$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

4 stars
One Bay Street, Nassau,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
92 reviews
Fabulous anniversary getaway

We visited this hotel for our anniversary. The staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. When we... See full review

  • BahamaLover
  • Jul 26, 2014
Not for singles!

I'm a young single guy I was thinking this was a exciting a party type place Nassau is not that.... See full review

  • Theuglyfriend
  • Jun 17, 2014
Dive into the Caribbean Sea from the private beach at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel. Treat yourself to an invigorating work out in the Fitness Center or simply laze by the pool. Keep fit with beachfront watersports or spend the day snorkeling at Stuart Cove.Savor fresh seafood at the Aqua Restaurant with ocean views, or try a tropical cocktail from the Patio Bar and Grill.Situated in Nassau's financial district, the British Colonial Hilton Nassau hotel has 11 meeting rooms for 25-400, an Executive Lounge, and high-speed internet access in all rooms.From Hilton Guest Rooms to Suites with separate seating areas, all rooms at the Hilton British Colonial hotel have high-speed internet access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
1 Queen Bed - Colonial decor-historic city view, with separate shower tub
Flager Suite
1 King Bedroom tastefully furnished with premium view of Nassau Harbour.
Suite City View
1 King 1 bedroom suite with balcony. Views of Nassau City. Tastefully furnished with separate parlour and a whirlpool bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Crystal Cay Marine Park: 1.2 mi
  • Atlantis Paradise: 1.9 mi
  • Cable Beach: 3.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jayne RN
Business
easley, south carolina
Feb 23, 2014

disappointing amenities for a Hilton Hotel

We do a fair amount of traveling and we were very disappointed in the room size and amenities at this hotel. Although it contained the usual things,desk, chair, coffee maker, the room was very cramped. When we arrived, we tried to turn on the only floor lamp in the room and found that it did not have a knob. We reported this to the front desk immediately. The lamp was removed from the room, but in 5 days time it was never repaired or replaced. We did not receive housekeeping (no clean towels or linens) one of the days of our stay and when my husband spoke to one of the housekeepers she said she "didn't know whose responsibility it was to clean our room". Since an additional fee is charged daily for housekeeping I requested and received a refund for that day. Additionally there is a separate charge for WiFi service that is commonly offered free of charge in many hotels. On a positive note, the location of the hotel is excellent and puts you within walking distance to area attractions and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Matisse was by far the best place to have a delicious meal in a beautiful setting. Make a reservation and ask to be seated in the outdoor courtyard. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don128
Business
Richmond, VA
Feb 18, 2014

A Very Good Old Hotel

Our experience was just what we expected--a wonderful 19 day vacation to escape the cold of Virginia. We had a 5th floor corner room with harbor view looking over the beautiful pool and beach area and the Nassau Harbor. Couldn't have been better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greycliff Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Capt chaos
Business
Naples, FL
Jan 14, 2014

Right downtown, excellent couples getaway

Staff are friendly and knowledgable , Breakfeast buffet very good. Although beach seems small it is just right for the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with older teens
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 6, 2014

A beautiful refuge in the middle of the action

We loved this hotel. How great to have a private beach but walk out into the middle of downtown! We arrived on 1/1, likely their busiest day of the year, so there were some delays in getting room, but staff was accommodating and pleasant. Food prices are crazy but many restaurants right out the door so no worries. Comfortable rooms, not large but did not feel crowded. Great fitness center (could use fans/more AC). Beach is beautiful and was the highlight. Definitely would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Fish Fry is fun to walk around, but food is hit/miss. Andros was great, Eddie's was worst meal we've EVER had. Ask locals for recommendations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathleen J.
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 5, 2013

Relaxing weekend getaway

The British Colonial is a beautiful hotel in the grand tradition. It is conveniently located downtown which is great for daytime shopping. Most water and land tours and the water ferry to Paradise Island leave from the cruise dock just a few short blocks away. The Fish Fry area (great for lunch!!) is about a 10-15 minute walk. The beach and pool area are nicely outfitted with great lounge chairs and cabanas, though the beach is not very large. A hot tub would be a nice addition for cooler months. Since we went off-season (November), most of downtown shut down by 6 PM or once cruise passengers were back on board. This left few options for dinner other than taxiing to Atlantis, walking to Senor Frogs, or eating at Aura at the hotel. Fortunately, all were acceptable options though we felt a bit cheated from exploring local fare at dinner time in small privately owned (read not chain) restaurants. Hotel restaurant and bar were great, as was the lounge area just outside the bar. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JSH Jr
Business
Orlando, Florida
Sep 30, 2013

Business Trip

I was advised that the Hilton was the best business hotel. It proved to be just that. The food, although expensive, was excellent. The staff very courteous and helpful. The location excellent, walking distance to Bay St. and the Parliment buildings. I certainly will stay at the Hilton on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friends of Jeff Pablo
Business
Baltimore
Sep 8, 2013

Dirty Water

Having brown and yellow water coming out of the sink faucet and the shower is not what I expect from the Hilton ! Having it happen not once, but TWICE in two separate rooms is unacceptable ! And to top off my stay, my card was erroneously billed. Dealing with getting that fixed has been the icing on the cake ! Thanks for the great time Hilton !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the Bahamas is like shopping on Canal St in NYC, prices are negotiable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ti Bob Dorsensen
Business
Port Charlotte, FL
May 28, 2013

fees, fees, fees

Nice location, beautiful and clean place, but there's a fee for everything. You rent a car, there's no free parking, you have to pay $10 every time you need your car parked. Your free breakfast cost $ 25 per person. The extra hotel fee that Orbtiz said would not go over $80 end up costing me $187 at the end. But had a nice time anyway, A costly nice time! Better to cruise. Bobby & Nadege

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the place is close to almost everything in Nassau

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Dancing Feet
Business
Mpls, MN
Apr 15, 2013

Terrible!!!!!

For a hotel rated @ 4 stars this hotel should not even be rated a 2. Horrible service, dirty facilities, maid service has a daily $10 tip charge and they barely even tuck in the bed sheets not to mention we went without towels for 2 days. More like a 1 star hotel in a poo dunk town that knows nothing about cleanliness and customer service. Spend the extra money and stay @ Atlantis or at the very least the Wyndham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonSweetie
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 13, 2013

Greattime, Great location

Would definitely stay here again. Nice hotel with nice poolside bar. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top