$140 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Pelican Bay at Lucaya

4 stars
Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Grand Bahama Island,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
67 reviews
Nice Getaway

Stayed in the king suite, really nice, relaxing. & inviting. The daily pastry & fruit delivery and... See full review

  • Miafci
  • Jul 21, 2014
Hotel

The hotel was comfortable, except that the air conditioner was to loud making it hard to sleep. The... See full review

  • qstorm
  • Jun 24, 2014

A mixture of Caribbean island flavor and European architecture combine to create the Pelican Bay Hotel and Suites. The unique Bahamas hotel and suites, accompanied by it renowned hospitality and attention to detail, will ensure your stay in the Bahamas will be memorable. One of Grand Bahamas Island's newest boutique hotels, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel is where visitors find the finest combination of Caribbean and European architecture and service. Awarded the prestigious "Small Treasures of the Bahamas" designation by the Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel and suites are both charming and intimate.

Club Grand Bahama packages include: transportation, an activity, breakfast and dinner.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Bay at Lucaya also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Pelican Bay at Lucaya Rooms

WATERSIDE ROOM
Standard room with one king or two double beds with spectacular view of the bay. Private veranda or balcony with two teak or rattan chairs, cocktail table. Spacious 640 square feet. Large entry/dressing area. Occupancy: two adults and two children in existing bedding. Crib available. Amenities include radio with alarm clock, telephone, voicemail, TV with cable channels, in-room safe, two chair dining set, reading chair. Wet bar, compact refrigerator, coffee and tea making facilities, iron and ironing board. Shower/tub combination, hair dryer. Ceiling fan plus air conditioning. Wireless Internet access (surcharge).
WATERSIDE STATE ROOM
Elegant state room with one bedroom and a separate living room with a total of 750 square-feet, overlooking the bay. Bedroom features one four-poster king bed or one double bed and one twin bed. Option of sofa bed in living room. Maximum occupancy: four adults. Espresso Coffee machine with a mix of coffees - complimentary breakfast pastries and a faxed copy of The New York Times delivered in pass-through in the entrance door each morning. Alarm clock, two phones with speakerphone and voice mail, TV with cable channels, in room safe, work desk, fully stocked bar, ironing board and iron. Beautiful Brazilian art. Private Library. Polished-resin floors, recessed lighting. Kitchen nook with hammered-copper sink, microwave oven. Hand-made Mexican-tile bathroom with rainfall shower/tub, twin-sink vanity, oversize towels. Fat-paddle Indonesian ceiling fans plus central air conditioning. High speed Wireless Internet access (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Wisconsin
Apr 1, 2009

Terrible

First room was absoultly terrible, paid for an upgrade to move into a suite bedroom was dark, dirty, poorly designed, continental breakfast was a joke. For what I paid I could have stayed at the Westin and I did for the remainder of my trip, I would have moved sooner but could not cancel since I booked with Orbitz. Not recomended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants very close by, tips are always included whether good service or not usually not

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ponygirl
Business
columbia station, oh
May 6, 2009

disappointment in paradise

i was expecting a kitchenette, we got a sm fridge. I had to ask for a micro wave. it didn't work right had to ask for another. dresser drawer was full of garbage. they came and removed it and wiped the drawer out with a napkin. my clothes stayed in my suitcase. there was thick dust around the base of the night stand.pubic hair in the tub, fingerprints on bathroom door and around switch. i cleaned those. i booked snorkeling with sea safari snorkeling through cheap tickets. we were unable to go because it was too windy. I called 5x's to see if it was available. when I got home cheaptickets told me I probably couldn't get a refund because it was a past package.my stay was April 28 - May 1. may 4th I had surgery on my shoulder. I told cheapticket rep that i got home friday nite and would be in the hospital monday so i couldn't call back. i e mailed sea safari and asked them for a refund. they have not responded. this was suppose to be a special trip for my sister because her husband died and then she had cancer for the 4th time. i would like a refund for the snorkeling but am not getting much help. i also wanted her to see the beach at lacoya national park. booked a tour. it was cancelled due to not enough signed up. after i explained our situation they did send someone over to give us the tour and my sister was able to stay at the beach longer. we appreciated that. however when we got to the park it was on fire and we were not able to see all the caves only one. we went to the old straw market behind the international bazzar and enjoyed those ladies very much. we toured the perfume factory, that was interesting. Most of the staff at the hotel were very friendly and tried to make things right. the hotel was just not what was on the web site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

make sure you see the old straw market. the "mama's" had much to share about their life and history besides the talent and heart they put into their craft

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Derigo
Business
western, MA
Mar 11, 2013

Adequate

This hotel has a good and convenient location. It is tired and urgently needs to be freshened with paint, upgrade in fixtures, and lighting. I sense that it has taken a serious hit with the economy and as a result maintenance has been cut back. The location is very convenient within an easy walk to the market and restaurants. I would not go back in its current condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reynolds Fam
Business
New York
Aug 19, 2010

Rude and non existent customer service

RUDE and Non friendly staff. Hotel doesnt offer any amenities except for the pool, you would think there customer service would be impeccable. I expected more but got a lot less..NOT a 4 star hotel!!!!!! great location, thats all they got!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Assistant Trainer
Business
Upstate NY
May 13, 2009

Nice... But not superior.

I have to say that my experience at Pelican Bay was so/so. From the website description...I had higher hopes. Upon arrival we were welcomed and given a pin of a Pelican that we were told to award to a staff member who "wowed us" during our stay. I am sad to say I returned that pin to the front desk upon our departure. The facility is nicely laid out with a lot of foliage and atrium areas. There are three pools, each small by Bahama hotel standards - but Pelican Bay guests are invited to share access to the Taino Beach Resort which has a fabulous pool which I recommend checking out. The Sabor restaurant/bar is loud and obnoxious and I would recommend a room on the other side of the complex if you prefer quiet times in the evening and at night. The room itself (Suite) was large but awkwardly laid out. The bedroom is not set up for travelers and has little storage area for suitcases. Those were relegated to the living room area. Bathroom was large however the fixtures were literally falling apart in my hand. The housekeeping staff is not very good at their job, failing to clean well and replace towels that were used. (they took the soiled ones but never replaced them! We had to cal the front desk twice for that during a four night stay. Also...toilet paper and tissues are things you need to ask for if you run out...as housekeeping fails to notice. Lastly, it took several calls to the front desk over the course of two days to have the A/C repaired in our room...this in 95+ degree heat. There is a fabulous daily breakfast included. I liked the intimate atmosphere...but my next trip will be booked at the Westin Our Lucaya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local food is hit or miss. The East restaurant is fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
couple that made the best of the island
Business
milford, mixhigan
Sep 6, 2009

non-freindly customer service hotel

They are not very interested in customer service. We hsd something missing everyday. one day pillows, nest day towels, the next day our carpets. The front staff is not there to assist you, they are there to talk on the phone [and get aggrivated when you have to go to them for beach towels for the pool. You are inconviencing them to stop what they are doing on the computer to help you. I called to see what time the d.j. would stop playing and two seperate people outwright lied to us. Trying to get a drink at ther bar sabors. The staff is talking to each other and when you finally get them to notice you, it was an inconvience. The whole island is beautifel but they will loose there tourism because they do not think that they need to be freindly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Switchback789
Business
California
Aug 8, 2014

Not a 4 Star Hotel

I don't know how this hotel rates 4 stars. It is not a 4 star hotel. The rooms are old and are actually rusting! The plumbing in the bathroom is corroding and the fiberglass shower/tub was sloppily installed leaving a crumbling drywall seam around the top. The tile flooring looked filthy and the grout was badly stained. The room had a fridge that wouldn't close well and the humidity created condensation that ran out onto the floor. The light fixtures are made of painted steel and are rusting. Ditto with the door. The sliding balcony door required a piece of PVC pipe as a lock or block from opening. The railing on the balcony had rotted and was recently repaired with a combination of new unpainted wood and salvageable wood. The staff at this hotel is wonderful though, as are most of the Bahamian people. The location is at the far end of Port Lucaya and that's right where you want to be. Port Lucaya has all of the touristy vendor stalls as well as duty free shopping and restaurants. A free water taxi can take you to the Taino Beach, which is one of the best beaches on the island. If you scuba dive, underwater explorers is right next door. The irony is that I chose this hotel based on the 4 star rating but I could have chosen an actual 4 star hotel nearby for only slightly more money. I would urge *rbitz to change this rating immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a supermarket not far from the Port Lucaya area. You can catch a public bus in front of the police station for $1.25 per person and it will take you right to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Magwha
Business
Oysterhaven, Ireland
Jul 26, 2010

Bahamian laid back hospitality

The hotel was located in an area that had easy access to the beaches and the hotel itself had a couple of small pools. We went on a couple of day trips and really enjoyed them. The fish fry on Wednesdays in Tano beach and the Junkcanoo on the Thursdays are well worth the trip to Tano Beach. Love the island people. Very friendly and helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlanta Chop
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

It was ok

Some of the staff wasn't friendly, especially the female manager. Internetnis not free. For similar piece, I would have stayed at the rassison, plus raddisson has free wireless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andymale66
Business
Wirral, United Kingdom
Apr 10, 2012

Good Hotel to Stay in

Overall the hotel is in a good position for the eating and tourist amenities nearby. The choice of pools is good and the bar is well provisioned. The Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and did a lot to help me when trying to book into my flights. Air conditioning in the room, whilst effective was very noisy. The paint on the room furniture was peeling and left white marks on any leather goods, avoid putting wallet/laptop cases on the furniture as it becomes permanently marked. WiFi access was good, if a little pricy, but coverage was good and uninterrupted. Overall a good place to stay, comparing to UK standards more a 3 star than 4 star class of accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top