$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
One Bay Street, Nassau,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
91 reviews
Fabulous anniversary getaway

We visited this hotel for our anniversary. The staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. When we... See full review

  • BahamaLover
  • Jul 26, 2014
Not for singles!

I'm a young single guy I was thinking this was a exciting a party type place Nassau is not that.... See full review

  • Theuglyfriend
  • Jun 17, 2014
Dive into the Caribbean Sea from the private beach at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel. Treat yourself to an invigorating work out in the Fitness Center or simply laze by the pool. Keep fit with beachfront watersports or spend the day snorkeling at Stuart Cove.Savor fresh seafood at the Aqua Restaurant with ocean views, or try a tropical cocktail from the Patio Bar and Grill.Situated in Nassau's financial district, the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel has 11 meeting rooms for 25-400, an Executive Lounge, and high-speed internet access in all rooms.From Hilton Guest Rooms to Suites with separate seating areas, all rooms at the Hilton British Colonial hotel have high-speed internet access.

Hotel Map

25.0781 -77.3509
Area served
Located in Nassau with views of the city and harbour
Nearby airports
airport NAS

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
1 Queen Bed - Colonial decor-historic city view, with separate shower tub
Flager Suite
1 King Bedroom tastefully furnished with premium view of Nassau Harbour.
Suite City View
1 King 1 bedroom suite with balcony. Views of Nassau City. Tastefully furnished with separate parlour and a whirlpool bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Crystal Cay Marine Park: 1.2 mi
  • Atlantis Paradise: 1.9 mi
  • Cable Beach: 3.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC
Nov 23, 2010

Convenient Location!

The staff were mostly very polite and friendly.The rooms were very clean.The Hilton always charges a lot for local calls, that other lower-cost hotels would offer complimentary. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Most clubs were a short walk away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jefferson, MD
Nov 19, 2010

Bahamas -- hot and cold

The hotel was extraordinarily clean. Service comes with a smile, but you need to ask. Some good rooms for business meetings, especially on the sea side where the views are spectacular. Concierge was very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are willing to take a taxi (costs are high - ask before stepping in), the Poop Deck was a good restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wannabe West Indian ;-)
Fairfax, VA
Oct 18, 2010

Small rooms but nice location

Hotel was at the beginning of the downtown area so I could walk to everything, shops, food and entertainment. The hotel was clean, updated and provided a sense of security with having to use room keys to activate elevators. The beach was ok with a limited swimming area because it's next to where the cruise ships dock. Water was clear and it wasn't rough areas mostly sand walking in. Cleaning service on 4th floor was very thorough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buy any water, snacks etc at the grocery store. Just exit left out of the hotel, walk to the traffic light and make a left. Grocery store is on your left. Most items were half the cost of other shops and the hotel shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viola Born There
Florida
Oct 7, 2010

Awesome

Very professional atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mitbaaah
San Francisco
Aug 29, 2010

Bahama Adventure

It was Highly enjoyable! Excellent Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bahamian American
Bronx, NY
Aug 29, 2010

My home away from home

The renovation of the rooms was a great job. We like the floors without the carpet. The staff has always been pleasant and helpful. We always stay at BC Hilton. It's just the perfect spot. It's near town and driving distance from everywhere we had to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor Frog's for nachos and daiquiris

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L and M
New York
Aug 18, 2010

The Unexpected

Overall: We arrived about 6 hours before check in and found out that we had four rooms reserved under our name. The hotel staff made a few phone calls and clarified things with [...], the cause of all this confusion. Given the confusion: the hotel staff was kind to upgrade us to a king size bed and gave us our room right away. The room was rather small but the enormous bathroom and the comfort of the wonderful beds made up for it. The hotel is beautiful and a favorite location for wedding pictures for the locals. The on site beach was such a beauty and the staff so friendly. The location is unbeatable: 5 minute walk to downtown shopping area, ten minute walk to the Fish Fry (local eatery with great food), and five minutes from the ferry to Atlantis. Activities: rent a scooter and go to Jaws beach if you can. A scene to remember! do the sub marine (i like to call is bubcycle underwater) if you can. It was awesome and i don't even swim. Go to Atlantis, its worth the $119 and lockers are $7 for a good size. Bring your own bottle water and snacks as everything is overpriced there. Downside: Just remember for every day the room is cleaned you are charged $10, so unless you need it just make the bed yourself. Food: Senior Frogs has great Mexican food (this is coming from us New yorkers who rarely compliment food unless its real good). Fish Fry for Bahamian flavor and Athena in downtown for gyros was an absolute delight. Overall rating: 4.5/5....we loved it and we were on our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, dining and Atlantis all nearby!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Asheville NC
Jul 8, 2010

British Colonial Hilton...a god deal!

The experience did not start well. We spent over 1 hour waiting for our food order at the pool side bar. We finally gave up and left. The only explanation that the bar staff gave was that they were understaffed (not my problem and a poor response to a guest) We expressed this to the restaurant manager and let it go. Beyond that the stay was EXCELLENT. We had a Harbor View Room and it had a spectacular view of the cruise ships in the harbor. the hotel is right in the down town area so no taxis are needed to vist the down town area. The Aqua restaurant provided a great made to order breakfast daily The hammocks were excellent and the beach was pristine. I would fully reccomend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

O' Andross in the "Fish Fry" area. Great food and LOTS of it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxed and Burnt
Washington, DC
Jun 18, 2010

A Pocket of Luxury

The British Colonial Hilton is about a 15-20 minute drive from the airport. The drive gives you a good idea of what the Bahamas are like outside of the tourist areas, which is to say that apart from a few spots, it is still a [*]country.The hotel is surrounded by a few familiar names (McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts), but a few minutes walk will take you to the heart of downtown Nassau. Downtown Nassau is basically a street of stores alternating between jewelry shops, souvenir shops, and cafes. The area is busy during the day, but should probably be avoided after dark. There are plenty of unscrupulous folks looking to make a dollar off tourists.The hotel includes a private beach and garden area with hammocks. A bar on the hotel's private beach serves free local beers to guests during a short period in the evening. WiFi is only available in common areas and costs $10/day. The hotel itself is quite nice, but doesn't offer the full range of dining and activities that the Atlantis resort on Paradise Island would.Taxis are always waiting to take you wherever you need to go. There is plenty of stuff to do on the islands, but nothing really within walking distance of the hotel.Overall, the hotel was relaxing, but it stands out as a jewel in the rough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Everywhere you eat will automatically charge gratuity. As a result, the servers are not motivated to provide good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
May 4, 2010

relaxing destination

Relaxing long weekend. The hotel was geared more for the business traveler. They needed more ativities and food choices.There was only one restaurant even though the adds said they had more. The local dining was poor. You had to travel by cab (pretty expensive) to get to nicer dining.We found good options in the Cable Beach area. The rooms were updated and very nice. The staff was okay.It took me 3 days to get someone to accept that I had a plan from [...] that included breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Cable Beach resort area for dining. It is a $20 cab ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search