge chairs and cabanas, though the beach is not very large. A hot tub would be a nice addition for cooler months. Since we went off-season (November), most of downtown shut down by 6 PM or once cruise passengers were back on board. This left few options for dinner other than taxiing to Atlantis, walking to Senor Frogs, or eating at Aura at the hotel. Fortunately, all were acceptable options though we felt a bit cheated from exploring local fare at dinner time in small privately owned (read not chain) restaurants. Hotel restaurant and bar were great, as was the lounge area just outside the bar. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonSweetie
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 13, 2013

Greattime, Great location

Would definitely stay here again. Nice hotel with nice poolside bar. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exp traveller
Business
eau Claire, WI
Jun 22, 2012

Bahamas Hilton

Very clean, very friendly staff. This was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. There were restaurants and a bar on sight. I just wish there would have been more to do entertainment wise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gary10027
Business
Chicago and NYC
Feb 29, 2012

Not impressive

I'm neither vying for any complimentary items nor looking to have anyone fired. In fact, I'm hoping you will play a role in improving service so that jobs at the Hilton in Nassau will be salvage. I'm not sure how this Hilton received a 4 star rating, but from my experience, I rate it at 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

My tip... stay in Atlantis or any place on Paridise Island. It's worth the price difference. The staff is MUCH friendlier and EVERYTHING is accessible right on Paridise Island. My hope for its residents is that Nassau will step up to the challenge of attracting visitors that are not on cruise ships.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Munchie
Business
Wheaton, MD
Jan 18, 2012

Great for adults who want to relax while vacationing.

Good. The hotel has just undergone a renovation and is still tweeking some amenities such as the new restaurant and staff. Public bathroom on lobby level was not clean for 4 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel is close to very good places to eat, in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philduval
Business
montreal, canada
Dec 12, 2011

good value

we only stayed one night and everything was better than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Nov 23, 2010

Convenient Location!

The staff were mostly very polite and friendly.The rooms were very clean.The Hilton always charges a lot for local calls, that other lower-cost hotels would offer complimentary. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Most clubs were a short walk away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CARMEN & MARISA
Business
ASTORIA, NY
Jul 28, 2009

EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHERE DO I BEGIN. THE HOTEL STAFF WAS EXCELLENT--VERY ATTENTIVE AND COURTEOUS. THE LOCATION IS GREAT. THE STRAW MARKET, A 24 HOUR RESTAURANT ACROSS THE STREET, MCDONALDS ALSO ACROSS THE STREET. THE CLUBS ARE GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS MY FOURTH TIME TO THE BAHAMAS,AND SO FAR,THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST HOTEL ALONG WITH THE BEST LOCATION I HAVE STAYED. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. THEIR POOL IS GREAT. THEIR BEACH EXCELLENT.THE STAFF WONDERFUL FROM THE TIME YOU COME OUT OF THE CAB ESPECIALLY SYLVESTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WENT WITH A FRIEND OF MINE, WHO IS ALSO A FEMALE. THERE WERE TWO THINGS WE DID NOT LIKE, WHICH HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE HOTEL. FIRST, THE PEOPLE WHO WANT YOU TO ATTEND A 90 MINUTE TOUR FOR A TIME SHARE. I DO NOT HAVE TIME TO SPEND IN A TOUR WHILE I CAN BE AT THE BEACH. THEY ARE VERY PUSHY. THE SECRET TO PUSHING THEM AWAY IS TO ALWAYS SAY YOU ARE LEAVING TOMORROW;THEY STOP HARASSING YOU ONCE YOU SAY THAT. THE OTHER BAD THING IS THAT THE MEN TEND TO BE VERY AGRESSIVE.THEY WILL FOLLOW YOU UNTIL YOU FINALLY SAY GO AWAY. LADIES BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OTHER THAN THAT, IF YOU GO TO THE BAHAMAS, STAY AT THE HILTON!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT BOTHER TAKING CABS TO GO PLACES. THE BUS STOP IS ACROSS THE STREET. YOU CAN TAKE THE BUS FOR 1.25 TO THE EDGE OF THE PARADISE ISLAND BRIDGE AND WALK ACROSS THE BRIDGE TO GO TO ATLANTIS. YOU CAN WALK TO THE FISH FRY (EXCELLENT FOOD--TRY SEAFOOD HEAVEN),THE STRAW MARKET IS LITERARY ACROSS THE STREET.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top