$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
One Bay Street, Nassau,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
92 reviews
Fabulous anniversary getaway

We visited this hotel for our anniversary. The staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. When we... See full review

  • BahamaLover
  • Jul 26, 2014
Not for singles!

I'm a young single guy I was thinking this was a exciting a party type place Nassau is not that.... See full review

  • Theuglyfriend
  • Jun 17, 2014
Dive into the Caribbean Sea from the private beach at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel. Treat yourself to an invigorating work out in the Fitness Center or simply laze by the pool. Keep fit with beachfront watersports or spend the day snorkeling at Stuart Cove.Savor fresh seafood at the Aqua Restaurant with ocean views, or try a tropical cocktail from the Patio Bar and Grill.Situated in Nassau's financial district, the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel has 11 meeting rooms for 25-400, an Executive Lounge, and high-speed internet access in all rooms.From Hilton Guest Rooms to Suites with separate seating areas, all rooms at the Hilton British Colonial hotel have high-speed internet access.

Hotel Map

25.0781 -77.3509
Area served
Located in Nassau with views of the city and harbour
Nearby airports
airport NAS

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
1 Queen Bed - Colonial decor-historic city view, with separate shower tub
Flager Suite
1 King Bedroom tastefully furnished with premium view of Nassau Harbour.
Suite City View
1 King 1 bedroom suite with balcony. Views of Nassau City. Tastefully furnished with separate parlour and a whirlpool bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Crystal Cay Marine Park: 1.2 mi
  • Atlantis Paradise: 1.9 mi
  • Cable Beach: 3.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 92
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sariano
Business
Sao Paulo - São Paulo, Brazil
Sep 29, 2014

Great relaxing weekend!

The hotel is very nice. Beach is awesome. Staff was uneven, from the extremely nice to the extremely rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Street Travelers
Business
Deerfield, il
Apr 6, 2014

Beautiful beach

At first I was very unimpressed with with hotel and beach. After a day or so I really appreciated them both. Although the beach is much smaller than it appears in the hotels photos it is very nice. It's not a luxurious resort beach but it's definately better than the public beach on paradise island. The hotel is located so conveniently in the downtown that you can walk to everything including shops, restaurants, and sight seeing. Rooms are just adequate but there was nothing wrong with them. Overall we would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with older teens
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 6, 2014

A beautiful refuge in the middle of the action

We loved this hotel. How great to have a private beach but walk out into the middle of downtown! We arrived on 1/1, likely their busiest day of the year, so there were some delays in getting room, but staff was accommodating and pleasant. Food prices are crazy but many restaurants right out the door so no worries. Comfortable rooms, not large but did not feel crowded. Great fitness center (could use fans/more AC). Beach is beautiful and was the highlight. Definitely would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Fish Fry is fun to walk around, but food is hit/miss. Andros was great, Eddie's was worst meal we've EVER had. Ask locals for recommendations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super x vacation girl
Business
Arkansas
Aug 3, 2012

vacation

The hotel was really nice!!! Had a fabulous beach and pool area. With optional outside dining for breakfast and lunch, and a great restaurant inside. Also, very close to all the downtown shopping. Service was good, just be prepared to pay the resort fees for wi-fi internet, room service, etc. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your shopping done early. All the shops close at 5pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Root Searcher
Business
Huntsville, AL
Jun 5, 2012

An outstanding Trip

Our stay at the Hilton was great. The front desk was truly customer focus, helpful and friendly. Our room was alway clean, comfortable with a friendly and personable staff. There were three computers availables to check your e mail. The dining for breakfast was unbelievable with the buffet with a wide varety of pastries, juices, meats, cerals,etc and friendly staff. We enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find and eat at the Fish Fry. It's the location to find and sample the local foods. Take cash because locals do not take Debit and Credit cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret and Katie
Business
boston
Jan 20, 2012

Location, location, location

This hotel has traditional charm and located on a beautiful inlet and right in the heart of Nassau. You can lie on the beach and watch huge ocean liners sail quietly by (about two or three a day). The water is crystal clear. I love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VeronicaR
Business
Florida, USA
Jan 10, 2012

It was an average experience.

It was a lovely hotel, but it could have been made better if the customer service was a little nicer. The only person I thought made the experience was our waitress in the dining room and our room service lady. The front desk lady was not very warm at all. As a matter of fact, she was actually irritated that we added a second room... and when we went to dinner, it did not say wait to be seated, so we went in to sit down, only to have this lady, rudely shouting "Helloooooooo" at us repeatedly. I was not even thinking that she was talking to us because it was quite rude. Thank goodness our waitress was a really sweet lady. Customer service can make the difference between an average stay and a spectacular stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Hostess was kind of rude, but the dinner was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strangers
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 9, 2012

comfortable, friendly, and mellow

We spent three nights here in early January as an extended weekend getaway from the cold North. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. Our request for a room on a higher floor with a good view was granted with a corner room overlooking the harbor and the hotel's beach area and the nearby cruise ship docks. We encountered no problems whatsoever with our room or with the hotel. The staff was courteous and answered all of our questions. The hotel's location is convenient in terms of easy access to shopping, restaurants, and the adjacent, public Junkanoo Beach. At the other (western) end of Junkanoo Beach, about a 15-minute leisurely stroll up the beach from the Hilton, is the Arawak Cay area where there is a group of restaurants and bars known locally as "da fish fry" which provided us good food, drink, and live entertainment at a reasonable price in the company mainly of friendly Bahamians rather than foreign tourists. The historic Fort Charlotte can be toured on a hilltop across the street from Arawak Cay. We visited Paradise Island one afternoon, and found it to resemble an oceanside Las Vegas overrun by hordes of tourists from all over the world. However, the Potter's Cay area at the Nassau end of the return bridge from Paradise Island is a good place to find lunch or dinner consisting of the iconic conch salad and local varieties of grilled fish and conch fritters. Overall, it was a great experience and we would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to spend a few days visiting Nassau and New Providence Island. If you are after the complete peaceful island getaway, far from civilization, you may wish to search for a place farther from town or on one of the more remote islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Long John Silver
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great hotel - but 'hidden' charges

Like all hotels in Bahamas, this is a union hotel --and it shows. mandatory $10 fee for cleaning room, $5 fee for 'restock' of room, $20 "energy surcharge" - every day!! Mandatory 15% service fee on all purchases and resturant bills, regardless of quality of service (be prepared to wait 40 minutes for a burger). No service at the pool bar if it has rained in the last 24 hours (union rules that it may be unsafe to walk), even if 100+ guests are fine walking there. Actually, the beach bar never opened when we were there because of the union rules (get your own food at the resturant, wait there and carry it out). These are the less fun aspects of vacationing in the Bahamas (the union staff could not care less). However, it is not specific to the Hilton, you get the same lack of service and fees everywhere else. A better buy is Hilton at St. Thomas, Jamaica, Puerto Rico or the Cayman Islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bimini Bar and Resturant near Atlantis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
May 30, 2011

Paradise Island visit

We went snorkling and boarded right at the hotel site. The gentleman who took us out was excellant, and was very concerned that everyone get in the right spot to have the best experience. He as so nice & informative, and the price was very fair. We got a tour of the area on our ride out, and he was very well prepared. We would definately go on this with him again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top