$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
One Bay Street, Nassau,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
92 reviews
Fabulous anniversary getaway

We visited this hotel for our anniversary. The staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. When we... See full review

  • BahamaLover
  • Jul 26, 2014
Not for singles!

I'm a young single guy I was thinking this was a exciting a party type place Nassau is not that.... See full review

  • Theuglyfriend
  • Jun 17, 2014
Dive into the Caribbean Sea from the private beach at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel. Treat yourself to an invigorating work out in the Fitness Center or simply laze by the pool. Keep fit with beachfront watersports or spend the day snorkeling at Stuart Cove.Savor fresh seafood at the Aqua Restaurant with ocean views, or try a tropical cocktail from the Patio Bar and Grill.Situated in Nassau's financial district, the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel has 11 meeting rooms for 25-400, an Executive Lounge, and high-speed internet access in all rooms.From Hilton Guest Rooms to Suites with separate seating areas, all rooms at the Hilton British Colonial hotel have high-speed internet access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
1 Queen Bed - Colonial decor-historic city view, with separate shower tub
Flager Suite
1 King Bedroom tastefully furnished with premium view of Nassau Harbour.
Suite City View
1 King 1 bedroom suite with balcony. Views of Nassau City. Tastefully furnished with separate parlour and a whirlpool bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Crystal Cay Marine Park: 1.2 mi
  • Atlantis Paradise: 1.9 mi
  • Cable Beach: 3.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
May 4, 2010

relaxing destination

Relaxing long weekend. The hotel was geared more for the business traveler. They needed more ativities and food choices.There was only one restaurant even though the adds said they had more. The local dining was poor. You had to travel by cab (pretty expensive) to get to nicer dining.We found good options in the Cable Beach area. The rooms were updated and very nice. The staff was okay.It took me 3 days to get someone to accept that I had a plan from [...] that included breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Cable Beach resort area for dining. It is a $20 cab ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Apr 25, 2010

Great Place to Stay

We are a couple in our 50's. This hotel was perfect for us - easy access to shopping and activities. Hotel was quiet. Private beach and pool a bonus. Rooms were spotless, comfortable bed, hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room service good. Several families in the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel. You can get a day pass to the resort hotels on Paradise Island (Atlantis). We did not want to stay there, as we would have to take a cab to shop or go on any boating activities. We did not use car rental - taxi readily available anywhere, and reasonably priced. Traffic is congested and they drive on the left! Close to the harbor - we watched several cruise ships come and go. Great vacation destination!! Everyone is friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a only a couple of blocks away from the downtown area where many shops and restaurants are located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bahamian Wedding
Business
Tampa, Fl
Feb 28, 2010

Chris Bahamian Wedding

Great hotel. Good service. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Bahamian food at reasonable pricing directly across street. Also Mcdonalds and Dunkin donuts on the same block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples fl
Nov 7, 2009

Nice Hotel in the city

We had a blast. Everyone was great. We had an early flight and arrived at 9 a.m. and they let us check into our room and by 9:30 I was laying on the beach. What is better than that. First time ever. Rooms were spotlessly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street, great Bahamian take out...very cheap. McDonalds, Dunkin Donuts and liquer store. Quiet private, clean, fun, excellent door service. We will return.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Chic
Business
New York
Oct 21, 2009

Nice Weekend Getaway

The hotel is very nice and quiet. If you are looking for solitude then this is the place. If you are looking to get into stuff this place is kind of boring. It is a great location because you can walk to the shopping district. My only complaint was the private beach could have been more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 5, 2009

The good, the bad and the ugly

We enjoyed the lovely ocean water & sunny skies. Had cocktails service on the beach and relaxed watching the gentle waves move into shore. Some sort of entertainment, music, beach games so that guests can interact other than volleyball. Also the menu could have more native options. Conch fritters w/ fries, seafood salads, fish sandwiches would be great to serve pool,ocean side. This is my 6th visit to the Bahamas and the worse accommodations to date. The hotel location, excecutive lounge & front desk staff was the only plus for us. One evening walking back to the hotel from the beach we saw a large rodent run across the outside of the hotel lounge. Very unpleasant moment for us. We noticed rodent traps in various areas therefore, the hotel is very aware of this problem. It would be in the best interest of the HILTON HOTEL'S reputation to manage this problem efficiently & expediently!!!!!!! We would not stay here again nor would we recommend it. Final note, the ice machine was out of service (no note posted) had to go to another floor for ice. The hotel should have been aware of this & had it repaired immediately so not to inconvenience their guests or @ best posted a sign. This I might add was on the executive level of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Disappoint the hotel lounge wasn't open later at night as this is the only entertainment on the premises offered to the guests. Expected maybe music or a live band especially on the weekends. Also having chains & wires wrapped around the door knobs made us feel as though we were criminals. A lock on the door would be a sufficient option. I don't believe guests would brake into a locked area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson,MS
Sep 22, 2009

Best place for non-resort people

Close to shopping and all the non-resort type things. The beach was really nice as was the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything without having to rent a car or hire a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Jon
Business
Chicago, IL.
Aug 26, 2009

Very good overall

Impressive architecture, very friendly staff, excellent location, clean room, and comfortable. However, not very prepared for our check-in despite our early notice. Actual check-in was at least twenty minutes past confirmed time even after we spoke to the receptionist two hours prior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Dolphin Encounters made the vacation. Underwater personal sub was another experience worth mentioning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CARMEN & MARISA
Business
ASTORIA, NY
Jul 28, 2009

EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHERE DO I BEGIN. THE HOTEL STAFF WAS EXCELLENT--VERY ATTENTIVE AND COURTEOUS. THE LOCATION IS GREAT. THE STRAW MARKET, A 24 HOUR RESTAURANT ACROSS THE STREET, MCDONALDS ALSO ACROSS THE STREET. THE CLUBS ARE GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS MY FOURTH TIME TO THE BAHAMAS,AND SO FAR,THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST HOTEL ALONG WITH THE BEST LOCATION I HAVE STAYED. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. THEIR POOL IS GREAT. THEIR BEACH EXCELLENT.THE STAFF WONDERFUL FROM THE TIME YOU COME OUT OF THE CAB ESPECIALLY SYLVESTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WENT WITH A FRIEND OF MINE, WHO IS ALSO A FEMALE. THERE WERE TWO THINGS WE DID NOT LIKE, WHICH HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE HOTEL. FIRST, THE PEOPLE WHO WANT YOU TO ATTEND A 90 MINUTE TOUR FOR A TIME SHARE. I DO NOT HAVE TIME TO SPEND IN A TOUR WHILE I CAN BE AT THE BEACH. THEY ARE VERY PUSHY. THE SECRET TO PUSHING THEM AWAY IS TO ALWAYS SAY YOU ARE LEAVING TOMORROW;THEY STOP HARASSING YOU ONCE YOU SAY THAT. THE OTHER BAD THING IS THAT THE MEN TEND TO BE VERY AGRESSIVE.THEY WILL FOLLOW YOU UNTIL YOU FINALLY SAY GO AWAY. LADIES BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OTHER THAN THAT, IF YOU GO TO THE BAHAMAS, STAY AT THE HILTON!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT BOTHER TAKING CABS TO GO PLACES. THE BUS STOP IS ACROSS THE STREET. YOU CAN TAKE THE BUS FOR 1.25 TO THE EDGE OF THE PARADISE ISLAND BRIDGE AND WALK ACROSS THE BRIDGE TO GO TO ATLANTIS. YOU CAN WALK TO THE FISH FRY (EXCELLENT FOOD--TRY SEAFOOD HEAVEN),THE STRAW MARKET IS LITERARY ACROSS THE STREET.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 21, 2009

A lovely hotel, despite the construction

We chose the British Colonial over the Cable Beach resorts so that we'd be walking distance from the sites we wanted to see in the town of Nassau - the Straw Market, Queen's Staircase, Fort Fincastle, shopping on Bay Street. We don't gamble and so the absence of a casino at our hotel was a plus to us, not a minus. The beach was small but fully adequate, with plenty of lounge chairs at the beach and pool, as well as floating cushions and inner tubes to laze in the water, or kayaks to tool around in (all at no charge). The hotel is beautiful, and beautifully appointed and maintained: a large lobby with lots of beautiful marble, adequate hotel room with a really great (and huge) bathroom, with both a shower and a tub, and plenty of mirrors (3 in the bathroom and 1 in the room). The housekeeping service was very neat and tidy, with very friendly and upbeat staff. The concierge was especially friendly and helpful with information and advice. The one negative about the hotel was that they were doing substantial reconstruction of several of their dining spots, and so only two of their four bars/restaurants were available. But we were there in mid-July, and I assume they were doing the construction then because it was off-season, and the hotel (and pretty much the whole island) were relatively uncrowded. Surprisingly, though, there were not a lot of restaurant choices outside the hotel. Bay Street, the prime shopping street with Cartier, Little Switzerland, and dozens of other jewelry shops is just a block away, and yet we walked for block after block and couldn't find a nice restaurant, so the hotels seem to be where most of the nice eateries are. If you're looking for a glitzy place with lots of noise and hubub, go to a Cable Beach hotel or to Paradise Island. But if you like a quieter, mellow vacation, with gracious, friendly service and classically elegant surroundings, the British Colonial Hilton is a nice choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top