$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Pelican Bay at Lucaya

4 stars
Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Grand Bahama Island,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
67 reviews
Nice Getaway

Stayed in the king suite, really nice, relaxing. & inviting. The daily pastry & fruit delivery and... See full review

  • Miafci
  • Jul 21, 2014
Hotel

The hotel was comfortable, except that the air conditioner was to loud making it hard to sleep. The... See full review

  • qstorm
  • Jun 24, 2014

A mixture of Caribbean island flavor and European architecture combine to create the Pelican Bay Hotel and Suites. The unique Bahamas hotel and suites, accompanied by it renowned hospitality and attention to detail, will ensure your stay in the Bahamas will be memorable. One of Grand Bahamas Island's newest boutique hotels, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel is where visitors find the finest combination of Caribbean and European architecture and service. Awarded the prestigious "Small Treasures of the Bahamas" designation by the Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, the Pelican Bay at Lucaya hotel and suites are both charming and intimate.

Club Grand Bahama packages include: transportation, an activity, breakfast and dinner.

Hotel Map

26.5142 -78.6406
Area served
Grand Bahama Island.
Nearby airports
Freeport International Airport (FPO).
Area description
The property is located within steps of resort are over 30 restaurants, bars, shops, nightly live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing. Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, all four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Bay at Lucaya also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Pelican Bay at Lucaya Rooms

WATERSIDE ROOM
Standard room with one king or two double beds with spectacular view of the bay. Private veranda or balcony with two teak or rattan chairs, cocktail table. Spacious 640 square feet. Large entry/dressing area. Occupancy: two adults and two children in existing bedding. Crib available. Amenities include radio with alarm clock, telephone, voicemail, TV with cable channels, in-room safe, two chair dining set, reading chair. Wet bar, compact refrigerator, coffee and tea making facilities, iron and ironing board. Shower/tub combination, hair dryer. Ceiling fan plus air conditioning. Wireless Internet access (surcharge).
WATERSIDE STATE ROOM
Elegant state room with one bedroom and a separate living room with a total of 750 square-feet, overlooking the bay. Bedroom features one four-poster king bed or one double bed and one twin bed. Option of sofa bed in living room. Maximum occupancy: four adults. Espresso Coffee machine with a mix of coffees - complimentary breakfast pastries and a faxed copy of The New York Times delivered in pass-through in the entrance door each morning. Alarm clock, two phones with speakerphone and voice mail, TV with cable channels, in room safe, work desk, fully stocked bar, ironing board and iron. Beautiful Brazilian art. Private Library. Polished-resin floors, recessed lighting. Kitchen nook with hammered-copper sink, microwave oven. Hand-made Mexican-tile bathroom with rainfall shower/tub, twin-sink vanity, oversize towels. Fat-paddle Indonesian ceiling fans plus central air conditioning. High speed Wireless Internet access (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reynolds Fam
New York
Aug 19, 2010

Rude and non existent customer service

RUDE and Non friendly staff. Hotel doesnt offer any amenities except for the pool, you would think there customer service would be impeccable. I expected more but got a lot less..NOT a 4 star hotel!!!!!! great location, thats all they got!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Magwha
Oysterhaven, Ireland
Jul 26, 2010

Bahamian laid back hospitality

The hotel was located in an area that had easy access to the beaches and the hotel itself had a couple of small pools. We went on a couple of day trips and really enjoyed them. The fish fry on Wednesdays in Tano beach and the Junkcanoo on the Thursdays are well worth the trip to Tano Beach. Love the island people. Very friendly and helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samatiki
Florida
Jul 13, 2010

Charming Location

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The location is perfect. I was within walking distance of all the restaurants near the market place. After two days of eating free lox and bagels and hard boiled eggs,(hotel offers free breakfast) I was ready for some traditional Bahamian breakfast - boiled fish and grits would have been nice. My only concern is the lack of security on the premises. People can walk onto the property without being screened. You can enter the property by the boardwalk from the market place and anyone taking the ferry to Taino beach can wind up a the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rugby Jack
Chattanooga, Tn
Jun 4, 2010

A great place!

Just a short walk from Count Bassie Square, this was a great place to stay, 3 pools, the staff was excellent, and worth the price. I would recommend a suite if someone in your party likes to sleep late!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdgator919
Tampa, FL
Jun 1, 2010

Great Long Weekend Getaway!

We were very happy with our Waterside State Room. Beautifully decorated - great view - clean with lots of space for our 4-night stay. The balcony was great and overlooked the harbor. I loved the bath products - they were very generous with replenishing complementary coffee etc. The free breakfast was perfect and very convenient. It was so relaxing going downstairs to enjoy a meal and not rushing around to try and get to a restaurant off property. Also loved the little pastries and the NY Times in our hidden door in the mornings - always something to look forward to. The pools were all very quiet and clean. We enjoyed a dinner at Sabor our last night and were quite pleased. Minutes from Port Lucaya marketplace with plenty of restaurants and entertainment. It was also not a big deal to walk across the street to the beach (Radisson) so I wouldn't make that a major negative. Overall - great stay - would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marin County, CA
Apr 20, 2010

One of the best parts of our vacation!

This was our first trip to the Bahamas, and we were looking for rooms in a place that wasn't a noisy, all-inclusive resort. The waterside suites at Pelican Bay fit the bill perfectly, particularly since it rained for most of our trip! We got a great deal (4 nights for the price of 3), and had a large 1 bedroom suite with a Nespresso espresso maker, a coffee maker, and pastries delivered each morning. The free continental breakfast was convenient, though nothing special. We also got a complimentary welcome drink from the bar (not full sized, however). Dinner at Sabor (the hotel restaurant) was one of the two best dinners we had on the island (the other was at East). Walking distance to Port Lucaya Marketplace and across the street from the Our Lucaya Resort/beach, so it was very convenient to find other dining options and get to the beach as well! We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Would recommend renting a car if you're interested in exploring other parts of the island--it's cheaper and more convenient than signing up for tours that include transportation!

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beauful Bahamas
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 11, 2010

Amazing Vacation!

The hotel was absolutely beautiful--I did not see any other hotel that I would have rather stayed at. Our hotel was close to all the evening action, and you can take a free short ferry to popular Taino Beach all day long. The restaurant at our hotel, Sabor, had great food and drinks and had a beautiful view of the sunset. The pool near Sabor had a view of the harbor, where you could watch all the boats come in. Landscaping was beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and is served until 10:00 every day. Think fresh salmon, pastries, english muffins, bagels, fruit, juices, boiled eggs, cereal, and more. The hotel provided us with complimentary towel service, which really came in handy for going to the beach. They also gave us a free drink voucher, which was nice to relax with on our first afternoon there. Our whole vacation was so relaxing, and it is the most beautiful place I have traveled to so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trini Queen
Miami Florida
Mar 25, 2010

Fantastic Spring Break

Compare to another hotel that I have previously stayed at the Pelican Bay has always been the best. The staff is so friendly and attentive. The room was clean and there was always someone to assist me. It was a very quiet environment but my last night the couple above seem to have enjoyed there vacation more than I did.I can't say I blame them, lol but other than that it was great. The view was absolutely beautiful and the hotel was a short distance from everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who goes to free port,Bahamas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Port Luca ya straw market was less than 10mins away from the hotel. You can shop until you drop and there were several restaurants to pick from. The only thing is that everything closes to early.

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LTD
Connecticut
Feb 22, 2010

Ah . . . ok

If the weather is too cool to participate in water sports, there is nothing to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fernandina Beach, FL
Feb 18, 2010

Nice hotel in Freeport

Great location in Freeport although bus is required to get to the beach. Nice quiet area and perfect for couples

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search