$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 20, 2015 Check-out: Feb 21, 2015

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
One Bay Street, Nassau,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
92 reviews
Fabulous anniversary getaway

We visited this hotel for our anniversary. The staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. When we... See full review

  • BahamaLover
  • Jul 26, 2014
Not for singles!

I'm a young single guy I was thinking this was a exciting a party type place Nassau is not that.... See full review

  • Theuglyfriend
  • Jun 17, 2014
Dive into the Caribbean Sea from the private beach at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel. Treat yourself to an invigorating work out in the Fitness Center or simply laze by the pool. Keep fit with beachfront watersports or spend the day snorkeling at Stuart Cove.Savor fresh seafood at the Aqua Restaurant with ocean views, or try a tropical cocktail from the Patio Bar and Grill.Situated in Nassau's financial district, the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel has 11 meeting rooms for 25-400, an Executive Lounge, and high-speed internet access in all rooms.From Hilton Guest Rooms to Suites with separate seating areas, all rooms at the Hilton British Colonial hotel have high-speed internet access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
1 Queen Bed - Colonial decor-historic city view, with separate shower tub
Flager Suite
1 King Bedroom tastefully furnished with premium view of Nassau Harbour.
Suite City View
1 King 1 bedroom suite with balcony. Views of Nassau City. Tastefully furnished with separate parlour and a whirlpool bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Crystal Cay Marine Park: 1.2 mi
  • Atlantis Paradise: 1.9 mi
  • Cable Beach: 3.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miro
Business
Mailand, Italien
Aug 23, 2011

Very good deal

Very good value for money, nice people, excellent fitness area. The beach is nice but as it is very close to the cruiseship harbour not necessary suitable to take a bath

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make a daycruise on a sailingboat; can be booked in the hotel lobby; a wonderful experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fat Viscacha
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Great Location

We stayed there for a night with my wife. The place was very clean and up to the standards of a Hilton. We got charged $70 for drinks we never consumed but fortunately the mistake was spotted and the charge was written off. The private beach was pretty good too and with a lovely view into the harbor. The lobby had 2 computers where one could go online but their quality was rather poor. Better than nothing though. Also the location is ideal for people that want to explore downtown Nassau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the "Fish Fry" area, a 15 minute walk west of the hotel. Great local seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jose
Business
Mexico
Aug 12, 2011

Nassau Hilton

Hotel was very well appointed and in good condition. There was no smell of mold or mildew in the room which I have experienced in other Bahamian hotels. Beautiful beach and water. Didn´t eat at the hotel, but the resturant looked all right, but not really designed to be that attractive. Over all I would recommend the hotel as a good bet for your money. Very convenient to downtown with the plus of a beach and somewhat of a resort feel. The staff was fine, but not overly welcoming, friendly or helpful. I find that this is typical of the Bahamas and do not expect any more from the people that work in the tourist industry in the Bahamas, perhaps that is why things seem to be always going a bit downhill in that country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great local dining options at Arawak Beach. There are a lot of local resturants at this location located just out of town. The seafood was very good - grilled conch and conch salad were excellent and seemed to be very fresh. No need to get the fried conch as the meal is heavy enough and I think you might lose some of the sweetness of the conch. Came with rice and peas as well as a choice of two sides. Enough food for two. Very heavy but good. I would recommend Ändros¨ or ¨Two Brothers¨ but look around and pick your favorite. A lot of locals and not many tourists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Park City, Utah
Aug 2, 2011

Fun in the sun HONEYMOON!

It was our first time to the bahamas or any island in the Carribean and we absolutely fell in love with it! I wanted to get away and relax in a hotel that had a beach just steps away with everything needed close by and that is exactly what i got! To go eat we were steps away from good restaurants like Senor Frogs, and if you are on a budget Mcdonalds was right next door and a few other fast food restaurants were walking distance. We went to paradise island on a ferry which was only three dollars and to get to that ferry we walked to it since it was such close proximity. Shopping was great to because again it was walking distance away! Me and my husband came on our honeymoon and could not be more pleased with our stay! Our room was always clean, the beach was perfect and private, the staff was very nice friendly and welcoming (for instance everytime you went through the front doors there was always someone there to open the door for you and its those small details that makes a company that much better), it was always peaceful and quiet, the gym was the perfect size, there was always enough space in the lobby to just chill...it was perfect! I highly recommend this hotel because of its locality, cleanliness, friendliness, and overall quality. I just can't emphasize enough on how perfect the location was!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need from souvenirs, to your forgotten Mac brand moisturizer, to the perfect jewelry piece gift is within short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cpwdc
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 24, 2011

Very convenient

The BC Hilton is the best hotel for tourists in downtown Nassau, very convenient for exploring the town and the island, but also very convenient for just relaxing since it has its own beach, pool, and restaurant. It's like a mini resort, with all the amenities of a bigger place but without the crowds (280 or so rooms). Service is excellent, especially the concierge who will recommend and reserve tours for you. We went on a fishing trip and a snorkeling trip on their recommendation, and they were both great. You can walk to Arawak Cay which has cheap but really good local cuisine, the superb but expensive Graycliffs and other restaurants, and of course Bay Street bars - though most of them shut down by 6 pm, when the cruise ships board.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Still young in 60's
Business
Carbondale, IL
Jul 23, 2011

Dignity with Family-like Atmosphere

Location perfect in downtown for walking area and seeing what there is to see in the area and shopping. Beach was fantastic. Meals at Hotel pricy but absolutely fantastic including local and gourmet selections. Staff excellent and friendly. Only surprise was extra daily charges for energy, maid service etc. All in all a top notch stay for the price. Hotel updated fantastically.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only good looking hotel in downtown, but best location to stay for shopping, nightlife, walking and just enjoying sights and sounds. take ferry to island for savings and for entertainment en route. Sufficient beach and not a lot of children. Also very nice pool and snack shop for drinks and sandwiches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lelan D.
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 15, 2011

British Colonial Hilton Nassau, Bahamas

The British Colonial is an amazing hotel. My husband and I stayed there for five nights from July 8th-12th. The hotel is located in the heart of Nassau. It gives the perfect mixture to submerse yourself in the Bahamian culture and also if you just want to relax and lay out on the beach. It offers the only private beach in downtown Nassau. The hotel staff and concierge were extremely helpful and the cab rides to other restaurants that are not located downtown are reasonably priced. You are in walking distance of the Straw Market, Pompey's Emancipation Museum, and the art museum. You can also take a 10 minute ride on a water taxi for $3.00 per person to get to Paradise Island. We booked snorkeling tours and mini-submarine tours through Stuart's Cove which were amazing. The only downside to this trip was due to the Independence Day Celebrations the hotel was at maximum capacity and we were only able to get a City View room. The City View room does not give a good view of the city so if you can book earlier try to get an ocean view. Also if you travel there during any of the Junkanoo festivals occuring for New Year's, Independence Day (July 10th) and Christmas you will be up all night and through the morning listening to the parades. My husband and I didn't mind the celebrations, they are comparable to Mardi Gras. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel for couples and families that want to learn and experience what downtown Nassau has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Jun 12, 2011

Great location!

We went to Nassau for a birthday celebration. We chose to stay at the British Colonial Hilton based on reviews we read plus my husband's previous stay there. We were very pleased with the staff, the cleanliness, and the convenience of being downtown. The beach offers nice views of the cruise ships and the lighthouse on Paradise Island. We will definitely stay there again when we come to Nassau!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
May 30, 2011

Paradise Island visit

We went snorkling and boarded right at the hotel site. The gentleman who took us out was excellant, and was very concerned that everyone get in the right spot to have the best experience. He as so nice & informative, and the price was very fair. We got a tour of the area on our ride out, and he was very well prepared. We would definately go on this with him again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flight Crew
Business
Van Nuys, CA
Apr 25, 2011

Excellent Experience

Great hotel, staff and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top