$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
View map of One Bay Street, Nassau,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxed and Burnt
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 18, 2010

A Pocket of Luxury

The British Colonial Hilton is about a 15-20 minute drive from the airport. The drive gives you a good idea of what the Bahamas are like outside of the tourist areas, which is to say that apart from a few spots, it is still a [*]country.The hotel is surrounded by a few familiar names (McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts), but a few minutes walk will take you to the heart of downtown Nassau. Downtown Nassau is basically a street of stores alternating between jewelry shops, souvenir shops, and cafes. The area is busy during the day, but should probably be avoided after dark. There are plenty of unscrupulous folks looking to make a dollar off tourists.The hotel includes a private beach and garden area with hammocks. A bar on the hotel's private beach serves free local beers to guests during a short period in the evening. WiFi is only available in common areas and costs $10/day. The hotel itself is quite nice, but doesn't offer the full range of dining and activities that the Atlantis resort on Paradise Island would.Taxis are always waiting to take you wherever you need to go. There is plenty of stuff to do on the islands, but nothing really within walking distance of the hotel.Overall, the hotel was relaxing, but it stands out as a jewel in the rough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Everywhere you eat will automatically charge gratuity. As a result, the servers are not motivated to provide good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
May 4, 2010

relaxing destination

Relaxing long weekend. The hotel was geared more for the business traveler. They needed more ativities and food choices.There was only one restaurant even though the adds said they had more. The local dining was poor. You had to travel by cab (pretty expensive) to get to nicer dining.We found good options in the Cable Beach area. The rooms were updated and very nice. The staff was okay.It took me 3 days to get someone to accept that I had a plan from [...] that included breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Cable Beach resort area for dining. It is a $20 cab ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Apr 25, 2010

Great Place to Stay

We are a couple in our 50's. This hotel was perfect for us - easy access to shopping and activities. Hotel was quiet. Private beach and pool a bonus. Rooms were spotless, comfortable bed, hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room service good. Several families in the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel. You can get a day pass to the resort hotels on Paradise Island (Atlantis). We did not want to stay there, as we would have to take a cab to shop or go on any boating activities. We did not use car rental - taxi readily available anywhere, and reasonably priced. Traffic is congested and they drive on the left! Close to the harbor - we watched several cruise ships come and go. Great vacation destination!! Everyone is friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a only a couple of blocks away from the downtown area where many shops and restaurants are located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bahamian Wedding
Business
Tampa, Fl
Feb 28, 2010

Chris Bahamian Wedding

Great hotel. Good service. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Bahamian food at reasonable pricing directly across street. Also Mcdonalds and Dunkin donuts on the same block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples fl
Nov 7, 2009

Nice Hotel in the city

We had a blast. Everyone was great. We had an early flight and arrived at 9 a.m. and they let us check into our room and by 9:30 I was laying on the beach. What is better than that. First time ever. Rooms were spotlessly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street, great Bahamian take out...very cheap. McDonalds, Dunkin Donuts and liquer store. Quiet private, clean, fun, excellent door service. We will return.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Chic
Business
New York
Oct 21, 2009

Nice Weekend Getaway

The hotel is very nice and quiet. If you are looking for solitude then this is the place. If you are looking to get into stuff this place is kind of boring. It is a great location because you can walk to the shopping district. My only complaint was the private beach could have been more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 5, 2009

The good, the bad and the ugly

We enjoyed the lovely ocean water & sunny skies. Had cocktails service on the beach and relaxed watching the gentle waves move into shore. Some sort of entertainment, music, beach games so that guests can interact other than volleyball. Also the menu could have more native options. Conch fritters w/ fries, seafood salads, fish sandwiches would be great to serve pool,ocean side. This is my 6th visit to the Bahamas and the worse accommodations to date. The hotel location, excecutive lounge & front desk staff was the only plus for us. One evening walking back to the hotel from the beach we saw a large rodent run across the outside of the hotel lounge. Very unpleasant moment for us. We noticed rodent traps in various areas therefore, the hotel is very aware of this problem. It would be in the best interest of the HILTON HOTEL'S reputation to manage this problem efficiently & expediently!!!!!!! We would not stay here again nor would we recommend it. Final note, the ice machine was out of service (no note posted) had to go to another floor for ice. The hotel should have been aware of this & had it repaired immediately so not to inconvenience their guests or @ best posted a sign. This I might add was on the executive level of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Disappoint the hotel lounge wasn't open later at night as this is the only entertainment on the premises offered to the guests. Expected maybe music or a live band especially on the weekends. Also having chains & wires wrapped around the door knobs made us feel as though we were criminals. A lock on the door would be a sufficient option. I don't believe guests would brake into a locked area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson,MS
Sep 22, 2009

Best place for non-resort people

Close to shopping and all the non-resort type things. The beach was really nice as was the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything without having to rent a car or hire a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Jon
Business
Chicago, IL.
Aug 26, 2009

Very good overall

Impressive architecture, very friendly staff, excellent location, clean room, and comfortable. However, not very prepared for our check-in despite our early notice. Actual check-in was at least twenty minutes past confirmed time even after we spoke to the receptionist two hours prior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Dolphin Encounters made the vacation. Underwater personal sub was another experience worth mentioning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CARMEN & MARISA
Business
ASTORIA, NY
Jul 28, 2009

EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHERE DO I BEGIN. THE HOTEL STAFF WAS EXCELLENT--VERY ATTENTIVE AND COURTEOUS. THE LOCATION IS GREAT. THE STRAW MARKET, A 24 HOUR RESTAURANT ACROSS THE STREET, MCDONALDS ALSO ACROSS THE STREET. THE CLUBS ARE GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS MY FOURTH TIME TO THE BAHAMAS,AND SO FAR,THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST HOTEL ALONG WITH THE BEST LOCATION I HAVE STAYED. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. THEIR POOL IS GREAT. THEIR BEACH EXCELLENT.THE STAFF WONDERFUL FROM THE TIME YOU COME OUT OF THE CAB ESPECIALLY SYLVESTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WENT WITH A FRIEND OF MINE, WHO IS ALSO A FEMALE. THERE WERE TWO THINGS WE DID NOT LIKE, WHICH HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE HOTEL. FIRST, THE PEOPLE WHO WANT YOU TO ATTEND A 90 MINUTE TOUR FOR A TIME SHARE. I DO NOT HAVE TIME TO SPEND IN A TOUR WHILE I CAN BE AT THE BEACH. THEY ARE VERY PUSHY. THE SECRET TO PUSHING THEM AWAY IS TO ALWAYS SAY YOU ARE LEAVING TOMORROW;THEY STOP HARASSING YOU ONCE YOU SAY THAT. THE OTHER BAD THING IS THAT THE MEN TEND TO BE VERY AGRESSIVE.THEY WILL FOLLOW YOU UNTIL YOU FINALLY SAY GO AWAY. LADIES BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OTHER THAN THAT, IF YOU GO TO THE BAHAMAS, STAY AT THE HILTON!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT BOTHER TAKING CABS TO GO PLACES. THE BUS STOP IS ACROSS THE STREET. YOU CAN TAKE THE BUS FOR 1.25 TO THE EDGE OF THE PARADISE ISLAND BRIDGE AND WALK ACROSS THE BRIDGE TO GO TO ATLANTIS. YOU CAN WALK TO THE FISH FRY (EXCELLENT FOOD--TRY SEAFOOD HEAVEN),THE STRAW MARKET IS LITERARY ACROSS THE STREET.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top