$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
197 reviews
Great Trip

Stayed here in November and had a great experience. Food and drinks were great and the service was... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Jan 19, 2015
Fantastic get away!

My sister and I did a girls get away. This vacation was perfect. The weather was great, I came home... See full review

  • Eilene H.
  • Jan 15, 2015

Over one mile of expansive, private, beautiful, white sand beach.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 rooms with a Caribbean style decor.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, paddle board activity, paint ball activity, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, four restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Wedding Package:Includes Civil Judge and all legal expenses*, Wedding cake for 10 persons, Bar for 10 guests, Decoration, Bride bouquet, 10 Pictures and music, Wedding coordinator. Package is additional to the all-inclusive package.*Does not include legalization We will welcome spring breakers at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island from March 1st to March 27th, 2015.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Viva La Pizza
Pasta and brick oven pizza a la carte -open for dinner only and reservations are required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 197
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MerBear
Business
Bayville, New Jersey
Mar 16, 2013

If you dont like sleep or hot showers this place is for you!

First off I actually read the reviews before booking my trip and thought maybe people were just in a bad mood when they wrote their reviews... I WAS WRONG! When we got to our room and opened the door it smelt like mold so we told guest services and they had a maid come spray the room with air freshner.. needless to say i had to keep the doors open for a week or the smell came back. The beds are horrible and the pillows are like rocks. There was no hot water at all. I again told guest services and we had warm water 1 day out of our 5 night stay. The food was never hot and it was all very bland. Even at their resturants the food was gross. We actually had to leave the resort to eat decent food and have a good time. I wouldnt reccomend this place to anyone. The only thing was nice was that the employees were very nice and always said hi. Dont be like me and think people were writing bad reviews cause they were in a bad mood. It was not a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
party time Hooter
Business
NY bordering PA
Feb 2, 2013

My vacation in bahamas january 23-30, 2013

The cab ride to our resort was terrible. A broken down, dirty limo picked us up at the airport, just about got gassed from the fumes, definitely should be banned from the airport and transporting guests. The housekeeping was terrible and they acted like they Didn't care at all. Our first day, no complimentary water, no coffee and no washcloths. Complained to a young man at the service desk who did nothing. Did not get these until the 3rd day, after I bought water, and complained again to a young lady at the front desk. The second time I put these complaints in writing. The pillow cases had not been changed from the previous guest, yuk! Long black hair on front and back, custodial manager took pictures of this, no washcloths or coffee pacs, then had a complete cleaning in our room! Marcus and Richie were great bartenders, great customer service and great work ethics. The food was usually Luke warm on the buffet and leftovers from the day before. Grill cooks, for omelets , burgers or steaks did a great job. The Italian restaurant, food was great, not bad, but not so great at the oriental. The pool was very cold, hardly any users but the sea gulls and pigeons loved it! Loved the beach and beach bar! The peddlers on the beach were terrible, continuously pestering you to buy or get them drinks. Eddie, a security guard, was great, kept them away from us when he was on duty. Entertainers worked their butts off, and put on great shows. Always working, a great team! We went to the market nearby and the prices were good, although a lot of the sales people were very agressive! Met a lot of people there that also felt this way about this resort. Have been to all-inclusive resorts in Dominican Republic and also in Mexico. This was absolutely the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy anything until you go to the market place nearby. Very reasonable prices and will save you money on souvenirs. Ask for Adrian to take you. Great driver, very nice and reasonable rates. Adrian Martin Transportation.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisa12354
Business
Salem, Indiana
Mar 6, 2012

We had a great time!

We had a great time! The staff was friendly and took care of any request we had quickly. We had some confussion about the number of rooms we had booked but I pulled my paper work and they had us in our rooms in 10 minutes. NO Hassel! THe only issue we really had were the SPRING BREAKERS! So watch what that you don't go during that time unless you want to deal with the KIDS! The staff tried to keep them cornered off best they could from the regual guests. But college kids go to party!! My husband and I do plan to return in November when they are all back in school. The resorts Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Pier One is great!! The sea food is out of this world and seeing the sharks is really cool.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I'd rather be in Mexico!
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Mar 16, 2011

Bahamas will have to pay me to go back!

Be careful at the airport. Some guy tried telling me he was a cab and luckily a Bahamian police officer was near for me to confirm the guy was not a licensed cab driver. Cost to take a taxi from the airport was $25. Upon check in I was required to write my contact information as well as my CC information on a piece of paper. I felt very uncomfortable doing that and still wonder if they shredded that piece of paper. My room had a nice ocean view but I was alone and had two double beds. They ran out of King beds. There was a dead roach on my terrace and a dead fly behind the toilet in my bathroom. They were there the entire 5 day stay. Other than that, clean. Drinks were bottom shelf (think 5 o'clock) and they had little to offer. They don't have lemons either. Suprisingly they had Kahlua, which I thought was strange given the quality of everything else. Try the Kalik beer - it's your best bet. The food was nothing special. The breakfast was the same every morning and the lunch and dinner buffet was mediocre. Don't go to the Bamboo restaurant. Their sushi rice was more like mashed potatoes and they ran out of a lot of choices early in the evening. The pizza at night was good but you have to stay up late and wait in line to get it. My favorite was the stuffed chicken at the Italian style restaurant. The Beach Bar food had good chicken nuggets but you have to eat them fast or else be tortured by seagulls. I was there for 5 days and could not do any of the free water activities that were offered because of the wind. I was there the first week in March. This was truly disappointing because I didn't have a car and really only had the choice to eat, drink and lay by the pool which is ok but I wanted more from an all inclusive. The Trapeze is only open for 2 hours so get your name in quick if you are interested in it and make sure you don't drink beforehand or else they won't let you do it. The wind was the worst. 80 degrees feels more like 60 degrees. It got cold at night and I really didn't pack enough warm clothing. The animation team was very friendly as well as the waitstaff. They offer poolside activities like stretching, step aerobics, etc. We took a walk along the beach to Big Bertha's to eat something different. The food was much better there but you do have to pay and although she is really nice, the place is really dumpy. We also went to Smith Point on Wednesday for the Fish Fry. Food was good but the music didn't get me on the dance floor. We also went offsite at Port Lucaya to Rum Runners, but by then I was so sick of paying for cabs and paying for food and drinks to have a good time. A successful all inclusive to me is one that I shouldn't ever have to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try cracked conch at Big Bertha's. It will cost you but it's worth it!

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiny100
Business
New York
Feb 24, 2011

Viva - Fortuna Beach

The Good: Activities (ie Trapeze, Archery, Beach Volleyball, etc.) Evening Shows (they're fun & participatory) Beach: soft/white sand, plenty of chaise longues, umbrellas, palm trees The Bad: Food: the Buffet has a really small selection of foods. We were disappointed at the lack of fresh fruit and fish options. The Italian Restaurant: Skip it The Asian Restaurant: Best Bet Room: no dresser drawers (if you're only staying for a few night, this doesn't really matter) General No public transportation to town, you either bike (free) it or take a taxi ($15 each way). You are only allowed 1 towel per person in your room and on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It's fun to go into town to do some shopping - every price is negotiable.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mdavids
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 23, 2011

Senior Spring Break in the Bahamas

This place is a great deal for the money, all you can eat, all you can drink. Very white trash, people bring their own 30oz cups and start pounding down drinks from 10 am till they drop. The food is dining hall quality at best, no flavor and mostly cold. Your best bet is to get the pizza rom 11pm-2am the the window. I would not recommend this for kids of any age as you have to navigate around drunk people all day long The scuba diving around the island was great and so was the Viva dive center, friendly dive staff and a great boat captain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Shark Dive with UNESCO

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Apr 12, 2010

Awsome Time!!!

Non stop fun will go back for spring break next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make it Rain. It's a local club but it was a blast.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Apr 12, 2010

Awsome Time!!!

Non stop fun will go back for spring break next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make it Rain. It's a local club but it was a blast.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 28, 2010

The beach was nice but ....

The hotel - small rooms, COLD showers,paper-thin towels (when you could get them), poor customer service, the same limited selection of food on the buffet day after day, the 2 "restaurants" were worse , only one beer choice - Kalik draft, and the constant nagging to join the Viva points program .... all made for a disappointing hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richie Brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn NY
Feb 20, 2010

They tried, but need to try harder.

This place was ok, for an all inclusive, Ive been to a better one last year in Cancun. Some of the staff tried hard, I gotta give it up for the bartenders who were always making drinks around the clock. furniture in lobby needs sprucing, i almost got stabbed by a few rusty safety pins that were keeping the sofa covers on. The foosball table and ping pong paddles and mostly everything else in this place was pretty run down too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

drink your butt off.

Back to menu Return to top