$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
View map of One Bay Street, Nassau,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VeronicaR
Business
Florida, USA
Jan 10, 2012

It was an average experience.

It was a lovely hotel, but it could have been made better if the customer service was a little nicer. The only person I thought made the experience was our waitress in the dining room and our room service lady. The front desk lady was not very warm at all. As a matter of fact, she was actually irritated that we added a second room... and when we went to dinner, it did not say wait to be seated, so we went in to sit down, only to have this lady, rudely shouting "Helloooooooo" at us repeatedly. I was not even thinking that she was talking to us because it was quite rude. Thank goodness our waitress was a really sweet lady. Customer service can make the difference between an average stay and a spectacular stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Hostess was kind of rude, but the dinner was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strangers
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 9, 2012

comfortable, friendly, and mellow

We spent three nights here in early January as an extended weekend getaway from the cold North. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. Our request for a room on a higher floor with a good view was granted with a corner room overlooking the harbor and the hotel's beach area and the nearby cruise ship docks. We encountered no problems whatsoever with our room or with the hotel. The staff was courteous and answered all of our questions. The hotel's location is convenient in terms of easy access to shopping, restaurants, and the adjacent, public Junkanoo Beach. At the other (western) end of Junkanoo Beach, about a 15-minute leisurely stroll up the beach from the Hilton, is the Arawak Cay area where there is a group of restaurants and bars known locally as "da fish fry" which provided us good food, drink, and live entertainment at a reasonable price in the company mainly of friendly Bahamians rather than foreign tourists. The historic Fort Charlotte can be toured on a hilltop across the street from Arawak Cay. We visited Paradise Island one afternoon, and found it to resemble an oceanside Las Vegas overrun by hordes of tourists from all over the world. However, the Potter's Cay area at the Nassau end of the return bridge from Paradise Island is a good place to find lunch or dinner consisting of the iconic conch salad and local varieties of grilled fish and conch fritters. Overall, it was a great experience and we would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to spend a few days visiting Nassau and New Providence Island. If you are after the complete peaceful island getaway, far from civilization, you may wish to search for a place farther from town or on one of the more remote islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TunaHunter
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Nice but charged for everything.

I was a little annoyed at all the nickel and dime charges we were confronted with during our stay. We paid in full in advance including taxes and upon check in we were told we would also have to pay an additional $15 per person per day for a maid service charge and an energy service charge. Everything very pricey at the hotel as well for ex: sunscreen was $20, a hamburger $15, a mai tai $12, on new years they where charging $100 per person for a buffet dinner and a couple drinks and in addition to those costs a service charge of $2 to $3 was always added along with an automatic 15% gratuity. Which was a little frustrating at times because the service was always extremely slow - at times forgetting our order all together. When we were sitting on the beach one couple said they had been waiting a hour and a half for their order. As far as attitude of the staff, everyone was extremely nice. As far a room cleanliness I would say average - which is sort of the theme of the hotel five star price and three star service. Location was great. The hotel is right at the heart of downtown Nassau and right next to the dock for most water activities. I loved Nassau but will probably go with an all inclusive resort next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to the fish fry at least once - a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Food was great and you keep your wallet intact. Bring cash though - they don't do credit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So mai
Business
Buckinghamshire, UK
Jan 1, 2012

Good downtown location

Very Nice hotel but a bit expensive You are paying for the location the pool is small but adequate a nice clean stretch of beach the sun loungers are great each with An adaptable sun canopy the house keeping staff are very friendly however the bar staff and the aqua staff are not so friendly and would say that some bar staff are rude this we put down to the enforced 15% gratuity added to your bill so there is no need for the staff to provide good service if they are guaranteed a tip. This is our only complaint about the hotel and the Bahamas in general .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would recommend lunch at cafe skans great fresh food friendly staff. If your looking for free wi fi head to macdonalds breakfasts @ dunkin doughnuts across the street for multigrain bagel club sandwich

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schnitzel
Business
Michigan
Jan 1, 2012

This is the place to stay

The British Colonial Hilton is located near everything you would want to do and see. It has a beautiful, well kept private beach and swimming pool, along with plenty of grounds to walk around on. The executive rooms are the way to go. All we had to worry about was lunch. The breakfast and evening cocktails with snacks were excellent and really helped to save money on food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The grilled shrimp at Oh Andros are fantastic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gamel
Business
South Riding, Dulles, VA 20152, USA
Dec 18, 2011

perfect location getting around downtown

i went solo on a trip to bahamas and never thought would have so much fun!!! so glad i ended up booking this hotel was initially going to stay at sheraton but the price went up so i booked here. turned out sheraton is way too far to places i wanted to go. at hilton everything is just walking distance to shops, to ferry (to go to paradise island and other islands), nightlife etc. staff are nice and helpful . i would definitely come back to nassau and wont even think twice of staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philduval
Business
montreal, canada
Dec 12, 2011

good value

we only stayed one night and everything was better than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Domdem1946
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Fantastic 40th anniversary get-away

Our first experience in the Bahamas. We reserved a small suite at the hotel with a wonderful view of the harbor and access to the executive lounge, which gave us a free European breakfast and access to a printer where we could print our boarding cards. You could not ask for a better setting for a hotel with the private swimming pool and beach overlooking the cruise ships, and within walking distance of all the town amenities. Although the suite (in particular the bathroom) showed some wear and tear, it was always kept spotless and fresh-smelling by a wonderful, friendly, housekeeping staff. The Alma restaurant is excellent. In particular we had a seafood buffet, which did very well for our anniversary dinner. The convenience of being able to order lunch (and drinks) by the pool is great too. The entire hotel staff were invariably pleasant and ready to answer questions. The in-room dining options were a little limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Alma restaurant is truly innovative and outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SonyDC
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Not a Great Deal

The hotel is decent but could use some improvements for the price. The service is pretty bad. The front desk makes you wait although they aren't helping anyone and room service closed more than twenty minutes before they said they stopped service. I couldn't get water for the room because they stopped service early! The rooms are pleasant though- clean, nice and modern. But I wouldn't pay that price again for this hotel and will try other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayne K.
Business
Palm Bay, FL, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Bahamas

Pool was closed..Wasnt notifed.... Ice machine didnt work on 3rd floor. Exec privlages were outstanding. Had 1 bedroom suite which was excellent..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car , Taxis very expensive..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top