$186 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

A Stone's Throw Away

3 stars
Tropical Gardens Road, Nassau,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
21 reviews
Quiet, PERFECT B&B Experience!

A Stone's Throw Away is a fantastic, quiet, quaint B&B away from the hustle and bustle of Nassau.... See full review

  • GregandAbie
  • Feb 23, 2014
Great place to unwind

This place has wondeful views as long as you book the ocean view rooms. The garden view room has a... See full review

  • Pats new getaway
  • Feb 17, 2014
Ocean views and chill island ambience
A Stone's Throw Away hotel is perched on a 70-foot cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Guests take in panoramic views of both Nassau and the sea. The plantation-style property has a quiet, intimate atmosphere and the romance of a by-gone era. The free form pool invites guests to take it easy with a beverage. The nearby beach is just steps away. A daily, deluxe breakfast offers guests the chance to start the day right.
Highlights
  • Free gourmet breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free airport pick-up/drop-off
Rooms
Rooms at A Stone's Throw Away hotel boast garden, island or ocean views, and all access the wrap-around porch. The inn accommodates 20 guests, housing eight rooms and two suites. Each room has a king bed, private bathroom, air conditioning, mini-bar, microwave, cable TV/DVD, ceiling fan, balcony or terrace and free Wi-Fi. Suites feature an oversized tub, ocean views, lounge area and wood furnishings.
Features

A Stone's Throw Away hotel guests take pleasure in the peace that the inn provides. The plunge pool and beach offer a way to cool off, and the staff can assist with beach towels, picnic baskets or scuba plans. Guests walk to and rent water sport equipment at the beach. At nearby Compass Point Beach Resort, Stone's Throw guests enjoy the facilities for $10 USD.

Back at the inn, guests indulge in a massage, browse the on-site library, kick back in the lounge and nosh at the on-site restaurant. Baby-sitting, dry cleaning and laundry services are available. Weddings and events also are held on site on the 1,000 square foot terrace overlooking the ocean. The inn can accommodate up to twenty overnight guests and up to 150 for events. Wedding planning services are available.

Dining
A Stone's Throw Away hotel provides an honor bar where guests can mix their own drinks. The on-site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. A free gourmet breakfast is served every morning. For dinner, guests dine on a candlelit terrace with views of the Atlantic. Snacks are available daily.
Transportation
  • Nassau International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Free airport pick-up/drop-off (see hotel for details)
  • Bus stop near property
Attractions
  • Straw Market (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Bay Street shopping (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Pirates of Nassau (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Queen's Staircase (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Dolphin Encounters (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • Paradise Island (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 1,000 square-foot ocean view terrace fits up to 150

A Stone's Throw Away Rooms

SUITE
SUITES ARE THE LARGEST ROOMS, FEATURE 1 KING-SIZE BED, MINIBAR, TV/DVD/ AC, TELEPHONE, OCEANVIEWS, LOUNGE AREA, RICH WOOD FURNISHINGS, FREE INTERNET, SHOWER AND LARGE BATHTUB, HAIRDRYER, NON-SMOKING
STANDARD - ROOM
Island view includes 1 king size bed with Beautiful views of Nassau Island, all rooms have rich wood furniture, Pottery Barn linens and towels, Internet access, private bath, Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Telephone and includes breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed A Stone's Throw Away also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.0613 -77.4646
Area served
Nassau.
Nearby airports
Nassau International Airport.(NAS)
Area description
Located on a 70 foot cliff, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, magnificient ocean views, conveniently located to the main airport, far away from the major resorts but still very accessible by the public bus system.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cable Beach: 3.8 mi
  • Crystal Cay Marine Park: 6.4 mi
  • Atlantis Paradise: 9.2 mi

Dining

OCEAN VIEW TERRACE
A breattaking view of the breakfast and lunch terrace overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, enjoy your free breakfast with the best views the island has to offer and relax with a cocktail during sunset.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for A Stone's Throw Away

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OpalReon
Lafayette, LA
May 6, 2014

Not what expected

The staff was not helpful at all. I attempted to purchase a bottle of water before 10 PM & was told "it was closed." Any request we made (which was only one as we checked out after the first night due to the unsatisfactory experience), it was like we were a huge inconvenience. On the morning after we arrived, after we walked the half mile to the resort that provides day passes to those staying at A Stones Throw Away, we quickly asked if there were rooms available there, which thankfully there were. We moved immediately there and were so much more pleased and actually enjoyed our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel2014
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 29, 2014

Impromptu getaway

This property is completely overpriced. The room was average and the overall staff service level was below average. The breakfast offered as part of the package was not of good quality. I would encourage the owner to spend some time doing some basic upkeep AND train your staff on proper customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosy Glow
Florida
May 19, 2012

Georgeous facility

It is great for its location. Close to airport and meetings. As a transit stop it is fantastic. A superior Bed and Breakfast, but typical Bahamas plumbing and ordinary food. Excellent staff. Not for anyone with difficulty climbing stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
May 25, 2010

Nice place to stay

This was a 4 day trip for my wife and me. We did not want a mega-hotel, but something small with resort-like ameninties. We wanted a more Out Island feel, without the extra plane/boat ride. ASTA was a great place for small, quiet B&B. They gave you a ride from the airport, and dropped you back when you were ready to go. The staff was friendly and accomodating; if you asked they helped you or figured out a way to help. It is more of a wine on the porch place, than it is a rum runner by the pool kind of place. It is very close to a slightly larger resort-type location - Compass Point. So, you had access to the amenities there (for a $10 fee). For a quiet place to come back to, that you can still launch great day trips from, ASTA is your place. Beware: several flights of steps just to get to the rooms. Also, bar is very simple - no fancy frozen drinks, and mostly an Honor Bar where you make the drinks yourself with few mixers. You are a stone' throw from the beach, but a short van ride or 15-20 minute walk from a beach you can actually use in comfort. In the end, we had a very nice, relaxing, safe and enjoyable time - paying less than for other properties and not having to deal with big crowds at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Compass Point is about a 15 minute walk along a car traveled road - or the staff will drive you to Nirvana Cafe. Both Compass Point and Nirvana Cafe are on Love Beach. If you want a pool, hot tub, place to drink by the pool, massage, etc. stop for a day trip to Compass Point. If you want beach access to a lagoon, snorkeling on your own, a little more "local" flair, then go to Nirvana Cafe's beach access.

Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
driftwood
Ft. Myers, Florida
Jun 3, 2012

Great views but lots of steps to get there

Pros: Close to Airport. Ok. for one night. Wrap arround porch. Comfortable king size bed. Great sunsets. Tastefully decorated. Friendly staff. Cons: If you travel with more luggage than a carry on it is wise to consider another place. The only way to get to the hotel is trough a cave over about 100 steep steps. Do not expect help to carry your bags. No elevator. We had 4 heavy bags. AC had odor so we decided to open the windows and run the fan. But the fan had heavy dust on its blades. We did not dare to run it. Room fridge was empty and did not work. Limited not cooled refreshments are available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Close to Airport. Only ok if you travel with carry on bag.

Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sophie's sojourns
Allentown, PA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

solo traveler

I didn't call ahead to have the free shuttle pick me up( my fault) so it only cost me $10 for a taxi to take me. There was a doorbell at the bottom of a stone walkway and you let the person know your name and if you need a porter for your bags( i didn't realize this and carried them up two flights of stairs!) The staff were extremely pleasant and very willing to offer/explain anything. The first person i met got me registered to my room and when i asked about a good restaurant was quick with a reference. The views from the inn's balconies were beautiful!! It was also very quiet inside the room. ( I think i was the ony guest) Everyone was very nice an and they offered a delicious hot breakfast in the morning. I coulde choose between eggs, sausage, waffles, bacon, along with an assortment of cereals and fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Tae
Washington, DC
Jul 25, 2012

This Stone's A Gem!!!

A Stone's Throw Away (ASTA) is the perfect location for a romantic getaway. I was originally hesitant to book a stay at a bed and breakfast, but my boyfriend suggested that we give it a try and I am so glad we did. This place is like heaven on earth. The house is beyond beautiful as I felt like I was staying in a cozy and very comfortable mansion. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated and the beds are so comfortable. Our room faced the ocean, and we took advantage of the wraparound porch by waking up every morning and stepping out to enjoy the lovely view. One day I scheduled a morning massage and I was able to get it done on the porch facing the ocean and that was the best! And I can't say enough about how extremely courteous and professional the staff was. They chef made a pretty good breakfast every morning (pancakes, French toast, bacon, omelets, etc or you can opt for a continental breakfast of cereal, fruit, coffee and cookies. And you can't beat the complimentary ride to and from the airport. I also left a really nice necklace and they found it and mailed it to me without me having to pay for postage. They have a couple of restaurants within walking distance. We went to Travelers Rest and that was good. We took the bus ($1.25 or $1.50) to hang out downtown and do some other touristy things, but we were glad to get back to the peace, quiet and serenity that ASTA has to offer. If you are looking for a romantic place to stay, and don't have problems with walking up stairs I highly recommend this place. I can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep in mind, while the bus is easy and inexpensive, ($1.25/50 each way) it stops running at 6 p.m. Cabs are anywhere between 20 and 30 dollars depending on where you are going downtown. Be sure to go to the store to buy snacks for your room. Although I loved the honor bar system ASTA had set up, it's nice to have snacks and drinks in your room. If possible get an ocean view room it's worth the extra money

Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solitude seeker
Columbus OH
Jan 9, 2014

Hidden Gem on a Hill

The location, views, staff, and service are excellent. This was my first B&B, and it was truly pleasant. The near by restaurant, Travelers, has very good food, and pleasant staff. Access to transportation was also good, but a handful of the bus drivers simply drove too fast, with no regard for passenger safety. Furniture, rugs, and blankets need attention. The atmosphere is serene especially in the garden, and on the beach. There is plenty of exercise if you don't mind the stairs, and the hill leading down to the beautiful beach. I will return again next year. Vincent P. and Michae R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carikuber
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 9, 2012

No Complaints

I spent one night at ASTA after six days on Eleuthera. I wanted a place near the airport with a little character and style but not a completely bloated price, and this place more than met my expectations. Unique location, beautiful wrap around porches with a number of potential spots to take in the views while sipping a drink or reading a book. The nearest beach is a bit small, but I was told the place as an agreement with another closeby resort with a larger spread of sand. Honor bar system was a novelty and certainly made the whole experience more intimate. I had a room facing the sea. Wonderful floors and carpets and lovely final touches. Couldn't figure out how to lock my balcony door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For lunch or dinner be sure to check out Travelers' Rest, just a short walk along Bay Road. Generous lunch portions and conch salad only on weekends.

Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gratitude
Madison, IN, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Perfect romantic getaway!

What a beautiful place. The staff was so friendly and very accommodating. You can make yourself feel rite at home. They have a coffe/tea bar set up that you can help yourself to day or night free of charge. All other drinks including alchohol are based on the honor system. This is not a place I would recommend to bring the family (kids would be bored). But if you want a romantic getaway, lots of R and R this is the place for you. Free shuttle two and from the airport, free ride to the beach that is just up the road. Lovely complementary breakfast. The most amazing view of the ocean... beautiful gardens!! Highly reccommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take the bus pretty easily throughout the week. $1.50 each way. You could take a cab but it is going to cost you $60 bucks round trip. Naussa shuts down around 6:00 pm..so if you go into town, plan on a very early dinner.

Back to menu Return to top