$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Pelican Bay at Lucaya

4 stars
Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Grand Bahama Island,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
67 reviews
Nice Getaway

Stayed in the king suite, really nice, relaxing. & inviting. The daily pastry & fruit delivery and... See full review

  • Miafci
  • Jul 21, 2014
Hotel

The hotel was comfortable, except that the air conditioner was to loud making it hard to sleep. The... See full review

  • qstorm
  • Jun 24, 2014

A mixture of Caribbean island flavor and European architecture combine to create the Pelican Bay Hotel and Suites. The unique Bahamas hotel and suites, accompanied by it renowned hospitality and attention to detail, will ensure your stay in the Bahamas will be memorable. One of Grand Bahamas Island's newest boutique hotels, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel is where visitors find the finest combination of Caribbean and European architecture and service. Awarded the prestigious "Small Treasures of the Bahamas" designation by the Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel and suites are both charming and intimate.

Club Grand Bahama packages include: transportation, an activity, breakfast and dinner.

Hotel Map

26.5142 -78.6406
Area served
Grand Bahama Island.
Nearby airports
Freeport International Airport (FPO).
Area description
The property is located within steps of resort are over 30 restaurants, bars, shops, nightly live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing. Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, all four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Bay at Lucaya also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Pelican Bay at Lucaya Rooms

WATERSIDE ROOM
Standard room with one king or two double beds with spectacular view of the bay. Private veranda or balcony with two teak or rattan chairs, cocktail table. Spacious 640 square feet. Large entry/dressing area. Occupancy: two adults and two children in existing bedding. Crib available. Amenities include radio with alarm clock, telephone, voicemail, TV with cable channels, in-room safe, two chair dining set, reading chair. Wet bar, compact refrigerator, coffee and tea making facilities, iron and ironing board. Shower/tub combination, hair dryer. Ceiling fan plus air conditioning. Wireless Internet access (surcharge).
WATERSIDE STATE ROOM
Elegant state room with one bedroom and a separate living room with a total of 750 square-feet, overlooking the bay. Bedroom features one four-poster king bed or one double bed and one twin bed. Option of sofa bed in living room. Maximum occupancy: four adults. Espresso Coffee machine with a mix of coffees - complimentary breakfast pastries and a faxed copy of The New York Times delivered in pass-through in the entrance door each morning. Alarm clock, two phones with speakerphone and voice mail, TV with cable channels, in room safe, work desk, fully stocked bar, ironing board and iron. Beautiful Brazilian art. Private Library. Polished-resin floors, recessed lighting. Kitchen nook with hammered-copper sink, microwave oven. Hand-made Mexican-tile bathroom with rainfall shower/tub, twin-sink vanity, oversize towels. Fat-paddle Indonesian ceiling fans plus central air conditioning. High speed Wireless Internet access (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brentwood, TN
Jun 10, 2009

Bahama Review

Stayed one night prior to going on Blackbeard's dive trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr.& Mrs. Smith
Atlanta, GA
May 26, 2009

Quick Getaway

Since it rained most of the time, I was pleased that we did have a great room since we spent most of our time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 16, 2009

Our Favorite Place!

This was our third time at Pelican Bay. We got married here last year--we celebrated our 1 year anniversary. I can't say enough about the staff. They are friendly, helpful and hospitable. The hotel is different--not your typical chain hotels. The rooms are large, always kept clean, includes a fun continental breakfat in am . You have acces to its sister hotel with a great beach. It's in a fabuolus location. Ans the onsite restaraunt is unbelievable. I can't say enough good things!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
40th Birthday Fun
Indianapolis, IN
May 14, 2009

King bed or suites best options

We started off with a double-bed room, which was not very clean and smelled old. We had a flooding incident in our room, but the staff immediately provided a suite for our trouble. The suite was heavenly, and in fact, was what I envisioned from the website. Having a suite is the best option. Staying here also gave us access to two beaches, but Taino beach was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We highly recommend Bonfire on the beach, $50 included buffet dinner, conch salad cooking experience, dancing, and a show. Well worth your time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Assistant Trainer
Upstate NY
May 13, 2009

Nice... But not superior.

I have to say that my experience at Pelican Bay was so/so. From the website description...I had higher hopes. Upon arrival we were welcomed and given a pin of a Pelican that we were told to award to a staff member who "wowed us" during our stay. I am sad to say I returned that pin to the front desk upon our departure. The facility is nicely laid out with a lot of foliage and atrium areas. There are three pools, each small by Bahama hotel standards - but Pelican Bay guests are invited to share access to the Taino Beach Resort which has a fabulous pool which I recommend checking out. The Sabor restaurant/bar is loud and obnoxious and I would recommend a room on the other side of the complex if you prefer quiet times in the evening and at night. The room itself (Suite) was large but awkwardly laid out. The bedroom is not set up for travelers and has little storage area for suitcases. Those were relegated to the living room area. Bathroom was large however the fixtures were literally falling apart in my hand. The housekeeping staff is not very good at their job, failing to clean well and replace towels that were used. (they took the soiled ones but never replaced them! We had to cal the front desk twice for that during a four night stay. Also...toilet paper and tissues are things you need to ask for if you run out...as housekeeping fails to notice. Lastly, it took several calls to the front desk over the course of two days to have the A/C repaired in our room...this in 95+ degree heat. There is a fabulous daily breakfast included. I liked the intimate atmosphere...but my next trip will be booked at the Westin Our Lucaya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local food is hit or miss. The East restaurant is fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ponygirl
columbia station, oh
May 6, 2009

disappointment in paradise

i was expecting a kitchenette, we got a sm fridge. I had to ask for a micro wave. it didn't work right had to ask for another. dresser drawer was full of garbage. they came and removed it and wiped the drawer out with a napkin. my clothes stayed in my suitcase. there was thick dust around the base of the night stand.pubic hair in the tub, fingerprints on bathroom door and around switch. i cleaned those. i booked snorkeling with sea safari snorkeling through cheap tickets. we were unable to go because it was too windy. I called 5x's to see if it was available. when I got home cheaptickets told me I probably couldn't get a refund because it was a past package.my stay was April 28 - May 1. may 4th I had surgery on my shoulder. I told cheapticket rep that i got home friday nite and would be in the hospital monday so i couldn't call back. i e mailed sea safari and asked them for a refund. they have not responded. this was suppose to be a special trip for my sister because her husband died and then she had cancer for the 4th time. i would like a refund for the snorkeling but am not getting much help. i also wanted her to see the beach at lacoya national park. booked a tour. it was cancelled due to not enough signed up. after i explained our situation they did send someone over to give us the tour and my sister was able to stay at the beach longer. we appreciated that. however when we got to the park it was on fire and we were not able to see all the caves only one. we went to the old straw market behind the international bazzar and enjoyed those ladies very much. we toured the perfume factory, that was interesting. Most of the staff at the hotel were very friendly and tried to make things right. the hotel was just not what was on the web site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

make sure you see the old straw market. the "mama's" had much to share about their life and history besides the talent and heart they put into their craft

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Wisconsin
Apr 1, 2009

Terrible

First room was absoultly terrible, paid for an upgrade to move into a suite bedroom was dark, dirty, poorly designed, continental breakfast was a joke. For what I paid I could have stayed at the Westin and I did for the remainder of my trip, I would have moved sooner but could not cancel since I booked with Orbitz. Not recomended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants very close by, tips are always included whether good service or not usually not

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Feb 24, 2009

Convenience & Value

Hotel was clean and comfortable, although furniture and rooms were a bit dated. Can't beat the location next to Port Lucaya Marketplace and UNEXSO diving. Service was good and front-desk staff helpful for the most part, although rooms were made up later in the day. Continental breakfast is included which is good value. Multiple pools added variety and kept any from being too crowded. Rooms facing the Sabor restaurant may be loud due to the music that is sometimes blasted from that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 26, 2008

Wonderful hotel

The Pelican Bay hotel is beautifull place to stay especially with th Sabor Resturant & Ferry boat very fun place to stay, the pools are awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Adjuntas, *
Jul 11, 2008

Like Being at Home

The staff was soooo friendly. We got a king bed that was very comfortable. The room had all the amenities (iron, hair dryer, in room safe,coffee maker and complimentary coffee, shampoo, body wash, hand soap, lotions). It was very clean and appealing. There is a coin laundry on the premises. There is construction going on but it doesn't bother anyone what so ever. We never felt inconvenienced at all. There is a business center but we didn't make use of it. The continental breakfast (which is free) is great. A variety of breads, cereals, sandwich meats, juices, eggs, hot beverages,and fruits are readily available. We didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants, but we did get a complimentary drink at SABOR (which is right by the pool and hot tub.) The hotel pools (three) were all very clean , well kept, and nice to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at Zorba's, Unexus,The Bar aka Puss's Bah was excellent. Go to the Fish Fry at Smith's Point. Go on the Island Combination Tour. Worth the $20. For souvenirs, the Straw Market. The International Bazaar has few stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search