$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Pelican Bay at Lucaya

4 stars
Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Grand Bahama Island,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
107 reviews
Hotel

The hotel was comfortable, except that the air conditioner was to loud making it hard to sleep. The... See full review

  • qstorm
  • Jun 24, 2014
Perfect Location for Wedding Party

What a delightful place to stay! The beautiful, charming colorful building were reminiscent of a... See full review

  • Italian Bride
  • Jun 11, 2013

A mixture of Caribbean island flavor and European architecture combine to create the Pelican Bay Hotel and Suites. The unique Bahamas hotel and suites, accompanied by it renowned hospitality and attention to detail, will ensure your stay in the Bahamas will be memorable. One of Grand Bahamas Island's newest boutique hotels, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel is where visitors find the finest combination of Caribbean and European architecture and service. Awarded the prestigious "Small Treasures of the Bahamas" designation by the Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel and suites are both charming and intimate.

Club Grand Bahama packages include: transportation, an activity, breakfast and dinner.

Pelican Bay at Lucaya Rooms

WATERSIDE ROOM
Standard room with one king or two double beds with spectacular view of the bay. Private veranda or balcony with two teak or rattan chairs, cocktail table. Spacious 640 square feet. Large entry/dressing area. Occupancy: two adults and two children in existing bedding. Crib available. Amenities include radio with alarm clock, telephone, voicemail, TV with cable channels, in-room safe, two chair dining set, reading chair. Wet bar, compact refrigerator, coffee and tea making facilities, iron and ironing board. Shower/tub combination, hair dryer. Ceiling fan plus air conditioning. Wireless Internet access (surcharge).
WATERSIDE STATE ROOM
Elegant state room with one bedroom and a separate living room with a total of 750 square-feet, overlooking the bay. Bedroom features one four-poster king bed or one double bed and one twin bed. Option of sofa bed in living room. Maximum occupancy: four adults. Espresso Coffee machine with a mix of coffees - complimentary breakfast pastries and a faxed copy of The New York Times delivered in pass-through in the entrance door each morning. Alarm clock, two phones with speakerphone and voice mail, TV with cable channels, in room safe, work desk, fully stocked bar, ironing board and iron. Beautiful Brazilian art. Private Library. Polished-resin floors, recessed lighting. Kitchen nook with hammered-copper sink, microwave oven. Hand-made Mexican-tile bathroom with rainfall shower/tub, twin-sink vanity, oversize towels. Fat-paddle Indonesian ceiling fans plus central air conditioning. High speed Wireless Internet access (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Bay at Lucaya also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.5142 -78.6406
Area served
Grand Bahama Island.
Nearby airports
Freeport International Airport (FPO).
Area description
The property is located within steps of resort are over 30 restaurants, bars, shops, nightly live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing. Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, all four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Wisconsin
Apr 1, 2009

Terrible

First room was absoultly terrible, paid for an upgrade to move into a suite bedroom was dark, dirty, poorly designed, continental breakfast was a joke. For what I paid I could have stayed at the Westin and I did for the remainder of my trip, I would have moved sooner but could not cancel since I booked with Orbitz. Not recomended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants very close by, tips are always included whether good service or not usually not

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Wisconsin
Apr 1, 2009

Terrible

First room was absoultly terrible, paid for an upgrade to move into a suite bedroom was dark, dirty, poorly designed, continental breakfast was a joke. For what I paid I could have stayed at the Westin and I did for the remainder of my trip, I would have moved sooner but could not cancel since I booked with Orbitz. Not recomended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants very close by, tips are always included whether good service or not usually not

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ponygirl
columbia station, oh
May 6, 2009

disappointment in paradise

i was expecting a kitchenette, we got a sm fridge. I had to ask for a micro wave. it didn't work right had to ask for another. dresser drawer was full of garbage. they came and removed it and wiped the drawer out with a napkin. my clothes stayed in my suitcase. there was thick dust around the base of the night stand.pubic hair in the tub, fingerprints on bathroom door and around switch. i cleaned those. i booked snorkeling with sea safari snorkeling through cheap tickets. we were unable to go because it was too windy. I called 5x's to see if it was available. when I got home cheaptickets told me I probably couldn't get a refund because it was a past package.my stay was April 28 - May 1. may 4th I had surgery on my shoulder. I told cheapticket rep that i got home friday nite and would be in the hospital monday so i couldn't call back. i e mailed sea safari and asked them for a refund. they have not responded. this was suppose to be a special trip for my sister because her husband died and then she had cancer for the 4th time. i would like a refund for the snorkeling but am not getting much help. i also wanted her to see the beach at lacoya national park. booked a tour. it was cancelled due to not enough signed up. after i explained our situation they did send someone over to give us the tour and my sister was able to stay at the beach longer. we appreciated that. however when we got to the park it was on fire and we were not able to see all the caves only one. we went to the old straw market behind the international bazzar and enjoyed those ladies very much. we toured the perfume factory, that was interesting. Most of the staff at the hotel were very friendly and tried to make things right. the hotel was just not what was on the web site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

make sure you see the old straw market. the "mama's" had much to share about their life and history besides the talent and heart they put into their craft

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
couple that made the best of the island
milford, mixhigan
Sep 6, 2009

non-freindly customer service hotel

They are not very interested in customer service. We hsd something missing everyday. one day pillows, nest day towels, the next day our carpets. The front staff is not there to assist you, they are there to talk on the phone [and get aggrivated when you have to go to them for beach towels for the pool. You are inconviencing them to stop what they are doing on the computer to help you. I called to see what time the d.j. would stop playing and two seperate people outwright lied to us. Trying to get a drink at ther bar sabors. The staff is talking to each other and when you finally get them to notice you, it was an inconvience. The whole island is beautifel but they will loose there tourism because they do not think that they need to be freindly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
couple that made the best of the island
milford, mixhigan
Sep 6, 2009

non-freindly customer service hotel

They are not very interested in customer service. We hsd something missing everyday. one day pillows, nest day towels, the next day our carpets. The front staff is not there to assist you, they are there to talk on the phone [and get aggrivated when you have to go to them for beach towels for the pool. You are inconviencing them to stop what they are doing on the computer to help you. I called to see what time the d.j. would stop playing and two seperate people outwright lied to us. Trying to get a drink at ther bar sabors. The staff is talking to each other and when you finally get them to notice you, it was an inconvience. The whole island is beautifel but they will loose there tourism because they do not think that they need to be freindly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reynolds Fam
New York
Aug 19, 2010

Rude and non existent customer service

RUDE and Non friendly staff. Hotel doesnt offer any amenities except for the pool, you would think there customer service would be impeccable. I expected more but got a lot less..NOT a 4 star hotel!!!!!! great location, thats all they got!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Derigo
western, MA
Mar 11, 2013

Adequate

This hotel has a good and convenient location. It is tired and urgently needs to be freshened with paint, upgrade in fixtures, and lighting. I sense that it has taken a serious hit with the economy and as a result maintenance has been cut back. The location is very convenient within an easy walk to the market and restaurants. I would not go back in its current condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Assistant Trainer
Upstate NY
May 13, 2009

Nice... But not superior.

I have to say that my experience at Pelican Bay was so/so. From the website description...I had higher hopes. Upon arrival we were welcomed and given a pin of a Pelican that we were told to award to a staff member who "wowed us" during our stay. I am sad to say I returned that pin to the front desk upon our departure. The facility is nicely laid out with a lot of foliage and atrium areas. There are three pools, each small by Bahama hotel standards - but Pelican Bay guests are invited to share access to the Taino Beach Resort which has a fabulous pool which I recommend checking out. The Sabor restaurant/bar is loud and obnoxious and I would recommend a room on the other side of the complex if you prefer quiet times in the evening and at night. The room itself (Suite) was large but awkwardly laid out. The bedroom is not set up for travelers and has little storage area for suitcases. Those were relegated to the living room area. Bathroom was large however the fixtures were literally falling apart in my hand. The housekeeping staff is not very good at their job, failing to clean well and replace towels that were used. (they took the soiled ones but never replaced them! We had to cal the front desk twice for that during a four night stay. Also...toilet paper and tissues are things you need to ask for if you run out...as housekeeping fails to notice. Lastly, it took several calls to the front desk over the course of two days to have the A/C repaired in our room...this in 95+ degree heat. There is a fabulous daily breakfast included. I liked the intimate atmosphere...but my next trip will be booked at the Westin Our Lucaya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local food is hit or miss. The East restaurant is fabulous.

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reynolds Fam
New York
Aug 19, 2010

Rude and non existent customer service

RUDE and Non friendly staff. Hotel doesnt offer any amenities except for the pool, you would think there customer service would be impeccable. I expected more but got a lot less..NOT a 4 star hotel!!!!!! great location, thats all they got!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Assistant Trainer
Upstate NY
May 13, 2009

Nice... But not superior.

I have to say that my experience at Pelican Bay was so/so. From the website description...I had higher hopes. Upon arrival we were welcomed and given a pin of a Pelican that we were told to award to a staff member who "wowed us" during our stay. I am sad to say I returned that pin to the front desk upon our departure. The facility is nicely laid out with a lot of foliage and atrium areas. There are three pools, each small by Bahama hotel standards - but Pelican Bay guests are invited to share access to the Taino Beach Resort which has a fabulous pool which I recommend checking out. The Sabor restaurant/bar is loud and obnoxious and I would recommend a room on the other side of the complex if you prefer quiet times in the evening and at night. The room itself (Suite) was large but awkwardly laid out. The bedroom is not set up for travelers and has little storage area for suitcases. Those were relegated to the living room area. Bathroom was large however the fixtures were literally falling apart in my hand. The housekeeping staff is not very good at their job, failing to clean well and replace towels that were used. (they took the soiled ones but never replaced them! We had to cal the front desk twice for that during a four night stay. Also...toilet paper and tissues are things you need to ask for if you run out...as housekeeping fails to notice. Lastly, it took several calls to the front desk over the course of two days to have the A/C repaired in our room...this in 95+ degree heat. There is a fabulous daily breakfast included. I liked the intimate atmosphere...but my next trip will be booked at the Westin Our Lucaya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local food is hit or miss. The East restaurant is fabulous.

Back to menu Return to top