$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
171 reviews
Vacation

Overall great experience. My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at the Viva Wyndham Grand Bahama. We... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Dec 3, 2014
Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the... See full review

  • Swimmer mom2
  • Jun 29, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

We will welcome spring breakers at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island from March 1st to March 27th, 2015.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 171
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kbro12765
Business
pa
May 4, 2014

getaway

Everything was very nice. Only the buffet was a bit disappointing. ..not slot of choices but had a nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puerto Rican Goddess
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2014

Simple, Sweet Escape.

I had a great time at the hotel. The staff was super sweet! The amenities were terrific, lots of activities to take part in. I enjoyed the gym, and was able to do my laundry the morning before my departure, which was convenient for me. Also just ask and the staff will accommodate you. Remember to tip, these people work really hard. I would definitely go again, it was the perfect escape from NYC. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The only problem was the food, but I found some things that were suitable, like the fruits, and vegetables. The food was cafeteria style it reminded me of "school lunch" a bit. I strongly suggest getting to breakfast and lunch early, because you have more options that way. Do not try the Asian restaurant it is beyond terrible. Also the late night Pizza from 10pm-2am is yummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Actor14
Business
Rochester NY
Jan 24, 2014

A typical 3 star hotel

Wow w-What do people want-the complaints ,I'm sure , are from people with 4 o5 star appetites and 3 star budgets. This was a very relaxing hotel with an exceptionally friendly staff. The buffet food was edible but nothing special . The 2 specialty restaurants were excellent. There is no pool or beach service but that is to be expected. This would NOT be a place for a honeymoon. The drinks were very good and the room was very comfortable with a great ocean view. If there is any complaint it would be for the shows put on by the staff at night. Most resorts bring in professionals or have a dedicated entertainment staff-not here-rank amateurs -very poorly executed. Aside from that I had a very relaxing and pleasant time here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Relaxing on the Beach
Business
Chino Hills, CA
Feb 18, 2013

All Inclusive, including poor service

Just four days of relaxing on the beach, not much to ask I thought. I chose this hotel for the location on the beach and since I was travelling alone, not to worry where to eat as a matter of convenience. However I was thoroughly disappointed by the staff's demeanor. Friendliness is not part of the all inclusive program and to my surprise even after I started tipping for drinks and service this did not change one bit. I understand working in an all inclusive resort can be mind numbing, but if you give special attention and appreciation to the personnel and get nothing in return it is very disappointing. Good if you like animation and getting drunk by the pool, for those who look for quality it is not advisable. The beach is still great though and I loved my ocean view room. Lots of potential, just need a little more hospitality training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GDS18
Business
PA
Jan 1, 2013

Depends what your looking for...

If single, think hard; mostly couplesand families predent but pleasnt beach and activities if the weather is good. -Overall, average place; mixed staff attentiveness to guests. Some very helpful; others indifferent/mildly bothered to even simple requests. -Room was clean but worn. One night no hot water. Called and staff was responsive and got it fixed w/in 15 minutes. -Nice selection @ buffets but unfortunately everything was luke warm (a stack of microwaves would help). Spilled food on floor & lack of utensils created mild annoyance. Better, upscale but very slow service @ restaurants. -Night-time shows enthusiastically put on by staff w/amature but good variety and intentions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fat elvis
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 28, 2012

price and entertainment staff push it above average

I felt the food and drinks are about what you can expect from a A/I but what pushed it to above average was the price and the entertainment staff they put forth an effort to keep us entertained especially when it rained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

count Basie square is a short drive away and had live entertainment and cheap drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fat elvis
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 13, 2012

its in the running

the food and drink are about what you can expect from a all inclusive the animation pushed it into high gear when it rained and for that i applaud them there is a small reef just off shore or you can go on a snorkel trip with the dive shop I would consider going here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

port Lucaya has entertainment at night 4 miles/$15 cab ride away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angloitalian tourist
Business
Rome, Italy
Jan 22, 2012

Pleasantly surprised!

I had read contrasting reviews about the hotel and was a bit concerned. I was pleasantly surprised at how I liked it. People's expectancies are way to high sometimes. Everything worked, the Room was clean, the staff pleasant. And the beach was spectacular! clean and security were always there in the background. I don't know what more to expect from a facility of that level (3 star).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pacevette
Business
Rochester, NY
Dec 28, 2010

Nice for the price

Clean comfortable room, great beach, wonderful staff, excellent dive operation and can't beat the price especially for single occ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 8, 2010

Good value

Beautiful grounds,great beach,though very rock filled water. Rooms varied. Mine was fine, though obviously an older property. Though all inclusive, the food was buffet style and while edible, was not very good, except for breakfast, which is hard to damage. Specialty restaurants were a step up from buffet. Bar was just OK,local drinks only. Coffee Bar is excellent. A great value though for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxi was $25 each way. Less expensive than pre-arranged transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top