$165 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Pelican Bay at Lucaya

4 stars
View map of Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Grand Bahama Island,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HES MY GUY
Couples
South Florida
Feb 17, 2013

A '' RELATIVE '' TRIP !!

A great hotel , 3 pools , a nice bar and resturant,, and the front desk staff is the Best., across the street from the beach but with a private ferry to bring you to a great beach and other hotel pool., we will go back. ty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Port Lucaya shopping and dining area is not to e missed !!

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2Divers
Couples
Florida
Jan 2, 2013

was better in 2009

I had been at this hotel in 2009 and really liked it. So I wanted to show my husband, and we came here to dive with UNEXSO for 4 days. The location is as great as can be for that purpose. Our first room had serious maintenance issues (fixtures, door, toilet), and we got it swapped for a slightly better one, but none of what I enjoyed in 2009 for similar pricing in a state room. The breakfast was $19 per person extra (and not worth this much, and she fed a bunch of her friends it seemed like) and we never were offered a state room or other upgrade. Our room was given to another couple that moved out, too, and moved to a state room - perhaps they felt coerced to pay for an upgrade. Our second room also developed maintenance issues, that were addressed, but nothing else, and no apologies. In 2009 they made sure to ask guests about how they liked it, not now. In the lobby one has to wait a long time before someone attends to them. The candy machine did not work, the bar/restaurant staff was slow and not too helpful. Some were even rude. The elevator made noises and motions that made one wonder if you get stuck, or when. The tiled floor in the room had not been mopped in a very long time, giving us black soles after taking a shower, or alternatively blackened socks. One bottle of water gratis? The 2009 room was my first nespresso encounter, and now I own one. Does that tell anything? In this room we had an el cheapo drip coffee maker that produced less than average coffee. We think this is a management problem (lack of) and hope that if/when we decide to travel here another time, will be fixed. We heard that they may have new owners, possibly investors that are hands-off. Well, it does not work. Get better, please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandee
Friends
Purley, Surrey, UK
Jun 13, 2012

Good Hotel and Location

This hotel was conveniently situated with only a few minutes walk to harbour, restaurants, shops, casino, and main square. Rooms were spacious and hotel staff were friendly and helpful and any requests were responded to very rapidly. Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Car Hire is essential if you want to explore more of the island and visit the most beautiful beaches and the national park.

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andymale66
Business
Wirral, United Kingdom
Apr 10, 2012

Good Hotel to Stay in

Overall the hotel is in a good position for the eating and tourist amenities nearby. The choice of pools is good and the bar is well provisioned. The Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and did a lot to help me when trying to book into my flights. Air conditioning in the room, whilst effective was very noisy. The paint on the room furniture was peeling and left white marks on any leather goods, avoid putting wallet/laptop cases on the furniture as it becomes permanently marked. WiFi access was good, if a little pricy, but coverage was good and uninterrupted. Overall a good place to stay, comparing to UK standards more a 3 star than 4 star class of accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
UK
Apr 4, 2012

Great location and facilities

We had a state room on the third floor. Wonderful view and quiet. Large fridge provided in room, coffee making facilities, microwave, sink and cups,plates, but strangely no cutlery. A fabulous place to base yourselves, especially if you have a car to explore the island. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JayLu
Couples
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Mar 25, 2012

JayLu

Beautiful hotel, awesome food and perfectly located!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlanta Chop
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

It was ok

Some of the staff wasn't friendly, especially the female manager. Internetnis not free. For similar piece, I would have stayed at the rassison, plus raddisson has free wireless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mboiadjian
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Beautiful location

The staff were extremely kind and always polite. The room was homey and the restaurant , el sabor, downstairs was great. Not to mention the extremely beautiful view from each room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the water taxi to Taino Beach. Its a very enjoyable activity.

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mboiadjian
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Great family location

I truly enjoyed my stay at Pelican Bay hotel. The employees were kind and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gus1
Couples
Atlantic City, NJ, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Pelican Bay, Grand Bahama Island.

The hotel property, pools, restaurant etc was excellent. The room needed some attention, the mattress you could feel the springs through it. Bathroom fixtures were old and corroded. I have stayed at this property before and have always enjoyed it, I hope they update the rooms soon. I would still recomend this property, the staff here is as friendly, courteous and hard working as you will find in any hotel on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cappuccinos Restaurant, dont miss this. Very good.

Back to menu Return to top