$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
One Bay Street, Nassau,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
91 reviews
Fabulous anniversary getaway

We visited this hotel for our anniversary. The staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. When we... See full review

  • BahamaLover
  • Jul 26, 2014
Not for singles!

I'm a young single guy I was thinking this was a exciting a party type place Nassau is not that.... See full review

  • Theuglyfriend
  • Jun 17, 2014
Dive into the Caribbean Sea from the private beach at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel. Treat yourself to an invigorating work out in the Fitness Center or simply laze by the pool. Keep fit with beachfront watersports or spend the day snorkeling at Stuart Cove.Savor fresh seafood at the Aqua Restaurant with ocean views, or try a tropical cocktail from the Patio Bar and Grill.Situated in Nassau's financial district, the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel has 11 meeting rooms for 25-400, an Executive Lounge, and high-speed internet access in all rooms.From Hilton Guest Rooms to Suites with separate seating areas, all rooms at the Hilton British Colonial hotel have high-speed internet access.

Hotel Map

25.0781 -77.3509
Area served
Located in Nassau with views of the city and harbour
Nearby airports
airport NAS

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
1 Queen Bed - Colonial decor-historic city view, with separate shower tub
Flager Suite
1 King Bedroom tastefully furnished with premium view of Nassau Harbour.
Suite City View
1 King 1 bedroom suite with balcony. Views of Nassau City. Tastefully furnished with separate parlour and a whirlpool bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Crystal Cay Marine Park: 1.2 mi
  • Atlantis Paradise: 1.9 mi
  • Cable Beach: 3.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Dancing Feet
Mpls, MN
Apr 15, 2013

Terrible!!!!!

For a hotel rated @ 4 stars this hotel should not even be rated a 2. Horrible service, dirty facilities, maid service has a daily $10 tip charge and they barely even tuck in the bed sheets not to mention we went without towels for 2 days. More like a 1 star hotel in a poo dunk town that knows nothing about cleanliness and customer service. Spend the extra money and stay @ Atlantis or at the very least the Wyndham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Long John Silver
Virginia, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great hotel - but 'hidden' charges

Like all hotels in Bahamas, this is a union hotel --and it shows. mandatory $10 fee for cleaning room, $5 fee for 'restock' of room, $20 "energy surcharge" - every day!! Mandatory 15% service fee on all purchases and resturant bills, regardless of quality of service (be prepared to wait 40 minutes for a burger). No service at the pool bar if it has rained in the last 24 hours (union rules that it may be unsafe to walk), even if 100+ guests are fine walking there. Actually, the beach bar never opened when we were there because of the union rules (get your own food at the resturant, wait there and carry it out). These are the less fun aspects of vacationing in the Bahamas (the union staff could not care less). However, it is not specific to the Hilton, you get the same lack of service and fees everywhere else. A better buy is Hilton at St. Thomas, Jamaica, Puerto Rico or the Cayman Islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bimini Bar and Resturant near Atlantis

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Oct 5, 2009

The good, the bad and the ugly

We enjoyed the lovely ocean water & sunny skies. Had cocktails service on the beach and relaxed watching the gentle waves move into shore. Some sort of entertainment, music, beach games so that guests can interact other than volleyball. Also the menu could have more native options. Conch fritters w/ fries, seafood salads, fish sandwiches would be great to serve pool,ocean side. This is my 6th visit to the Bahamas and the worse accommodations to date. The hotel location, excecutive lounge & front desk staff was the only plus for us. One evening walking back to the hotel from the beach we saw a large rodent run across the outside of the hotel lounge. Very unpleasant moment for us. We noticed rodent traps in various areas therefore, the hotel is very aware of this problem. It would be in the best interest of the HILTON HOTEL'S reputation to manage this problem efficiently & expediently!!!!!!! We would not stay here again nor would we recommend it. Final note, the ice machine was out of service (no note posted) had to go to another floor for ice. The hotel should have been aware of this & had it repaired immediately so not to inconvenience their guests or @ best posted a sign. This I might add was on the executive level of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Disappoint the hotel lounge wasn't open later at night as this is the only entertainment on the premises offered to the guests. Expected maybe music or a live band especially on the weekends. Also having chains & wires wrapped around the door knobs made us feel as though we were criminals. A lock on the door would be a sufficient option. I don't believe guests would brake into a locked area.

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KalikCrazy
Greensboro, NC, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Wow? Really?

So disappointing... that prime real estate and the Hilton name only to be tarnished by indifferent staff and an atmosphere that leaves one feeling as if they have made a mistake. Upon arrival, we went out to the poolside bar ready to begin our Nassau adventure. We sat at a bistro table and we're ignored for close to 15 minutes. We went to the bar and although it was 4 o'clock and there were several staffers there, we were told that the bar was closed. Ok.... Went back inside and saw no people or signs of life. We were grunted at by the bartender inside Bullion which was completely empty. When he finally sauntered over and we asked what the Happy Hour specials were he said there were none. Hmmmm, ok. We spent close to $40 on four Sands... no wonder the bar was empty... The front desk staff was clustered in gossipy groups and when I asked for assistance and identified myself as a Hilton Gold, was told that while they appreciated my loyalty, there was nothing they could do for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fish fry!

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friends of Jeff Pablo
Baltimore
Sep 8, 2013

Dirty Water

Having brown and yellow water coming out of the sink faucet and the shower is not what I expect from the Hilton ! Having it happen not once, but TWICE in two separate rooms is unacceptable ! And to top off my stay, my card was erroneously billed. Dealing with getting that fixed has been the icing on the cake ! Thanks for the great time Hilton !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the Bahamas is like shopping on Canal St in NYC, prices are negotiable.

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gary10027
Chicago and NYC
Feb 29, 2012

Not impressive

I'm neither vying for any complimentary items nor looking to have anyone fired. In fact, I'm hoping you will play a role in improving service so that jobs at the Hilton in Nassau will be salvage. I'm not sure how this Hilton received a 4 star rating, but from my experience, I rate it at 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

My tip... stay in Atlantis or any place on Paridise Island. It's worth the price difference. The staff is MUCH friendlier and EVERYTHING is accessible right on Paridise Island. My hope for its residents is that Nassau will step up to the challenge of attracting visitors that are not on cruise ships.

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RSE712
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 12, 2014

Pricey

Accommodations are nice, although the location is a bit lacking. And while the private beach is decent, it's a bit small. I arrived late in the evening and when I called 24-hour room service, there was no answer whatsoever, so I went to bed hungry. Overall, rather overpriced for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PuertoRico
Jul 15, 2009

NOT SO GOOD

I used to stay in this hotel five years ago for business and the last time I was there I promised never to be back. This time I decided to stay becasue I friend of mine also there for business made the reservation in this hotel. So, I decided to give it a shot. I was not impressed considering the rate is still high and they charge you many service charges. They charge you for breathing! Basically! They charged me $29 for a 5 minute call...something like that. My recommendation...stay somewhere else! Room service took almost 3 hours! They did not charge me for the food but still, the food was cold and I waited all that time. Good Luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VeronicaR
Florida, USA
Jan 10, 2012

It was an average experience.

It was a lovely hotel, but it could have been made better if the customer service was a little nicer. The only person I thought made the experience was our waitress in the dining room and our room service lady. The front desk lady was not very warm at all. As a matter of fact, she was actually irritated that we added a second room... and when we went to dinner, it did not say wait to be seated, so we went in to sit down, only to have this lady, rudely shouting "Helloooooooo" at us repeatedly. I was not even thinking that she was talking to us because it was quite rude. Thank goodness our waitress was a really sweet lady. Customer service can make the difference between an average stay and a spectacular stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Hostess was kind of rude, but the dinner was great.

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lenny from Florida
Florida
Feb 14, 2011

Weekend Vacation

The hotel was remodeled but the rooms are very small. I was surprised there was no bathe robes in the room and the shower pressure was extremely low. Its in ta great location for the downtown area but if looking for a nice beach then try Cable Beach area. The pool was nice and outside bar area okay and there is no jacuzzi. Breakfast in the Aqua restaurant was ok. The food was good but both days we we were there there was no napkins on table and no spoons. I think more recommened for a business trip not a sun filled vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great restaurant is Le Matisse and the club in Atlantis is great!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search