$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Pelican Bay at Lucaya

4 stars
View map of Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Grand Bahama Island,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
72 reviews
Nice Getaway

Stayed in the king suite, really nice, relaxing. & inviting. The daily pastry & fruit delivery and... See full review

  • Miafci
  • Jul 21, 2014
Hotel

The hotel was comfortable, except that the air conditioner was to loud making it hard to sleep. The... See full review

  • qstorm
  • Jun 24, 2014

A mixture of Caribbean island flavor and European architecture combine to create the Pelican Bay Hotel and Suites. The unique Bahamas hotel and suites, accompanied by it renowned hospitality and attention to detail, will ensure your stay in the Bahamas will be memorable. One of Grand Bahamas Island's newest boutique hotels, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel is where visitors find the finest combination of Caribbean and European architecture and service. Awarded the prestigious "Small Treasures of the Bahamas" designation by the Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel and suites are both charming and intimate.

Club Grand Bahama packages include: transportation, an activity, breakfast and dinner.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Bay at Lucaya also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Pelican Bay at Lucaya Rooms

WATERSIDE ROOM
Standard room with one king or two double beds with spectacular view of the bay. Private veranda or balcony with two teak or rattan chairs, cocktail table. Spacious 640 square feet. Large entry/dressing area. Occupancy: two adults and two children in existing bedding. Crib available. Amenities include radio with alarm clock, telephone, voicemail, TV with cable channels, in-room safe, two chair dining set, reading chair. Wet bar, compact refrigerator, coffee and tea making facilities, iron and ironing board. Shower/tub combination, hair dryer. Ceiling fan plus air conditioning. Wireless Internet access (surcharge).
WATERSIDE STATE ROOM
Elegant state room with one bedroom and a separate living room with a total of 750 square-feet, overlooking the bay. Bedroom features one four-poster king bed or one double bed and one twin bed. Option of sofa bed in living room. Maximum occupancy: four adults. Espresso Coffee machine with a mix of coffees - complimentary breakfast pastries and a faxed copy of The New York Times delivered in pass-through in the entrance door each morning. Alarm clock, two phones with speakerphone and voice mail, TV with cable channels, in room safe, work desk, fully stocked bar, ironing board and iron. Beautiful Brazilian art. Private Library. Polished-resin floors, recessed lighting. Kitchen nook with hammered-copper sink, microwave oven. Hand-made Mexican-tile bathroom with rainfall shower/tub, twin-sink vanity, oversize towels. Fat-paddle Indonesian ceiling fans plus central air conditioning. High speed Wireless Internet access (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 72
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kari 2
Business
Detroit
Mar 30, 2013

a short getaway

The water taxi is what made all the difference. We are beach people and this was a quick fun way to get there. Also loved the comfey chairs at the pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The marketplace next door is convenient, especially if you don't have a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cah17
Business
Wheaton, MD
Mar 19, 2013

Lovely Get Away

Stayed for a week and had a great, relaxing time. The hotel is conveniently located near the Port Lucaya Marketplace which offers lots of shopping, restaurants and other activities. The hotel is very nice and offers just enough on property but not so much that you don't want to leave. It allows you to go out and experience the island - including a short ferry boat ride to Taino Beach. The room was adequate nothing too special. The only thing that would have been nice is a free continental breakfast. They offered a buffet breakfast but charges $19/person which seemed high. Other than that I would definitely recommend staying at Pelican Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Derigo
Business
western, MA
Mar 11, 2013

Adequate

This hotel has a good and convenient location. It is tired and urgently needs to be freshened with paint, upgrade in fixtures, and lighting. I sense that it has taken a serious hit with the economy and as a result maintenance has been cut back. The location is very convenient within an easy walk to the market and restaurants. I would not go back in its current condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tangopoint
Business
Western Canada
Feb 18, 2013

A week Getaway

It is definitely a resort hotel...Not normal configuration. Aging to a large extent, but well kept for the most part.... Very good poolside bar and restaurant, but lacking nearly all other major services, such as even a gift shop or sundry shop. There are others close by, but require walking. The Flying Fish, adjacent to Pelican Bay was one of the highest quality restaurants for food and knowedge and service, anywhere in the Caribean. Rivals good Vegas restaurants... Beach walk too far and disapointing... But was a pleasant stay, although a little cool. Staff very friendly but on "Island Time"...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HES MY GUY
Business
South Florida
Feb 17, 2013

A '' RELATIVE '' TRIP !!

A great hotel , 3 pools , a nice bar and resturant,, and the front desk staff is the Best., across the street from the beach but with a private ferry to bring you to a great beach and other hotel pool., we will go back. ty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Port Lucaya shopping and dining area is not to e missed !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2Divers
Business
Florida
Jan 2, 2013

was better in 2009

I had been at this hotel in 2009 and really liked it. So I wanted to show my husband, and we came here to dive with UNEXSO for 4 days. The location is as great as can be for that purpose. Our first room had serious maintenance issues (fixtures, door, toilet), and we got it swapped for a slightly better one, but none of what I enjoyed in 2009 for similar pricing in a state room. The breakfast was $19 per person extra (and not worth this much, and she fed a bunch of her friends it seemed like) and we never were offered a state room or other upgrade. Our room was given to another couple that moved out, too, and moved to a state room - perhaps they felt coerced to pay for an upgrade. Our second room also developed maintenance issues, that were addressed, but nothing else, and no apologies. In 2009 they made sure to ask guests about how they liked it, not now. In the lobby one has to wait a long time before someone attends to them. The candy machine did not work, the bar/restaurant staff was slow and not too helpful. Some were even rude. The elevator made noises and motions that made one wonder if you get stuck, or when. The tiled floor in the room had not been mopped in a very long time, giving us black soles after taking a shower, or alternatively blackened socks. One bottle of water gratis? The 2009 room was my first nespresso encounter, and now I own one. Does that tell anything? In this room we had an el cheapo drip coffee maker that produced less than average coffee. We think this is a management problem (lack of) and hope that if/when we decide to travel here another time, will be fixed. We heard that they may have new owners, possibly investors that are hands-off. Well, it does not work. Get better, please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Apr 4, 2012

Great location and facilities

We had a state room on the third floor. Wonderful view and quiet. Large fridge provided in room, coffee making facilities, microwave, sink and cups,plates, but strangely no cutlery. A fabulous place to base yourselves, especially if you have a car to explore the island. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JayLu
Business
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Mar 25, 2012

JayLu

Beautiful hotel, awesome food and perfectly located!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gus1
Business
Atlantic City, NJ, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Pelican Bay, Grand Bahama Island.

The hotel property, pools, restaurant etc was excellent. The room needed some attention, the mattress you could feel the springs through it. Bathroom fixtures were old and corroded. I have stayed at this property before and have always enjoyed it, I hope they update the rooms soon. I would still recomend this property, the staff here is as friendly, courteous and hard working as you will find in any hotel on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cappuccinos Restaurant, dont miss this. Very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Celebrators
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 13, 2011

Nice Stay

If we could give our stay a 3.5 star rating we would. Our room was decent. I am a bit of a germaphobe so I will never say a hotel room is amazing. We had great views of the pool and bay from our window. We were close to the ferry that takes you over to Taino Beach and hotel customers were able to ride for free. We loved our little balcony. The service was ok but was usually delayed. The people were very pleasant but we had to request things multiple times from the front desk. Breakfast is at an additional cost. I chose to book through [...]because they claimed they would include a continental breakfast which we found not to be the case when we arrived. Apparently they continue to advertise this but the hotel has not been participating for quite some time. I could have gotten the stay for less money elsewhere if I had known this. We did the bonfire on the beach activity and had a good time. You get your money's worth in alcohol. The entertainment was unprofessional. There was a "fire dancer" who didn't really do much and caught a man's leg hair on fire which I am sure was not part of the act. The food was delicious but there was not enough. We really enjoyed relaxing. It was a wonderful place to do that. We ferried over to Taino Beach several times to swim in the ocean and use the beach. Across the street there was another beach we had access to that we enjoyed. The hotel has 3 pools, we used 2 of the 3. It was clear that the pools were not cleaned very frequently. Food there is pretty expensive. We requested a microwave for our room so that we could reheat left overs which was a good savings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Casino at the Radisson was fantastic, almost every night they have an activity and you get to hang out with some of the locals. We did went to Karaoke night, Flashback night and Latin Dance night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top