$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
One Bay Street, Nassau,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
127 reviews
Fabulous anniversary getaway

We visited this hotel for our anniversary. The staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. When we... See full review

  • BahamaLover
  • Jul 26, 2014
Not for singles!

I'm a young single guy I was thinking this was a exciting a party type place Nassau is not that.... See full review

  • Theuglyfriend
  • Jun 17, 2014
Dive into the Caribbean Sea from the private beach at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel. Treat yourself to an invigorating work out in the Fitness Center or simply laze by the pool. Keep fit with beachfront watersports or spend the day snorkeling at Stuart Cove.Savor fresh seafood at the Aqua Restaurant with ocean views, or try a tropical cocktail from the Patio Bar and Grill.Situated in Nassau's financial district, the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel has 11 meeting rooms for 25-400, an Executive Lounge, and high-speed internet access in all rooms.From Hilton Guest Rooms to Suites with separate seating areas, all rooms at the Hilton British Colonial hotel have high-speed internet access.

Hotel Map

25.0781 -77.3509
Area served
Located in Nassau with views of the city and harbour
Nearby airports
airport NAS

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
1 Queen Bed - Colonial decor-historic city view, with separate shower tub
Flager Suite
1 King Bedroom tastefully furnished with premium view of Nassau Harbour.
Suite City View
1 King 1 bedroom suite with balcony. Views of Nassau City. Tastefully furnished with separate parlour and a whirlpool bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Crystal Cay Marine Park: 1.2 mi
  • Atlantis Paradise: 1.9 mi
  • Cable Beach: 3.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mitbaaah
San Francisco
Aug 29, 2010

Bahama Adventure

It was Highly enjoyable! Excellent Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Across the street

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arkansas
Apr 25, 2010

Great Place to Stay

We are a couple in our 50's. This hotel was perfect for us - easy access to shopping and activities. Hotel was quiet. Private beach and pool a bonus. Rooms were spotless, comfortable bed, hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room service good. Several families in the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel. You can get a day pass to the resort hotels on Paradise Island (Atlantis). We did not want to stay there, as we would have to take a cab to shop or go on any boating activities. We did not use car rental - taxi readily available anywhere, and reasonably priced. Traffic is congested and they drive on the left! Close to the harbor - we watched several cruise ships come and go. Great vacation destination!! Everyone is friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a only a couple of blocks away from the downtown area where many shops and restaurants are located.

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CARMEN & MARISA
ASTORIA, NY
Jul 28, 2009

EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHERE DO I BEGIN. THE HOTEL STAFF WAS EXCELLENT--VERY ATTENTIVE AND COURTEOUS. THE LOCATION IS GREAT. THE STRAW MARKET, A 24 HOUR RESTAURANT ACROSS THE STREET, MCDONALDS ALSO ACROSS THE STREET. THE CLUBS ARE GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS MY FOURTH TIME TO THE BAHAMAS,AND SO FAR,THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST HOTEL ALONG WITH THE BEST LOCATION I HAVE STAYED. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. THEIR POOL IS GREAT. THEIR BEACH EXCELLENT.THE STAFF WONDERFUL FROM THE TIME YOU COME OUT OF THE CAB ESPECIALLY SYLVESTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WENT WITH A FRIEND OF MINE, WHO IS ALSO A FEMALE. THERE WERE TWO THINGS WE DID NOT LIKE, WHICH HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE HOTEL. FIRST, THE PEOPLE WHO WANT YOU TO ATTEND A 90 MINUTE TOUR FOR A TIME SHARE. I DO NOT HAVE TIME TO SPEND IN A TOUR WHILE I CAN BE AT THE BEACH. THEY ARE VERY PUSHY. THE SECRET TO PUSHING THEM AWAY IS TO ALWAYS SAY YOU ARE LEAVING TOMORROW;THEY STOP HARASSING YOU ONCE YOU SAY THAT. THE OTHER BAD THING IS THAT THE MEN TEND TO BE VERY AGRESSIVE.THEY WILL FOLLOW YOU UNTIL YOU FINALLY SAY GO AWAY. LADIES BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OTHER THAN THAT, IF YOU GO TO THE BAHAMAS, STAY AT THE HILTON!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT BOTHER TAKING CABS TO GO PLACES. THE BUS STOP IS ACROSS THE STREET. YOU CAN TAKE THE BUS FOR 1.25 TO THE EDGE OF THE PARADISE ISLAND BRIDGE AND WALK ACROSS THE BRIDGE TO GO TO ATLANTIS. YOU CAN WALK TO THE FISH FRY (EXCELLENT FOOD--TRY SEAFOOD HEAVEN),THE STRAW MARKET IS LITERARY ACROSS THE STREET.

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couldn't be happier!
Boston, MA
Mar 12, 2011

Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location

Truly a perfect getaway vacation! I searched extensively for the best deal at a 4 star hotel in the caribbean and I could not have been more satisfied with the Hilton Nassau. The hotel is beautifully remodeled, the staff is extremely friendly, the private beach is serene, the food was tasty and the location was PERFECT. Having driven past the strip of hotels along Coral Beach to get to the Hilton (Sheraton, Breezes, Sandals), I was worried we had missed the boat on where to stay. It turns out that the Hilton is the only 4 star hotel in town so you have the best of both worlds: shopping right outside your front door but the serenity of the hotel when you're inside. You're also steps from the water taxi dock to Paradise Island (Atlantis).I booked this as a romantic getaway for my boyfriend and me (both 26) but it seemed that all types of travelers were happy with the Hilton. Families, couples, business travelers. The nice part is that it was not over-run by any one group.Tips:- Pay the extra for a "water view" room. BEAUTIFUL views. - Try and get breakfast included (great buffet and costs $30/each otherwise)- Aura restaurant is only so-so for dinner. Casual Boillon bar has yummier food and is less expensive. - Definitely spend some time at Atlantis. Not far away and a fun day trip.Helpful Things to Know:- No need to tip in any restaurants. 15% gratuity is already included.- Cabs are not metered. Set price before getting in. Costs $27 from airport to Hilton (downtown Nassau)- Resort Credits (ours was $200[...]) do not include Alcohol. Need to remind front desk before you check out. Appears they conveniently forget.- Water Taxi to Atlantis are the best way to get there during the day. $3/one way. 15 minute ride. Runs every 30 minutes both ways but stops at 6pm. Take a regular taxi in the evenings. $12/one way.- Senor Frogs (super popular bar) abuts the Hilton's private beach. Party-ers have no access to the beach but you can occasionally hear the muffled music noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BahamaLover
Abilene, Texas
Jul 26, 2014

Fabulous anniversary getaway

We visited this hotel for our anniversary. The staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. When we left, the man on duty offered to take our picture at several spots in the lobby. The private beach was beautiful and amazing! The staff were accommodating and hardworking. Our room was clean and spacious. The location was perfect for walking to many attractions. We highly recommend the British Colonial Hilton!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shops, as well as the Straw Market, are a short distance, and they are duty free!

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flight Crew
Business
Van Nuys, CA
Apr 25, 2011

Excellent Experience

Great hotel, staff and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vero Beach, FL
Jun 12, 2011

Great location!

We went to Nassau for a birthday celebration. We chose to stay at the British Colonial Hilton based on reviews we read plus my husband's previous stay there. We were very pleased with the staff, the cleanliness, and the convenience of being downtown. The beach offers nice views of the cruise ships and the lighthouse on Paradise Island. We will definitely stay there again when we come to Nassau!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vero Beach, FL
Jun 12, 2011

Great location!

We went to Nassau for a birthday celebration. We chose to stay at the British Colonial Hilton based on reviews we read plus my husband's previous stay there. We were very pleased with the staff, the cleanliness, and the convenience of being downtown. The beach offers nice views of the cruise ships and the lighthouse on Paradise Island. We will definitely stay there again when we come to Nassau!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Apr 23, 2011

Bahamian Charm

We absolutely loved our stay at the British Colonial Hilton. The rooms were great, the staff helpful and the food was the best! We especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet and ate at the restaurant several times. Even though it is primarily a business hotel, there were many families enjoying their holidays the week before Easter. Would definitely return in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Found a great Indian restaurant/pub a short distance from the hotel called Taj Mahal. Check it out!

Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Diane
Winnipeg Manitoba
Nov 24, 2010

perfect location

The hotel is right in the center of everything. A short walk for great eating and shopping is right outside your door. Was really great to lie in bed and watch the cruise ships coming and going. Did not eat in hotel, so I can not rate it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top